Read this deep and controversial article about God and Ebola | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 August 2014

Read this deep and controversial article about God and Ebola

UK Guardian columnist Michelle Hanson wrote this article that has sparked quite a debate on social
media about God and why He saved an American doctor and let 1,200 Africans die of the Ebola virus. The writer, who said she gave up on God many years ago, wondered how God works. Find the article below...
"Lucky Dr Kent Brantly, the American doctor who has recovered from Ebola, having been given a dose of the experimental antibody serum Zmapp, whizzed home to the US, and given another dose. He is now thanking God for saving his life. Through the medical team and drugs, he admits, but ultimately, it seems, God was in charge. And he chose Brantly, not the other 1,200 mainly west African people who have died horribly, which seems a bit picky." Continue...
It must be lovely for Brantly to be so sure of things. I tried, aged 10, to work out whether God was around or not, but couldn't. "What was his actual shape?" I wondered. And how could he be everywhere, all at once? How big, for example, was his toenail? Did it cover Ruislip, where I lived? I imagined him constantly on the go, distant enough for an effective overview and able to home in on catastrophes and act. But it was very hit and miss. Would he be on the spot when you needed him, like Brantly did? On and on I went for years, trying to believe in him. I even went camping with a tremendously religious youth organisation, but despite the prayers and observances, even the devout did some frightfully rude things in their tents. And there was no divine retribution. I gave up on God, for ever.
Millions didn't. They seem to be obeying his instructions to the letter, which isn't doing the world any favours. But at last, a bit of good news. The Jehovah's Witnesses are mellowing. They have a new tactic. Instead of just knocking on doors, they're also allowed to stand beside their literature, smiling, near shops and stations, letting us approach voluntarily. Marvelous. It's a shame they didn't do this years ago, when my old friend was a Jehovah's Witness. She was terrified sick of being sent to knock on our door. Luckily it never happened.
If only all religions would take this hands-off approach and let us all believe whatever we like. No pressure. I hope that one day, that will happen. I would say "Please, God," but I can't.

245 comments:

1 – 200 of 245   Newer›   Newest»

Gods chooses how he works when he wants to work. That's why he is God.

Ceeflo said...

I love this woman already...........let's pause from the religious dive and think with our head

ajibken@gmail.com

God is still working. Don't faint pple.. He's @ work. Phil 4:13. Hab 2:3. BishopDammy#.

ajibken@gmail.com

Confused face joansamuel3@gmail.com

fake pastors are all over this damn africa. sam_jere@yahoo.com

HMMMMMMMMMM.... SO SUCH PPLE STIL DO EXIST????

surekris01@gmail.com
God please open her up for her to know better.

Sound Argument! We are still asking God why not also heal our own Doctors and other health Workers. Kokoette.effi@yahoo .com

This columnist is kinda confused! With dis kinda write-up a lot of unbelievers will never wanna believe God.
Mr/Mrs Columnist, if u may knw he wasn't d only american dat survived d ebola, the other doctor(woman) did also and dats cos dey were given Zmapp on time! Get ur dumb facts right and never ever try doubting GOD'S Existence !! White fool!

God's greatest gift to man is free will! if you like believe in him, if you like don't, it doesn't matter. on judgment day he will call those who have being faithful to His name. so the woman is free to believe what she likes, it is her life not God's.

Really sincere I must say. I pray God reveals himself to u in a way only him can. Jenimozie@yahoo.com

www.glowyshoe.com said...

Its her opinion

Pls visit my shoe blog

www.glowysofiscatrd.blogspot.com

Dtwo said...

CONGRATS TO THE COUPLE....d2frizzle@yahoo.com

This is the freedom God has given us. She has a right to her opinion. God has given her that. I believe in the God of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob,Moses. My God. I believe in his son, our Lord Jesus Christ. Glory and praise to God Almighty. The Alpha and Omega. Amen!

She needs serious deliverance.
Wonder how her life is now compared to when she claimed God turned deaf to her prayers.

* My R1.50c comment *

Its only a fool will say there's no God.
Sorry He didn't give her enough sense to believe in his existence.

lady in red said...

May God forgive us all...all i can say
carnayour06@yahoo.com

Didn't understand nothing....

Well our body system are different and our immunes system varies according to our body, so any drug administered to any patient will react according to that persons body, God is not in anyway biased with race or colour, there is nothing controversial about the tweet, he is lack knowledge about God

Hahaha..African for us

ANN Emma said...

