Cory Monteith died from heroin & alcohol overdose, coroner reveals | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 July 2013

Cory Monteith died from heroin & alcohol overdose, coroner reveals

Glee actor Cory Monteith's autopsy result has been released. The British Columbia Coroners Service revealed that an autopsy and toxicological analysis show that 31-year-old Cory, who has struggled with addiction since he was a young teenager, died from a lethal combination of heroin and alcohol.

Cory was found dead in his room at the Fairmont Pacific Rim hotel in Vancouver, Canada on Saturday July 13th. He had been scheduled to check out earlier that day, but when he failed to do so, hotel staff entered his room and discovered his body.

In March this year Cory admitted himself into a treatment facility for substance addiction. Guess he didn't get the help he needed. May his soul rest in peace...amen.

128 comments:

Omo Babe said...

Another young soul lost to drugs... rip

Choi! My Finn!Rest in Peace.Will miss u

Innocentia said...

I love that guy #glee, why him? I don't know why they all are on drugs,what does it do for them?!

proudly akwaibom said...

too sad cory, i was such a huge fan. rip gentle soul

proudly akwaibom said...

too sad cory, i was such a huge fan. rip gentle soul

No one cares....

Giddytohpweedy said...

Gosh!!!!! Rip handsome :(

Cleo... said...

If u know how loved and cherished u r my dearest Cory, u would ve Lived! If only u know how ur Fans regard u. *sobs* If only u know how I loved watching u on Glee! Even my Mum dat doesn't like watching seosonal films,loved Glee! Depression is d worst thing dat can happen to someone! RIP Cory.

dharmie said...

R.I.P u made glee fun.:(

Eyaaa, real bad , RIP tho #didi

dharmie said...

R.I.P Cory/Finn glee wldnt be d sm wivout u

RIP buddy

Well linda ur guess is based on ignorance as usual when it comes to mental health . Substance abuse is an illness with a social component and is difficult to treat.when people relapse they die because they take an amount which they may have taken in the past but their bodies are no longer used to especially with heroin and opiates generally . it is not the fault of the substance abuse psychiatrist or other mental health professionals that this happened

Jade Uzumaki said...

Gone to soon...I'm quite sad over his death..he was a good actor and would be sourly missed.RIP Cory!!

Na wa Ooo.... What a waste...
I hope the young ones learn from this. Some habits are so easy to pick but to drop na anoda mata.

This was my favourite character on glee... He was one of the reasons I watched the show..
When he sang "girls wanna have fun" to santana (naya rivera), that moment was epic.his girlfriend lea michele will be totally shattered, my heart bleeds for her..
May his soul rest in perfect peace.

***Number 1 gleek****

sarah Joseph said...

awwwwwww....... sad. RIP finn Hudson.

Rip bro +first to comment

So sad ,RIP
WildChild

RIP..so sad

RIP I can only imagine ow Lea would feel nd d rest of d glee co-stars.

Am a glee fan and my heart aches for this. May his soul rest in peace

Eiya, my favourite character in glee. I also enjoyed him in kyle XY. RIP

This is really sad, he was one of my favourite on Glee. Rip Cory... my thoughts and prayers goes out to his girlfriend ( lea Michele), Glee cast, friends and his family during this emotional moment

Wow! this is sooo sad. Imagine how a good looking and talented person ended up. Lord help us all. Amen

so sad and heartbreaking.. A very tragic and painful lesson for all to learn. Please dont be another victim or statistic!

i can't still believe his dead....feel so so sad...RIP Cory <3

Temibeauty said...

Hmmm, wot a lost! Pls my feLlow youths dat are taking all form of alcohol, I beg u dis day; stop! Rip brb.

R said...

If anything comes from a tragedy such as this... Hopefully there is something for some to 'learn'...as others have put it. I agree-addiction is NOT a hobby...we do NOT use or become addicted to affect anyone other than ourselves. Sadly...the reality is: we DO affect those we love in very destructive and painful ways. But as much as some claim- ACTIVE addiction is NOT a CHOICE. By 'active'-I mean...when an addict is entrenched in using...they are actually out of control, unable to think,behave or react rationally. It becomes an overwhelming obsession and at that point... There is 'no choice'... Willpower has zero to do with it. If addiction WAS a choice-AA would not exist and rehab and treatment centers in the USA wouldn't be filled to capacity. But once we detox...are sober and working in recovery... THEN it becomes a choice whether or not to use again. So please...if some can LEARN something from this terrible tragedy (eg Tonto Dikeh) ... Let it be that they EDUCATE themselves on the FACTS of addiction. Stop being ignorant, critical and naive...stop wasting your negative energy on invalid opinions...use that time to become AWARE, because if not already-someday.. someone you know will unfortunately be afflicted with this DISEASE and will need your support... Not your ignorance and blame. They aren't bad people...but GOOD PEOPLE suffering from a BAD DISEASE.

