The attacker, who was caught as he was trying to run away, identified himself as a U.S. national. Mexican authorities identified him as 35 year old, John René Rock Schild.
The man said he is an artist but refused to offer any incriminating information, Mexico City prosecutors said.
At a news conference, a lawyer of the archdiocese, Armando Martínez, said they needed more information to draw any conclusions.
“We cannot talk about terrorism, we cannot talk about motives because we obviously have no significant facts,” he said.The stabbing took place in front of dozens of worshipers at the Mexico City cathedral.
In a radio interview Tuesday morning, archdiocese spokesman Hugo Valdelomar provided some details of the attack.
"After celebrating mass at the high altar, Father Miguel came down [to the pews] to bless worshipers with holy water and when he turned to walk back to the altar, the man stops him and tries to slit his throat,” he said.
“He grabbed his neck and tried to slit his throat." Valdemar said that Father Miguel sustained serious wounds near the jugular vein and the lung and was bleeding profusely. “We almost lost him right there,” he said.The spokesman said that the attacker showed extreme coldness and declared he was not a Muslim nor did he belong to any Islamic group He noted that when the man was arrested he reserved his right to testify — "that means that he is not so crazy either, shall we say," Valdelomar said.
Source: FNC
17 comments:
Ekwensu abata go n'ulo chineke.. God forbid! May God heal him.. amen!
The battle is the Lords
Men no longer fear God.
Even inside the church!!!
Hmmmmm wishing the priest a quick recovery
EVIL!!!
So sad!
Get daily tips on how to work and earn money from the comfort of your home. Everyday is a new day to learn something new. click here to learn more
I'm pretty sure that a number of religious extremists on this blog are quite sad that the attacker stated that he wasn't a Muslim.
Moreover, is this attack not a terror related one because the attacker is a non-Muslim?
who else if not d virus of d world dat sent him
Very sad!
Godtakeover
An anonymous 7:36 , so funny how u are putting up defence when no body is attacking. U are indirectly say that 99% of attackers are muslims lol
He did that to a priest in broad daylight in public? Na so the priest Don do am strong thing reach..whoever hired him must be caught
Psychosis in action
It's well... dee
Hello academics extras.
Please be guided that the first paragraph of my comment is my expectation of people's response based on their attitude over time and not a defence as u've imagined.
Similarly, the second paragraph of my comment is my question which is based on my understanding of the content of the post.
I would like you u show how these two paragraphs with their clear meanings say directly or indirectly that 99% of attackers are muslims.
Abi you are one of the religious extremists I talked about?