NBA star Jason Collins becomes 1st sportsman to come out as gay | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 April 2013

NBA star Jason Collins becomes 1st sportsman to come out as gay

Washington Wizards center Jason Collins made history by becoming the first active player from any US professional sports to publicly reveal he is a gay man. He came out as gay in the new issue of Sports Illustrated. In the self penned article Jason writes,
I'm a 34-year-old NBA center. I'm black. And I'm gay. I didn't set out to be the first openly gay athlete playing in a major American team sport. But since I am, I'm happy to start the conversation. I wish I wasn't the kid in the classroom raising his hand and saying, "I'm different." If I had my way, someone else would have already done this. Nobody has, which is why I'm raising my hand,"
Read the rest of Jason's piece after the cut. Try and read it, it's a great piece...

My journey of self-discovery and self-acknowledgement began in my hometown of Los Angeles and has taken me through two state high school championships, the NCAA Final Four and the Elite Eight, and nine playoffs in 12 NBA seasons.

I've played for six pro teams and have appeared in two NBA Finals. Ever heard of a parlor game called Three Degrees of Jason Collins? If you're in the league, and I haven't been your teammate, I surely have been one of your teammates' teammates. Or one of your teammates' teammates' teammates.

Now I'm a free agent, literally and figuratively. I've reached that enviable state in life in which I can do pretty much what I want. And what I want is to continue to play basketball. I still love the game, and I still have something to offer. My coaches and teammates recognize that. At the same time, I want to be genuine and authentic and truthful.

Why am I coming out now? Well, I started thinking about this in 2011 during the NBA player lockout. I'm a creature of routine. When the regular season ends I immediately dedicate myself to getting game ready for the opener of the next campaign in the fall. But the lockout wreaked havoc on my habits and forced me to confront who I really am and what I really want. With the season delayed, I trained and worked out. But I lacked the distraction that basketball had always provided.

The first relative I came out to was my aunt Teri, a superior court judge in San Francisco. Her reaction surprised me. "I've known you were gay for years," she said. From that moment on I was comfortable in my own skin. In her presence I ignored my censor button for the first time. She gave me support. The relief I felt was a sweet release. Imagine you're in the oven, baking. Some of us know and accept our sexuality right away and some need more time to cook. I should know -- I baked for 33 years.

When I was younger I dated women. I even got engaged. I thought I had to live a certain way. I thought I needed to marry a woman and raise kids with her. I kept telling myself the sky was red, but I always knew it was blue.

I realized I needed to go public when Joe Kennedy, my old roommate at Stanford and now a Massachusetts congressman, told me he had just marched in Boston's 2012 Gay Pride Parade. I'm seldom jealous of others, but hearing what Joe had done filled me with envy. I was proud of him for participating but angry that as a closeted gay man I couldn't even cheer my straight friend on as a spectator. If I'd been questioned, I would have concocted half truths. What a shame to have to lie at a celebration of pride. I want to do the right thing and not hide anymore. I want to march for tolerance, acceptance and understanding. I want to take a stand and say, "Me, too."

Imagine you're in the oven, baking. Some of us know and accept our sexuality right away and some need more time to cook. I should know - I baked for 33 years.
The recent Boston Marathon bombing reinforced the notion that I shouldn't wait for the circumstances of my coming out to be perfect. Things can change in an instant, so why not live truthfully? When I told Joe a few weeks ago that I was gay, he was grateful that I trusted him. He asked me to join him in 2013. We'll be marching on June 8.

No one wants to live in fear. I've always been scared of saying the wrong thing. I don't sleep well. I never have. But each time I tell another person, I feel stronger and sleep a little more soundly. It takes an enormous amount of energy to guard such a big secret. I've endured years of misery and gone to enormous lengths to live a lie. I was certain that my world would fall apart if anyone knew. And yet when I acknowledged my sexuality I felt whole for the first time. I still had the same sense of humor, I still had the same mannerisms and my friends still had my back.