Mon Chocolate said...

RIP... He wz also Amanda's boyfriend in "Kyle XY". Too bad

Cc: T.C.D (go figure)

You would never know he had these problems.

I don't know stars are so carefree with their health. doing drugs says alot about fame and peace of mind. which would you rather prefer?

ff my blog esefreeman.blogspot.com

Congratulations!!!!!!!!!

Ges its worse wen a loved one dies from something you thot they had passed or outgrown...... RIP Finn

OMG!So he's truly dead!Was stil kinda hoping and prayn dat twas all a lie o!I loved Cory 'pieces'.Stil do!He was my fave on Glee.Na wa o!Dis rili goes to show dat wat we c on screen and read in d tabloids isnt always wats real/true.D larger than life/perfect image dat celebrities(local & international) portray isnt "what is".We want their bags,shoes,hair,cars,clothes,jewellery,voice,body,houses....At wat cost?From Obama,Beyonce,Beckham,Prince Charles --> Omotola,they all av their demons indicating that they arent so perfect afterall!Wat truly lies beneath d smiling faces?Darker truths!!!RIP Cory.

Ayo adeshina said...

R.I.P so many sad stories

brownhottiee007 said...

Linsday Lohan pls dnt end up like this pls!!!

How sad! Substance abuse is so welcomed among celebrities, too bad this isn't declining. RIP dude!

And I see u don't want to put up my comment , because I said u are ignorant about mental health.... But it is the truth... It is not an insult... And you can get better ....

Rip cory...I always looked at him like he was 22 or so.. Guess it doesn't matta anymore

Really sad.....'He took the midnight train going anywhere'...we're gonna miss you!

Tonto Dike u don hear??? Na small small e dey take start...mumu gurl

sotipankisotos said...

ohhhhhhhhhhh finn is dead does dis means dat glee is dead? *sobs*

I loved Glee coz of him.... I use to think he was much younger.... Bye Fin

Yet u see lotta guys in Naija smoking dis Marijuana or weed waheva its called, sum of dem r already Brain dead. Den D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ run mad. And oda peeps won't still learn 4rm it.

RIP Cory......we wld surely miss you...

Rest In Peace Cory </3</3</3
I will always love Finn Hudson.

Rest In Peace Cory </3</3</3
I will always love Finn Hudson
#RIPGlee

This is so sad and he just left rehab...my prayers to his family ad lea hi girlfriend.

How many people do treatment facilities really help in the long run? These things take God and determination..but when we choose to toss God aside n rely on human minds n modern times, then we get death.

--Teeteelahyo--

Are u out of ur damn mind? Is this d kind of post for that? Idiot!

-DatLinda'sSister-

Rip cory*sosadritnw

OGE said...

POKO baby Tonto Dike u heard?flee frm dose shit u take.RIP cute one.

OMG,dis is so sad.really loved him in the glee movie.May his soul rest in peace.

mimsie said...

RIP Cory. Now I'm gonna cry more whenever I listen to his cover of "Girls just wanna have fun".

So true!

kelly said...

RIP Finn Hudson. Waz ma favorite xter in Glee. Luv dat pretending song he sang wit rachel wen dey kissed in d nationals finale wch cost dem their spot.

When u abuse drugs there is always death waiting at the corner for you.Do I care anymore when a successful America decides to waste his life? No, I don't.

Bee igarra chic said...

My favourite actor (finn hudson) racheal's boo for life!(Finchel)I feel like its just a bad dream,since I found out he was no longer going to be casted on glee I felt so bad.How sad I thought d addiction has been overcome after the rehab?I remember the 1st duet btw him and racheal 'Don't stop believing'wow just d day he died I was watching glee and kept smiling when he took over the glee club from Mr Sue!Rip Cory Monteith

U*JAY said...

So sad... RIP

jst hurt..tot u were ova ur addiction..y cory did u have 2 died dis way.u would hav tot abt ur gf racheal/lea.jst wondern hw she wil cope wit al these?

i was really praying he comes back to life i cant believe, finn i will really miss you on glee God please bring finn back to life, please i cant just believe this news is real... crying crying crying out really loud... oh God please bring him back to life

Sorry for him.. They won't learn

i was really praying he comes back to life i cant believe, finn i will really miss you on glee God please bring finn back to life, please i cant just believe this news is real... crying crying crying out really loud... oh God please bring him back to life

nydraps said...