Eyaaaa!!!God trully luv yhu#xo dont giv up on him no marra wah#maryann_emma@yahoo.com

D ROCK said...

"And he chose Brantly, not the other 1,200 mainly west African people who have died horribly, which seems a bit picky"
god save us ooo...shocking! 12-year Old, Primary Three(3) Girl Gets Pregnant [Pictured]

But we can't condemned him! God is on his way to help us. We still trust him and believe in his healing hands.

I'd say Hanson is just a confused fellow who doesn't know wr his life is headed. Dis article, instead of convincing me, makes me feel sorry for the writer

This kind of christianity works only amongst the people who brought us the religion itself(whites)...Like everything else we borrow,Nigerians have destroyed true practice of christianity.(Temitope.love@ymail.com)

That's why He is GOD no one can question Him. janekraine@gmail.com

Hmmmmm

Hmmmmm

benito said...

Why do all these Atheists make a big deal about God's existence or not. If you don't believe in something why bother yourself about if if it actually exists or not. I mean you don't believe it exists right? Move on. Even the wise men sought God.

So true. Pamiinlove@yahoo.com

agnostic cdoof09@gmail.com

So touching... they should assist africans

nnamdiezeanochie@gmail.com

I don't blame her. These are bitter words coming from a deranged woman. If she is wise and sensibile enough to know that people's morphological characteristics differ individually and to think that the said drug is 'experimental' she wouldn't blab in this unethical manner. This article is sickening and bears no relevant sense. IT'S ONLY A FOOL THAT SAYS THERE IS NO GOD. *ORIEGWU*

This article reminds me of NoViolet Bulawayo's Darling in "We need New Names." How the hungry people prayed and prayed when Zimbabwe was falling apart and there was no apparent ans from their God.

Why does God remain silent? Is His arm too short to safe? Is His ear to dull to hear? Or has our iniquities seperated us from Him?

"if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 15 Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer made in this place."

Let us
1. humble ourselves ( "for the Lord resists the proud"),
2. and pray,
3. and seek His face,
4. and turn from our wicked ways (our babalawo, "prophet" and other gods),
5. then, the Lord will hear from heaven, and forgive our sins and heal our land.
6. "Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer made in this place."

God LOVES us, it is not His will that any should perish. It is well.
- AE

This article reminds me of NoViolet Bulawayo's Darling in "We need New Names." How the hungry people prayed and prayed when Zimbabwe was falling apart and there was no apparent ans from their God.

Why does God remain silent? Is His arm too short to save? Is His ear to dull to hear? Or has our iniquities seperated us from Him?

"if My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 15 Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer made in this place."

Let us
2. and pray,
3. and seek His face,
5. then, the Lord will hear from heaven, and forgive our sins and heal our land.
6. "Now My eyes will be open and My ears attentive to prayer made in this place."

- AE

I think he shud keep his opinion to himself. God is faithful

bobuleke@yahoo.com

Speechless. veraonuel@gmail.com

Why does God remain silent? Is His arm too short to save? Is His ear too dull to hear? Or has our iniquities seperated us from Him?

Let us
2. and pray,
3. and seek His face,

- AE

Only a fool in his/her heart says there is no God. Our minds r too small to phantom him, trying to understand his ways is folly. Madame Mitchelle Hansson do us all a favour n keep u tots to urself. Ur existence alone is proof he showers rain on both gud and evil. Don't try to twist a testimony u sick sick woman. In d confines of ur heart u know u need God

Am so short of words, to think this was how it started for sodum and gomora makes me sick. This is becoming too much, how can one question the existent of God when you can see the ocean, sky, rocks, mountains, the creation of man amongst other things.... May God have mercy on us...tomisin07@gmail.com

There was a certain Professor who claims that there is no existing of the Almighty God. But one questions they can't supply an answer is; who created them? For them; its nature that created them. Kokoette.effi@yahoo.com

God works in mysterious ways. Try to believe in him and he would give you understanding.

lola_apoeso@yahoo.com

Speechless xristabel2all@yahoo.com

Sisi Vales sisivales@yahoo.com said...

I don't blame the lady for she cannot see with her inner eye but all we pray for is TRUST AND FAITH FOR THE LORD BEYOND BORDERS... Enough said

Anne said...

I'ts really disappointing when people question God.

U must b very daft if in dis time and age u still dnt b-live in God

YEMILUCIOUS@yahoo.com

That is one thing about this Scientist they don't believe in the existent of God

maryjones129c@gmail.com

HOC said...

