Queen Beatrix of Netherland abdicates; hands crown to first son | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 30 April 2013

Queen Beatrix of Netherland abdicates; hands crown to first son

75 year old Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands abdicated today April 30th after 33 years as queen and handed over her throne and crown to her eldest son at a ceremony that held on the balcony at the Royal Palace in Amsterdam. 46 year old Willem-Alexander will be the first King of the Netherlands since 1890. The former queen will now be addressed as Princess Beatrix.

Imagine 86 year old Queen Elizabeth of England handing over her crown to Prince Charles! That will be the day! Hehe. See more photos after the cut...

Queen Beatrix signs the act of abdication next to her son Crown Prince Willem-Alexander and his wife Crown Princess Maxima
Queen Beatrix passes the act of abdication to her son Crown Prince Willem-Alexander

92 comments:

BUKOLA said...

THIS IS REALLY NICE. CONGRAT TO HIM. SMILES

#LINDA ABEG TELL LIB READERS TO CHECK BBPINDATE.COM AND MEET OLD FRIENDS AND MILLION OF SINGLES AROUND THEM FOR FREE

I was hoping Queen Elizabeth will be the first to hand over her crown cus she is too old and her son is getting old too. That woman get too many wahala sef. Anyway, wise act Princess Beatrix, congrat King Willem Alexander

What an emotional moment,wish queen Eliza can follow suit.
pray u won't be a Prince Charles in a Queen Elizabeth era,coz patience will be ur name.

Chineduu said...

Lolz. Nija people this one no sweet una hmmm!!!

What an emotional moment,wish queen Eliza can follow suit.
pray u won't be a Prince Charles in a Queen Elizabeth era,coz patience will be ur name.

This prince looks 60!

+Throne -thrown

Woow..

Prince Charles will so wish to be like Willem-Alexander, as for him, he has even waited a longer time and is far advanced in age than Willem.

Linda you shelled o!...lol
I'm sure you meant "THRONE" in the second line not "thrown"
Nice work though. You are mympersonal CNN :D
Keep up the good work dear ;)

Woow..

The Pope's resignation will encourage many of such power exchanges.

what's thrown Linda?

or do you mean to say throne?

iniabasi said...

finally she has decide to let d crown go.

people that know when to let go.

If that even happens in benin sef, omo na riot o. I wonder what subjected the woman to hand over her sovreignty

Linda it is Throne and not Thrown. Ur English baffles me at times. Better post my comment o!!

WORLD PEACE AMBASSADOR NIGERIA said...

I usually do like doing leaving comments but this made me laff...See the New Kings Wife in the first picture. She be like...Old woman...you better sign this documents fast and get it done with... I bet her heart is beating fast for reasons of any change of mind...lolz...Likey tho

In the last pic this their smile says a lot, it doesn't look real.just saying oh

Nice mother, nice tradition. Congrats King Willem-Alexander

That good

Linda,

The correct spelling is "Throne", not "Thrown". You know your readers will come and chew you up in a minute.
-BabyDee

Throne linda!!!!!not thrown

thrown *throne*
gboegboe all na idea
dont think Queen ever wants her son on that throne
forget Britico and their wahala, when queen dey go make she carry her crown go and if possible her seat

HYBunny

Congratulations Prince Willem-Alexander,wishin you all d best.i L♥√ع Queen Beatrix hair,it luks so natural n beautiful.

SUE JORDAN said...

QUEEN ELIZABETH WILL NEVER DO THAT. I FEEL SORRY FOR CHARLES....HE WILL NEVER BE KING...

Charlse can't be king again my dear, he gave up d thrown wen e married his second wife. The next person to be king is William. FYI

Its possible prince Charles will never be king. Smh

1st king since 1890 huh! And it looks like he's going to hand over to another queen when he dies or abdicates going by d fact that he has 3 daughters too. This Nordic countries ehn.

ChiChilUv said...

