NLC announce date and location of fuel subsidy removal protest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 2 January 2012

NLC announce date and location of fuel subsidy removal protest

Protest starts Tuesday, Jan 3rd @ 8.am, at NLC Secretariat - 29, Olajuwon Street opp. Tejuosho market, Yaba, Lagos.

Also:
*Protest in Makurdi takes off at 10am tomorrow 3rd January 2012, Venue is Woodland Park
*Signing of protest register against the removal of oil subsidy at the Emir's Palace, Gombe from 9:00am tomorrow.

Meanwhile there are rumours that to forestall protests tomorrow, BIS services will be shut down by service providers. If that happens, text or call 07003200882.

29 comments:

cressidachic said...

Linda,its Olajuwon Street.Its the street off ojuelegba road where tantalizers is.Come one,come all! #OccupyNaija

Shakara Natural Tips said...

Thanks Linda, posted on Facebook! Don't just talk, spread the word!!

What a desperate government... Shutting down BIS... we go text.... if dem cut am off... we go use swift, if dem cut am off.... we go use gong... dem no go stop us... I will be at tejuosho

Linda hope u will participate physically in the protest.

funkuscoy said...

These are issues to ponder about:

1)what happened to the money of kerosene,AGO and Aviation fuel in which subsidy were removed?

2)Why did okonjo-iweala lied to a great nation like Nigeria about april 1st 2012 for removal os subsidy?(this is a fraud, even in world bank) We have seen presidents of great nations resign for such issues.

3)Why is Jonathan govt bent on doing all the projects during his regime and inflicting pains on the people for this purpose?I guess there should be continuity in governance

4)Is the govt ruling infrastructures or the people?

Nigerians opportunity to be a great nation is here now. Go out for massive protest to make a change for generation to come.

We have no database, no social security system in place for the people. Iweala knows these and kept decieving us.

Enough is enough!!!

Dumb ass president...does this man think at all? Why him no remove subsidy, for the senators and house of rep members who pokets billions of naira for saying just nah or yes.Let the war start jor.

WHERE R U? said...

I remember my note on Facebook on 30th march 2011

"2011 Election - my view
by Olatoye Oluwagbenga on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 at 15:28
I pray either Buhari/Bakare or Ribadu/Adeola win the election but not somebody that is not politically matured enough. Not somebody that is ready to sacrifice anything even the whole nigerians just to win the election. As for Ogun State GOD is in control but I think this is the right time for us all to take our destiny into our hand, exercise our franchise and make sure it counts but standing by and monitor it. God help us all. This is time for divine turn around....."

But our people were so blindfolded by somebody's name rather than their capability. They think ones you are named Prosperity at birth even if you don't work, you'll prosper no matter what.

Even the bible did not teach us that, it rather says "No man put a new wine in an old bottle.......". Now here comes there own definition of "devident of democracy".

I PRAY NIGERIANS WILL AT THIS TIME ATLEAST FOR ONES STAND UP FOR THEIR RIGHT!

Y the protest? When they made laws months ago banning homosexuals,you all were applauding the Govt and insulting protesters.You may feel their cause is useless,so is yours now! I told you there was no freedom of expression in Nigeria,I warned about Arbitrary laws that when you allow these laws to be made,it keeps happening.No one listened,it was a religious warfare.Now who's crying now?let the law makers save you!

Besides,why are the forms being signed @ the Emir of Gombe's Palace? Y can't the emirs stop Boko Haram! But they are the 1st to sponsor and host anti GEJ campaigns and protests.I smell a rat.An Hausa/Fulani rat! Maybe the subsidy is favouring the northerners more.

kokoqueen said...

Linda...we 9jarians in the diaspora are strongly behind you all...we love you linda...mwuah

pls dey shud not allow them to deceive us o. Am sure fuel price is as high as 141naira so dat wen NLC begins negotiation, GEJ govt will bring it to as low as 100 hundred naira and tell stupid lie that they will add small subsidy. Abeg o it shud remain 65 naira or cheaper sef.
When is strike starting? I thot dey said strike starts 2moro? Lets do all we can to frustrate the heartless plans of dis heartless people who are governing us.

Then what happens after that? These our so called leaders don't care about what happens to the common peasants on the street. We need a revolution in Nigeria! look at the middle east! Our leaders don't fear God, that's why.GEJ!GEJ! it's not business as usual, hmmm! okay!Madam Patience OR PEPE, talk to your hubby ooo! PPLE ARE NOT HAPPY, KIDS ARE NOT HAPPY SO TALK TO YOUR HUSBAND.

This is gettin out of hand may God help us owl.cos dis alone can bring down d so call idiot goodluck goverment down.dis leaders are just hypocrates and God will judge dem.AMEn

Causes of The Nigerian Civil War said...

LESSONS LEARNT
By Major Abubakar A. Atofarati: CSC 1992.
Student: US Marine Command & Staff College(Academic Year 1991/92).

The Nigerian civil war, popularly known all over the world as the "Biafran War"  was fought from 2 July 1967 to 15 January 1970.  The war was between the then Eastern Region of Nigeria and the rest of the country.  The Eastern Region declared itself an independent state which was regarded as an act of secession by the Federal Military Government of Nigeria.  The war was fought to reunify the country.  In order to understand what led to the civil war, it is necessary to give a brief background history of Nigeria.  

Pat Imhen said...

CAUTION! 

The Oil Cartel and northern leaders are using truckload of money to maliciously instigate political thugs, criminals and some well meaning but very uninformed Nigerians to setup protest.

DO NOT BE USED FOR THEIR INTEREST!!