Well thats ur own opinion. Everybody just have to say something.This is just wat satan want people to say about God. There is God... the bible say the stupid one says deas no God. He is alive and watch over his own. He will save his own pple even if death took dem now but dey will live when is kingdom comes.

Hian! There is God oh...

She is actually right, and I find her article to be very profound, now I now some Africans with low intelligence and IQ would start insulting her, without actually understanding what she has said!!! Basically in my life, and with all that I have been through, and there is a situation that I have been going through for some years now, you ask yourself that question, "Where is God in all of this?", "Does he really care about me?", "When would this agony and torment end?", "Why does bad things continue to happen to good people, whilst evil and bad people never pay for their wicked atrocities?", "I don't know what I believe anymore?".... These questions have been on my mind lately, and yet some people would start saying "It is well", I hate that statement with a passion, it is well with what? suffering, poverty, wars, diseases, penury, adultery, etc!!! Anyway she isn't the only Christian who has left her faith, a lot of people have done so as well, and a lot of people are contemplating it, anyway that is all I have to say for now!!! Whizman

Ebube God said...

Wow am speechless really u don't believe in God

Alagbado-ode said...

God is a spirit .All His ways are coded and one can only interact with and get the secrets of the codes if you are ready to go into the spirit realms through continuous discipline and cleansing of the mind and physical body. Im not a highly religious person but I've tried God lots of time through spiritual cleansing and got 100% instant results. Only problem is most modern religious leaders are not spiritual and they deceive their sheepish follwers through lies and manipulations. God is very far away from them and in most cases they are the cause of most mysterious calamities befalling mankind all over the world now. Infact most of them are consciously or unconsciously working for satan to recruit multitudes that will perish with the devil at the end time.

Olumide Abiodun said...

"If only all religions would take this hands-off approach and let us all believe whatever we like. No pressure. I hope that one day, that will happen."

I like that last paragraph. Really, the truth is, God is formless, we humans give God form. There is one God, one supreme being, one infinite intelligence, we all just reach the supreme in different ways...different journeys to the same destination.

That being said, regardless of how you serve God, or which religion you belong to, your culture and the region of the world you find yourself still plays a key role in what happens to you in life.

Are You A One Minute Man?

Eagle Eyes Media said...

There's God! If you doubt this, ask Patience Jonathan.

Let me comment just for the fun of it.. I need money linda
Nosikeanierobi@yahoo.com

Hmmm, the truth is that,God is alive and he heals.God says,I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy.u can not question him that is why he is God.

MY POINT EXACTLY

can you imagine how foolish you sound in your reasoning? The bible aptly describes those who denies the existence of God as foolish.

No pressure indeed worship whatever u want to worship. But u cant say there s no God .God is a spirit u muat worship him in spirit. Whatever u worship is a spirit. U cant see God no man has ever seen God but he is and will always be. Pls keep quet and stop the blaspheme

Hmmmm....her opinion though

At a time like this, I'd rather padlock my mouth My Experience Inside A Nigerian Strippers' Club (18+Pic)

I don't know about her but as for me God exist. Whenever im praying or reading my bible, i always feel his presence. (closure with God)
Bad and good things are inevitable. He alone knows it all. we are not to question but strive to inherit his Kingdom.

No matter what is being said by this Michele Hanson, i strongly believe that she lacks one thing, what is lacking here is the understanding of the operation of God. 'God's ways are not man's ways, the wisdom of men is foolishness to God and again, He is a God that sees the end from the beginning. He knows the best thing for Africa and for the US. God Heals who He wants to heal and favours who He wants to favour. Michele Hanson lacks this Knowledge and am very sorry.

Thelantern said...

I wouldn't blame. The writer with the injustices happening in the world it is convenient to believe God dosnt exist, however we can't lose faith we can't afford to.

Sarah Felix said...

For me,God is the only real$best thing dat could happen to any human being.He said I'll show mercy on whom I'll show mercy.Each day is also loaded with two benefits,either life or death$i pray dat I'll continue to be a recipient of life$good health IJN.

lindaspartner said...

U being alive shows God exist.

Fuck you Linda! Just because u have money does not mean that u have to start forgetting your roots. Remember God can take it all away. I have noticed over the recent years how u are beginning to be on the side of "does God really exist" this happen in our lives that we can not explain, but that does not mean that when am ignorant person bring up
A debate about if God really exist that u will rush and bring it here. Just be mindful of yourself even though u have money. I remember some years back u were not in support of gays and now u it's all about yeah "you go girl" werk it girl and all that BS take a stand BITCH!

pure rubbish, how can u deny God's existence? have you ever asked ur self how yhe world came to existence? elizabetho179@yahoo.com

Everytin has a reason,husseinmotunrayo2012@gmail.com

chincobee said...

