Photos: Nigerians protest fuel subsidy removal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 3 January 2012

Photos: Nigerians protest fuel subsidy removal

From Lagos, to Abuja, to Ibadan, Ekiti, Ondo, Lokoja, Kogi, Nigerians are protesting the fuel subsidy removal. More photos when you continue...

51 comments:

CITIZEN said...

#####OCCUPYNIGERIA!!!!!!

SOLA said...

##############ENOUGH IS ENOUGH##################

Lady T said...

The situation is so crazy. The price of transportation has gone up so much if you earn N30,000 how do you manage? The price of food stuff all gone go? Bombing everywhere, people committing suicide, the rich getting richer and the poor managing and now you introduce this? Why O why?
God will need your face. Pls help us.

GOD helps us!!

bloglord said...

in a country where nothing works..no light, no good roads, no water, no jobs..yet u expect people to buy petrol for 141 naira.
to fuel a gen would be ???
to fuel ur car would cost ???
food, school fees n school bus n others would be ???
jonathan n sambo there is no good in this one bit.
u both should be impeached

Aluta continua,Vitoria acerta!!!

Caleb Ime said...

i hope this time a protest will yield result cos as it is, it seems our government are not interested in the voice of the people. if you can recall, the lekki protest could not change anything

sodiq aiyedun said...

Holidays continue on wednesday if subsidy is not reinstated by then; Call ur neighbours, block entrance to ur street , no one goes to work on tuesday till fuel is N65 again. We are d govt, we are d labor. be patriotic, send to all ur friends, post on BB, FB, Twitter. If we fight we will win

The subsidy removal is usually for a more competitive economy but it is clear to Nigerians that from Jonathan to Okonjo-Iweala, corruption is a way of life. In Ghana, electricity is constant, government sincere and productive so the subsidy removal was accepted. The rot in the lives of Nigerian politicians stinks to no end. So its impossible to have functioning refineries in Nigeria?. The IMF, Ministry of Finance, Marketers, Otedolas, Fuel station attendants who now demand N100 for each fuel keg as opposed to N20, its total filthy corrupt practices.Clean up your act, Nigeria! Turn to God.

Naira said...

#OCCUPYNIGERIALONDON..For real who's up for it??I live in london and i'm frustrated,imagine those who go through this s**t day-to-day back home??London ppl let us join the protest and show our support here,we can go to the Nigerian embassy here too,common ppl let us stand up together!!!!

Estella Couture said...

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH indeed!

I wish my people in Washington DC here will join me to match to the Nigerian EMbassy and SPEAK OUT to say NO to the increase!

But.......na Talk 'n' No Action people full this yankee!! smh.

AnAngryNigerianMan said...

this protest needs to shut down naija! if not those thieving politicians will continue to rape the poor man on the street. I cant be there physically but i am with you all in spirit.

Atobatele said...

JONATHAN MUST GO…………………The slogan on the lips of Nigerians now must be JONATHAN MUST GO. No other slogan can be more approrpiate at this time. Jonathan had become a thorn in the flesh of progress, a complete national albatross, and a monumental shame to those who erroniously thought he was a nice guy and therefroe voted him into office. Obviously, he had his agenda and he kept quiet until immediately after his election when he started on the wrong foot by day-dreaming about his much trumpeted elongated term. , But that was child’s play compared to what he is doing right now with the connivance of people like Okonjo Iweala who is progressively losing respect among Nigerians on each passing day. JONATHAN MUST GO. A villain who had refused to learn from history will have no one but himself to blame. He had murdered sleep and he will sleep no more. JONATHAN DEFINITELY MUST GO. Either his PDP co-thieves in the NASS impeach him or not. One way or the other, he MUST RESIGN or be kicked out.

Heard dat D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣γ̲̣ are shooting in Fadeyi is dis democracy?

God make this evil men to drink their own BLOOD. Ur children are covered with d BLOOD of JESUS CHRIST.

~End of Discussionn~ said...

Na wah o.

FortySeven said...

Jonathan is an imbecile! Posterity will judge him for this wickedness and he will not suffer it alone!! God will punish him and his generations yet unborn for the untold hardships he has caused decent hardworking Nigerians!!

He ia a dismal failure as a leader and a weak excuse for a man. I dont really understand why people expected anything good from him and this serves Nigerians right for going to the booths to vote for a fickle, imbecilic, weak, retarded, confused puppet. I said it then and my voice was drowned out by the scores of voices shouting "give hinm a chance! He will bring us good luck!" This is what you get when you vote based on sentiments and romantic notions rather than fact and antecedents. Look at jonathan's political career and tell me what his antecedents and accomplishments are...NOTHING! Why then should we be suprised that the fool unilaterally decided to increase the price of fuel overnight?? And by declaration nonethelesS! He effectively said to the NASS and every single Nigerian "screw you, what can you do???" I pray that FOR ONCE Nigerians will rise up against the callousness and wickedness and do what it takes to force the government to reverse this course of action. And why stop there?? I say we should go further to demand for the fool's resignation or impeachment! i say we should take to the streets in protest until the fool is forced to see the light!