I believe there are two reasons why Queen Elizabeth is still sitting on her throne in her gilded cage. 1. She hasn't handed it over because Charles is and will always be a fool. Every mother knows her child's strength and weakness, simply looking at Charles, one can tell that he is not all together there. He doesn't exude strength, wisdom or leadership qualities. The Queen will be handing that crown over to William, her grandson.

2. I do believe that she is very controlling as well, I don't think she will know what to do with herself if she was not at the helm of the British throne so she is holding on for as long as she can to power which is addictive.

Who knows, she might take a clue from Beatrix. Na sensible woman be dat. This Elizabeth get frail husband, instead of getting off the throne and spending time with him, she is still clinging on like paint on wall.

Mother's love to her son. Rule well

Eliza will not leave that throne alive. Till death do them part.

Olodo linda its throne nt thrown

The guy's wife looks exceedingly pleased lol

very noble of her.

She handed over her 'throne' and not 'her thrown' please. Thanks

Mama Charlie no go gree hand over now... Till she don near grave. Even then she no go give Charlie, instead na Willie she go give. Gbam!

Love all over them at the expense of millions of people... Love still the strongest... Selflessness redefined....

Sommie

Bia Linda,jiri nwayo o! make iya Charlie no hear wetin you just talk. Long Live the King!!

life wl b sweet if we hand over authority 2who itz due 2whn it time 2do so rather thn allwn it get 2our head &nt wanting 2had ovr

apparently the queen isn't allowed to hand over her crown to anyone unless she dies..in the UK...that's what I was told...so...sucks for Charles and Camilla!

Mama Charley...What did Charley do to you.

He will soon be a grandfather.

Pope did it, Queen Beatrix has done it

Biko hand-over Or Are you Mugabe?

Shewhosees said...

What a mom! Well done!

Linda, I'm in Amsterdam now and have to say everything went well and smooth. Great ex Queen Beatrix was a humble queen, and has done the right thing. I feel priviedge to be here in The Netherlands on this day.

Omg Linda,don't make most of your libers believe that you don't know spellings???its THRONE and not THROWN!!!!!did she throw the crown at her son?oops!thank me later...

Linda ma tots exactly before i read ur commnt on queen of england. Abeg mak she pity charles now? Hes waited all hs lyf for ds yet d woman hs refuse to die choi!

E make sense

Queen Elizabeth rather die than hand over to Phillip lol

Linda read ur english ooo is throne not thrown haba . see wetin tatafo dey do. better post my comment oo.

This is what queen Elizabeth should have done since if she loved Prince Charles instead of making him look so useless in d palace. Well, let me assume she didn't Because charles is irresponsible. By that I mean he dint co-ordinate his family well

--Teeteelahyo--

Linda it is throne...not "thrown"
Keep up the good work...Cheers!

As he has only daughters d female reign shall continue after him.just sayin...

Linda is 'throne' not 'thrown'

It is throne not thrown!

IYA Charlie too like money, she no go abdicate nothing! greedy woman

The Dutch monarchs have a tradition or convention of abdicating. British monarchs are not supposed to abdicate. A King of England abdicated in the last century to marry an American woman he loved, but that abdication was seen as a calamity which went to the root of the British race and Empire. British monarchs can of course delegate duties they are too old or frail to perform, but abdication, in that good old British phrase, is simply not done. They should not emulate the Dutch in that practice.

Wonderful.....very wonderful.

Shaw said...

dats a new word for me...Abdicated/Abdication/Abdicates . Bow down bi*&*s , u can neva wear my crown even though I abdicate,. ;) . Bi*********s bow DOWN .... pardon my swear words Linz. kindly post my comment. kisses

Good! Uh............post my comment linda!

Shaw said...

33 years is significant in numerology ... Just saying though. beautiful name .. Beatrix. All hail king Willem (new name found);) . Linz, I dont think Queen Elizabeth will ever abdicate, She's the Queen of life, for life, with life and in life.. *whew*

Linda, its her 'throne' not 'thrown'. Pls correct it. Its a good thing the queen did. I think Queen Elizabeth will outlive her son lol! And she will never abdicate either.

