Experts say newborn babies should not use car seats for more than 30mins | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 19 November 2016

Experts say newborn babies should not use car seats for more than 30mins

Found this old but very important, lifesaving piece of information. Read below...
Scientists have advised that parents should not put their babies in car seats for more than 30mins to avoid the risk of suffocation. Doctors warn that very young babies whose neck muscles are not strong enough to stop their heads flopping forward could stop breathing. Manufactures say babies should not be left in the seats for more than two hours...
but doctors are calling for that information to be updated to reflect expert medical findings with regards to very young babies.
Dr Peter Fleming, a paediatrician at Bristol University, carried out research that shows newborn babies may be at risk in car seats. He said: 'If you can avoid a journey, it's probably better to do so, restricted to no more than half an hour or so. 'But try to avoid unnecessary car journeys with young babies.'
The research authors warn: 'There have been reports of deaths of infants who have been left in a sitting position, including in car seats - both on journeys, and when parents have used it as an alternative to a pushchair or cot for the infant to sleep in.'

28 comments:

Parents take note from expert o👏🏾For your own good.

Hmmmmmmmmmm

Thanks for sharing. Linda take note!

Hian!

Why in the world would I wanna put my new cherished baby in a car when I'm supposed to be in maternity leave with a nanny at my beckon call?

Noted. Will keep it in mind

Who dey put seat belt on new born? It is barbaric.

No doubt, it's quite indisputable! Parents take note!!! #Safety

Okay.. Lesson Learnt

Invest in onecoin, new money. Cryptocurrency.earny weekly in euros. Watsapp me for more details. 08077049811.

Ooo wow! Interesting

To be forewarned is to be forearmed.

Thanks for d infor.

Sonofman said...

Thanks for the inffo

Sonofman said...

Thanks for the inffo

People shuld tak note

Thanks for sharing o

Wetin happen to ur blogging business?

Wow

Iyawodoctor said...

With the level of traffic in Lagos, it's going to be abit hard especially if it's the mum driving.

Smilin.....hmm! Nic.

Nice, commenting from Thenewstatusonline.com

Wow... But is there any recorded case so far?

Long Live LIB

traveller said...

Who this information epp?Linda be truthful for once and stop deceiving people cos this information is not for Nigerians,after-all who uses seat belt in Nigerian.In the western world where the use of seat belts are mandatory and not optional or when you can afford it,they are well educated on how to use it...please make we face our real problem and i believe things will get better,i swear!
If you are dreaming big,then let me advise you,what helped Opera Winfrey was by being true to herself and standing on what she perceive to be the truth,against all odds,so you have to make a stand and believe me, time shall tell.
If you like don't post this message but your hand work must surely announce you.
I love u.

Noted. Hope that LASMA people don read it.

Linda Ikeji Heir said...

This is really insightful

www.rapportnaija.com