Billboard's 100 Most Powerful People in Music | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 31 January 2012

Billboard's 100 Most Powerful People in Music

Billboard ranked the 100 most powerful people in the music industry and Jay Z and Beyonce ranked at number 13. Here's what Billboard said about the ranking...
Rankings were determined by a combination of key factors including market share, exclusive Billboard chart data/boxscore information, and revenue. A team of 15 top Billboard editors then analyzed the value of these metrics to produce the final results. The list is U.S. based. As well, the Power 100 puts a premium on the top decision makers at each company.
BILLBOARD'S top 100 power list when you continue...

BILLBOARD'S 2012 POWER 100 INDEX:  
1. Irving Azoff
2. Coran Capshaw
3. Lucian Grainge
4. Martin Bandier
5. Doug Morris
6. Michael Rapino
7.  Rob Light
8. Len Blavatnik
9. Tim Leiweke
10. Jimmy Iovine
11. Eddy Cue and Robert Kondrk
12. John Hogan
13. Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter & Beyonce Knowles

14. Lyor Cohen
15. Randy Phillips
16. Emmanuel Seuge
17. Frank Cooper
18. Barry Weiss
19. Rob Stringer and Steve Barnett
20.  Arthur Fogel
21. Marc Geiger
22.  Dan Mason
23. Bob Pittman
24.  Roger Faxon
25.  Ronald "Slim" Williams and Bryan "Birdman" Williams
26. Rio Caraeff
27. U2 and Paul McGuinness
28. Julie Greenwald and Craig Kallman
29. Daniel Ek
30.  Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald

31. Lewis W. Dickey, Jr

32. Peter Grosslight
33. Charles Attal, Charlie Jones and Charlie Walker
34. Robert Greenblatt
35. Van Toffler
36. Monte Lipman
37. Antonio "L.A." Reid
38. Joel Katz
39. Mark Campana and Bob Roux

40. Tim Westergren
41. Peter Edge and Tom Corson
42. Tom Poleman
43. Chip Hooper
44. Hartwig Masuch
45. Rob Cavallo and Todd Moscowitz
46. Cliff Burnstein and Peter Mensch
47. Nathan Hubbard
48. Jay Brown
49. Evan Lamberg
50. Jon Bon Jovi
51. Lia Vollack
52. Jan Jeffries
53. Steve Bartels
54. Scott Borchetta
55. Blaise D'Sylva
56. Neil Portnow
57. Dennis Arfa
58. Cameron Strang
59. Cortez Bryant/Gee Roberson
60. Sean Parker
61. Steve Moore
62. Paul Rosenberg
63. Tifanie Van Laar
64. Ryan Seacrest
65. Robert Kyncl
66. Lorne Michaels
67. John Butcher
68. Clint Higham
69. Randy Spendlove
70. Rich Lehrfeld
71. Peter Luukko
72. John Branca
73. Melissa Lonner
74. Raul Alarcon, Jr.

75. John Frankenheimer
76. Cary Sherman
77. Larry Marcus
78. Taylor Swift
79. Kevin Mayer
80. PJ Bloom
81.  James L. Dolan
82. Jesus Lopez
83. Martin Karl "Max Martin" Sandberg

84. Lady Gaga
85. Mike Dungan
86. Fred Wilson
87. Jon Platt
88. Willard Ahdritz
89. John Ivey and Alex Tear
90. Jody Gerson
91. Chris Tsakalakis
92. Nigel Lythgoe
93. Richard Busch
94. Debra Lee
95. David Israelite
96. Steve Berman
97. Rich Bengloff
98. Gary Overton
99. Daniel Glass
100. Simon Cowell

31 comments:

I have no idea who 1-12 are, i had to open google in a side bar, well if they are top 100 so be it

BumbleBee said...

Taylor Swift and Lady Gaga rate higher than Simon Cowell?? I'm hearing you

You see as dem put name wey we don't even knw and d list is accurate but in 9ja if dem no put dbanj,2face,omotola,wizkid or popular stars,it's not complete

ETHAN said...

I DONT EVEN KNOW 50% OF THIS PEOPLE THAT MADE UP DIS LIST.B N J 13TH POSITION HMMMMMM BTW NO CELION DION OR LUTHER ON THIS LIST.

hiaaa...dnt even knw most of the names on that list apart frm few of dem. meanwhile lady gaga at 84...cnt believe it.

no madonna?

Meee said...

Am sorry but the list is fake. How come Adele didn't make the cut?

They did not say musicians, they said people in the industry which means some names on the list are behind the scenes people who control the industry. You and I don't necessarily have to know them.

Nwamaka said...

This means that there are some seriuosly powerful people who don't make noise:)

I only know about 6 of them..strange names in a strange list!! do oo!

alonso said...

Jay Z,Beyonce& Lady Gaga...i was expecting to see your names and it did apear....members of ILLUMINATI...and where is Rihana????? mtechwwwwww.....next please.

this illuminati candidates will soon start beefing themselves with this rating. billboard ko, placard ni. oshisko...

Ii dunno y pounded yam tastes so good...

This list is not just about artists, but also about record label owners, music directors, producers and stakeholders who have helped shape the music inductry in the US. So don't worry if your favourite artiste's name's not on the list. Lots of powerful guys work behind the sceene.

The first 13 are the people behind the scenes. Most of them are Jews. Now when they talk of Free Mason/Illuminati influence these guys are like handlers.

Otis Redding said...

There r a lotta producers on d list .eg. Ron Slim Williams is Birdman's brother and co owner of Cash Money. Also, Paul Rosenberg is an executive producer at Shady Records.

I didn't c micheal Jackson or whitney houston,hw comes

who are all theses people? where is p.diddy, mariah carey.....n what's taylor swift looking 4 on dat list?

stripes said...

how come there are so many strange names here....simon cowell is d last on d list???????? wow

Wht happen 2 d rest of them? Rihana and co. All dis pple re they illuminati?

Engr seun boko said...

This is not rating or ranking or whatever u cal it. Where are musicians like akon, rihana, ashanti, dbanj. Linda just give me 3days, i ll bring out my own list.

Dear LIB readers said...

Smh! Linda you really have some daft people on your blog.
Did anyone say that the powerful people in music have to be the musicians themselves?? Go get an education people!!!!!

Lol @ your own list. Meanwhile that your last name is scary o.

where is Obey's name on this list?. lol

@Dear Lib readers. . .u too d words rite out 4rm my mouth. . .
Am tired of dis our naija kinda Educated illitrates attitude. . .too bad.

Cosign. This people are those who work behind the scenes. They make more money off many of the popular artistes.

Innoxx said...

Da fin tire me sef.Some words are rather left unsaid.If u*LIB readers* do not understand da sub-heading keep calm rather dan spew shit outta ya mouth. Linda said MOST POWERFUL ''PEOPLE'' IN THE MUSIC INDUSTRY & not MOST POWERFUL ''MUSICIANS'' IN THE MUSIC INDUSTRY.

kcee said...

Beyonce and jay-z didn't do badly at all.

Yes dey r now, oh u don't know! Even you are illuminati are u not aware!! Smh like seriously r u dis dense or ur jus faking it? cos if u are its a cause for national concern...Help urself friend illuminatti is nothing but a publicity stunt

WHAT ABOUT MICHAEL JACKSON