Winnie Mandela accuses Nelson of 'betraying' the blacks of South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 March 2010

Winnie Mandela accuses Nelson of 'betraying' the blacks of South Africa

"This name Mandela is an albatross around the necks of my family. You all must realise that Mandela was not the only man who suffered. There were many others, hundreds who languished in prison and died. Mandela did go to prison and he went in there as a young revolutionary but look what came out. Mandela let us down. He agreed to a bad deal for the blacks. Economically we are still on the outside. The economy is very much "white". I cannot forgive him for going to receive the Nobel with his jailer de Klerk. Hand in hand they went. Do you think de Klerk released him from the goodness of his heart? He had to. The times dictated it, the world had changed." Winnie Mandela said in an interview recently.

The Mandelas, who divorced in 1996, were married for 38 years - although together for only five.

5 comments:

BB said...

I don't think it's right for her to be criticizing the old man now, she's had more than a couple of years to say all this. Anyways, she's said it and she has a point.

bella said...

Winnie might be right in accusing Nelson Mandela, despite that they have a black President, they are still being marginalised.the whites get the good jobs while the blacks are more into crime.though this criticism does not erase the fact that Mandela is a great man and will always be remembered by history.

Mandela great? yeah right. finally somebody has said my mind. Mandela is just a celebrity benefiting from the sweat of many south Africans that laid there lives down for south Africa. the real truth to this NO MORE APARTHEID was because the WORLD was on SOUTH AFRICA's neck to stop the rubbish they were into. they were being cut off from almost everything. so to be honest the WORLD worn the fight and not Mandela. he was and is still a figure head. thank God he's ex-wife is the one speaking out.
do you guys realise the number of students that died for the fight for south Africa's freedom or other leaders that died in prison due to old age and Mandela the LUCKY one got the trophy by AGREEING TO A WEAK DEAL?
so don't you people go saying he's a great man. if you want a great man go look at GANDHI, MARTIN LUTHER KING, MALCOLM X, GEORGE WASHINGTON, OLIVER CROMWELL and even NAPOLEON BONAPARTE. these were men that fought their causes and didn't care about the celebrity status. these were men that brought the required freedom to their people. for some it worked and others, at least they tried.
the thing that pisses me off the most is that the man(and correct me if I'm wrong) doesn't seem to give a rats ass about whether or not his fellow freedom fighters were being recognized or not. that is what i call BETRAYAL of your own people.

Abeg make Winne close that her dirty mouth. Who is interested in listening to her now? She is just trying to advertise herself. For the fact that she is not married to Mandela anymore does not mean she should come out to say rubbish. She cannot tarnish the goodwill of Nelson Mandela. He is a great State Man any time any day. MANDELA 4 LIFE!!!

Which wan is she doing now? It is easy to point and criticize, which plan has she put into place to right what she deems as wrong? Why didn't she make noise when he got the award with de Klerk? She served that sentence with him even if she were not physically locked away, I hate that it has come down to this between them. Hindsight they say is 20/20.