God is with us jor!i just believe there is a reason for everytin that happens and the American guy got adequate medical attention.ofcause we cannot compare that with what d ebola patients in Liberia got! We can't question God and even his manners of doing things is unsearchable...

God is great and not man julian_peace@yahoo.com

banny said...

An agnosticist point of viewing d existence of God. Dey always seek for proof. I just hope and pray God gives u a lil reason n sign of his existence

I still believe in God shah....

MADAM COLUMNIST, TWO PEOPLE SEF DON TAKE THE ZMAPP AND STILL DIE THAT IS JUST ANOTHER TWO REASONS TO THANK GOD. WAIT TILL YOU FACE DEATH AND COME BACK NAH DAT TIME YOU GO NO SE GOD DEY WELL WELL. MORE SO IF YOU NO ACKNOWLEDGE GOD NO MEAN SAY HIM NO EXIST. ALL OF US CAN'T BE FOOLS.

Hey...He was treated fast...The other 1,200 weren't. He is lucky his American too where they take human lives serious.Its just that simple. Africans, Nigerians really have to improve on a lot of things.

I probably don't even need to read...how will somebody blame God for saving one man...this same God gave both African and American the same brain, whilst Africans are using theirs for corruptions, Americans are investing in scientific research...please find other things to do jare.

I don waka

Linda what is deep about it? Sometimes u come off like an agnotist, anyway the lady needs to stop being logical about God. It's all this stupid Oyinbo science people that think they are too smart to believe in Gods existence. Whereas they are meant to be more believing because God blessed them with intelligence. Stupid mofos

Elly said...

The fact that he did not give thanks to scientists who created the experimental drug is just wrong.

I don't want to start a religious riot but many of the deeds ascribed to "God" make no logical sense, hence I do not try logically understand them.

Just live your life, have an open mind and dont be a dick!

Yes my dear He seems to far away but believe me He is very near. The world deceived us for too long that it is ONLY IN THE CHURCH that we can find God No no my dear He is beside you as I write, smiling at you when you put pen to paper. The American Dr felt Him at his side hence he held unto God not the experimental drug, sometimes God need to know He is wanted before He can approach you and I for friendship. The 1,200 may have died for lack of knowledge (immediate isolation as American Dr did)and some even out of malice(they want to pass it round since they are affected). Believe me GOD IS A LAST MINUTE FRIEND, OUR REFUGE AND STRENGTH A VERY PRESENCE HELP IN TROUBLE. OH BEFORE I FORGET HE IS ABOUT TO HAVE AN ENCOUNTER WITH YOU SOON.

The God i worship is not partial God, he said i will have on who i want to have mercy on. He doesn't discriminate. I believe He will save Africa. by dobis112@gmail.com

No matter what has happened, it doesn't change the fact that he is God.

I believe in God o

Hmm...this woman needs an encounter...pray she gets one..

KingOfTheHill said...

There are a truly a lot of things that disprove the existence of God. But, here's the wisest thing to do if you really want to become a fully-fledged atheist.

Believe in God while you're on earth. Even if you don't like Him, follow His rules, no matter how hard they can be! Pray, even if you don't like it!

When you eventually die, and find out that there was no God, you'll have nothing to lose. You may only have regrets of not boozing, and womanizing while you were alive.

But, if you eventually find out that God actually exists, you have EVERYTHING to lose if you never believed in Him while you were alive.

You'll lose absolutely everything!

So, dear atheists, think twice.

KingOfTheHill said...

There are a truly a lot of things that disprove the existence of God. But, here's the wisest thing to do if you really want to become a fully-fledged atheist.

Believe in God while you're on earth. Even if you don't like Him, follow His rules, no matter how hard they can be! Pray, even if you don't like it!

When you eventually die, and find out that there was no God, you'll have nothing to lose. You may only have regrets of not boozing, and womanizing while you were alive.

But, if you eventually find out that God actually exists, you have EVERYTHING to lose if you never believed in Him while you were alive.

You'll lose absolutely everything!

So, dear atheists, think twice.

Nk da diva said...

A fool says in his h
eart...There is no God. Am so sorry for fools who thinks so.

