Court acquits Bankole, Nafada of corruption charge | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 31 January 2012

Court acquits Bankole, Nafada of corruption charge

A Federal High Court in Abuja today Tuesday 31st January 2012 acquitted former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole, and his deputy, Bayero Nafada, of all charges of corruption, saying they have no case to answer in connection with a N40 billion misapropriation charge.

So EFCC arresting them and the 17-count charge was all for show? #isorai

45 comments:

I can just imagine how much money was exchanged under the table. I'm really disappointed with this judgement. Thieves!!

hmn......
Naija, what other script is there to act, there are to many actors willing to act.....
God will judge all of them, if na poor man steal half a penny, tires will finish i the warehouse, but these ones, never!

SOTAN!!!

Chrisilicious said...

See highest level of corruption, dey are all members of same cult, so how can u na only God go save Naija

Come and see America wonder...come and see America wonder...lol.It is well...

Hmmmmm! Only in Nigeria i rest my case.

smart said...

That's what the Abuja courts do,dismiss cases of fraud since they all are fraudsters and accomplices.everyday is for the thieves but just one day,I mean one day, for the owner.
Bankole and his parner in crime may go out and live with the money, but I know, Karma is just around the corner!!

Plea bargain sorted then.

So sad.Just last week a man stole onion and he was jailed.Where is justice in this country?

Although am not surprise but i'm tired of this govt. there is no rule and order anymore in dis country. I can't imagine, how can d court say they are free of all count charges against them. Like u said Linda,is the EFCC now d liars? We celebrate corruption as if we're celebrating an honor or a National holiday.Lord, deal with all these corrupt politicians!!!

Atobatele said...

I was asked to mention 5 problems facing Nigeria and i said corruption,corruption,corruption, corruption and corruption. “If culture is the way of life of a group of people, then CORRUPTION is NIGERIAN CULTURE!

Allah ya isa. This contri is goin from worseted to worsetested

CAESAR said...

Shame to EFCC,i wonder why government waste money on them

It is only God that would punish all of these POLITHIFERS.

yes oooo.....hahaha....i just love my country.. naija 4 life mehn....linda, are u surprised.....am not o......

Before nko.

zoomzoomzoom said...

Gbagaun! Oro pesi je ooo.Na naija na, what do you expect? Make all of them dey rob us dey go.God dey.

oneblackboi said...

na so............ kmft

joicee said...

When the pic of him(Bankole) laughing it up with EFCC Officials themselves showed up..I knew it was all a farce....Naija for u!

Only in Naija!!!Either the piles of incriminating evidence don "waka commot" OR "Its enemies at work,they were innocent all along".

Partners in crime they even walk hand in hand.Hands tainted by corruption yet they were. May God save us Amen

It's the state high court not Federal High Court and he was discharged based on a no case submission filed by their counsel, which means the prosecution had no case. Next time EFCC should investigate properly before charging people to court.

Dis is a typical case of 9ja way.com

CHICHIDITTY said...

This judgement is a charade ,thieves and fraudsters are let off the hook without batting an eye lid.Corruption has come to stay in Nigeria,when would we get things right in this country. 1.3 billion just went down the drain and disappeared into thin air,these our corrupt leaders i dey hail una o!!!

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Business as usual..from an inside source months ago Bankole had to distribute the loot he stole to the Cabals/Godfathers...he's been very much a free man for a while..bloody theifs!!..not even a single charge..

my main man Dimeji Bankole Aka Na we we now!!!...LOL

CASE CLOSED N40 BILLION GOING!! GOING!! GONE!!!

well I cant say I am surprised. These people make a mockery of the very laws they are paid (exorbitantly) to pass.

Why cants witches and wizards attack these politicians instead of attacking their poor neighbours and relatives...tufia kwa!!
Tessy!

Why can't witches and wizards attack these politicians instead of attacking their own poor neighbours and relatives..tufia kwa!!!
Tessy!!!!