Shaw said...

Libers, pls download 'SPLOOFIC' by female rapper 'BUTAFLY' . She goes hard on this one. here's the link. share and enjoy ..... www.hulkshare.com/5ca94vnbhz40 .
Linda pls let this comment go through. Thanks *wink*

mornachical system of govt. will any other family ever rule?

Dats gud and cool. Linda y u use queen elizabeth do example? E gud sha cuz our leaders we no sabi who dia first son be cuz some of them no even sabi all dia children.

That queen elizabeth wey just dey look younger......she calls herself "paragon of cleanliness" meaning if she didn't bath for a month, she wudnt smell.....Anty Linda abeg post my comment cos i don tire 4 u oooo

Queen Elizabeth, Ma'am, please don't even think of it!

Hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda but u know that the queen of England is a witch Lizzy will never ever abdicate her throne for charlie boy no way her plan is to die on that throne her plan is even to out live every one sh is the witch of endon

One word, wonderful.

Candy Agu said...

Eliza take note,

smiley said...

good news

Rosie Said......Their resemblance is uncanny(Check out the last pic)

Xclusive said...

I thot a prince is suposed2b cute and charming...na wa o 4 nowadays prince o...

i'm in Amsterdam to witness this occation. Linda post my comments. Also update the photos for the innauguration.

This is a welcome development. make sure u post my comment.

I like this. She is an amazing woman. They look alike.

Mother- child love.

Mind u Linda ...Queen Elizaberth is 100yrs old and not 86.....shez goona pass d crown to her grandson Prince Williams bcos hez father wants d crown to be given to his son.....becos he tinks he is old for dat.. Nd d council is still lookin into it........

Linda, these pictures are not true of what is happening here in amsterdam, just left Dam Square and they did not wear this cloths ooooo, anyway you good sha at keeping on tab..

I don't think Queen Eliza will do the same as The Netherlands is a tiny country compared to the UK. The British king and queen idea is over a thousand years old while the that of The Netherlands is relatively new.
Moreover, prince Charles is an Arsenal fan......... he is really very patient.

In Netherlands it is custom to retire when the king/queen desires.
In england it is not. You remain king/queen till death. Thats their culture. So people need to shut up about queen elizabeth. Idiots

Mr I too know bonario bush monkey,prince Charles wld never be king, ma William b Heir apparent.

olodo.bonario no mind am, charles is next in line.nigga be talking thrash

Akila said...

Thanks for this info Linda,I never knew the Netherlands had a Monarchy.
...But now that i know,what am i supposed to do with this information?..*bats eyelashes+

Hhahahahaha arsenal fans!over patient people.

UDDIN JOSEPH'S BLOG said...

Princess Beatrix has proven her ethos beyond mere royal juxtapositions... Indeed she is ROYAL!

God Bless Our King Willem!!!

@uddinjoseph

Abdication is normal and common in NL. Her second son is in a coma after an accident so she wants to step down to concentrate on the sonephone apparently was rebellious. British monarchs rarely abdicate even if they were mad like George the third or sick. It is a British thing....keep going on regardless, persevere.

Bene said...

I was there yesterday, it was a beautiful ceremony. It is called 'koningin dag' meaning queens day. Things were sold so cheap all over Nederland yesterday. I got two beautiful pairs of shoe at 4euro each. Didn't go with private car otherwise I would ve taken greater advantage of the day.

lucky dem..

Egun Mogaji said...

Numbskull bonario,queen elizabeth can only abdicate to prince william because charles' a divorcee n as a result cannot be king

jewel said...

England should learn from this act...preserving the fate of england is greater than any one person

Τhis pіece of writing pгeѕents clear idea for thе new
people of blogging, that genuinеlу how to do
blogging аnd site-building.

my ωeb blog :: lloyd irvin