UNIPORT students protest after one of their classmates dies | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 31 August 2015

UNIPORT students protest after one of their classmates dies

Kel was a 2nd year student of Theatre and Film department, UNIPORT. She collapsed while having a bath around 5am yesterday and was rushed to the Emergency unit of the University of Port harcourt teaching Hospital. According to her friend, UPTH allegedly rejected her, saying there was no bed space. She was then rushed to a private hospital that referred her back to UPTH. She unfortunately died before getting there.

This morning angry students protested her death, saying Kel was left unattended to from 6am until 12noon when she gave up . The students locked the doctors, nurses and medical staff inside the teaching hospital.. And ordered no entry or exit into the hospital.. They also blocked the federal road (Bayelsa road ) leading to the hospital and have been protesting ever since.

175 comments:

Sorry for their lost. May d soul of d departed rest in peace

This is unfair from the doctors...
RIP to the dead

UPTH nor try for this one oh! No bed space ke? Naija my country *smh

Lord pls help and save us frm untimely deaths and tragic accidents. RIP to her!

EastPrince said...

I pity Nigerians n Nigerian Health sector! When you get sick, you'll realize u can just die anytime cus even the doctors r mumuu!! Rip to the babe! N students don't take laws into ur hands! Protest responsibly

All dis wicked nurses and doctors in nigeria I swear u guyz will so ans 4 it on d last day

Dis is very sad ,may her soul rip

That's so sad

Dis is very sad ,may her soul rip

Sylvonce said...

They deserve it. Our emergency health care services are very poor. They are in health care dept, yet they don't value the essence of life. She obviously could have bin saved. RIP to her.

RIP kel

May her soul rest in peace.

Too sad

That is terrible

I have a sad story about that hospital. Bad Management

A must Read! 15 Every Day Things That Increase Your Cancer Risk

'

I have a sad story about that hospital. Bad Management

A must Read! 15 Every Day Things That Increase Your Cancer Risk

'

RIP dear!

Quite a pity, may her soul RIP

#It WiLL oNlY gEt beTTeR
#IT mUSt enD in PrAise

Rest in peace girlie o

Joshtech said...

Rest in Peace Ehya so pain

Uhmmmmmmmm woooow RIP dear
Auntie linda .......

So sorry about that, RIP

Jenny Gold's Blog said...

Very good... I like that... Imagine the excuse 'no bed space' Nigerian medical system is really appolling... Taking of innocent lives is nothing for them at all.....

There was no bed space, somebody in a critical condition, wot kind of doctors do we have in Nigeria for God sake..........a student of the said sch for that matter,

How sad! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

Joshtech said...

Nigeria hospital are technically murders and killers this is bad.

so sad .... may her soul rest in peace

There was no bed space, somebody in a critical condition, wot kind of doctors do we have in Nigeria for God sake..........a student of the said sch for that matter.......If the staff of the hospital actually rejected her, God let them have no peace till the end of their stay on earth

dapgbemis said...

May her soul rest in peace

So sad! RIP!!!

Shit! What a wicked world we are living in. May her soul rest in peace.

its a big wickedness

dapgbemis said...

Eeya..RIP

first to comment.

Makarisia said...

This is wickedness, may God have mercy. RIP dear.

I'm a student of Uniport.. the doctors and nurses there are heartless... this is not the first, second or third time this has happened.. a friend died cause of their non challant attitude to their job..
Kelechi was a beautiful girl with a bright goal, this is so sad.. so sad of a new.. we'll have got to gather yet again to sing "no more, no more"

And Linda, it's not just the doctors and nurses this has affected, there was a angry riot in school today, no class held.. who knows when we're going back to school..

Ani J said...

Oh this is bad. Maybe her soul rest in peace. UPTH staff are fund of abandoning students!

Emem2luv@yahoo.com

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Such negligence!!!

