DStv Open Weekend Is Coming! 19 – 21 July | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 July 2013

DStv Open Weekend Is Coming! 19 – 21 July

You want more choice? You've got it. DStv is opening up a selection of premium channels for one weekend, from Friday 19 July at 3pm to Monday 22 July at 9am. 

With the DStv Open Weekend all active subscribers from DStv Compact Plus to Access get way more sport
documentaries, music, news and lifestyle channels at no additional cost!

The open channels this weekend will include SuperSport 1, 2, 3N, 4, 5N and 6, Discovery, AfricaMagic Entertainment, BBC Knowledge, Comedy Central, Crime and Investigation, Trace Sports Stars, Animal Planet, History Channel, CBeebies, Sky News, Big Brother Channel 197 & 198, FOX, MTV Base, MTV, Travel Channel and BBC Lifestyle. Click here to learn more.
For more information about this and other fantastic offers from DStv Nigeria, Like the Facebook page www.facebook.com/DStvNg and follow @DStvNg on Twitter.

44 comments:

This is really gonna be fun.

Whats the comment moderator for sef?....make disable that nonsense joor...at times it dae tire me to comment with that stuf on.

DSTV, if you guys are reading this, I wanna make a suggestion, we Nigerians deserve better value for our money, I suggest you guys come up with a subscription plan in which a stipulated amount is paid and the subscriber picks a number of channels he/she likes, not limiting which channels could be picked! Interests vary, some people are sport lovers, others love movies, documentaries, news, music, etc, so paying for a full DSTV bouquet and not even having to watch the other 70% of other channels being paid for is kind of a rip off! Thanks!

oge said...

Niceeee! Morning Linda!

Awoof fit run belle o - Makoo

#gbam said...

linda dear, dont u sleep.
early momo blogging.
thanks tho...sumin to read before i sleep.
love,
USA reader

AFRICZONE.COM said...

okey

It is not about the number of stations you have to offer messers multi choice. How about improving you services? 1. Why is it that when there is rain, even the smallest drizzle, the reception malfunctions? 2. Why do we still have to wait for 5-10 minutes for the decoder to boot?....19 of 23... Ehe? Nigeria is undoubtedly your largest market, why do we still get the worst services?

Dstv pls bring ur subscription down is just to exorbitant.

@8:52 Gbam!If DSTV guys are reading this, they are not trying@ all even my 3yr old baby will say my mummy how many times are we going to watch this film? Pls answer d question. You repeat same film more than 3times a week. Rubbish!

Is this open to des that their suscription has expired too?

What of those that already have these channels?

sexyboocalher said...

@anon 8:52...10Q so much 4 ds cos U̶̲̥̅̊ tuk d words out of my mouth!!! I tot its only my decoder dat does dis shit**rme**

akujobi said...

Dstv is a rip off which they had a stronger ans better compititor sometime I feel not like subcribing if not for my younger ones at home they keep repeating their programes expecilly the movies channel I think is high time nigeria broadcasting organization check their mode of operation cos' they are ripping off consumers.

Thank you Linda 4 dis post. God bless!

I know the media dept of DSTV Nigeria are reading this mesaages we re passing to them. Pls we nigerian will appreciate if your services can be redefined to suit our lifestyle and the situation of country. Light is a major issue here,pls give us pay as you go bouquet,create card denominations that will allow us get value for our money. Also allow us to choose and pay for our channel of choice as our lifestyles differs individually. I know ur system charges per day. Pls don't hold on to the notion MTN gave to Nigerians that "per second billing" is impossible untill Globacom came. Pls help us to luv and patronize you more.

Ariesbabe said...

lmao @ anon 9:35....I luv dat, cos I bin wan ask d same questn o

Stupid Dstv... Idoit ppl Я̩̥̊e̶̲̥̅̊ cheating us in Nig.. In SA d provide pay as U̶̲̥̅̊ go, wen U̶̲̥̅̊ don't use it ur money remains. Its here every1 wants 2mak moni & get rich & still cheat us....

Anoda suggestion is d payment plan, we re bin ripped off by dStv, its only in Nigeria u pay 4 monthly subscription n u re cut off by d end of the month weda u watch it or not. It should be done like a readin card, u re charged weneva u re tuned in or watchin it therefore u pay 4 wat u watch.

