Subsidy Removal: Jonathan Summons Emergency FEC Session | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 4 January 2012

Subsidy Removal: Jonathan Summons Emergency FEC Session

Members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC), which adjourned till January 11, 2012, after its last meeting in December, have been summoned to attend an emergency meeting of the council slated for this morning Wednesday Jan 4, at the Presidential Villa, to discuss issues relating to the fuel subsidy removal and the nationwide anger and protests that have followed the fuel hike.

Labour leaders and activitist have said they will ground the economy if the decision is not reversed.

9 comments:

Jimoh Akintunde Raimi said...

“Within ourselves, we know Jonathan is eminently incapable of transforming Nigeria”. I said this to a colleague last April and it has turned prophetic. What a way to be vindicated!

ITS HIGH TIME THEY DO SoMETHING AND I HOPE THEY COME OUT WITH SOMETHING Ǧ̩̥☺☺Θ IF ITS ATLEAST N100 pER LiTRE FOR FUEL, IT WILL BE BETTER THAN D PRESENT PRICE.

The price should be reverse to N65 and Not N100 as someone earlier said otherwise! J will watch his body strip off him live!

My proposal is that the withdrawal should be done over a three year period. Increase it to =N=85 now, invest the money realised in the power sector, people see the benefits, then at the end of next year move it to =N=100, invest again and the cycle continues. That is a lot better than this instant death they have inflicted on us.

@9.49pm what are you saying 100 naira for fuel for what? ehh any petrol station selling fuel more than 65 naira should be closed its as simple as that

sleekreek said...

Jonathan has turned himself to badluck for Nigeria......i dont blame him,,,i blame those who voted for him........right from when he was deputy governor,,he had nothing to show for all his administrations........so i see no reason y people should think he will become Nigeria's messiah overnite,,,,,let's keep watching!!!

NK said...

While everyone is entitled to their opinion, I just wish people will start adding a dash of reasoning to that their opinion. Jimoh how exactly do u know GEJ is incapable o transforming Nigeria, o and before him, wat exactly did others do to transform naija for better? Granted he waited too long before addressing Boko Haram's issue and everyone has difference of opinion as regard to fuel subsidy, but my dear did naija get like this over night o were u under the impression h was magician when he was elected? Anon 9:49am makes more sense waterer the case may b let them do something towards reducing fuel price it's as simple as that. We had presidents that single handedly drained Nigeria and during their tenure, people were too afraid to even say their names. My people it's high time we understand that reformation rarely happen overnight and it's never without bloodshed. Powerful people fighting GEJ behind doors know exactly wat they are fighting for. Ever wondered why since we've been so focused about this fuel subsidy issue wh Boko Haram have been quiet? Think people think!

activist said...

Thank u gej. Glad to see u have eyes and ears and you are using them, unlike those bastard northern rulers we have had in the past who just made rules and changes w/out the masses being able to contest or protest. Now we expect favourable answers. Of course u may not reverse your decision 100% but at least we shld be able to meet half way where people will not be completely impoverished to make ends meet. To all who protested or are still protesting, una do well.

Clap clap clap. This story deserves a thumbs up. You get sense jonajona. The people are crying and you open ya eyes well to look. Now copme back with news that will favor the people if not we will not relent until we hear good news that will not drive us to the ground because we want to earn a living and live our lives. If this was Abacha during that his regime, dem no born most of us to open mouf sha o