Which would you choose: go to jail for 3 months or pay a N5m fine? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 April 2013

Which would you choose: go to jail for 3 months or pay a N5m fine?

You're in court and in front of a judge for an offense and the judge tells you: Pay a fine of N5million or spend three months in Kirikiri. Which would you choose? Bear in mind that you earn only N100k a month. And you do have N5million in your account, but it's your life savings. What would you do? Give up your life savings and start all over again or spend three months in jail?

248 comments:

1 – 200 of 248   Newer›   Newest»
Princess Jobless said...

Mehn...that's a tough one.....but I will definitely pay 5m.......that kirikiri prison is hell on earth!!!!

Check my profile for a suprise :)

Bia Linda,which kain option be this na,though God forbid baddest thing,cooling off is better o,lmao..

Both the fine and the jail term makes you an ex-convict... Kirikiri here I come..

I will gladly go 2 jail as long as D̶̲̥̅̊ 3mnths ČŠ̝̊̅§ 3mnth. Wen i come bk ma moni will still b in D̶̲̥̅̊ bank waityn 4 me.

Spend 3months in jail,if I come out I use de money 2 start up business 4rm loveable post my comment o I den dey comment u no de post am n I send my pic 4 beauty of de day u no put am 2.

This is Naija o! Of course the foreboding palpable thing to do is accept the jail thing, and enjoy my bucks when I am free after 3 months.

My life savings i will go to jail

Ild stay in jail ohhh, 3months is nt too much..b4 u know it, its gone

ope careem said...

Pri gini? Otio! Omo I go find dat money o, anyhow, atleast linda go loan me some sebi she be my oga at d top****runaway!

Spend three months in jail is better. Fredrick says so

take the money...i'll work hard and make money again

Na waoh..I wil go to kirikiri abeg.even if na 4 5yrs.

I will go to jail oh. 5million is something oh

Its called "life savings" so if I cnt use it now 2 save my life, wen I wan use am? Besides I fit enter prison and not come out, 9ja prison no dey smile @ all. Buh den again, wetin I do way I gats pay 5m? Na wa o!

I will pay the 5million and have faith to get it back than have a record of an ex-convict.

Psychotic bitch said...

I'll drop the 5million. Can't sleep a night in Naja jail. Btw what offence did I commit dats sending me to kirikiri.

I'll pay the 5million....going to jail is never a good idea but kirikiri is a death sentence,I might not make it out alive

NK said...

3mnths in jail,tnk u

jail z better. itz just 3 month.

Desmond Lamore said...

I will definitely cool off in jail with all happiness and thanksgiving.

my sister... m gonna pay that money... u can make it back if u work hard... compared to going to kiri kiri... d stigma 4rm pple would be unbearable... no one would wanna have anything to do with u... so ur life would just be stagnant.... abeg abeg abeg, na to pay d money oo.

Pay 5million n start all over since I will still have a good name.

precy said...

Abeg o three months in jail

blackgold said...

5m straight up. Maybe 50m would be beta deal...

Naijadeltpikin.. Omo na spend d 3mnths OoÂş°˚˚°Âşoo but naija jail ₪☺ sure OoÂş°˚˚°Âşoo dem fit extend Çş♍ self I ₪☺ trust dem mke dem take deir 5m mke I rest =))Âş°˚˚˚°ÂşĐ˝aĦaĐ˝aÂş°˚˚˚°Âş‎​=))

Three months here i come

mintel said...

Linda,I'l prefer 3months in united states of america jail dan nija jail n den save ma 5m.

Bootylycious diva said...

5million my life savings,will go to jail oh.cant shout ,sha dey will give me food

pls add one extra month in jail for me.

hmmm won't even think it twice.
I'll pay the 5million,jail itself is very risky.