Believe it or not, my family has had bigger shocks. Strange as it seems today, my parents expected only one child in 1978. Me. When I came out (for the first time) the doctors congratulated my mother on her healthy, seven-pound, one-ounce baby boy. "Wait!" said a nurse. "Here comes another one!" The other one, who arrived eight minutes later and three ounces heavier, was Jarron. He's followed me ever since, to Stanford and to the NBA, and as the ever-so-slightly older brother I've looked out for him.

I had a happy childhood in the suburbs of L.A. My parents instilled in us an appreciation of history, art and, most important, Motown. Jarron and I weren't allowed to listen to rap until we were 12. After our birthday I dashed to Target and bought DJ Quik's album Quik Is the Name. I memorized every line. It was around this time that I began noticing subtle differences between Jarron and me. Our twinness was no longer synchronized. I couldn't identify with his attraction to girls.

I feel blessed that I recognized my own attractions. Though I resisted my impulses through high school, I knew that when I was ready I had someone to turn to: my uncle Mark in New York. I knew we could talk without judgment, and we did last summer. Uncle Mark is gay. He and his partner have been in a stable relationship forever. For a confused young boy, I can think of no better role model of love and compassion.

I didn't come out to my brother until last summer. His reaction to my breakfast revelation was radically different from Aunt Teri's. He was downright astounded. He never suspected. So much for twin telepathy. But by dinner that night, he was full of brotherly love. For the first time in our lives, he wanted to step in and protect me.

139 comments:

Wch kind spirit dey possess this pple? ?? He needs deliverance

He just saved his bungalow in hell fire. He'll fire chilling

Make I come read this lenghty page? Untop say him b gay? Mtcheeew

Nonsense..... Come naija kon talk that one..mtcheeeeew

l00se that Fat Now Click here said...

omg

What a negative record indeed! How pathetic! #Disdain

kidodo said...

Rubbish? I hate gay people.

Ewwwwww

Another lost soul...mumuni

GLAM ME PRO said...

He aint d first joor. Some sports guy in UK opened up last year.. but finaly, dz gay tingy is now getting out of hand dz days.

Ada said...

Okay...I dont know how to react to this. Its a touching piece but I still cannot wrap my head around how people know they are gay.

hmmm one husband gone.
pays u more doing u,than boning a broda.

Keep ur head up! Play da game,dats wat U̶̲̥̅̊ were born to do. Dey'll hate U̶̲̥̅̊ though....just hold on!

Is there any achievement in this?

www.naijaopenmouth.com

Na wa o.

Hmmm, what can we say, so wen his team mate are having a bath, he looks @ them in a funny way. EwwwwWw. 'Ms Bee'

All this long speech! U have no xcuse ass fucker!
I'm tired of these gay morons!

Lewis Mutual said...

Hell calling you! Better pick up! Akukuibi o san ju radarada!

mizOsa said...

MchhEeeewwww

your name nah sorry,after you raise your hand its God that will flog the hell out of you ...

Ewwwww

luskii said...

I don't kia if ur write up is d best d world's ever had, or u r made or u r d first to own up, I just think u av grown from grace to WEED,u r not only mad u r d maddest!D Bible gave no option of discussion on d matter wen it said man shall not lie with mankind,its a SIN and has no other name,we av all taken advantage of d grace of God upon our lives,sorry man,Go n get urself purified so dat d devil doesn't rejoice over ur soul,.....I am definitely not perfect, and am still trying to get my ways straight with Christ.....SO mr.basket baller,ur enjoyment in life z a total waste wen u can enjoy here n enjoy God's prepared inheritance for u

your name nah sorry,after you raise your hand for class,nah God go use kane flog you...

Good thing he's coming out but bad thing is he'll be stigmatized

Know ur body type here on my style blog www.soladunn.blogspot.Com

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Ewwwwww! What an idiot!