K nau

VERY DUMB WRITE UP! THE DOCTOR WENT THROUGH AN INTENSIVE MEDICAL TREATMENT TO CURE HIS EBOLA. BUT SURLY GOD USED PEOPLE FOR THAT, SO ALL THE GLORY GOES TO HIM. WE ARE DYING OF THIS DISEASE BECAUSE OF THE LACK OF TREATMENT FOR IT. BUT WHO SAYS THERE ARE NO PEOPLE WHO MIRACULOUSLY HAVE BEEN CURED OF IT THAT WE DONT KNOW ABOUT. THESE FOOLISH ATHEIST WILL ALWAYS FIND A WAY TO RUBBISH GOD. IF YOU DONT BELIVE HE EXIST WHY ARE YOU BOTHERED ABOUT HE DOES AND DOESNT? AND LINDA WHY DO YOU EVEN BOTHER TO PROMOTE SUCH HATE?

Daily diet tv said...

Lol i noticed the way people look at me whenever i try to talk about God here in the Uk. People give me that dude-this-is-2014-how-can-you-believe-in-a-fairy-tale look. Makes me feel like person wey just come from village.

~BADOO OF COVENTRY

God is still God, no matter what anyone thinks or feel. He remaineth GOD.

Hmmmmm stil tryn 2 find wrds 4 dis bt al I knw is d@ dere is a God nd I blieve in him....* bensonneky@yahoo.com

He remaineth God, no matter what anyone thinks or feels. He is God.

Ma'am you are talking yanyampu! Diaris God o! And He works in ways we can not see. You better believe it.

Not surprised. I live in d part of d world where plenty of her likes exist. U just should not be distracted by them. I am sure Dr. Bently knows better...

Looking for answers to life's big questions? Look here.... www.jw.org

jehovahs witnesses are not mellowing. we still go 4m house to house to preach to people. we r even intensifying the preaching work , that is why u see us standing at locations where people who are not at home can hear the goodnews that Gods government will soon bring an end to mankinds suffering(Dan2:44). we will never give up on Jehovah God cos we are existing cos he wants us to(His Grace).
sherry

Mo said...

Different strokes for different folks. But in nig theres a religious problem, interpretations differ, the use of Malachi and touch not my annoited na gbangba

Um maybe because he never had Ebola and that was only a get rich scheme by him and the American government to play on the minds of desperate people and make money off the experimental drug zmapp.

Glad am Atheist.

zines143@gmail.com

Ozed said...

You doubt the existence of the Almighty?From your write up,you never believed in God,from age 10,you started tempting God instead of serving Him.God is no respecter of anybody.

zines143@gmail.com

U neva can tell

That's how he sees it, we can't blame him. Sometimes we question God existence base on the situation we're in. But I believe there's reason for everything, how are sure its only zmapp that was use to treat the american doctor? Americans may be lying or not completely honest with us. Let's make extra cash, click and register www.referbizpay.com/?ref=7508

U neva can tell

Linda pls am not part of this! There is GOD and this i know. Ifeomatundeasolo@gmail.com

BRIGHTINO said...

The bible says" only a fool says in his heart that there is no GOD"

james isaac udoh said...

I pray God should touch you and then you will know how mighty is God. I will not condemn her comment because i feel she had a problem and needed God to help but God work in a miraculous way.

Onyeoziri.henry@yahoo.com

Everybody else taking ZMAPP is dying. So yes God saaved HIM

ujahmycine said...

Linda, we should let the woman be. She only expressed her confusion Which many of us harbour.Besides her tweet says it all.sometimes many of us feel the same way but rather swallow phlegm in shame than voice our true thoughts on religion.not everyone has the oppprtunity of witnessing the awsome power of Gody... Ujahmycine has spoken.

Dia ris God o!!!

Gibberish! Real nonsense. Who cares about her opinion by the way?

WELL PEOPLE HAVE SAID A WHOLE LOT ABOUT THEIR PERSONAL BELIEFS. BUT I HAVE COME TO A CERTAIN GROWTH IN MY SPIRITUAL THAT I NOTHING I MEAN ABSOLUTELY NOTHING CAN CHANGE MY BELIEF THAT THERE INDEED EXIST A GOD AND HE IS CONTANTLY THERE ALWAYS AND FOREVER.SO MISS GROW UP YOU STILL HAVE A LIFEA GIVE THANKS

larah said...

Lol..ds guy is jst so naïve , dat is y he is the UNQUESTIONABLE GOD, ise oluwa awamaridi.....hallelujah

comfort said...

