MEND still plans to assassinate me- Goodluck Jonathan, denies sponsoring Niger Delta Avengers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 8 August 2016

MEND still plans to assassinate me- Goodluck Jonathan, denies sponsoring Niger Delta Avengers

Former President Goodluck Jonathan has reacted to online media reports claiming that ‎he is a co-sponsor of militant group, Niger Delta Avengers. An alleged faction of the group had released a statement over the weekend claiming that himself and some other politicians like Rivers state governor Nyesom Wike, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Raymond Dokpesi and many others were sponsors of the group.

In a swift reaction, former President Goodluck Jonathan released a statement through his media aide Ikechukwu Eze denying the claims by the group. ‎In the state, Jonathan stated that he has always been in the pursuit of peace. He stated that another militant group, MEND which tried to assassinate him during the 2010 Independence day celebration are still after him. The statement in part reads
“For the avoidance of doubt, we are fully convinced that such an idiotic claim is too cheap a narrative, a facile contrivance so badly concocted that any discerning mind would easily see through its disingenuous and duplicitous nature. “We are also not bothered by this baseless accusation, contented that we are not the only ones conversant with Jonathan’s widely-acknowledged sincere disposition to peace, non-violence and better human community. “We are, however, seized by the feeling of déjà vu occasioned by the resurrection of one dim character masquerading as ‘Cynthia White’, who had in the past served as the spokesperson for a notorious group that had all along shown its hand to be going after the life of Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan.
"Nigerians could recall that in 2007 when Jonathan emerged as the running mate to the late President Umaru Yar’Adua in the People’s Democratic Party during that year’s presidential election, this very group invaded Yenagoa with hundreds of militants in an effort to assassinate him. Jonathan was only saved then by the spirited efforts of the combined forces of determined security men, who gallantly repelled the attack. “Let us also not forget that members of this same group later invaded and bombed Jonathan’s compound in Otuoke, Bayelsa State, on a night he was scheduled to attend to an important matter in his country home. He was only saved by the grace of God, who in His infinite mercy created intervening factors that prevented Jonathan from sleeping in his country home that night. “Do we need to remind anybody that the so-called Cynthia White is the self declared spokesperson MEND, a violent and murderous underground group led by one Henry Okah, which has not hidden its intention to destroy the former President?
"The unfortunate event of 1st October 2010 in Abuja at the Eagle Square during the Independence Day celebrations for that year, being presided over by the former President, bears out this conviction. It would be recalled that after an attempt to bomb the venue, with the mind of assassinating Jonathan and possibly other high profile local and international dignitaries in attendance, was thwarted by tight security deployment, the terrorists detonated their bombs in other parts of Abuja, resulting in the death of many innocent Nigerians. It is no secret that following that incident, Okah, the leader of MEND was arrested, tried, convicted and jailed in South Africa over terrorism charges by the security authorities of that country. He remains in a South African prison till date while his associates in Nigeria are still being held in Kuje prison, Abuja.
"We, therefore, have no doubt in our mind that MEND, as a group contracted to go after Jonathan with the mind of assassinating him, is yet to abandon this criminal and ignominious craving. It is in this light that we view the purported statement issued by ‘Cynthia White’ as not only a sadistic continuation of this sick desire, but also a futile attempt to instigate the Federal Government to needlessly go after the former President. “Those who have been following the unsavoury developments in some parts of the country since the last general elections, especially the ones that held in the Southsouth states, would have noticed that the nefarious MEND, their pay masters and other unscrupulous elements in the region, have been striving fruitlessly to exploit the ensuing confusion, by surreptitiously working for the fulfilment of its yet-to-be declared political agenda.
It is our considered view that the statement in question is an off-shoot of that ignoble plan; this time plotting to rubbish and torpedo the ongoing peace efforts in the region. “While we believe that God Almighty would continue to protect the former President against the evil machinations of these undesirable elements, we wish to also point out that Jonathan is prepared to do anything within the limit of our laws to ensure that he enjoys a well-deserved peaceful post-presidential life without any hindrance. “We are not under any illusion that more accusations and allegations of this nature would not be hurled Jonathan’s way in the future, especially as his enemies appear to have perfected the act of throwing mud each time his profile gains added impetus and acclaim. But we are very positive that he can never be fazed by such negative energy. Like the eagle, Dr. Ebele Goodluck Jonathan will continue to soar over his traducers!?

34 comments:

They've failed already...! ##Evil

Sir we know u're a peaceful man. Al dese ar propaganda trying to spoil ur legacy. U're a man of a gud reputation nd we ar aware u cnt involve urself wit such rubbish

Yes it is true.
Apc the party that wins battles on blogs,news papers,tvs and radios una don hear am una don accuse JONATHAN,WIKE,AKPABIO AND DOKPESI remains FAYOSE,FFK AND FREEBORN OR LINDA SHAME TO U ALL.
Only an idiot have hope in apc because his an idiot.what did Jonathan did for Niger delta huh? Noting. Jonathan did all his work in hausa and yoruba place no development in Niger delta no good road no good water or infrastructure and these animals think that MEND are happy with him.fool.
Terrorist buhari please step down immediately

Yes it is true.
Apc the party that wins battles on blogs,news papers,tvs and radios una don hear am una don accuse JONATHAN,WIKE,AKPABIO AND DOKPESI remains FAYOSE,FFK AND FREEBORN OR LINDA SHAME TO U ALL.
Only an idiot have hope in apc because his an idiot.what did Jonathan did for Niger delta huh? Noting. Jonathan did all his work in hausa and yoruba place no development in Niger delta no good road no good water or infrastructure and these animals think that MEND are happy with him.fool.
Terrorist buhari please step down immediately

JEMBETE(KEY-POINT) said...