It's*Frank* Woooo 5M, 3month jail terms nd 100K monthly linda dat rilii tough dicisn ooo.. Hmmm woo i let go of d 5M.... Dan 3months in jail 3month@ work iz 300K... Getn d 5M wil bi..tink 3yrs+.. Linda u nd ur imagntn ehn

Omo, I will go 2 dat jail ooo... How can I spend my whole life savings @ a go 4 one yeye crime? Shei its only 3months and jail calender is different from our normal calender so @ d end of d day it will be just 6 weeks. So jail na in win am ooo biko. Afterall, in naija hw many pple wan knw say I b ex convict?

Na jail tinz nau,,lol...quickly o..nor be only 3months?....

The truth is that u're an ex-convict.pay 5m or Don't..so I will spend Just the 3months and kip my "LIFE SAVING"..yes OoÂş° ..after all its human that are there not animals or somefin...in the mist of two eviels, there's always a lesser one.#cantwatsh#

Pay what?!...I'd rather go to fox river

3months toh quality,LOL!will survive

beewhy said...

Spend 3months in jail, then I will start my life all over again with the 5million in my account when I get out...

3months in jail abeg nothing spoil,,, dat money too big and who go chop am na(D̶̲̥̅̊ judge?)thunder fire dat person. ♍Ć” swear OoÂş°˚ ˚°Âşo.

Go to jail! it would take more than 3 months to get back the 5 million!

I'll pay o!

The jail sentence jor

Ah ah dis is easy na... Go to jail and make contacts in there tht wud help me get rid of the stupid judge!!

lol..go to jail jorr...2 mil is enof 2 cure d 3 months trauma

3 month holiday.....osheeee.....

Is nt easy T̶̲̥̅̊☺ get 5m in 3month and also ur freedom is important.I will pay d money cuz goin T̶̲̥̅̊☺ jail can hunt me in future most especially in politics.

I choose never to be in that position. Kirikiri bi ti bawo? ape mo ara eni ni temidire. Oun ti mi o ni je mi o ni fi run imu. Yoruba pips translate n explain.

Iz dz supozd 2 put som1 in dilemma??????? Send me Guatemala if dat'll save my 5mill #DarlSaysSo

Linda this no question jor....no one would give up 5m for just 3 months jail term in this our tough naija wheremoney is hard to come by now.....make it 9 months jail term and people would gladly still take the jail term....me speaking for myself....gbam

Judge please make it five months#with all pleasure#

Meeeen! Am at a cross roads here. Y don't Ɣơǖ tel us ur opinion lily

Bill said...

Are you kidding me! i will gladly take even six months in kirikiri.....prison is it not a place they lock people up inside a confide for a period of time with a some activities going on inside the compound.....NYSC orentation that some have gone tru in d past whats d difference!? you dont go out of the camp for three weeks and we all survived at the end of the camp.

Alanta said...

Spend 3 months in jail. The xperience wud b worth-while! Lol

yy said...

If fact I'll do six months sef.see as u talk 5m like say na 500k. Abeg I can't shout o!

Kirikiri,God save U

Olumide Samuel said...

It's better to pay the 5 million. The stigma attached to going to prison even for three weeks is more than 5m especially if you're aiming for a higher place in future. And for starters, except he owns that business where he makes 100k per month, he'll likely loose that job the day he enters prison. The problems that going to prison will cause far outweighs 5 million naira. It's Autotastic

Josh said...

I'ld gladly take the jail sentenc... 5mil? That's not working

Serve the jail terms

confessor said...

Does d 5m include me giving
D judge a fine clap?

Three months is jst like three days when N5million is involved

1st what's the offence?5Million?hmmmm...........thinking hard.3mth is fine.

3months in jail

Mab said...

Mehn dis one hard, cos kirikiri is not a place to be, but the wise thing to do is spend the 3 months in jail knowing it's your life savings and it would still be there when you come out in just 3 months.

Ade. said...

Honestly speaking, I'd settle for jail, as long as it doesn't go beyond 3 months. However may such not befall us all!

