According to ABC News, an inquest heard that Summer went into cardiac arrest after ingesting the button-shaped battery on June 30, 2013, despite doctors telling her mother she would be fine.
Summer, from Queensland, Australia, was taken to Noosa Hospital after she began complaining of a sore stomach, a high temperature and black bowel movements. She later began vomiting blood and collapsed at home after being discharged by doctors.
Her mother, Andrea Shoesmith, gave evidence at an inquest into her daughter's death yesterday July 7th. She told the inquest she took Summer to the family doctor on June 13 and 17 after she began feeling unwell.
This was followed by two visits to Noosa Hospital in the early hours of the morning on the day she died after she had a nose bleed and began vomiting blood, the inquest heard. Ms Shoesmith explained that on the first visit, which lasted 15 minutes, the doctor told her it was common to be sick after swallowing blood from a nose bleed.
Summer got just outside the hospital when she again vomited blood, which had changed colour to a brighter red.
The same doctor then placed the little girl under observation for four hours but assured Ms Shoesmith it was safe to take Summer home, despite her insistence something was wrong, the inquest heard.
Summer then slept for an hour at home before vomiting blood again and collapsing.
When her mother took her to Noosa Hospital for a third time, she was flown to a Brisbane hospital where she suffered a heart attack and died.
The two-day inquest, which began on Tuesday morning, will examine her medical care and assess the need for any recommendations to prevent future deaths.
Summer was the first child in Australia to die from swallowing a lithium battery. It is estimated around 260 children swallow lithium batteries each year in Australia. When ingested, the batteries can have a chemical reaction to saliva which causes them to burn through tissue.
The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has met with battery manufacturers and retailers to discuss measures to make the products safer for children.
Source: ABC News/UK Mirror
39 comments:
Omg!!... Such a Cutie pie! What a sad news. Parents u need to always watch your children very closely. Rip little oneðŸ˜
May her sould rest in peace..what kids do when their parents aint with them..Lord help us
Sad! Rest in peace lil cutie
#sadmuch
Sad!
American doctors make mistakes too, no need to over rate them.
Sad
Awwwww
Oh my Lord! I pray God comfort her family for their loss. RIP to d child.
so sad..RIP
seriously some doctors SMH!!!
Awwwww! Dis is so sad, may her little soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
RIP girl
Parents should be careful where they keep them batteries then
Its heartbreaking to see lil kids suffer before dying.
Ish reminds me of baby Matvey, the tough Russian tot who is still struggling to survive the incubator burns. I know/pray he/for will/him to pull through.
Russians are tough set of humans, even at birth.
Get well soon Matvey and RIP Summer.
Its heartbreaking to see lil kids suffer before dying.
Ish reminds me of baby Matvey, the tough Russian tot who is still struggling to survive the incubator burns. I know/pray he/for will/him to pull through.
Russians are tough set of humans, even at birth.
Get well soon Matvey and RIP Summer.
Sad! RIP
what a cute little girl. May her soul rest in peace.
OMG!!! Its not easy to raise a child. U gotta be careful all d time! May she RIP
Sad news. RIP little one.
Aww! RIP
Eyaaa, such a cute lil girl, RIP hun..
So sad, RIP 2 d lil girl
Oh my God,someone needs to be very careful o,RIP little one
Eya
They dont knw abt health buh dey can know abt transgenderin pple. nonsense
Omg... dats so sad
Such a pretty lil girl.....may her soul rest in peace.
So sad. R.I.P. If it's in Nigeria or some other developed countries the story would have been different.
Rest in peace pretty
AWwww such a cutie
May God continue to protect our children. RIP cutie
Scary. RIP Little Angel. May God continue to protect our children.
Awkward Moments - click my name to read more and share your experience.
Where did you see America Adaobi? Read well before commenting
Awwww rip little cutie
Did u even read d post at all? Its Australia madam, not America. Na wa
Be it Australia or America fact is the doctors abroad make mistake too, if it's in Nigeria people will be cursing doctors
By American, she means abroad lol
So sad!