Hmmmm saw dem dis mrn Rip to her

*lib's namesake*

Emem2luv@yahoo.com

You get shot,they'll demand for police report.You collapse,they'll complain of inadequate beds.You get very sick,they"ll say they don't have the required drugs/machine.You die,they'll say the morgue is filled up.The hell is wrong with our health system?

Mz Lolo... said...

So sad! RIP

Das bad na, why Wil they live her unattended..imagine she was dere flesh nd blood Wil they do dat, it is written, love your neighbour as u love thy sef

*cute bree*

The same fate i experienced during my school days at Unique Uniport, even the school clinic does same. Highest they ever gave to me at the school clinic was Gustine tablets and vitamin c . RIP to the young lady. ALUTA Continua

The school authority should investigate the matter and deal with those involved.

The students are important element of Civil Society.
Protect your rights, protect people's rights!

Another case of negligence....the family of the deceased shud sue UPTH to court....what nonsense!!

I think the government should intervene because this not the first time we heard such news,while not treat her on the floor if there is no bed space.

Lady C said...

Na wa ooo,may her soul rest in peace.

This is not good RIP nne. God knows the best.

Abosede said...

Yes Linda thats the aaction we took o... Because it's horrible. That's how my friend Chioma also died June cause of the doctors and nurses non chalant attitude. Like we mean nothing to them.why does it exists when they can't offer us medical attention eh? Good save us all. And this protest will go on till something is done to UPTH cause we can't fold our arms and watch our students get slaughtered by UPTH

Uhmmmmm sorry o!
Auntie mi linda abi?

Trendyify said...

Too bad, rip to here

it is well

bathseba said...

Really really sad en unnecessary death! God help us all...

olusamjide said...

Karlsson said...

Why ll they say there's no bed a student? The management of that hospital should be held accountable n prosecuted too. RIP Kel

Ubanagum

RIP...... #NowPlaying>> stimulated: tyga...

sad. May her soul rest in peace

Wow'''''''' this is serious ooohhhhh UPTH BUT WHY'''''''

Good reaction from dem....i dont know if dis doctors n nurses also study how to be heartless in school

DUU said...

WOW''''' UPTH BUT WHY'''''''''

its well. na wa

ejike capable said...

What a wicked world.

Rip to the dead

Chaiiii dis news jst bring tears to my eyes,dis is pure wickedness OMGGG dey shld deal with dat stupid hospital.....

...Am gettin dere...

Na wao o, all this doctors self why not give first Aid before talking of bed.

Golda Awosika said...

Wow, ds is nt strange, it's just aw bad Nigerians ve gtn.

Unqualified doctors and nurses .... Such a vibrant girl Rip

Eya

Chichi said...

Very sad!

oh my goodness.... they remain there

May her gentle soul rest in peace

Abosede said...

We need serious help.... Upth can't keep slaughtering our students. They keep showing non chalant attitude. Think of this girls future plans, hr parents hopes in her ll washed down th drain cause cause some tupido mofos who don'tknow more than money decided not to ppay her any attention till she died. We will keep protesting till we get something from the government. We need change and we need it real quick.

May her soul rip

MUVA said...

Upth always rejecting patients...something needs to be done. No bed space indeed.Anyways may her soul rest in peace.

I can testify to this, UPTH almost made me lose my kid bro, those nurses are walking corpse. OH! There was no bed space but there is morgue space, I rehearsed in crab with this angel on sat just to hear she died yesterday, life though.

too bad. most of this government workers in teaching hospitals behave any how in this country because no body sues them to court. worst part is that d Justice system is messed up.

Tanx my darling Linda for posting diz story..... Kel I saw d rainbow in d sky while we were protesting I knew Dat was u. UPTH is nt a place I wish my enemy, lousy and heartless nurses and selfish doctors I wonder how dey sleep at night. Kel.devoted#Thespian# crabite...

major said...

R.I.P. The nurses and doctors involve should be sacked with immediate effect.

Chai may her soul RIP

KING Nwa AMAKA said...

Eyaa

R.I.P such a pretty damsel

R.I.P
such a pretty damsel

Rip dear.