DO NOT ALLOW YOURSELF TO BE USED FOR THEIR SELFISH INTEREST! WHAT ABOUT IF NIGERIAN FEDERAL GOVERNMENT IS SINCERE?

This fuel subsidy removal is good and bad. Iweala says all those companies collecting allocation from it will not get it anymore but will the money now be used for something good for the Nigerian pple? 143 naira! that's a bit mean!They should find a way out to help the Nigerian pple, i know there are alot of big men out there who are making alot of bucks from this. God pls send your angels to wade off all evil men and women IJN, AMEN.

Yetinde said...

It has happened,protest den strike.all of una wey vote jonah,make i no talk.......

Nigerian news said...

I really approve of this fuel subsidy

Dare Abj said...

Wont there be any venue in Abuja? Pls should be given a venue for d protest.

Nestorhymes said...

shut bis? is dat their worse? Goodluck is just a big fool witout a mind of his own. sebi dem don push am enter river come leave am ? na God go judge the fool

Seun GS said...

Check this out on subsidy:
1. One barrel of Crude oil = 42gallons or 159 litres
2. Our Refineries (i.e 4) Installed (combined) capacity = 445,000 ... barrels per day
3. Actual refineries capacity due to aging equipment = 30% i.e. 133,500 barrels per day
4. 133,500 barrels = 21.2 million liters
5. Local required consumption (F.O.S) = 12millions liters
6. It means that even our MORIBOND refineries can actually meet our local consumption need of petroleum.
7. The cost structure of crude oil (i.e. Qua Iboe Crude Oil) production;
- Findings / development - $3.5
- Production cost - $1.5
- Refining Cost - $12.6
- Pipeline/transportation - $1.5
- Distr/bridging fund Margin -$15.69
8. True cost of one liter of petroleum anywhere in Nigeria;
- Total sum cost = $34.8
- 1ltr cost = $34.8/159 liters = $0.219
- Naira equip. 0.219xN160= N35.02k
- Add Tax N5 + N35.02 = N40.02
9. Let FGN refute the above composition and if not, they should tell us how they came about N65/litre.
10. Locally refined products cannot be sold at International price.
11. We really do not need FGN SUBSIDY as there was NONE in the first place.
12. What is LACKING, is the WILL to enforce LAW ON CORRUPTION.

We still stand a chance as a COUNTRY.
Analysis done by Professor Tam David West, former Petroleum Minister

Ade Olanrewaju Tanimomo said...

we are planning protests in the UK at The Nigerian High Commission...we need your support, we are all in this together...Join the movement at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nigerian-Youth-League-in-UK/246612188741224

WE SHOULD ALL STAND TOGETHER AS ONE IRRESPECTIVE OF TRIBE OR RELIGION AND STAMP OUT CORRUPTION IN NIGERIA ONCE AND FOR ALL! THE TIME TO ACT IS NOW!

Something tells me the govt will try to frustrate d peoples effort when they come out to protest enmasse!
if this happens a stay home protest of nothing less than 3 dayz should be done and let d country come to a standstill. i know no law enforcement will come out and drag pple frm their homes. but mke efry body full im house wit plenty food sha o!

AnAngryNigerianMan said...

If to sey i dey Naija, I for come join the yawah! what rubbish! GEJ dey budget N1b for presidency meanwhile poor man go dey surfer more. I know your secret oh GEJ, the guy wey dey front for you in all your shady deals, oil block wey you get and the rest. I go open ya yansh!!!!!

NK said...

Why are Nigerians hell bent on being uninformed? I will be the first to say that GEJ action thus far esp. as regards to Boko Haram has been weak, but with the fuel subsidy removal, (borrowing from none other than IBB God wonders shall never end) as ill-timed as it is, it is a great step toward the right direction. Say what you want about this action but make sure you know all the details before protesting. Most people with very little or no information are joining criminals paid off by these northern cartel to protest this fuel subsidy removal which the northern elites are the most beneficiary of! Please people think, educate yourself and know who your enemies and your friends are. Nigerians need to stop being satisfied with little we deserve more, we deserve better!

NK said...

Fellow Nigerians, educate yourselves, do not be blind followers, do not be so shortsighted, refuse to pay for what belong to you naturally, refuse to be used by those currently robbing us of our inheritance! Linda please please please, educate yourself so you can educate your readers. People need to have full information to make proper choices. I agree there are more to be done, but this those "badly timed" is a step in the right direction if we know all the details!

Linda,do u know that ordinary Niger republic recently built a refinery for 600million dollars and Nigeria has more than that yet government will not reduces their stupid allowances and salary to build a refinery.even the old one lacks maintenace.is it our fault that GEJ is ineffective?we the masses shouldn't suffer for thier(govt) greed!! i don't know why we have to go abroad to refine our product when we could easily build a refinery.this idiotic jona is pushing us to war!!he should ask his father about the 'bifra'war.it wasn't funny.do u know this wicked man(jona)just acquired 2 bullet proof jeeps for himself and Namandi Sambo? tell me where that money came from?so he's afraid of death abi?yet he wants to kill the poor masses!!Nigerians should clamour for government to slash that stupid thing they call salary and allowance!!its absurd! that alone can build us a refinery.how much are they paying us?why should they ask us to pay for it? SAMBO is building a new house worth several millions and yet they want the poor masses to suffer for their inadequacies. ttsscccheeeewww

What will really work is for every nigerian (apart from the thieves in power) sitting down at home. This should include all the workers in financial institutions. We should sit down at home and cripple this economy. Let us see how the govt will cope. Bloody animals in human skin.

But everyone load up on food and neccessities.

linda i have not seen you in the protest yet oooo where are you come out and don't just blog show the action like seun kuti, femi falana and co are doing