AFRIFF: When Nollywood Meets Hollywood (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 July 2015

AFRIFF: When Nollywood Meets Hollywood (photos)

High up in the Santa Monica hills there is the iconic sign; Hollywood. It blazes out a call out to dream makers, dream catchers and the cinematically mesmerized. In the sweltering heat of July, AFRIFF answered the call and sent out a hip group of filmmakers; twenty creatives from Nollywood for a three-week course at the world famous Relativity School, Gideon Okeke to Linda Ejiofor, Lala Akindoju to Uti Nwachukwu and Jude Idada to LilianEsoro.

Right in their beautiful digs in Beverly Hills and in between a fun trip to the popular Santa Monica Beach, a tour of the Warner Brothers studios and Dolby Laboratories where they experienced the dazzling wonders of the new DOLBY ATMOS theatre sound system, Hollywood came out to welcome them. From multi award-winning actors and directors Damon Wayans and Robert Townsend to the Oscar-winning Executive Producer of the ground breaking film The Artist Antoine De Cazotte, from the enigmatic casting director Tiffany Persons to the revered Emmy awards judge Peter Young to the celebrated director of the ground breaking film Desert Dancer Richard Raymond and the popular anchor of the Entertainment Tonight show Kevin Fraizer, it was a show of camaraderie, love, support and the outpouring of invaluable knowledge. A precursor to the intensive classes that would follow in the coming weeks, where the Nollywood creatives would take courses in Directing, Producing, Acting and Editing in the world renowned Relativity Studios. Hollywood beckons and Nollywood is responding.

Jude Idada writes from Los Angeles, California, U.S.A

Photo Credit: - Ejiro Onobrakpor

43 comments:

Amy Amy said...

Gud

I only saw one Hollywood actor; Wayans Damon. But it looks like our actors had fun!

Issokay seen. Linda take note!

They're really happy....nice one tho

Simonlub said...

Am happy for them, nice one

Nollywood and Hollywood collabo. Make sense

Chizzyluv said...

Hmmm, this guys are extremely happy sha... good for em..

thats my nigga ejiro with the rickross beard happy for u bruv

These ones are cinema actors , till I see the main actors like Mercy J, Chiwetalu Agu, Osuofia , Mr Ibu till then no comment, am not a fan of these actors above

THIS IS JUST SO LOVELY....WOW!!!!
LOADS OF LOVE GREAT GUYS

Fine fine pple. Keep flying

is uti an actor? really guys,

I trust my Naija peeps, na "certificte in selfie taking" den go obtain come back. Are these the serious Directors and Film makers we have here in Nigeria? Just saying

These people are not serious! Next plsssssss!

Tendency oby said...

Good for them but I have't see any of my best nollywood here Except Gideon okeke

I was expecting A-list actors and Directors... Don't even have an idea of any of the movies Linda mentioned! This is the same way we bring in B or C list musicians to Nigeria and expect Nigerians to pay Thousands to see...

Mee said...

Didnt see any Nollywood actor there#rollseye.. where is the likes of genny,omotola,queen etc.pls you all should go have several seats..if you call it 'friends trip out' I will understand.

So Uti was in America and he didn't attend Gbenro's wedding last weekend? Linda please bring us d real gist behind this

Don't mind them that was why I said I didn't see the real actors, most of them here are so fake, can never watch their movies again

Where are the real Nollywood people?I only know Linda and Gideon from Tinsel and Meeting

So Cinema actors ain't actors? When would u grow! Move with d times ooo so u ain't left behind!!

sassychicnaija said...

where the hollywood stars na? only the Damon guy?
smh

Freddy said...

Hahahaha
So many rejected actors posting beef comments here. Lwkmd ooo
These are the new crop of actors. This is the new nollywood. BECAUSE THE old fashioned ones and the dry new ones weren't chosen doesn't mean they get to come here and ridicule these fine crop WITH ANONYMOUS COMMENTS/ insults .
They are moving forward u a de here de say u a nor de see actors. ...please wash ur eye with bleach. U will see them well. KMT

Joychy these actors here are so fake. It's not about moving with the time, I enjoy most Asaba ,enugu movies more than those fake Lagos cinema movies

About to Wed or Pop the question?
Visit ETERNAL GEMS LTD. for your affordable wedding rings, engagement or Anniversary rings. our stores are located at 62b, Opebi broad, Opebi Ikeja, Lagos or Store C20, Cocoa Mall, Ibadan, Oyo State or visit our online store www.eternalgems.com.ng HOTLINES: 01-2955487, 08094945645, 08027665000. THANK YOU

Even linda ejiofor and lilian esoro didn't go for the wedding. I wonder why

Elizabeth Aluko Blog as carried this gist since. Love her blo.

lmao! nollywood and hollywood indeed! where the hollywood na? mshewwwwwww!

Innocentia Annie said...

Good for them

Listen I am not an actor or actress but truth still remains and everyone knows these ones up here are not actors, okay give me the new actors even Chacha Eke , Ken erics I would have loved to see them there , by the way I buy Nigerian movies every week, these ones here are not actors

New nollywood indeed, so the likes of Eve, chacha, Esther are new nollywoodians.Uti is not an actor.fact.

Who still watches dry tinsel

New nollywood my black ass, come up with new asaba, enugu actors not these ones here

Nollywood meet waka pass and low life Hollywood or call it some ghetto artist . Please Nollywood should stop all this crab.

Na dem sabi

Idiots amebo tatafo for Africa. Common sense should have delivered to your mendulla that all those 3 couldn't be there bcos they are doing an intensive crash course in LA and the wedding was in NY, wch has them locked down. Just in case the distance is confusing, Google is your friend. Olodo

Bad belle people. Coming here to post comments under anonymous. That's why they will never progress. In your heart. You are wishing you were there. Even if it's only the "h" in Hollywood that was in the pix. It's still something. Bitter pple. Our he yourself of your venom and hate. Before it kills you.

Shout out to ma Gee SEUN "The BlackyCHAN" D-rex Say so...

DeeD25 said...

Must they even go???