Linda are. You promoting being gay. Why is it always news on your blog. Why are you always pushing it in our faces

so this handsome man is fucking thru the anus,instead of viginal.na wa o end time

good for you,,later na you and God go settle

This s an awesome piece by d way..vewi touchin, i tink he worked on t pretty wel, seriously tho, most things he said re sooo tru, ah jus tink m somhw in same boat, tried buildin my muscles tu luk masculin nd fightin it real hard, buh somehw yu stil find d shades n sparks of doz feelings dia, most times it becomes wierd, lik shld yu rli be feelin dis way abt ur fellow sex? Wat would d world say abt it? and al,. Me, i tink m stil baking, n heaven knows i doubt i ever wanna be done,.!muchles hia, in 9ja

He dosent no what he is saying,may God help him because is not a gud life been a gay.

Fowl.

--Teeteelahyo--

Am not gay...I can never be gay...but I LOvE this speech!!!!If this makes u happy then embrace...Happiness is the bane of existense.

Igbo Heritage TV said...

Open up ur gayness to God, and He would give you a million reasons why being gay is evil and isnt as cool as you think

SORRY.

webmaster said...

hay,
www.mtvbank.com/bsk

bimsoty said...

Abegi forget d story luking for sympatic!am not a jugde but. U are wrong,so wrong JASON COLLINs,repent n mend ur ways

Choi c fyn boi wt d*** only for asses! #SMH# Wat a waste!

linda we dont want to know.This agenda u are pursuing with so much vigour. wetin concern us?????

You Ǎ̜̣̍я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ just looking for sympathy faggot!

Parle G said...

Hw does this make history... Wat a pervert generation! *smh*

Wah a story

Linda go sleep abeg,and stop boring us wif ur homo gist!re u a lesbian?better confess now.we wld still accept u 4 who u are

sup linda I really do love you and ur approach to journalism(always rational)...I also thank God that ur wonderful blog is d most visited in Nigeria
and 23rd most visited site in the entire country BUT try and ensure dat ur blog is not a means of promoting things that are against GOD for example
promoting homosexuality and exageratin mistakes of men of GOD(dat are obviously sent by GOD)...am nt sayin u shud not speak d truth dat gay pple av rights BUT
dnt allow d DEVIL use uR BLOG in achieving his deeds on earth..we wud all give account of our lives one day @iluvmynaijagirl

T.......... said...

To think dis Nigga has been sharing locker rooms and showers with his fellow teammates...... I just dnt get it!!!! T.........

i still dont understand how one can be gay, left to me as an african and religious guy, i think its a demonic spirit and they need deliverance. winks*

Awwww!Bless u.God love us all irrespective of our sexual choices.Bravo!

Declan said...

God give me the courage nd grace to 'come out' to my family nd close friends. I know they will still love me nd support me nd nothing will really change. Its just that the pain nd suffering of the initial shock is what I can't take! I am gay, always have bn nd I'm proud of it. I didn't choose to be gay, it chose me.

Every celeb wants 2 b gay this dayz, just to gain recognition. SMH

What a waste!!!!!smh

Nonsense and firewood !!! Never believe its normal to be gay.

DatSweetIboChic said...

Speechless, what kind of world do we even live in..... Well if it makes him happy, I wish him well, Life is 2 short 2 live in d closet.

Na craze dey worry una! Oshisko!

This Ȋ̝̊̅§ so disgusting cos I dnt get to see a ram and another ram making out,not even a monkey and a monkey or goat and goat, so why must we hear this crap always.I suggest a holiday in zambia.

Sommie

What is happening,we are loosing so many guys to this 'gay' thing.....