God is real MR Man...fuck ur ASS

Essential said...

My bible tells me that "a fool says in his heart, there is no God"

She can't challenge God the almighty lol ppl sef GOD does whatever he want, u dnt have any right to say something against him

Am glad he knows its God not man onunwamerit@yahoo. com

She sure doesn't knw what she's sayin...

oluwatoyin03ng@gmail.com

Mr. Fantastic said...

'Enlightened' Linda Ikeji... This is "deep"? You're THIS shallow? Cry my beloved country, cry, for having crowned Linda Ikeji a ROLE MODEL...

Emmanuel Babatunde said...

for amazing photography works check out my instagram page @EOB_PHOTOGRAPHY and on tumblr: emmanuelbabatunde.tumblr.com

are you trying to say God is an American?
dont believe everything you read or hear in the news!
richib90@gmail.com

Lol no b lie my broda. Funniest comment

Your language shows you are not a Christian. With your language, you will never win souls for Christ. Christianity is about living by example. Using the four letter word isn't..

Why is she foolish? The God we serve has given us the right to choose right from wrong. You are not God. Focus on yourself and try to make heaven.

Absolutely. All those people calling her all sort of names must remember they are offending God. Our God dwells in love and peace. Not rancour!

illuminati tinz..... next chemicalx52003@yahoo.com

Lindaikeji is it everything you'll upload? You'll now make that white razzoid feel important.

Donkey

That's the problem with you religious zealots. You always want to defend your "all-powerful" God. I see no difference between you and Boko Haram.

Thank you. She has told the truth. Every other thing na story. Religions will eventually die a natural death.

Lindaikeji is it everything you'll publish? You'll now make that razzoid feel important

OMG!WOMAN said...

Very little dissapointment like un answered prayers especially when life is involved can dent your faith for ever... I personally is fighting that fight. But God remains God.

Talk is cheap......

To each his own oh! There is God oh, there is no God oh, figure out what you want to believe in and stick to it!

ll said...

Will like you to read the following article to actually know why many die and little are saved.

http://wordandtestimonies.blogspot.com/2014/08/traditiona-killer.html

Why do bad things happen to good people? Why does it seem like bad people get all the good stuff? Why is it that campus runs-girls that have had more than 15 abortions and slept with 100 men their grandfather's age end up getting married to the most eligible guys and then go on to have their children in quick succession from year one of marriage? Why are we here? So many whys. A pot cannot ask its Maker why it was made the way it was made.

SHE IS A FOOL.

Tobore. said...

My people peris for lack of knowledge.

Fuck Jesus!!!! Who care what color he is or if he is alive or dead or real.. Black people need to take your minds out of the clutches of white racist religion. the only person that can help you is you.. You help yourself by helping each brother and sister. when are you going to see that their is no imaginary person especially (white) that is coming to save you from you...the only reason why these evil people has their clutches on you is because you allow them..you think these racist people who don't want to live with you on earth is gonna let you in on the secret to go to heaven?? The only reason why they have you dreaming of a fake heaven is to rule the real heaven here on earth..blessed are the meek for they shall inherit another set of damn chains around their necks and feet..and blessed are the poor for they shall see God and not themselves..

Just a little time woman, the Lord God will visit you. The same way you shared this piece, its the same way you are going to testify about him.

Idiot. Did she tell u it was only the doctor that survived. She just stated the obvious. Get that into ur skull

@Nelson B, ur papa na donkey!

@Anon 6:25pm.. U will rot in hell.. If u dare challenge that 'all-powerful' God! Ewu gambia

Believe Right! said...

The reason many of us believe in who we believe in is because we follow our families' traditions via brainwashing, or because we made a choice. No matter how much you try to foist the choice you have made on others, they will resist unless they reach a turning point made possible by a life changing encounter. As for me, my help is in the name of the Lord who made heaven and earth through Jesus Christ His Son.

How stupid are u? Indeed u n people that think like u are 1 of the reasons why Africa will remain stagnant

May God forgive her

That's a silly thing to write!

AFOLABI said...

good prose and very tenable arguments but i AFOLABI have a trillion reasons and more to believe there is almighty GOD.so for me i am for GOD,madam columnist,that you are alive and knowledgeable to write your article simply means there is GOD vis-a-vis the fact that not all those born the same time you were born are still alive.

The dead one's rest in peace. that's the different between the death and the living so in the sight of God, Its not a bad thing to die so shut your ass and stop messing around in Gods name woman. U daughter of Jezebel.

