Photos: See the state of the block of flats former President Nnamdi Azikiwe built for UNN | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 13 August 2016

Photos: See the state of the block of flats former President Nnamdi Azikiwe built for UNN

Nigeria's First President, Nnamdi Azikiwe was kind enough to build these blocks of flats aka Zik Blocks and handed over to the management of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, Enugu state. Over the years, the estate which comprises of 22 student hostels with restaurants and a nursing mothers hostel building, have been left abandoned and are deteriorating daily. More photos after the cut...

58 comments:

Linda, where is freeborn?
I hv not seen his comment for quite sometime. What happened?

Imagine, see somebody's effort. We don't appreciate things. They should have just renovated the thing.

Jexox😳😢😁

Dorcas d beader said...

Nigeria and maintenance, when they can easily renovate it for d masses, anonfias in power

That's our problem here in Nigeria... No maintenance culture..... Jst negodi

.................... Liber maniac...........

That is Zik's flat. Lindiway there has been a long legal battle between the school authority and the family of late Owelle of Onitsha. On many occasions the school has tried renovating the blocks of flat to get students use them but to no avail due to the claim to the actual owner(s) of the buildings.
The school resorted to constructing hostels especially for the female students inside school while these ones are left in this condition.

Is it dat govt cnt renovate d buildin or wat

Genny's Blog said...

And they can't even renovate it.

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Only in nigeria, plsssssssssssssssssssssssss boss, wer is stern n freeborn ??hop u haven't blocked them on dis platform ?

How much would maintenance ve cost?

We can mismanage properties in this country

Na ziks flat be dis well unn no be skool way wen u finish u go won go back too dats y.with sadist lectures

Thought Batho did smthing to this Ziks flat cuz immediately they made him VC back then(2009) he started reconstructing buildings so tey Obj called my school a 'construction site' what's their new VC doing? My Alma mater!

Such wasted property, left in shambles. I pray they renovate them asap, it's really so nonchalant of them to leave these property so dilapidated...

Nawa o, this is too bad.

It's AKA Zik's Flat Linda not Zik's blocks and people still live in dem

hmmm!!!

And our rich igbo brothers don't even care,please God make me rich so I can show how to help!

Nigeria Govt. ........Once it's not a project they started, they just abandon it...too bad

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB

Chai see Ziksflats ooo.

Too bad! All the money being allocated to the school authorities are only looted and shared between the ogas at the top. God takeover!

Na today?? E don tey!! Through out my 4years in the Den, zik's flats have been in that state. I spent my first year there as that was where I was drafted to. It's appalling, Each administration that comes in,only come to embezzle money.. Thank God they have stopped allocating student to that graveyard.

Ewooooooooo! Linda take note!

HRM paul said...

Lol anon ziks flat dey behind jives.u pass dd little gate to. Behind flats to amogbo and other areas in my time ziks flat was not dat bad as compared to Franco hostels unn

That's too bad

Phi-Philipo said...

That's what is called continuity problem... Every administration likes doing a project that will bear their names...

Na waoh!

My brother.where you never reach no bost about am.you think say e de easy abi.no worry.

How will it not be in that state when he was greedy and selfish,while awolowo gave his people free education with same allocation

Lmao. UNN. 1 year to go and I'm outta ds hell-hole. Btw, there are issues concerning that building, so u cnt blame d sch entirely. The family of zik or so, is fighting for d place, so... 😏

Hrm ziks flat is worse o...no comparism to Franco one bit

Femi said...

Why must you blame govt at everything is it govt that needs to renovate the building that is meant for the school and is the school not getting allocation and there is a battle between the school and the Azikwe family over the property so stop blaming govt either the present one or the past it is not their responsibility to renovate school building

That building is in dispute between the school and Azikiwe's.

No maintenance culture

Larger said...

May be true but as a Super Lion I low that the same blocks of hostels was give out to students during my 4 years in skl. So wetin concern Zik family and maintenance?

The building is still standing strong! The cement used in erecting this building is more standard and superior to the cement we have now in Nigeria!

Chisos! Na ziks flat de like this? Nooooo naa! My own ziks flat? Too bad..

Ina atupuru anuohia onu? Gwanu MPA GI buhari ka obugharia d building ... Renovate it for the students. Na ako ka onye egbuwaa isi wunye ya NTU taa nchala.

During our school days 2002-2006.Ziks flats was the "happening" hostel, so full of life,looking at these pictures do remind me of my precious Block C1.Its a pity that it's in such a state.

Hey moses! S'up with curses na,we can actually drop our comments with alot more civility....yea bonario's comment often times are way off especially when he expresses his support PMB and his dislike f GEJ,i read n walk away rather than curse.

jovultus said...

Nawa ooooooo

**************u obviously haven't bn keeping up with LIB

*****************or ka iwee na afu ifr ayi na Ya na dix country

okwa nooo built for UNN Lindz?
Biko get facts right. The school paused renovation because there was a form of breach of contract by the Zik children so...

Larger, nobody stays there again they stopped allocating it like two years ago

Dude! The confidence you use while spilling bullshit is outrageous! I graduated from UNN in 2011 and I stay in zik flat block D. Yes it already had so much rot but No its not under some tussle with who over you alleged. Don't say things you don't know just to have an opinion! Keep quiet sometimes!

Was in A- block, 1986 as first year student

FRESH said...

This is Buhari's fault! What kind of change is this? They just came into power & in 15 MONTHS this FINE,STRONG BUILDING is wrecked.Mtcheeeew!

See my zik's flat.Used to be the happening place during my stay in UNN.chai,wetin happen?from 2000-2005,Zik's flat was a hot zone wit jives and other fun places behind flat.pls,they people involve be it the government, the school or even zik's family should do something fast about this eyesore!

Zik's flat was a cool place... Full of life and mischief😆😆. Remembering those days...

Freeborn where is your comment on this?

Cee said...

Nigerians and poor maintenance culture!

Preshnext said...

They are waiting for him to come and renovate it na..

Better pikin, fine geh said...

Bonario Is very very correct. Plus am lioness who just became a super lioness in the den. The hostel is being dragged by Azikiwe's wife and children at the moment. So the hostel is having legal issues.

Apc govt have arrested him for cyber stalking

Eltee said...

Ahhh... this is really sad. Had soo many good times here. A school should be a place you can take your kids years after and point and say 'that was my hostel', etc. They are destroying our history. Heard abt the ish between the schl and d family tho. Hope they resolve it. God dey.

Eltee said...

Ahhh... this is really sad. Had soo many good times here. A school should be a place you can take your kids years after and point and say 'that was my hostel', etc. They are destroying our history. Heard abt the ish between the schl and d family tho. Hope they resolve it. God dey.