Congrats to him, more grease to his elbow. All na publicity stunt. Nxt please

Bros wetin ur story cum teach us,abeg go commit suicide. Man D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ fuck Man(yuck).
As 4 me,i go D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ fuck pussies till i die. Pussy pounder 4 lyf.
Linda,if U̶̲̥̅̊ lyk no post my comments. Dodorima

Pls linda dont start this week again with gay abeg

God punish devil!!! Don't tell me this guy, this dream guy is wasting his manhood on other men. Its so disgusting. O God!!! Help us in this day and age. I just can't deal. Noooo. IAI

Not sure what to think of these gay people. I don't have anything against people choosing to be gay or marry 2 wives....woteva! Its your life.

My issue is.....why bore us with what you choose to do in your home/bedroom.

TMI!!!!

Tough ynash

Brave decision.....now he'z gonna b @ peace wit himself.....jgurl

Who get time to ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ read long epistle!

Mrstsquare said...

Rubbish!

Madam linda!!! Hw e take concern us o!!!! Dis u must knw gay news should stop abeg!!!!! And 2 mr queer, go shit in ur shoes!!!! U and everyoda pscho dat supports dis rubbish!! Soon after homosexuality, it'll be beastiality dey will be promoting!!!!

Linda just when we thought we were done with this pro-gay thingy on your blog , you suddenly go back to reverse mode !!!! Hmmm, what can I say ,.... It wouldn't shock me .I dey wait , just talk am quick

EEeewwww!!!!!! Bet why ? :(

You damn fool, animals don't do that!

At this rate of (gay)homosexuality, the female n human race r in danger. We might go in2 extinction. I just don't and do not want understand dis trend. I like Obama ooo bt for dis I hate him. Cos he has contributed largely to dis maddness all in d name of winning election.

Now it is confirmed linda,.. U are jobless and to think dt I read dis stupid gay write up to de end!..pheeeeww!.. Dear God!.. For de sake of ur sorrowful passion!.. Have mercy on me, on linda,.. On de whole world and on dis moda f**king useless gay moron!..

He is lack too so doubly difficult. Let us see if fit is a career suicide mission.

I don't have anything against someone being gay but I have something against someone adopting because both can't nurture a pregnancy. Wish all could b gays and lesbians so that humans will b extinct. Gbam!!OZ

Huge basketball fan, and I've been following the american media 4 a wyl nw,wanting gay guys to come out as been major headlines,and I still don't get how that will help the sports there. For JC, wish him the best. I have to give you props linda you are amazing!!!

Nonsense, tell him 2 clap 4 himself *mtcheeew*

My bible is against it. Rubbish

Tale by moonlight!!!!? Where is ur director? Elton Jones.. Lmao. Abeg park for gutter, spare us all dis ur heart felt story, e no mean.. De subject matter is dat u dey put ur cock for where ship dey come out from.. Shame unto you. Linda if u like dnt post ma comment, dis won't be de first... Ada said so.. Balling out.

Collins or what do u call urself. May God Almighty change ur heart to the good.

Think.................if your father was guy. u won't b around now saying all these. OZ

Good for him! Confront your fears straight on and you will conquer your enemies

God forbid.No mata d kind of scientific or biological explanation I get as reason(s)4 gayism or lesbianism,they are highily devilish n demonic acts.dis guy needs serious deliverance.so irritating,disgustin n annoying

duchess lexzo said...

Wonders shall never end,if dis giant catch any guy bum bum he go scatter d area,chai na wa o.God save us

The devil is really taking over the heart of men,God never intend for us...Lord have mercy

Huge basketball fan, and I've been following the american media 4 a wyl nw,wanting gay guys to come out as been major headlines,and I still don't get how that will help the sports there. For JC, wish him the best. I have to give you props linda you are amazing!!!

Oloshi!