I can only pray that Nigerians will not (as we are prone to do) decide to manage the situation.

ENOUGH IS ENOUGH! Let us occupy the government houses in all the states, let us stage sit-ins at all NNPC and major fuel stations, let us take to the streets and register our protest because if we dont our children will look at us in the midst of their suffering and wonder why we decided to squander the future that we should have secured for them.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA!!

CC said...

I applaud every single person who is out there risking their lives protesting, your work will not be in vain. Everyone who is openly speaking out against these insensitive moves by the government against the people, I applaud you, you are risking your lives and you deserve a thank you.

Who says that Nigerians are complacent? Who says it has to be just noise until we accept it? If they're going to screw us up the ass, we have every right to SHOUT out in pain and every right to ask that they use a lubricant. It's the only sane way to do it.

Fuel is #250 in bauchi

Is ds how to protest? I don't think so.

Hintsonlinemagazine said...

Its a Pity on what is happening in this our beloved country

the rich are getting richer and the poor getting poorer!i wish FELA is alive,what he said some years ago is happening now!Nigerians,we are fond of suffering and smiling.Nigerians get off your ass and demostrate!impeach Jonathan and his Vice,this can only happen in Nigeria,go anywhere in the world,it can't happen.shey u pple said 'ANDREW' should not check out cos of the bad governance,now see what is happening.no light,poor pple's children can't go to school again because they can't afford the school fees,even when they go to school they can't get a job,they employ based on connection and not qualification,NEPA is another story,bringing fictitious bills yet no light.in a month you will pay NEPA bill close to ten thousand naira like you are the one supplying light for your neighbourhood.then again you buy fuel for your generator!no kerosene,pple are now back to 010 meal per day(if ur lucky)the list is endless........this revolution is a welcome development.and armed forces should stand back to allow a peaceful demostration.ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!!

Seun GS said...

Dear All,
The subject matter is for your view.
Check this out on subsidy:
1. One barrel of Crude oil = 42gallons or 159 litres
2. Our Refineries (i.e 4) Installed (combined) capacity = 445,000 ... barrels per day
3. Actual refineries capacity due to aging equipment = 30% i.e. 133,500 barrels per day
4. 133,500 barrels = 21.2 million liters
5. Local required consumption (F.O.S) = 12millions liters
6. It means that even our MORIBOND refineries can actually meet our local consumption need of petroleum.
7. The cost structure of crude oil (i.e. Qua Iboe Crude Oil) production;
- Findings / development - $3.5
- Production cost - $1.5
- Refining Cost - $12.6
- Pipeline/transportation - $1.5
- Distr/bridging fund Margin -$15.69
8. True cost of one liter of petroleum anywhere in Nigeria;
- Total sum cost = $34.8
- 1ltr cost = $34.8/159 liters = $0.219
- Naira equip. 0.219xN160= N35.02k
- Add Tax N5 + N35.02 = N40.02
9. Let FGN refute the above composition and if not, they should tell us how they came about N65/litre.
10. Locally refined products cannot be sold at International price.
11. We really do not need FGN SUBSIDY as there was NONE in the first place.
12. What is LACKING, is the WILL to enforce LAW ON CORRUPTION.
We still stand a chance as a COUNTRY.
Analysis done by Professor Tam David West, former Petroleum Minister
However, regardless of how terrible the jungle is, the lion can never eat grass…..It will be well with us all!

in a country where we are blessed with fuel,kerosene and other resources yet,see what is happening!fuel some years ago was sold at the rate of #11 per litre,today its #65 and look at the new price.i wish Boko haram will go and bomb jona and sambo! he said he's goodluck!smh,BADLUCK FOOL!!his name is mercy yet where is his mercy for the masses.i don't blame him when he gets everything free,what does he know?his illitrate wife should go and sell tomatoes in the market so she can know how it feels to pay over three hundred thousand as school fees.Jonathan is a disgrace to the 'IGBO'community!!he is not behaving like an igbo man,i wish he experienced NIGERIA-BIAFRA WAR, or ask his father about it,anyone that has that experience will not want Nigeria going to war but with his animalistic behaviour,jona is pushing Nigerians to war!!

~Sirius~ said...

#OccupyNigeria

check my site for secret naija info

sleekreek said...

I am in support of this,,,,,,but i just hope the message gets to the right places and no loss of life occurs during the protest..........Enough is enough GEJ!!

God help Nigeria........

Goebbels said...

Well he did remove the subsidies because they were just lining the pockets of the 1%...so what do you want him to do?

Our leaders are not very forward thinking at all. Isn't the point of making all these changes to better the well being of the average Nigerian? Why is it that their decisions always manage to result in the furthest from making things better and easier for us all? I would really like to know if they actually thought this would make things better, mr jonathan needs to justify this, if he can, then I'm good.

If we had a few BASIC amenities like the "almighty electricity" then at least we can moan and complain under the comfort of our ceiling fans and air-con. But oh no! That's asking for too much

If they gave us electricity and removed the subsidy, then it's all the same, I'll just divert the gen fuel to the car.