What a Negligence,,,,d staffs shud b punishd accordingly,,,*sigh*

***odikwa risky nd tyt***

Nneka J. K said...

Hope this wont just go without anything been done. May her sould rest in peace.

RIP Kel, no structure in this country. Medical care is non existent.

zinny said...

Gosh!!! Wat a bad news

zinny said...

Gosh!!! Wat a bad news

Haba,y locked dem in nah,dat doesn't bring d dead back,stopping patient 2 enter is anoda disaster,abeg let d dead rest in peace already God knws d best...

So sad,may her soul rest in peace...no even paramedic

Dr. Luper said...

wow, what a sad exist, RIP

sumbinson@gmail.com said...

Hopefully....lol

sharon fortress said...

RIP...

Munachi said...

Uniport and Controversies....! !! Dis news is too sad,may her soul rest in peace# I feel bad anytime my school has bad and sad stories to offer in d news,hope it ends soon...God will punish and judge dose doctors at upth#RIP

Serves them right, I don't understand why school clinics behave the way they do

The Nigerian system, there's nothing u can't expect from them

Na wa oo ....if it was 1 of d highest paid doctors daughter , there would have been plenty of bed space for her! Smh!
Pity for d parents!

#moreprotestplease

Dey always do dis!!there is neva a day dey hv a bed space..it hurts dat young people are d ones dying..UPTH should be taken to court..RIP Kel..u will be missed greatly

RIP...

Return if possible....sandyblaq@gmail.com

Plss flog all de medical personel dere plsss

Mien-Ebi said...

She was my classmate, we miss her already.... RIP young blood...

EZAHA OKEOGHENE said...

may her soul rest in peace

May her soul rest in peace.....Amen

Really sad

all dis Death evry where enh Lord av ur way oo

jenobz said...

May her soul rest in peace.....Amen.

Eeyah...RIP!! cabiona01@yahoo.com

Really not fair...this kid just died like that...may her soul rest in peace...buh pls the student shudnt block the hospital entrance...other lives are involved

Useless country.

So sad.... But this is why it is very important for everyone to get trained on how to manage medical emergencies, especially unconsciousness......

jenobz said...

So sad.....RIP

Sad!May her soul rest in peace,Amen.Even if their is no bed space why not lie her on the chair ?Not good

Vry nice move, dat protest is meaningful, RIP 2 d girl

OMG when will all this negligence act stop may her soul RIP

That is a gross neglect of duty on the part of the hospital staff

Very bad, doctors shldn't hv rejected her.

Those health workers deserve dat they should even b locked there 4 3days. They re there t save lives but smtims dey act as if they re nt human. RIP t d dead.

Damilicious said...

A lott of good would ve bin done from 6am to 12pm when she finally gave up.. it's just soooo sad #RIP KEL.

tamuno said...

I saw ur lyfless body Kel.#crying....Nu Wine will miss u. House on the Rock will moss you....TRF will miss u....I will miss dat name u call me....RIP ma friend

gross negligence. so sad. RIP pretty gal

RIP Darling

Quite sad!

Click for important back-to-school tips

When will universities stop this.....hmmmm....RIP......

Na wa o. RIP dear. Those Doctors should appear before a disciplinary panel for negligence.

Very wicked world!!, jst imagine not enough bed space. God will surely judge these wicked people. RIP Kelly (smc social prefect), never a dull moment with her

Nelly said...

R.I.P so sad. Linda's last born.

Just an encounter with you was enough to know you, you had a good heart. Sleep on kel...

PROMISE JOHNSON said...

SO SAD KEL WE MISS YOU.......MAY YOUR SOUL REST IN PEACE

This is my very good friend's little sister. This is so so sad. May her soul rest in peace. Amen!