Linda , I hope this proves that people don't choose to be gay but find themselves That way! And here we are in africa cooking up ways to persecute humiliate and torture gay people. Tsk tsk tsk. I know some of readers will flood this post with comments like " the world is ending". "This man is possessed" " why will a man fancy another mans ass" " this and that in nigeria are gay" " repent" etc. but it's high time everyone wakes up and smell's the coffee!! Everyone and I mean EVERYONE has at least One gay or Bi person in their family! Be it nuclear or extended! (Worst case scenario -a parent). Those shouting crucify most often Closetted homosexuals who's sin of hypocrisy eats their lives up slowly. Now before you religious biggots pull out ur reasons, ask ur self this, Jesus addressed so many types of sins in the bible even up to adultery fornication and prostitution! But did he ever address homosexuality??? Dont you think he would have if it were as abominable as you modern day hypocritical christians make it seem. All sin is sin o! nig or small! Go back and think!!! Don't be deceived God did not destroy sodom and gommorah cos of gays, it was because of idol worshiping and blashphemy against the Holy spirit(knowing the truth of the spirit and swoping it for lies- for this reason God gave them up to their Impurities) read Romans !!!! I am a Christian and one day Jesus will deliver us all. Amen

Buchanan, ewwyyyyy, cursed faggot, too bad. Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old, he will not depart from it.....

Akuko! He should go f**k himself, then. I don't really like this gay guys at all.

Am glad he's been able to come out in d open wit his sexuality. I for one don't like dis gay tin but I won't judge anyone for their sexuality. Its not new anymore nd I can live wit 2 consenting adults who luv nd want to b wit eachoda even if dey r of d same sex. Dey av a rite to do wateva dey want, its between dem nd God in d end.

Egyro.

Jason u r a disgrace to ur world.Gush! And u r sooooo proud, pity u.

lloyd oliver said...

That's his fucking business! Senseless moron!

Mz Emerald said...

Much as I HATE homosexuals & lesbians, dis story is really touching. I just imagined it has to be a different case, like a trained lawyer practising in a different field entirely (just like we see in novels). I rili hope within my mind dat d story doesn't have to be what d holy books strongly opposed. Anyway, I'm not here to judge. Such is life!

Urgggh dude... First open gay sportsman and u had to be black?... Can just imagine homophobic Bballers go lyk" don't touch me fool" when he tries to touch or defend against em...

Linda....you are gay as hell LOL

Congrats for stepping out, i pray someday you guys and ladies who engage in same sex will choose the right path...

Eyah,so touching

luskii said...

@DECLAN....you r proud of wat?...OMO ALE...I pray ur family join in stigmatizing u, and dat u don't get support from anywhere....you irritate my guts,of all d pretty girls n fine bumbum u pass by daily,yet u chose an ass-hole?huh?...U r such a WASTE!

John Price said...

I am ragingly heterosexual but the pervasive sanctimonious posts here are yet more proof of the hopelessness of this country.

Go back to the bronze age, you religious nuts, walk around in togas there and speak to yourselves in the archaic tongue of the King James' version of your bible. Cretins.

In the olden days it was your ilk that branded sickle cell anemic children as demonic. Morons.

Use your brains and think originally for once. Who created sicklers? Who created homosexuals? If you think a product is defective for not conforming to your own standards then blame the manufacturer, if you must blame, and not the product.

Troglodytes. Nigeria has a long way to go before it sees any light and I'm not talking about your stupid PHCN. Retards.

Wtf? I'm for gays but I'm not for how they matryize their "coming out". How many straight people do you see announcing they are straight! Geez! You are not special so stop idolizing yourself. You are human like everyone else.

@John price, n u must b a fucking regard! Fool.

#noted!...dnt worry,u'll done properly & evn roast & burn in hell.Idiot!,instead of u 2 seek a solution now that ur seeing early signs,u sit & type nonsense.God have mercy on U! ...jkzm says

Pls aunty calm down..it wz jst news!! Must Nigerians take everitin personally or spiritually?? Did Linda tell u 2 become gay??...she jst reported news abeg...all dis spiritually challenged people!! Pls let Linda rest! Abi she force u read d story ni??? Next time wen commentin.... pls pls pls bring ur brain along!!!!