Toyin said...

I should think some people have all this channels on their bouquet what is in this offer for them ?

Pay as you Go sha o......evn PHCN nw na PAYG....create a package of 1500 ni....and we wil chuz our own channels,,lyk me na Cartoon oo and Sports(football sha)......I am Skills!!!!

What happens to d premium subscribers . Notin for us abi.

Janelicious said...

dstv y not make it like one month dstv open for packages.

Its their Nigeria partners that are causing this reap off. They want to make more money that's why they don't want to introduce pay as u view. Imagine us rig workers that are 2wks off 2wks on, plus PHCN trouble. Watching cable tv is kind of expensive this days cos after paying the hugh money to ur cable subscriber then u av to buy fuel or diseal as the case maybe to view it

♚KVNG ZINNY♚ said...

Well said bro!

Exactly! I already get all the channels mentioned above so not interested.

Princess Zee said...

The worst of it all is africa magic channels, d movies are so old and a particular movie can be shown six times in a week, haba!...DSTV pls improve, show us more recent films atleast and stop repeating ur movies too often, its so annoying

These pple r very smart.. They want 2 show the subscribers not using full bouquet wat they r missin... Tease them so they'l change their subscription

Good question... Do they refund our moni 4 dose days or move the expiry date?

DSTV is too expensive jor! #next

I have compact plus besides supersport 1 2 an discovery its the same channels that compact plus has. I was looking foward to the channels being open till i read which ones. So much promo's over the weekend for nothing that special.

PC u nailed it, dis guys are criminals and not smart. I got fed up wit d full bouquet wen dey keep repeating their programs. If not football, its notng else. Seriously, DSTV can be so boring.

Na yeye dey worry dstv, I dey vex o

Why is it every time dstv creates a new channel to add to Dstv Premium they give one off the old Dstv Premium channels to dstv compact an sometimes to the other packages we get one old channel to make it seem like "Wooopi" a new channel to the other packages an the channel be all filled with repeats yet our package price is so high an premium get sometimes three new channels at once. This july weekend that starts later today off selected Dstv Premium channels being open is nothing exciting at all. To the compact plus people the only channels we dont have thats going to be open are the different sport channels an discovery. Dstv is making such a big thing about it putting up messages off it on the screen showing the advert over an over plus smsing it to us i did look foward to it until i saw the list off channels yet when they use to open all channels at times they never use ever let the non-premium package viewers know. If you guys at dstv really valued your subscribers yourll would either put better shows on the other package channels an stop with repeats or get better channels added.

hiTV were r thou??????

It's a welcome development only if it would be continuous and wouldn't end on 22 july. What we want from DSTV is to stop exploiting us by 1. Making available more exciting channels across all subscribtion bouquets and 2. subscription to be charged on a pay-as-you- go basis.

what about Mnet, will it be included aswell?

candygirl said...

Seriously,the only reason I still (relunctantly)pay/view dstv is coz there's no other stronger compertitors!I honestly wish that some reach man like dangote or even adenuga etc would finance/own a canble newtwork and kick this idiots out of nigeria!they annoy me a lot!!and the worse is u pay for the full package and still watch a particular movie like everyother week!!sometime I just turn off the tv and get so fruastrated and ANNOYED!they rip us off MAJOR and its not even funny!!

Is this some kind of joke thought we going to get better channels ull give us more sports less movies dstv compact is so boring

Na wao dstv sucks mehn

Its almst 3am 20th of july, I nefa see any extra stations oooo.

Abeg deriz nufin here jawe. Wat r dey missing, if dey rily wanna do any open nonsense den dey shld give out channels 101 - 107 dose movie chhannels. Na wa ooh nt evn one. SMH 2 fink dat dey r ripping Nigerians off wiv deir subscription.
Ryl Berry

Since yestady i hv been checking if da channels are playing but theres NOTHING AT ALL:.....

The Travel-Lite Premium Transporter 727 is a stylish and lightweight wheelchair. This wheelchair comes equipped with feather release swingback arms and user-friendly adjustable height back.

TUFFCARE COMPACT TRAVEL-LITE PREMIUM