Judicially, d three months aint ninety days but 74 days....so, i'll take it, behave well, extremely well & prolly b released on probation b4 then...but lose my life savings....naaah!

Life savings na, b4 nko? EdeeB

Kaka ki ku ma je se se, afi shey awada ni o?�����?, i dnt pray fO??????? such o?�����? buh N????????? d jail term go sure pass..

Will go 4 d 3month jail....

The money is my life savings so I would bw saving my life with it.I would pay the money instead of going to kirikiri because what's the guarantee that I will come out alive or survive the assault but as long as there is life, there is hope.

i will go to jail...keep my 5m

I better pay the 5million cos no one says I'll come out of jail alive.

Linda for just 3months? Even if na one yrs.. I dey go jail cos my salary for year no even reach 5m!..

Ama spend four months sef. lol cnt mk 5m in 3moths

Rather go to jail afta all banks increase your money when you r not effective for a long time.

jail straight up....wont tink twice sef

Nikky said...

I will look for a way to pay the money,it's better than going to jail. You may may go to jail and come back not being yourself or dead.
Nigeria prison condition though.

Abeg pay the 5m and look for how to recoup it. You can never tell what will happen within that 3months in jail. A good deal might come up that would enable me make more than that 5m or it may not. Something terrible may happen in prison. Kirikiri no be America prison.

Hmmmm,I will seek for God intervention cuz with God all things are possible

If I hear.... I go pay d money o, I'd rather be broke dan spend a DAY in kirikiri, dis one no be "Prison Break" kinda cell o, kirikiri is more lyk a Dungeon, saw a Documentary abt d place nd I shudder in Fear nd Disgust...see as prisoners are squeezed in like sardines! Tufiakwa! I go pay d money biko.... (☉̴͡ ̯☉̴͡)‎​

Go to jail o

JAIL offcourse... and not just for 3 months. I'll open a fixed deposit account with my N5million and do 3 YEARS prison.

Dere is nothing like freedom,wil rather pay d̶̲̥̅̊ moni dan Ď„̅☺ spend a min I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ jail

Even a Deaf person knoz d ansa. Na 3months sure pass abeg. Dodorima

Its beta 4 me start all over again wit ma life than spent 1 hour in kirikiri talk more of 3months!

Linda which kind mumu Q b dis na,3 months sef small,make I go 4 10months beta,hw I go drop my 5million,huhh,I dey craze?

Abeg jail o. Me dat ive been looking for a sure means to slim down.

3mnth in jail na im sure pass

Three month.Gbam

Mschwwwwww,only 3months kwa?make dem increase am sef I no mind bt dat moni lai lai

Linda 3months too small nd 5million sef too much,even if na 1million I go go jail hundred tyms ova.

Non of d above

i'll choose to spend 90 days behind bars and save my money.i mean i've a lot worse than this.

Dis linda like 2 dey go backward sef,hw u go dey ask dis kind Q,I beta go jail 4 9 months sef dan drop dat moni.taaaaaa

Giddytohpweedy said...

Abegi I wee gladly do the 3mnths and come and enjoy my life with my 5millar aint giving no baga my hard earn cash.... :D

I'l even do 1yr in prison

Mschwwwwww,only 3months kwa?make dem increase am sef I no mind bt dat moni lai lai

There's No thinking about it. I would sharply pay the 5M bearing in mind that its a Jail term in a Nigerian Prison. Even if its a day in that Kirikiri, One can end up spending the whole of that 5M on treatment after the jail term

Abigail said...

I'ld gv up d life savings O n get my freedom! Do u knw what it means 2 spend a minute in a prison as kirikiri?? Nah, i'ld pay d money so long as i'v got it in my a/c n get my freedom. Nafn beats being free abeg!

It depends on a lot of factors

Pay!

Very simple. It's like this! We have 3 kinds of people.
Those who make things happen.
Those who watch things happen.
Those who wonder why and how things happen.