Linda get your fact right,he's not the first sportsman neither NBA to come out,John Amaechi, who in 2007 became the first former NBA player to speak publicly about his homosexuality.

Former NFL running back Dave Kopay, who declared he was gay in 1975,so why your title says the first? you misleading people

John price,i've got jst one wrd 4 ya...FOOL!

Why are nigerians so homophobic? Tsk tsk tsk!

Abasi mbokooo,Ẅђα† is d world turning int?

You made a very valid point until ur fish brain packed all Nigerians 2 be the same! Guess that way of tinking dsnt make u diff frm woh u condemning!

Linda , I hope this proves that people don't choose to be gay but find themselves That way! And here we are in africa cooking up ways to persecute humiliate and torture gay people. Tsk tsk tsk. I know some of readers will flood this post with comments like " the world is ending". "This man is possessed" " why will a man fancy another mans ass" " this and that in nigeria are gay" " repent" etc. but it's high time everyone wakes up and smell's the coffee!! Everyone and I mean EVERYONE has at least One gay or Bi person in their family! Be it nuclear or extended! (Worst case scenario -a parent). Those shouting crucify most often Closetted homosexuals who's sin of hypocrisy eats their lives up slowly. Now before you religious biggots pull out ur reasons, ask ur self this, Jesus addressed so many types of sins in the bible even up to adultery fornication and prostitution! But did he ever address homosexuality??? Dont you think he would have if it were as abominable as you modern day hypocritical christians make it seem. All sin is sin o! nig or small! Go back and think!!! Don't be deceived God did not destroy sodom and gommorah cos of gays, it was because of idol worshiping and blashphemy against the Holy spirit(knowing the truth of the spirit and swoping it for lies- for this reason God gave them up to their Impurities) read Romans !!!! I am a Christian and one day Jesus will deliver us all.

MEKA said...

See linda,d truth is,i feel its U̶̲̥̅̊ ppl in the media that are encouraging these ppl 2 do dese tins.d dangers in givin dem voice is dat,those lil children who see dem as role models wil now tink daaats d way of life aand follow dem.i dnt eva bliv dat ppl are born dis way,its 2 me neva biological no mata wat d gay doctors myt want us 2 bliv.its a spirit dat entas ppl wen a man hav sex wit anoda man.i went to an all boys skool and witnessed how d lives of innocent junior students are messed up by d seniors,d junior once,wen dey bcome seniors,inturn hav sex wit junior ones.thank God i wasn't a victim,aas i was wise at an early age 2 sense such and protect myself. These gay guys shld b taken off d streets and denied d opportunity of adoption,if dey want kids,dey knw d ryt way 2 get it,marry a woman and hav kids.innocent children should not b forced 2 accept a particular way of life by tinkin its ryt 2 grow wit 2 faathers or 2 mothers.i stil continue 2 blame d media,cos if dey dnt giv dese ppl voice,dey'll shut up and do wat is ryt.as 4 dis guy,i won't b surprised if dat his gay uncle had sex wit him wyl he waas young.

Sick. The bible is the sole constitution of existence and if it says homosexuality is wrong and a sin, IT IS. We need sane people to start organizing rallies against this obvious move of the devil. End time tins.

linda!!!!!!!!!!!!! bless ur soul. whether we burn in hell or not, that's left for God to decide. i'm nigerian, gay and 'comfortable in my skin' as the man Jason said. lol! funny cos i'm also Jason.

all u haters out there, all u got to do is look inward and face ur homophobia. we don't bite, kill or corrupt.

linda, i hope to hv a one-on-one with u someday.

cheers.

I think it has come to the point where we have to take this homosexuality issue seriously, at least reading tru d comments about 4 readers av declared themselves homosexual, only if we knew how many of our uncles and brothers are avin failed marriages now just bcos they r homosexuals that av forced themselves to conform to society, we needed to start understanding this people most times its a matter of identity and not choice we bigin to undastand them wen we see it that way

AMMY said...