Producer$

ONLY GOD CAN HELP US BUT WE MUST FIGHT OUR RIGHT

As so glad I made the move to London 14years ago (illegally), I saw it coming...what a sad situation.

nigeria don spoil finish una still dey run. our situation go soon reach iraq, goodluck don kill us with im badluck

are there ANY economists or real financial advisers in nigeria? i mean people whose main goals don't involve embezzling large sums of taxpayer's money. If they do exist, why in the name of all things that are sacred could they not relay any advise to this incompetent son of a gun? So you're going to tell the people, it's okay, i'm helping you, but you're going to suffer? I mean SE SCHOOL LA FE JE NI! How many f*cking ass schools in Nigeria my people? More than 3 on an average street, school is not the problem right now oga,improve the condition of the schools you have NOW before you start building other ones! Eeyin people yi, e de ni iberu olorun, ahan ahan!!!!!

The Manny Enajeroh Blog said...

These protests mean well but someone soon goan get demself killed o!!!
Visit my blog .....Your Options In The Face of This Crisis..... This is some really funny stuff.. www.urhoborant.blogspot.com/?m=1

ibo boy said...

GEJ should hire snipers to start shooting protesters, LOL!!

ibo boy said...

Protesters should contract me to supply professional placards with more visible text be better contrast. Can hardly see what they are ranting about.

Concerned Guy... said...

the protest have started everywhere,what are the edo state people doing about dis

My Prediction about Goodluck's leadership is coming true! Nigeria hasn’t seen anything yet………..HAHAHAHHAHAH (evil laugh)

Ogun Oh! Sango Oh! Obatala Oh! Esu Oh!Orunmila Oh!!!! All u dieties should rise and Kill The Families of Badluck Egbeere Jo-Lantern!!! who people called Ebele Jonathan because He is inflicting more sufferings to the Already impoverished Nigerians!! Ashe!!! Amen!!!! Amin!!!!

#Occupy Nigeria!!!!!!!!!!!!!! #OccupyAsoRock!!!!!!!!!!

NK said...

Are we as a people even thinking, why would you pay to use what God has given you freely, common, DO NOT BE USED BY NORTHERN ELITES. They are hell bent on proving GEJ incompetent, first Boko Haram, now this and our people are so short sighted to see all this! My people be patient and things must surely turn around!

All dose celebs who received national honors and endorsed him with adverts cannot say anyting now.They are all hypocrites,dey knw demselves na

Vaughn Samuel said...

I get upset when people keep calling on God to Help us. What else do you want Him to do? He sets up the situation and expects us to take advantage of it. Jonathans heart has been hardened by God because He wants to destroy him...Its time for Nigerians to rise and take over. Read the Bible people, God aint sending no angels. If Joshua and David could go to war to get what God promised them, How much more Nigerians. Please wake up and lets get these power junkies out of power!!!! Let the revolution begin, Crude oil and petrol is our common patrimony. They have no right to punish Nigerians over our commonwealth.

Adeola Agunbiade said...

No be small thing, I hope it works Jonathan seems resolute I don't know, the way the whole thing crept on us no approval by NASS, well maybe those want deniability.
Whilst they seem to have justified reasons(imminent economic crisis et al) but unjustifiable in a country where nothing works!

'Mobola R. said...

Linda, I heard that Blackberry services are going to be shut down by tomorrow in Nigeria, is this true?
www.mobolar.blogspot.com

Samuel said...

Linda! Why are you not protesting?

They could remove the subsidy because they felt,the"Nigerian people would not do anything.So proud of you guys.....I suggest the president takes it down to 25 Naria per liter or face impeachment.

Linda,Remember when you were invited to dinner with GEJ and came back with "transport fare" as you claim. When everyone was criticising you then, you don't seem to understand or get the logic that you are one of the people that SOLD us,your fellow Nigerians are in agony and discomfort,lives are been lost daily since the new Government.
Have you heard about selling your birthrights? I am not here to criticise you or your actions but to let you see the effect of sucking up to a bad leader have on the masses and our future Generation.
But good to know there are still few celebrities and social climbers out there who stood there ground and voted on there conscience.
Whether my comment get posted or not,I hope you will see it and ponder on this.
"God maketh rich without adding sorrow" what ever social status you wanna get to in life you will get there without been a PHARAOH's whip to your on people.

@Anon 5:37 pm -Godbless you! You are very right.
@N.K ur comment doesn't make much sense o! Was it Boko haram/ northern elite that made GEJ remove subsidy? Even if they did, what kind of leader does that make him?

Lets be factual here. Petroleum is an hydrocarbon, and the fractional distillation produces may hydrocarbon products. The yield is actually 44 gallons, and this includes petrol, diesel, fuel oil, etc. The petrol yield from one barrel of crude oil is about 19 gallons. the person who posted the arithmetic should rework it.

Also simple economics dictates that if a farmer is selling two tubers of yam for N60, if he consumes that , he must add that cost to his business , otherwise he is doing fake accounting. The calculation MUST include the actual price we would get from selling a barrel of oil, since its not free.