Where do you belong is the question,because it will influence your choice between 3months in jail or to pay 5million Naira. You earn 100k a month doesn't mean you can't do any personal business to make extra money.
If you are lazy and scared of trying,then you may want to go to jail not to pay 5million.
But if you are a hustler with integrity and you have a good family name,you will not think twice to give out the 5million with gratitude.

Na who dey alive fit make money,na who get freedom fit do business.
For me I will definitely give out 10million not to go to jail for 1month talkless of 3months haba.
Well one man's food is another man's poison.

I have been to a local prison before and let us say it was dreadful. Kirikiri should be worse. I will pay off that N5m. I don't care.

Money can be made again. 3nonrhs in jail? Oh heck no!

Of course I will spend 3 months in jail! No question about that! In Naija there is nothing like criminal records. If it was here it jand, I will prolly pay the cash but ask for a payment plan

Abeg I'll spend 3months in jail. Shuo!!!

Dinma said...

I wl choose t answer an ex convict

besty said...

3 months sure pass. If i hear say i gave out my life savings.... Mtchewww. Afterall pple live in big brother's house for 3 months(in south africa) without freedom n dey dont die.

DOLLAR SPLASH MAKING MONEY said...

lily Nnem as an ibo boy dt i am, i'll not give up my life savings, this is money that we are talking about here. three months is not that long u know. '' talking Wt an igbotic intonation''

I will go 2 jail and get more experience in life

Bella said...

As bad as it sounds, serving the jail term is the right option for him. If he gives his life savings, he will be spending many years in poverty. which to me is worst than the jail term.

Give me 3years in jail! Linda, na wa o! GAIL

miss pweety said...

3monthz in kirikiri z beta o. Wen I come out, I'll use ma 5million 2 freshen up

hmmmn dis is realli tough buh mehn ah guess ama pay d fine of 5m (afterall ts ma life saving) nd hav my freedom also start afresh... cos not evrybody can employ an ex-convict... linda post my comment ooo or else...

First of all, I forbid all the key points- Jail, 100k salary, N5M life savings worth (Im bigger than that). But, if i were to advice anybody in that fix, serve ur jail term bobo! 3mnths is not too much

Lookin 4ward 2 d comments on dis one

Just 3 months? Mtchew obviously I'll go to jail for those 3 months. Only a fool will give up her/his life savings. What if after u give up that 5M, u lose ur job? Biko sense is needed.

Chinedu said...

6 months in jail, even 1 year in jail... 5 million for wetin?

Sweetest Honey said...

B4 nko? Shey 5 million na yam abi na poraro?

3 months no be three years or thirty yrs na or life jail; i go chop am rush rush come out clean mouth! Then come out n be smiling to my account dan losing ČŠ̝̊†̥ cos of one three months jail!

For wwhere i go start frm to dey save money again to reach 5 million na?

U knww how long ČŠ̝̊†̥ took me to save such come lose am bcos of one moi moi 3 months jail! Mba nu ooo!

Spend 3 mnths in jail

Going to jail..its a tale to tell

5mil for 3months??? No way!!! I'Sun, Apr 28, 2013 rada endure d 3months in jail and den flex ma moni wen i com out. 4 wat nhaa...suffer wey dey 9ja no reach d kirikiri?

keep the 5 million, go to jail for 3 months. Pay the prison guards and other proson lords 100k per month. Get out of prison untouched with 4.7m still left. Simple 9ja solution.

ill close eyes and do the 3 months oo.

I go dey even suspect myself say i b winch if i no go jail.i dey madt ni.dreadii

Given d condition above,I won't even think twice.I go rush jail like there's no tomorrow.three months will be over in no time.@ most I'll spend abt 500k to take care of my health when I'm out.I'll still have my 4.5m intact.