Let her visit jw.org to have her questions about God answered.

WD said...

To the ebola victims i pray that God will heal all and the dead i say may ur soul rest in peace.
Now Mr whatsoever u are, u av given ur own insight but some of us av every reason to believe he is alive. Listen to mine.>>>>> I was just in my 200levvel in school and was down with this sickness so bad that i could not walk and i had exam to attend so i looked up and say God, if u can just heal me right now and right away i became healed. I av so many testimonies to prove that there is God and Ebola is too small to question the existence of God.

WD

God is God. If you last ask question from now till infinity.

Wish u can see the"GOD'S NOT DEAD" movie.

Ronnie said...

That is why he is God!we can't get to the root, things happen at times to approve somethings...a manager get dismiss sometimes because God wants sum1 to get there or may be God has plans for the the manager......there is no need of insulting anyone here ...some of us here are worst than her and we know God.....she need to understand more...what I know is no matter what we believe in...let's be sincere with ourself and with pple around us,love .(.heaven help those who help themselves)

I can't belive some fools still say "I belive in God not Allah" when you have different languages all over the world.
Well that's by the way, I'll start off by saying Africans are dumb and easily manipulated...let's think about this for a moment: who introduced RELIGION in Africa?
What were their motives of doin such?
Why is it that its in Africa...esp Nigeria dt hv religious troubles, and conflict when in India dey have over a Hundred religion and still live in peace and harmony???
Thee worst thing is we read the bible, the quran and other forms of what dey call "the holy books" but then no one understands the story each book is trying to portray.
Me for one I won't say I don't believe in God and I won't say I believe in Him either. Am still tryin to figure dat out.
What am getting at that once we remove the blindfold called religion and use our heads. Things will start to b become clearer, and then we can understand what's really goin on in the world we think we live in.

NIGERIANS ARE RELIGIOUS SLAVES!!!! #NUFFSAID

The white man gave us religion, and took everything we had. But we are so blinded by fear that we'd rather die in our delusions than wake up to reality.
I pity Africans, the joke of the world!

choose life... said...

So why didn't they give the same treatment to the africans infected too? has there been any african treated with this drug? why do we humans orchestrate things and blame it on God? no matter what you think and what you believe, there is an end and there is a God as surely as there is a devil and there is heaven and hell and we will all leave this earth with a ticket, either to heaven or to hell and I tell you, it's better to follow Christ with the risk of finding our heaven was not real for instance than not choose him and find out hell is real, there will be no second chances then and forever is a pretty long time to be in agony!!! The devil is using every thing he can find these days to water down the potency of the word of God and people are falling for it. Some areas like Europe even label themselves post- Christian states as in they are past believing in Christ. hm. wisdom is choosing Christ, I must tell you!

So u see, if He didn't give her enuf sense to believe in his existence den it isnt her fault that she doesn't. Im nt in support of her claim or believe, but im nt against it either. I still believe that religion is the most harmful social group ever to have existed. And you all here blame this woman, well partly cos of ur indept belief majorly inculcated in ur mentalities mainly cos of ur geographical locations and societal observations. U are mind directed toward a certain belief and grow in it. U cannot see any faults in it cos the mind as u are is grown to it. Pple wonder hw a person can strap himself with a bomb and blow his brains along with others, well its simple "brainwash", the are rigorously guided to develop the needed temparament to belief that what they do is right. Talk more bout those born in the most uncivilised regions of the world, cos as it were, religion has grown with civilisation. Would u then say that our forefathers that believed in the "gods" would never make heaven just cos of the time of their generation?... my name is david, and I want the society to be more open minded, this would solve a lot of unnecessary problems.

GBAM!!!

The Bible says, a fool says in his heart that there is no God. God is real and He reveals his ways to those who "believe" in Him.

I agree with this article 100%, Nigerians like to call god alot but are amongst the most corrupt on the planet, 419, fraud, etc. There is a reason the west is more developed than us....

Biko this article does not make sense!nxt plzzzz

I am a yo-yo'ing Christian, but ur response out of all these Christians here was the only one I find Christ like.

I'm sorry to say but u're the "fakest" bishop! You say things off point and even things that are not morally or spiritually correct as far as Christianity is concerned. You might as we'll be a motivational speaker!

DAFT!

amaka said...