I am a doctor, naija trained, though no longer there. Truth be told; Our attitude to work is VERY poor, from the consultants down to the residents. And its the same for other health workers, nurses, pharmacists, lab scientists etc...our health system is in such a shamble...being abroad and seeing what the health is like, I realise that everyday people die in Nigeria hospitals for avoidable reasons...Everyday. For starters, all the old "so called "elders" who have nothing new to offer in terms of modern medicine should be sent to the classrooms, they are no good in the field, then they should as a matter of urgency pay these "big boys" per hour of work. You cant come to work once a week and earn a month's salary...its not done in any sane society...only in Naija. There are too many things to write...I just tire jare...RIP kel. Just too too sad

Are you not crazy? Is it doctors that assign patients bed space in teaching hospitals? They don't have bed space. She is unconscious, where do you want them to place her? On the floor? So that people like you will snap and send to Linda Ikeji claiming how you got substandard treatment.

Lesson, mind the way you render abuses and comments. No one sticks their heads out anymore. Doctors went on strike because of this issue of lack of facilities, the masses supported the govt to terminate their residency programme and forced them back to empty hosps. Now you all are complaining.

Your ancestors and your entire lineage are mumu. They don't have bed space in d hosp, how is that the doctors fault? Tomorr you will be hailing Jonathan. Chanel your curse to the people that will equip d hosp.

And you that refused to lend your voice to the govt to buy facilities will not even wait till the day. Your own suffering will start on earth. Is doctor and nurse responsible for no bed space?

Stupid fool, why don't you study to become a sensible doctor? Did they tell you it was a doctor that said no bed space? And where do you want them to admit the patient? Ontop of your head? It is people like you that will abandon a patient where they don't have facility instead of going to a bigger hosp like BMH because he is a student. Those stupid students rioting, won't their act stop other patients from being treated. Keep acting as thug for politicians while they gamble with health care allocation.

Stupid students, medicine after death. Instead of saying you are tired of reading. Why didn't you all take her to BMH? Or attempt to rush to your hostels and arrange a bed or you want the nurses and doctors to do that for you because you are who? Fools. You all killed her!!!

Sue them because you gave them bed to keep for you? Idiot. How many govt officials have you sued for embezzling heath funds meant to equip the hosp. And who will sue d lazy ass students for not rushing to their hostels to bring bed!!!!

It is your reckless comments that make them heartless. Yet you love your govt for embezzling health funds!

Why go there when they are not qualified? And why will the qualified still ask you to go bk there?

Are you not stupid? Why didn't the stupid students go to their hostels and bring bed? Or they are waiting for servant doctor to go and do it? Because she's dead now, they re coming out instead of saying they are tired of reading. For how many hours, what attempt did they make to arrange bed? Fools. They shuld go and riot at the govt house so they will equip hosps.

Na wa o....naija doctors are jst too terible .common bed space o.may God help Nigeria.r.i.p thespian

Dear Anonymous 11:20/11:42pm, You sound like one of those frustrated medical doctors which I guess you are. People grieving the loss of their friend are "not fools". A teaching hospital should "never" complain of lack of bed space and should never turn an unconcious patient away. It is unethical, they simply sent the patient to her death, period. Wether sent away by a doctor or a nurse, afterall, every emergency unit has a consultant and a matron in charge. The emergency is filled up cos you, oga doctor, will admit a case of simple malaria, GERD and other non-emergency cases, thereby taking up all available bed spaces. Even at that, the young lady could have been kept on a stretcher, while she is attended to and provisions for bed space made by discharging or transferring patients. This has nothing to do with government, my dear anonymous...its a clear case of poor attitude to work, negligence and lack of empathy on the part of those involved. How dare you turn away an unconcious patient and sit up there and justify ur self...God have mercy on us all

zz blazee said...

arrived lagos 4rm ph city late cuz of this...the protest lastd fr 6 hrs b4 de calld it of...rip to d dead tho'

I am a medical doctor as well, trained in uniport...Doctor you are a fool plane and simple.. So what is the budgetary allocation for health care in America or where ever they hell you are ? In Nigerian health care gets 7% of the budget in a country where we are over 150 million...instead of you to say reasonable things your blabbing about consultants and there pay...You are a fool plane and simple

Why don't you go to the hospitals and render your help with all your wealth of knowledge. Blog lion, ant in real life.