*****PRINCE PAUL***** said...

hmmm see daisy question. If d jail wont affect my job of course i wil rush jail like no man biz. But if it wil, men i dont mind payin ohh

I will run into jail!kirikri sef!when I come out I will write a putlizer~winnig book on what life is like behind those high walls!The hype of the book will Make me more cash and triple my 5m;which by the way would ve yeilded interest by the time am out!everyone needs a break!3 months is just ideal!signed:wide eyed!

Jail

Sommie

Abeg i go enter kirikiri go sit down.

Spend 3months in jail of course,this hard naija

nah 2 jail 4 dat 3mnths o. i pray mk i gve dem d 5m

nah 2 go jail 4 dat 3mnths o. i pray mk i gve dem d 5m

I will prefer to spend 3months in jail than to throw away 5m like that

ONCE A CHIC said...

ABEG I GO SIDDON WELL WELL, OPEN OFFICE FOR JAIL FOR 3 MONTHS COMMOT AFTER 3 MONTHS SPEND THE MONEY. HABA WHO COME BE MONKEY? EVERYDAY LIFE FOR NAIJA NO BE JAIL SENTENCE. ABEGI

Evn 5mths i dnt mind. Iyke ifediorah.

Auntie Linda..... it all depends on my worth..... If i'm worth more than N5m..... Why will i want to go to jail?

linda dat one no be problem, provided that dem no go dey beat me 4 jail..bt if to say u say na abroad omo na jail i prefer after all i go dey enjoy there sef

Witout much ado I will pay d monie, I can't stand to be a prisoner

Omo I gast go jail o...even na 1year-badoo-

Xclusive said...

If I earn 100k a month n I av 5m I'd rada pay bt let's say m jobless n m being offered 2help a rich man wit his jail term yl he'll pay me 5m afta 3month mehn I'll jumb @ d 5m o cuz itz a juicy offer!

Will spend the three months in jail....hehehe

Ehn! God forbid, jail is a no-no! So that they can tag someone as an ex-convict ey? Hell no! I'll rather go and borrow money to get the 5m.

Abeg take me to jail jare...na only 3months I no fit die there

ugo said...

I will go to jail abeg, money is hard to come by in this part of world.

i prefer 3 months in jail than given them 5million.well 3 months wont waste time it will pass.

linda y ask d question when u already knw d answer?can u mk another 5million in 3months?NO! so y d question?

I'll so spend even 1 year self.

No need 4 long story give m̶̲̥̅Ćą my sweet honey Jampie 3 months in jail......akp said S̤̥̈̊ợ̣̣̝̇̇̇

I'll give up my savings o because jailtime even if is a day attaches the title 'convict' to its patronizers

If no b naija prison,I no go mind d jail,bt if na kirikiri I no gree

I'll go to jail jor, it dosnt stop me frm being who God wants me to be

Very easy THREE MONTH VACATION PLS

I knw goin 2 jail is nt a gud 1 oo buh my dear e beta mk I go jail biko 2 strtn frm d scratch. Teee

ann obey said...

Pay the N5m if i have it than go to jail

I'll go 4 3 months even 6 months.

I dey craze?

God forbid IJN.Would rather go to jail and start a bussiness of my own with that money bcs dey must av fired me by d time I com back.

Being a convict ruins ur reputation, home or abroad so why not pay 5million and be a free man.

Ofcourse pay 5 million, nothing can be compare to one's freedom, I can always make more money, it will only take some time,instead of being behind bar for 3 months with all the emotional trauma one will go through.

Stupid question. Find the money oh to avoid getting butt raped or lesbian raped in prison, dirty toilets, locked up etc and etc.

Prison for sure

In naija,I will gladly go to jail,whn I'm back,I will start small biz wt 3million. Thief thief juge.

Kayk said...

I will rather spend 3months in jail and come out after 3months to enjoy my 5million

Lol. I would rather go to jail o. Lol. My hustle pay can't just go like that, by the way in naija we don have stigmas on ex-cons. By d way after jail time I might be the next president. Krisz

Can't go to jail. Ill die! I have nightmares about being in jail. Not even in a spacious room. Ill pay the fine. Since iv made the money once, I can do it again

Which would you think would hurt most. Remain a free man but broke as hell or just visit state pen and come out 5m rich. Krisz

give up my life's savings

NEVAEH said...