The pastors & the imans are all contributors to these problems. These thieves are celebrated in churches and in mosques. Woe to those pastors that are not preaching the truth, Says the Lord God the Almighty. I rest my case.

steezz.com said...

The judiciary is not just helping matters. tell me why govt official wont keep looting when they knw nothing will happen at the end of the day. So sad. I weep for my country.

People shd start killing judges and lawyers in their neighbourhood.

I wish Boko Haram's mission was to eradicate Curruption in Nigeria... Can you see the rain drops coming down my eyes.....News like this makes me not to ever want to return to nigeria or say i am Nigerian....

this is like a joke.

computer digital world, creat your own websit and make money online said...

Plea bargain sorted then.

No surprises here. The case was always rubbish and based on pure sentiment. The Law is about what you can prove and EFCC did not have a shred of evidence against these guys. Even their argument as to why they were charged seemed very watery. A first year Law student would have made minced meat of the charges in this case.

Gen. K Student. said...

Bankole was charged,tried and was found INNOCENT. Every other sentiment and opinion rendered here is hot air.My personal opinion is that Mr. Dimeji Bankole is one of the greatest politicians to have emerged from Nigeria's political landscape. As Speaker of the house, he played a stabilizing role in the polity.In the nearest future, we shall still hear and see more of this Gentleman.

#gbam# u said it all

Hehehehehehehehe!

Based on what...?

Is this then how we plan to eradicate the canker-worm of CORRUPTION in Nigeria?

Without any cause or reason whatsoever, someone just woke up one fine morning, and decided to accuse Bankole and Nafada of possibly having misappropriated 40 Billion Naira...merely sending the EFCC chasing shadows?

And now an Abuja court summarily decides that "the duo have no case to
answer"...?

Or maybe the EFCC as usual did not do its homework...?

Nigeria cannot be serious about fighting corruption.

ladosky said...

show of shame.....why are this dirty politicians dragging the judicial system into the mud....efcc should go back to the drawing board

LOL @ #ISORAI...

@Gen. K Student would you shut up that your rotten gutter mouth that you are using to talk. it is people like you that sit on naija.

efcc is just a toothless bulldog let us see if they would appeal.

It is rather unfortunate that the presiding judge over thia case will come down with such a decision. His reasoning for aquiting the bank thief(Ole)is "constitutionally, the speaker had nothing to do with the accounts of the House and rapped the clerk of the House whose function it was to manage the accounts, for allowing the speaker to usurp powers of his office" what an absurdity? what a travesty of justice? who the hell is the clerk of the House to question the directives of almighty (OLE)Bankole in the House? are we talking about Nigeria or what? whatever happened to VICARIOUS LIABILITY in law. Never in the anals of jurisprudence have I seen such a blatant dishoney of and for the law by a judge. Belgore whatever his name is should be brought to the books for truncating justice because he has been settled by B...OLE. Mustapha was just sentenced to death because he was arguably the mastermind in the murder of Abiola's wife. He did not pull the trigger, he as in his residence in Abuja when she got shut but the shooting was under his directives. What is what is called Respondeat Superior. You Nigerians have a long way to go to be able to straighten the affairs of this your country because everybody's thinking process is I,ME and MYSELF alone. it is pathetic. If EFCC does not prosecute anybody, they get blamed for not doing anything. If the prosecute, the Nigerian judges are so corrupt that they sell their rulings. I weep for this country that will die with POTENTIALS because they will never realize their dreams. Go down memory lane: Ibori, Egbenedion, Peter Odili,Tinubu,Babangida, Eleumelu and his commitee on power, all the looters of the treasury where are they now. They are the king and queen makers of the country and getting honored by the government by way of OBE, CON and all that BULLSHIT.

What a judgement, is there no fairness in our judiciary anymore. oooooooooooooo i wept for my country what a legacy, God please save Nigeria before this nation is doomed by this selfish looters in power.