Quote of the day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 March 2010

Quote of the day

“Let me say this: I have not had sex outside my marriage with Sidney. Could Sid have sex outside of his marriage with me? Yes. That’s not a deal-breaker. That’s not something that would make us say, ‘Pack your things and let’s end the marriage. What if it’s 20 times? So what? We’ve been best friends for over 25 years, and we truly know who we are. Oftentimes, people get into marriages and they don’t know who they’re laying next to. I’m very comfortable and secure with my husband.” Oscar winner, Monique, said in a recent interview.

Can my husband have sex outside of our marriage? HELL to da NO!
If he does it, will it end our marriage??? Maybe not (let the insults begin...lol) - depending on how often the infidelity happens (it's really inevitable).

But to come out and openly say it's OK for your spouse to have sex outside of your marriage - I think there's something else going on here.

What do you think? Do you applaud Mo'nique for saying this or are you embarrassed for her?

11 comments:

Not at all embarrased. She's saying that there's more to their relationship than fidelity, she's saying that he's actually her friend so for her that's not a deal breaker. I don't think she's saying others have to follow suit, good for her, if that's what makes her happy.

SOLA said...

I basically think it is a state of understanding what works for you. I applaud her boldness.... but would I endorse such with my man?? He had bera not let me know cos I can't imagine me **all faithful** and he's on a cruise to cheat eternally! hell to da NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

OMG...I watched that interview with Babara walters and most people just dont get it.I dont think she was saying it was okay for him to cheat or he could cheat but she was trying to say if he cheated on her she would still consider him and try to save her marriage ...basically, infidelity is not the ultimate deal breaker for them.(is that not what most Naija women do sef, man cheats on you and you turn a blind eye to it, and people even advise you not to leave him)And Monique also described open marriage as one that there are no secrets between her and the guy...not open marriage as we all know it

Not at all embarrassed! I think people are missing the point. The lady said '...could it have happened' (or something to that effect) Her basic point was that it may have happened but that the relationship they have is worth working through those sort of issues. She didn't say she would welcome him with roses and warm bath, or that it would (or probably was) easy for her to do. At most, it came off like they might have been through some infidelity issues and had worked them out. She wasn't going to stand up there and say 'my husband is so perfect' (before you know it some cocktail waitress will jump out waving a recorded phone conversation she has been holding onto for years) She was simply saying stuff happens, but they are open enough with each other to work through it. I thought she was very pragmatic.

So wrong on so many levels.Sounds like self esteem and insecurity issues to me, If your partner really loves you and respects you he wouldn't want to do anything that will hurt you e.g cheating on you, sleeping around

Secondly,even though her man didn't want to cheat at first he will now be encouraged to do so.Also, If a lady has been eyeing him before , she has now gotten the go ahead to cheat with Monique's husband. Giving room for adultery, unwanted kids etc

I don't think marriage was designed to be like that at all.

ewwww....Our society has decayed so much, people don't even know that they have every right to demand fidelity from thier partners. I know she is human and if he cheats on her and she knows , she wouldn't be looking at/thinking about him the same way anymore no matter how she tries to prove tough.

Linda you know you're contradicting yourself, in one breath you're saying its not ok for your spouse to cheat, in the next you're saying that it's inevitable for a man to cheat. Which is it abeg?

Monique knows her husband will cheat on her since he likes men anyways, so I'm not worried about her.

it's mos def not okay for my husband to sleep around. ladies give men way too much credit. if he has half a brain and quarter of a sense of responsibility then he should know not to sleep around. and mo'nique would not have to make comments that require the wits of the nigerian union of bloggers to interpret and analyze.

doll (retired blogger) said...

sad for her

I think she is on the right track. She is not encouraging him to do it but if it happens she is going to stand by her husband 'for better for worse'. I think she really knows the man she is married to and I am happy to hear that. Most ladies long for the ring but do not know the man.

please people should watch the effing interview!!!!Linda did you watch it before you put your sanctimonious comment!!!The babe insinuated that she would try to save her marriage if infidelity occurred!!