Wizkid, Banky W Impostor Nabbed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 2 July 2013

Wizkid, Banky W Impostor Nabbed

Press statement from EME's camp...
Nigerian pop star Wizkid has spoken out against his continuous impersonation by fraudsters. The hit maker, bugged by increasing complaints and reported incidents, says he's worried and beyond scandalised, that some bandits would go to any length to perpetrate evil acts and defraud innocent fans and customers.
The EME act spoke today in Lagos, while reacting to on-going investigations on recent discoveries and arrests. 
“It’s unfair that fraudsters will take advantage of unsuspecting victims. The culprit has been apprehended and all is being done to make sure such incidents don’t reoccur.” Wizkid said.
An EME impostor is currently in police custody. He was handed over to the police by his latest victim- Muyiwa.

Muyiwa also known as ‘Origin’ started transactions with the impostor, only to discover he was being duped and quickly handed him over to the police.

Meanwhile, EME Chairman Banky W who has himself been a victim of impersonation, says the label is putting all structures in place, while working with relevant authorities to make sure the trend is put to a stop.

Fake names, phone numbers and bank accounts have been set up to carry out such fraudulent activities. Some of the fake accounts these impostors use include "Bankole Wellington Banky W" on Facebook,Bankyw82@yahoo.comemeonline82@yahoo.com,godwintom1@gmail.com,starboyentertainment@rocketmail.com. The only authorised contact for EME is bookings@empirematesentertainment.com
“Impersonating artists and record labels is apparently the new 419. This is not a unique problem to EME or it's acts, but a serious challenge to most major labels/artists as well as the fans and event organizers. We've done the best we can to streamline our processes so that anyone, anywhere can contact us at Bookings@empirematesentertainment.com or at +234 818 000 0000 and know that they have right information.” Banky says.

“It saddens us to know that crooks still try to take advantage of our fans and supporters but we are doing all we can to put the right info out and we hope that everyone takes note, so as not to fall into their traps.” He adds.

Wizkid does not take bookings or accept engagement payments into his account. He can only be booked through EME and/or his manager Godwin Tom.

The label says the Police will still apprehend more fraudsters.

37 comments:

Lara said...

Wow! 419 again!!
Date a Millionaire In Nigeria, Sugar Mummy and Daddy, Rich Kids and Meet A Millionaire Friend Today

Immaculate said...

Ok, serve him better

Ghen Ghen..... E don catch am.
TENYHOLA

tima said...

Wizzy baby loke loke. Ferarri Buggatti Amen. I believe u die wizzy. About ur car congrats Bro. Money is not to be locked down in d account o. Money is wat it can do for u. And fraudsters we are bring Jack Bauer for them

DavidvsNaija said...

Good!! One day for the thief another day for the owner.

#More Ent News

Anytin for money. Cheap fraudsters

But linda according to the dailies, someone was accusing u of trying to dupe him . But u didn't write it here , he even post your account number online .pls your side of the story

Hmm na wa o. First to comment

nawa awon boys are hungry o. Make una fear God oh!

Young entrepreneurs.

Why didn't D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥y post the guy's pic

EME are crooks....am I d 1st 2 coment?

Nigeria!! The crooks always find a way to make money one way or the other, how sad!

Oluwatoyin said...

Na wa o. Some people will work hard for their money while others will want to eat from what they didnt work for. Imagine all they would have done to set up emails, accts, etc. Why dont they just do something good for themselves. Lazy fools..... God help us oooo.

Dami k said...

Thats wat is trendy now...it has happened 2 me twice.I informed the EME crew on twitter but never did as if they care...one has started sending me messages on twitter now but if u inform them,they will ignore it.

D so called Muyiwa should b taught a lesson,he will never 4get..

staff said...

ss

emerald said...

Hmmmm....how are we sure this story is not a make-believe??so we would believe the unilag story n forget the“I don't do cheap money?
However,I only but hope this fraudsters re caught!..the rate at which fraud increases marvels me!!bravo origin!!!

Naija good people,great nation. All this in the name of survival.God help them!

Ada Igbo said...

Good for them. smmmm

Ijenwagbogho said...

When will there be a world without fraudsters? Little wonder lucky dube sang 'No truth in this place'. It is well...

Finally

Omo jaiye jaiye

Hope more fraudsters and impersonators are caught and prosecuted accordingly

WebShopDesigner said...

Sad, just sad !

Hopefully, others will learn from this.

Good! Now some of you Gullible idiots can stop insulting wizkid over some 500k change..Your insults?Right back at you#Bye

PRETTY GIRL

kunle said...

Great and revealing news there. If you love to book eme and other artists, go through their official website. Don't fall cheaply to fraudsters.
Learn the secrets to burning fat and eating healthy

Gud 4u son!

Naija and 419, wen una go change??

But why you come say 500k na cheap money na?some banker dey vex cos na dem salary for 4yrs o.but chey be you get investment sha like jayz.we don dey tire for your music o?

fly guy said...

truth is if i'm going 2 book an artiste, i'll have 2 see d artiste one-on-one, not necessarily 2 discuss payment details, buh at least familarise a bit just 2 make sure he knows wats going on, if not no deal, many fishes in d sea

what is the excuse for ignorance in 2013? i mean, all these artists have websites or verified twitter pages, with their contacts on them and people still go ahead and get deceived by these lazy fraudsters, i have received a couple of 419 mails in the past and i wonder how stupid a person can be to fall for the shit they write, most of them cant even write proper English.

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

boiz are not smiling ... cheap 419ners

sammielle said...

Good 4 him,atleast dis will teach others a lesson.

Be on d alert! 'Wisdom' & 'Carefulness' is d watch word.A word dey say is enof 4 d .... Naija dey hot o! Trust no one

Luskii! said...

Olodo!....Muyiwa is d victim...u no sabi read?

This is soooo true,A similar case happened here in Cameroon where a lady gave money for Wizkid to come perform at her event 5 million frs cfa.and he never came.She then locked up the Film producer here in Cameroon whom she gave the money to. They guy said he was scammed by someone who claimed he represented Wizkid. and had to pay back the money himself with support from friends.