NA LIE JARE!!! NA APC PROPAGANDA, DEM TINK SAY AS BUHARI N ALL D NORTHERNERS SPONSOR BOKO HARAM NA SO SOUTH B.

Goodluck Jonathan is the definition of perfect gentleman, he is a scumbag but he cherishes peace.... Adding his name to the list rubbishes the list.... Amachi and buhari at work.... But I dnt care sha

......... Liber maniac......

Don't mind the haters

Hian!

Accusations and counter accusations, God help us out

Prince Nwachukwu said...

Hmmm...

SHOW SOME LOVE, VISIT and COMMENT |SkyNaija

Abeg make una leave Jona alone o. This NDA na useless agents of confusion, make them go fight their counterpart for sambisa, useless pipo!

DON'T MIND THEM SIR

I knew it was a big lie from fake people,Goodluck Jonathan is a peaceful man,we all know that

GEJ you missed it when you were busy building everything for the Northerners railways,Almajiri schools and many others while you did settlement of individuals in your southern area no Onitsha 2nd bridge, couldn't build Maritime university and you jailed your brother Mr Okah but Buhari has given all his terrorists brothers immunity pls you've served your term just rest

They came up with that cheap lie because Jonathan is now more popular ans known for good deeds more than most of them

GEJ is doing us proud bringing pride and prestige to Nigerians. People trying to spoil his good name and good work are the problem we have in Nigeria

The fact that he was so fast in releasing a statement makes me want to raise an eyebrow...

Long Live LIB

Sigh... Even after leaving Office, they won't let GEJ enjoy retirement in peace!

He sponsored them.omooba

Nah,GEJ don't have the balls to be associated with violence. He's tranquil. It's when the issue of money is concerned that I can't vouch for him

www.bonitabislam.com

They should leave this man alone na!

It's obvious you have brain problem. How the silly owner of this blog allows you to make comments baffles me. At this point we can blame telcos and techno for providing cheap data and cheap phones which allow dumb fucks like you to terrorize people with your stupidity

ric said...

Nigerians please don't be deceived.
GEJ can never do a thing like that. He is a man of peace. whoever that wrote that article linking him to the avengers should please provide more evidence against him before i even consider what they wrote. i'm by far wiser now than i was during last years elections.

How can it be? Boko haram sponsors have not yet been identified till date but they are quick to identify the sponsors of Niger Delta Avengers?

There is more to it that meets the eye.

ric said...

Nigerians please don't be deceived.
GEJ can never do a thing like that. He is a man of peace. whoever that wrote that article linking him to the avengers should please provide more evidence against him before i even consider what they wrote. i'm by far wiser now than i was during last years elections.

How can it be? Boko haram sponsors have not yet been identified till date but they are quick to identify the sponsors of Niger Delta Avengers?

There is more to it that meets the eye.

God forbid assassinating my main man

They have failed...

Abeg they should leave him alone o

GEJ your enemies will be shamed.

Support social medial bill to prevent idiots from writing stories they can't defend

Jealous everywhere, jonathan God we fight your battle,

kadesh_kings said...

Am solely disappointed in this very leadership dispensation of Pmb. Nigeria is facing enormous economic challenges that needs urgent and immediate attention, why envelop us with propagandas that does and will not add value to the wellbeing of Nigerians? Time for lies, campaigns and propaganda has come and gone for good of which GEJ relinquished powers. Pmb and Apc you wanted governance, pls face it and let bygone be bygone.

Nigerians be wise...

deedee said...

What is linda's in this matter, can't u see DT u r one sick in ur brain n not freeborn.say d truth n it wll set u n Nigeria free, pple stealing their neighbors food fm fire for hunger, sugar 550/tier, everything is times 4-5 of d price it used to be.

Lol..i dey laugh.Most people think this man is a sant but he is not and gradually the truth is coming out.
The question anyone should be asking GEJ is:
Why is MEND after your life?
What did you do wrong?
Five years after,they are still after your life? Why?

They are not after or chasing any present or past governors,senators or Presidents I Know...Why you?

Still be claiming innocence,very soon fowl yansh go open.

These are mere stories and fallacies from those who have failed and crumbled our Economy.They are now looking for innocent Patriots to drag along as they're heading to abyss! God forbids! Jonathan is too decent to sponsor terrorism. Yesterday it was Boko Haram and today is now Mititancy! May God forgive his accusers for they've lost out completely! God help our dear Country.