From a female LIB reader. I have a feeling I will have a similar problem when the time comes...lol. Read below and advise her
I am a woman who has waited long for the right man. I have found him and we are getting married in February
My dream wedding has
been planned since I was 20 and now I can transform all those imaginary
plans into reality. There is only one hitch, I am way more successful
financially than my fiancee. He is doing well for himself-averagely- but
I am rich. I know he can’t afford some things that I would like to do
for the wedding like invite some of my favourite artists to perform, buy
a designer wedding dress and give everyone generally a good time. Continue...
I am a very low
key person and only popular in my industry where I work so I’m not
flamboyant in anyway. But this is my wedding, I feel
like I’ll look back and regret it knowing I could afford to do these
things but didn’t. I love my boo, we are best friends and he is the love
of my life. But, his ego will not allow me pay for these extra things. I
know if I insist and beg and cajole he will allow me go ahead and do
whatever I want to do but is it worth it? What if he doesn’t feel
comfortable on the wedding day? what if this becomes a big problem in
future. I am thinking of both of us in this case and I’m afraid I cannot
come to a conclusion in my mind. Forget asking my friends, they are so
2014 they think i should pay for what i want if he can’t afford it. I want my fairy tale wedding, I also do not want to bruise my fiancee's ego in the process. I need a middle ground, please HELP!
234 comments:
«Oldest ‹Older 201 – 234 of 234Ewu Gambia! Didn't your mama teach you how to talk in public? S
talk to him hes ur boo, u guys are matured and should be able to read, understand and know each other... Anywayss try to please each other thats the essence
Linda am sure u are just disguising...hope the dude is not Bonario sha
If he's understanding, and you are a humble person then there's no cause for alarm. My opinion...Luvlyn.
Wetin we no go read on Dear LIB,my dear something like this u dont need public opinion you are the only one that know the kinda understanding btw u and ur man,so decide on your own beside LIBer's are entertainers
talk to him he;s ur boo
u didnt make sense
Talk to your man and know what he thinks.... If he is the low-key type of person, you have to respect that.
Nothing bruises a man' ego more than that!! A man hates it when he can't afford something and the woman throws it in his face cos she has money to do it.. Fairy tale or no fairy tale, I want u to know that ur wedding can never be the best! And even ur fairy tale wedding can't come out 100%. You can still have a moderate but beautiful wedding plus a wonderful marriage. All the best!!!
Nice talk
Am ready for linda's wedding in February. Lilibaby happy married life in advance.
Linda, this is you. I know you are a good lady. I have watched some of your videos, I think you are submisive and very loving. I also listened to one radio personality prank on you...You are awesome. Your husband shouldnt have any problem whatsoever with you. If not that you are 'Linda' I wouldn't mind having you myself, I swear. I once had a feeling I would marry you someday but later killed the thought and needed to be realistic.
I do not think this is Linda because she wouldn't want her fiance to see it on her blog if she has one. I know you are a good lady. I have watched some of your videos, I think you are submisive and very loving. I also listened to one radio personality prank on you...You are awesome. Your husband shouldnt have any problem whatsoever with you. If not that you are 'Linda' I wouldn't mind having you myself, I swear. I once had a feeling I would marry you someday but later killed the thought and needed to be realistic.
Don't marry a man you can't be yourself around
Shut the fuck up
you have to b an atypical Nigerian in this situation. if you are educated you would understand marriage has no financial ties and getting married to someone with less money is not a problem. ego is a man biggest enemy, as Nigerians I can say we are the proudest men, but if he is getting married to you with all honesty he would understand that he has to control his ego/pride. get the people you want to perform and he would respect you as a human being , because you love him and respect him enough to tell him what you want.
I do not think this is Linda because she wouldn't want her fiance to see it on her blog if she has one. I know you are a good lady. I have watched some of your videos, I think you are submisive and very loving. I also listened to one radio personality prank on you...You are awesome. Your husband shouldnt have any problem whatsoever with you. If not that you are 'Linda' I wouldn't mind having you myself, I swear. I once had a feeling I would marry you someday but later killed the thought and needed to be realistic.
Aunt respect ur Oga
Linda every body is pointing fingers at u. Linda na u, now I read ur statement clam and cool as always
Yes it's good to please your man, but u also hv to consider yourself in the picture.
That u can't have everything u want for your special day, does not mean should now hv a wretched day, trying to please him. Find a mid point, and do at least half of the fabolous things u would hv wanted for u.
On the music thing, pay for his favourite musician, and also for yours, so that u hv 2acts, as a gift to both of u.
On the wedding train, he can determine the maximum number of people, ,church location, and colours, while u determine the type of outfit and materials to sow wt the colours he has picked.