Na wa oh,is ds now d norm?

kia!! wahala dey o! c dis cute guy [GAY] d worst is dat dese pple hapens to b veri cute, wat is d world turning in2?

Demonic idiot! Ejo n be lorun...No comment anymore, u'll see urselves b4 ur creator soon...keep keepin d stupid head up! Keep it up so dat d 2 edged sword wld be able to cutt it into hell. May God pray for U. Amen.

zeebi said...

Eve was the first bisexual ever recorded. Don't think lucifer doesn't know what she is doing. If as a chic ur bf ever demands for anal sex, just know he's gay buh still in the closet. So many lesbians and gay dudes here in naija sef. D end is almost here.

God should please show us the way!!!

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG said...

I still don't gerrit. Why a Man wld ignore the sweet fishy smell of a woman's vagina 4 his fellow's ass. That's soo sick & disgusting. God created & designed pussy for men to devour. With d yummy pussy juice. Hmmm.... Well, as 4 u Gays, y'all need God's deliverance cuz there are no gay animals. Meaning ,Animals better pass una. PEACE!!

*Rolling a wrap of kush*

W.O.W!!!

We have soooo many homophobic people in Nigeria o! You all have gays abi? LMAO. Ok na, make una win VISA lottery go another country go talk thi kain nonsense!

I'm a straight male but unlike the rest of u guys, my own eyes are open. I have never left Nigeria but I am exposed through thanks to the media.

I wish u all the best in life but whatever the case may be, don't hate on Linda for reporting the story.

Nonya said...

Gay bastard!

What a waste! That is all I can say.

linda do ur research right.. Hes nt the first to cum out as a gay. One rugby player in uk did too like 2 yrs ago. #nohomo#

Linda, Thank you so much for these gay posts. You are keeping the issue alive, creating awareness, and that's just great. Jason Collins has done a noble thing. He is being true to himself. People carry on about 'gayness' as if straight fornication is not a sin. No one who has ever been to bed with anyone they are not married to has the moral right to criticize gays. Being gay is natural. We can't fault the creator. From the dawn of history, gays have been present. In ancient Greece, it was actually the norm for an adolescent boy to have an older male lover/mentor. The Greeks were wiser than the present homophobic generation. Actually, there is something special about being gay. Most gays have more finesse, more class and insight than straight people. Ride on, brother Jason, women shouldn't have all the best men. Mind you, I don't much fancy your face with the teeth which I find too big, but I'm sure your huge, toned, fit body compensates for all facial flaws.

SOUTHERN BLOG BUG said...

All you Gays saying that u 'all are proud 2 be gay, why are u posting ur comments with Anonymous profiles? If u are truly proud, upload ur Pictures, tell ur momma & papas dat u are gay. Useless Good4nothing Bastards.

* puffs out smoke*

Knight said...

Linda, how do you mean '1st Sportsman to come out gay?

Our own Justin Fashanu who was a professional footballer in the English league professed being gay over two decades ago. He was the first black man to have a Million Pound transfer in the same league also.

He eventually commited suicide.

Lets get facts right abeg.

MsT: lmaoo..I'm telling u. Our God is merciful sa. Hian!

LMaoooo.... Abi oo,he shd cont keeping his head up.. Oloribuku..hell awaits u oo!

Linda get your facts straight! Where do u get ur information? U are in naija but u know everything that goes on here, usa. He is NOT the first gay althete to come! Just keep to current events in naija...SMH. Your blog is senseless and full of craps most of the time!!!

Hajjo said...

Mke dis man come mke I fuck am. After I finish he will testify to d goodness of womanhood. Hehe

If I come out and say I am gay who will clap for me?

Omo Dem Say said...

You lot should stop deceiving yourselves... the whole gay thing is here to stay... Not that am cool with it (yet) but if the world top countries are cool with it and there's about one gay guy/couple in top TV series then in a couple of years half the world would be cool with it... Guess we just have to start learning to live with the fact.. and for the whole "End Time" talk.. been gay is nothing new.. even Alexander the Great was gay..