I wil show mercy on whom I wil show mercy...whom I please,dat doctor was healed cos f d grace of God on his life Nt cos hiz whyt/a missionary..God xists,i love,reverence,respect,fear,nd bliv so much in him..ur free 2choose ur path...nd yea his evrywere,even in d most secret ov places...nd He loves u nd wants u 2come bak 2him

Be very careful with your words...
EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON.

I believe everytin happens for a reason. Who re we to question God

Everyone might be right to reason the way life forces him/her to,but i believe the american doctor survived bcos his country rapidly picked him up and gave him the proper necesary treatment such a victim should be given to,maybe he wouldn't have made it if he was left like other patients back home in africa.so this has nothing to do with God(saved his life or not)but the rapid response and treatement given to him by the great nation where he comes from did.God can as well act in some cases if he wants and the way he wants(bcos he's God n not man)and in this case one doesn't even need to do much before he shows himself(miracle)

Dalu biko.

Levine Kpai said...

Well if you live in the UK and in the developed world were health care and infrastructure etc work we can understand were the madness of no God is coming from. But if you live in Nigeria, work in okokomaiko and live in Aja for example etc "there is God". Interestingly that is why God is God because He chooses to use foolish things to dumbfound the so called wise.... Cheer up brethren... The word works. For those still hanging on the fence the one through God sent His son and His name is Jesus. Just accept him. It's that simple....yes that simple...

Thank u Alicia for making that great and reasonable point but unfortunately it's too late to get it into the thick heads of africans,Muslims have also the same problem..it's just like telling a muslim that it's wrong to kill a fellow human beign wether he believes in islam or not.they all believe the more human heads they cut off with their evil knifes the more better place they get in paradise as a martyr

It really answered so many life questions such as why do bad things happen to good people??. Is God hard hearted or does he really cares for us??and if he does, why allow suffering to go on..Kindly visit www.jw.org for the answers.

I'm Sorry But you are naive.. the article is about the healed Dr and a confused writer who knows GOD exists But is trying to fight it. You're busy cursing Africans.. Please grow up and go back to school to acquire more knowledge.

Anonymous 7:01 take it or leave it, God is alive. There is a God somewhere somehow. Even here. U don't know what FAITH can do in ur life. And besides, anonymous 5:08, this is the best comment so far.

OYIZa said...

Very silly and dumb Juliet. God Is everywhere, weather u bliv it or not, d judgement will tell us all. I believe in Only one God D Creator of Heaven and Earth,D Lord Of D Universe,D Omnipotent, D Just, D Truth, D Greatest & D One & Only,King Of All Kings... It Goes On & On! I jst pity those who dnt Knw nor believe in God. May HE Shower His Mercy & Forgiveness upon u all & guide all of ur hearts 2see d Truth n only Truth. Ameen!

OYIZa said...

Exactly, u r right "feeling sorry 4d writer and d likes..

If you read The Guardian's articles, and especially comments(Cif)you'll start thinking like an atheist. I'm almost at that level but making a conscious effort to still believe in God. If you can, ignore. Just let them be. The mere mention of God is like an assault among the commentators.

God bless u

I don't understand what the writer meant... But then God works in mysterious ways and he is Unquestionable.
Jochienuel@gmail.com

I don't understand what the writer meant... But then God works in mysterious ways and he is Unquestionable.
Jochienuel@gmail.com

My experiences tell me that God exists. I have had nights of heavy spiritual attack when by just kneeling down to pray, I slept like a baby. I have met dead ends in my plans that were miraculously resolved after kneeling and crying to God. I have even dreamt of spending time with Him. Yet I'm just an everyday guy. Im not evn a pastor or church worker (One of the world's worst sinners). I believe there must be a point you go beyond what the bible and our preachers say to know who God is personally, if not, these hard times will just sweep you away. So I don't care even if the pope comes to deny the existence of God tomorrow because Iam sure all my experiences with my God is very real.

Der is God.....oshama2014@gmail.com

Only a fool will look into the heavens and say there is no God...

Mssteeriouss@Gmail.com

Bible is garbage ......wake up

Pst. Dave said...

Romans 9:15-16, For he saith to Moses, I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

Romans 9:20-21, O man, who art thou that repliest against God? Shall the thing formed say to him that formed ] it[, Why hast thou made me thus?] 21Hath not the potter power over the clay, of the same lump to make one vessel unto honour, and another unto dishonour?

God has his own way of doing things, beckynicks13@gmail.com

Oh my, you're so Christ-like. You're proving the guy's exact point.

Talking to you 6:55

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 245   Newer› Newest»