Linda ele gidigan*in my man's voice*lol

Omo, 3 months in jail oh, at least I kw say I no go die

Abeg even if na 1yr I will gladly go. Keep dat money for my family b

isnt it three months,i go die dan pay a whole 5Million

Koko said...

Go to jail joor,nor be pple dey there

Borrow d money. Naija jail(God forbid). D trauma, d disease, rape(by inmates). Never. Musta find d money. Just sayin...

missy said...

Lemme spend 5months

3 months of course.its just 3mnths nt 1 year

Ermmm I think I wud pay the 5million naira fine.

gistmode said...

if say na me steal the N5million and am to go to jail for 3months ordinarily without collecting the N5m back....lol, prefer to go, no be 3 months. just kidding. Good name is better than silver or Gold

Why recycle this again Linda, you have have has this on your blog before

Na wa 4 u oo lind.. I go dey d jail even if na 1yr. Haba 5million. We're I 1 start 4rm If I pay.. D kind suffer u go jam. E for beta say u dey jail...

Raphael Anagbado Esq. said...

Jail term

3 month won't hurt compare to years of hardwork. Gonna Spend my 3 month jeje nd use my 5m to clean

I will go to jail linda

Asaa said...

I will give up the 5m o! Sharply! I might not survive kirikiri! Mba o! Once they is life, there is hope!

100k is qt fair enof!! I'll gv up d 5m and cont workin..cos if I go to jail I'll loos ma job and u no hw it is gettin a good job in nija.
On a second tot I can can go to jail and mk a good invstmnt wt d mony wen am out..

I will gladly stroll in to d jail and become presido there, come out after 3months and continue my life and enjoy my life savings.

pat alex said...

Pay the money and start all over again. I can't imagine myself in that terrible place.

Linda are u a leaner? Just three months and its over.

I will gladly go 2 kirikiri.watz 3mths in jail compared 2 5M?

3 bad month in jail will do, in which after I will travel out with my 5m to start all over a better life again

GermanyhealthcareInfo said...

pay d money..

Very funny ! Isn't it obvious that I did rather go to jail .....I beg make dem rest jor jail no dey kill person oh but hardship and poverty has started to prove a killer

Dlapikin said...

3 month in jail anytime!

Hmmmmmmmmmmm dis question is kind of difficult 2 answer o but if I'm d person I will spend 3 months in jail o dats if dey won't extend it sha o cos N5Million is such a huge amount of money ooooo haba thank GOD is jst 3months not 3years*winks* but I don't pray 2 be in such situation IJN AMEN.

I prefer 2 stay in jail 4 3month rather dan loose my life savings.

No question abt it, would pay the fine in a heartbeat. Prison sentences stay on your record forever and could affect future job prospects, plus emotional scarring. The fine is only money, which you can make again

D jail go make sense!!!

Adanna said...

as a stingy igbo gal i'd spend 3mnths @lst wen i rturn i'd av smtin 2 fall bck on

Fearless! said...

God forbid,
But I go go the jail,take 1 nillion to settle the prison warders and inmates,live like a "queen",after getting out,go for a 1 month holiday,do a full medical checkup,spa and stuff,to fight the kraw kraw and come back to my life b4 the sentence!

If I hear say I give this yeye country 5million,make I turn Q, ​​​. ​​​​​​​=))Âş°˚˚˚°ÂşLmaoÂş°˚˚˚°Âş‎​°Âş‎​=))

I will go 2 jail 4 300
m 4 5yrs

kanye's bitch.. said...

I'll pay d 5million. Because if I go to jail, wen I get back, whu wud wana employ an ex convict?

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 248   Newer› Newest»