Jay said...

OMG!!Can u hear urself??u talk about d yummy pussy of a woman and still condenm a gay person??are u not commiting fornication??all sin is sin my dear.and for ur information,there are gay animals!!go and do some research.and u are talking about gays needing deliverance and still used dat mouth to talk about a woman,s anatomy is such graphic details!!I pity u,u are d one dat needs deliverance

Jay said...

So true,most of d people calling him names and saying rubbish about him burning in hell and needing deliverance,commit adultery,fornication,steal,lie,etc.all sin is sin.don't jugde and don't throw stones cos we are all sinners.

To all the people here hating on gay people, does the Bible not say all sins are the same in the eyes of God? Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. Learn to love everybody.. Nobody is perfect

it surprises me wen i see d very elects i mean christian disputing glaring and clear facts..didnt d bible say deaden ur members which r on earth which include adultery,fornication even masturbation...all sins are dsame but dont 4get b it wit a woman or man if it is outside marriage it is a sin...end time tribulations....d master delayeth His coming see what d servants r doing.

i know i am the last to comment on this..but u guys should think about this...it's not only about being gay or being a lesbian...the only thing the devil always hated was the creation of the marriage institution which he is destroying day by day...for the guy who said sodom and gomorrah was not destroyed because of homosexuality read genesis 19vs3-11..and read romans 1vs18-32 because being gay is a sin. we are not meant to judge this people but leave them for GOD to judge romans 2...all we can do is to pray for the salvation of their souls and that of the world..and am not saying u and I should accept the act..

Huh???

babyface said...

Na wa o! Why are some people attacking Linda? She is a blogger and posts news. Doesn't look to me like she is supporting being gay. Geez! People are so quick to insult and judge. Damn! Let God who said don't do this be the Judge.

Jayke said...

Dear Linda, a million hugs and kisses to you!! Please keep this issue at the forefront, we urgently need such discourse in our country ... I am a young, well educated + well travelled Nigerian man, I am gay and no matter what u ignorant homophobes say, I love myself and i know my God loves and guides me as he has done every day of my life. I never chose to be gay, it chose me! ever since i was a boy of 5 or 6, i always sensed an attraction to men, as i grew older, i noticed it grew stronger just like JC's. I also believe God does not make mistakes, we gay guys are as perfectly made as anyone else in spite of what you homophobic cretins choose to say. Wake up and smell the coffee, lots of your brothers, sons, husbands,uncles, friends, boyfriends, fiances etc are full fledged gay men. They just pretend to be straight to avoid your raging homophobic hatred. I say: serves you all right that you have male relatives who go behind your back to fuck men, thats what you get when you squeeze them into such tight corners. Its so sad that most Nigerians are under the influence of false religion which promotes hatred against others simply on the basis of differing sexual preferences. Our country is plagued by unemployment, deep seasted corruption, crushed dreams, broken infrastructure etc, if all you ignoramuses channelled as much energy into fighting these crippling factors, our country would long have attained her rightful place in the comity of nations. Condemn and hate all you like, you can never wish gay people away, they are some of the brightest and most talented humans you could ever come across, by your homophobic hatred, you have made it impossible for you yourselves to benefit from their talents and compassion and consequently you are much poorer for it. Have you ever paused to think that in most parts of the Western World, people have woken up to the truth that gay rights are human rights and embracing gay people is the right and equitable thing to do. Shows how ignorance has shoved our country 300years back in time. You homophobes can curse and rant all you like, we shall always shine wherever we go. Meanwhile, i just booked my flight tickets to Various european cities in case you bush homophobes didnt notice, its time for gay pride in various European cities, I shall be there celebrating freedom and openness. #tongue out & down with intolerance# Linda, you must post my comment ooo ... Big ups girl, looking forward to your next gay post abeg ...