He could hv final say on the menu list, and pay for that, while u add a little more money to it, stick to his choice, but make it as fabulous as can be.
The point is, u can both work together on everything, and u must be willing to let go of some of ur wishes, but not all of it.
Rich wife!. HOW DO YOU KNOW YOU ARE RICH? hOW MANY KIDNEY TRANSPLANT YOU CAN PAY FOR MY DEAR!. Im sorry you are not rich but you are blessed. My advice for you is that continue investing your fortune. if you are really rich, your husband must have also rich by now..
I truly appreciate your level of your maturity.
My advise: You can achieve the two. You can achieve your fantasy wedding and let your fiancee's keep his ego and even respect you more by:
Arranging with your friends to provide some of those things you want so it doesn't look as if you were the person that bought them or provided them. This way it will seem as if your friends provided them and so your fiancee will not think you did them and his ego will be maintained, and you would have achieved your wedding fantasy
SOUNDS LIKE LINDA'S POST ... I WILL ADVICE YOU ON THIS, WEDDING IS JUST FOR 1 DAY AND THE REST IS FOREVER ..PLEASE AND PLEASE DO EVERYTHING POSSIBLE MEN DONT APPRECIATE WHEN THEIR PARTNER IS TRYING TO MAKE THEM OVER SPEND ..HUBBAND NO EASY NOWADAYS ...LINDA CONGRATULATIONS IN ADVANCE
Ahh Linda are you hoping to marry a poorer guy? Don't shortchange yourself. Such unions are always riddled with issues.
As in eh, she's just an amazing woman truly.
Whatever you decide, please keep being as selfless and as considerate as you are now- maybe add a few more touches of class and glamour to the otherwise moderate celebration your husband intends but nothing over the top.
Everyone here shouting dont do it dont do it don do it oh pleaseeeeeee for goodness sake.
Listen @OP your wedding is a one in a life time and i see no reason why you cant have what you want.
All i will say to you is make sure you carry your hubby to be along and i dont think he would deliberately shut you down simply cos you are paying for those extra things.
Let him be in charge after all he met you a rich woman so whats the big deal of you having your dream wedding i cant understand why you cant.
Go ahead and organise what you want but please and please inform him all the best and HML in advance.
Linda the same advice I have for the OP applies to you as well.
August 6, 2014 at 4:03 PM just shut it will you is that what the OP asked you to investigate if you have nothing to say then zip that hole in your face
Hmm.. Linda, I know u might read dis post. See, I tink u made a grave mistake by sayin u might hav d same problem wen its ur time to marry.. U hav alredy bruised ur mans ego in front of ur fans, evn if u marry tomoro nd d man is richer dan u, ur fans wil kip tinkin uar richer dan him nd dat sucks. U evn sounded proud abt it. Anyway, U are a public figure. Mind wat u post here cos it might be used against u tomoro. Stay blessed.
Little concerned you've already determined he's not enough by seeking the advice from those who read this blog. If some of the finer things are important too you they may become more significant once married. Unless, you guys are extremely compatible, stressor can make something as him not being able afford a designer handbag worse. Pride is important to men, so be careful. Help him reach his greatest potential so that he may spoil you without thinking. These days people are focused on materials which creates unnecessary stress. If you truly, truly love him be patient and kind as it said in the Bible. God will work things out. Just be sure you love.
Have a quiet wedding . With the money he has budgeted for the wedding , get ur favourite artist . Since you are in the industry , they shouldn't charge u much . Or.... Meet at the middle ; figure out the artist he adores most and u do too and let that artist perform on ur wedding day in quote ' I'm here as a surprise gift from ur bride to you the groom ' he must perform ur hubby's favourite songs at intervals . My advice if u must do this , never mention ur wish of having artists on ur say to is hubby . I'd he rejects and u go on . U will bruise his pride . Good luck . Jessica
This is your story Linda *you can't fool us * wish u guyz well
You can have your fairytale wedding dress, and skip the other flamboyant ones. Really, there's a way around these things, and you are way ahead, cos u aint selfish. Leave the artists and the extras. Use wisdom. Remember, you wouldnt wanna bring in something into your marriage cos of a day's event. You are much wiser than that.
Just look great on that day. Am sure he will consent to things like a beautiful wedding dress for his bride. Most ladies like fairytale wedding too, but not at the detriment of your love and marriage.
#Hugs.
Linda, I so want it to be you, girl.
If he is your best friend, you should know him. Also try and know his family's view point on some of these things, because believe it or not, for men their families (especially if they come from a good and united home) play a huge part in their lives and their happiness.
And friction from them will be worse than friction from his side. Truth is, wedding vows can be redone when pepper don rest, but the emotionally stability of you guys and your relationship is way way expensive. Somewhere in your head and heart, you know what is best, but don't let the emotions take over you my dear.