Opigo said...

Dis anonymous monkey,u must b really stupid.Anyway, monkeys like u r usually stupid.Ur children n pple will die also in same circumstances n make u open ur rotten mouth talk,den u will graduate to a baboon den.Stupid fool.

Anon 11.28 it's like you don't have common sense a teaching hospital must treat the student of the said school. As medical professionals stabilizing the patient is first priority. Once they hv done that they can now think of bed space . You can even use a gurney at first then later if there isn't any space send the patient to another hospital. She is a student so it is her right

Anon 11.31 you are heartless. I hope you aren't one of the doctors or nurses. You hv been posting stuff because you have a guilty conscience may you never know peace if you are responsible N you don't repent

You must be a frustrated doctor too from your outburst, or perhaps married or related to one...may you never experience this kind of pain...may you never loose a child or relative like this...as in ever. Instead of you to post comments that will help someone avoid making the bloody mistake of hoping in unreliable health service you are issuing names because you are smart and making a difference with your significant life. The students riot cos they don't understand why a health care system should exist without a purpose. She, like many others would have had a chance...blame govt for not providing allocation...what the f..k did you get your degrees for...what the f..k is your purpose if you are waiting for this dead....dead govt. ..'for the people by the people' my ass.

You are a foolish fool o...it must be your comment that is all over like one emeritus idiot... sha...they should have known to bring their hostel bed for her because you sent your evil spirit to advise them to do so...be thinking through you s..t hole o...continue.

Thank u for telling dis stupid doctor d truth, u open ur mouth to call pple fools and say dey r tired of reading after some1 jst died, I pray sometin like dis happens to ur family or u den u can explain why d doctors or nurses r not to be blamed. Nonsense

Opigo said...

Dis anonymous monkey,u must b really stupid.Anyway, monkeys like u r usually stupid.Ur children n pple will die also in same circumstances n make u open ur rotten mouth talk,den u will graduate to a baboon den.Stupid fool.

Did dey mention ur name Oga doctor? U pple hv no regards for human life, so ur reason for letting d girl die is on the govt not equip. D hosp? I think u r insane

I really must reply u bcos u r very stupid for not knowing wat to say in a case like dis and u r a professional doctor, if whoever said 'no bed space' says go bring a bed frm ur hostel and let's attend to her bcos it's an emergency, is it bad? U dey saying y didn't dey rush her to BMH,u r very stupid someone fainted in a hostel is d sch hospital not d closes health care to take her to? U pple really hv no regard for human life and I hope u get to read dis msg and we all wish it happens to you...Amen

If u r a doctor in dat hospital and ur daughter was rushed dere, will u say "no bed space"? U open ur mouth to insult pple dat r saying d truth, even if our govt to be blamed, d doctors hv equal share in d blame...face fact

If doctors have d empathy we're made to swallow, it wud be seen severally... So for country wher e don become pattern not to get bed space wetin next even if na govt.fault...no be empathy mean say clear floor space for even mat to show say na real emergency wher life is concerned...where d Real Empathy after all strange situations clearly call for strange measures. Na Naija no fit use mat or carton sef or wrapper to save full life? EMPATHY...dey go check am agn.

When you finish Fucking aroundn you can kiss my ass!
Hope the riot has fixed the mess! Idiot.

Kelechi I saw u 3weeks ago ..House on the Rock PH will miss u..UPTH am nt surprised that's ur normal way killing pipo..I can count how many persons have dies out of ur carelessness.. Same UPTH..God will judge u pipo for lives u have wasted

enyinnaya said...

This young girl died cus of her friends negligence. Period

enyinnaya said...

This girl died cus of her negligence

enyinnaya you are an IDIOT!!!! this is her sister writing. you were not there, you dont know the gist of the matter....you bloody idiot!!! i pray one of yours dies out of nurses laziness, wickedness and stupidity. you bloody IDIOT!!!!