That's how it i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ when γφυ take too much harmful stuffs...RIP

Words cant exactly express how sad i feel. I've been waiting to hear this was just another rumour but i guess that is a long wish. RIP Finn! Glee will never be the same without you.I love You

may his soul rest in peace. Nw is d time for us to pray for d world!. D death rate is nw competing with d birth rate. Pls pals lets pray for ppl all around d world....it begings with u!.

may his soul rest in peace. This is d time we all need to pray for d world. The death rate is nw competing with d birth rate nd it ought nt to be so. Pls friends lets join hands together nd pray for d world.... It begins with u!

RIP Finn Hudson.

harriet said...

OMG!!! Finn?? Ma best character. RIP dearie

Cory,my finn gone 2 soon. Addiction is a disease. Listend 2 ur songs yestrdy.' Dnt stop belivin', losin my religion r still my fav. Rest in peace. Just sayin...D Curious1

Glee will not be d same witout u. U were d heart of it. Love d rock feel of ur song. U shall not be 4gotten. Just sayin...D Curious1

Damn u drugs!!! U v taken people I love. Elvis, MJ.whitney, heath ledger now Cory. Y!!!!

Heroin n alcohol.he startd @ age 13 way b4 he was famous. Wat demon propels a person 2 wnt 2 escape by takin drugs. He tried 2 get help. But it wasn't enuff. Rest in peace.

Glee will not be d same witout u. U were d heart of it. Love d rock feel of ur song. U shall not be 4gotten. Just sayin...D Curious1

Cory,my finn gone 2 soon. Addiction is a disease. Listend 2 ur songs yestrdy.' Dnt stop belivin', losin my religion r still my fav. Rest in peace. Just sayin...D Curious1

Rest in peace finn

I loved him on d series kyle xy. Very peaceful looking. May ur gentle soul rest in perfect peace cory. Amen

After watching Glee for so long, i feel like i knew him. I'm so sad... havent been this sad for the death of a celeb since MJ, Heath & Maybe Goldie.. RIP Cory, you'll be deeply missed. Wished you had taken control over your addiction before it took control over you..

Oh my Gosh! Can't believe cory is gone mehn..... may his soul Test in peace. Sad

He had the warmest smile and the cutest eyes. Seemed like such a down to earth guy. so sad.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Damn! This dude is dead? Hmmmmn!dunno what to feel for him right now, how could he waste himself like that.

Cory Monteith said...

Such a great actor:) may his soul rest in peace

Rip...pple shuld learn especially all dis celebrities shuld also learn 4rm dis guy .drinkn,smoking,woman is not life.*destruction

Maggie said...

our youths need Jesus...oh what a wasted life...if only he had met Jesus.

Linda sorry but you cannot say he didn't get the help he needed.
He got the help but he didn't do what he was supposed to do with it.
Am a glee fan and am so sorry to see him go in such a tragic way..Cory was a talented young man.
May his soul find peace & rest.
Anon xyz

Critical Observer said...

sad sad sad!!! Stay away from drugs!!! if u can't ask for help... what a waste!!! *sobs*

Linda! U no try at all.Dis guy died a couple of days later and probably cos u don't watch glee or u didn't know him u didn't cover it.Am sure its d coverage on other news channel dat made u realise how important he was and how news channels all over d world reacted.
Anyway,Rip cory.too bad addiction won in d end.I still don't know how chris ,lea and mark and d glee cast will cope.
A lot of his fans are devastated,like I am.His death was a total shock even though I knew he was addicted to drugs.

white folks smh dis is sm1 dat just got out of rehab a mnth ago, i feel for his family en Lea(Rachel)

Premath said...

Cory Monteith may his soul rest in peace

xo painful.cant blv finn iz gone,R.i.p.my hrt goes out 2 all d gleeks.may God gv u d fortitude 2 bear diz great loss

FINN!!!!!! Oh my God!!!!!

Can't believe u A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ gone Finn!it's really sad and heartbreaking, I feel for Lea, *crying* dunno wat's she's gonna cope without U̲̅! She was S̶̲̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ deep i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ love wt U̲̅ and was always open about it! It's heart breaking, it's always fun watching U̲̅ on Glee.. I love U̲̅ Cory Monteith! Don't forget U̲̅ were loved and still loved by ur numerous fans and family.. My thoughts and prayers A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ with ur family and ur gf Lea Michele! She stood by U̲̅ during ur last rehab, I can'† stop crying and wishing U̲̅'ll wake up... Sleep on dear Cory.. Lea Michele, Keep Holding On and don't stop believing

I stil hv dat song on my playlist, luv it! *sobs*

*shock* so Finn is dead????! Sigh...soo sad! May his soul rest in perfect peace.

OMG!WOMAN said...

Flames to dust! Such a waste. Why were u on substance, u break my heart, RIP.

mimiliscious mimi said...

Finn but y? U made me n a whole lotta fans out there happy with ur voice, songs n character in Glee n yet u were depressed. Didn't u watch glee boi?! No wonder he was looking all different i season 7. I will miss u to d moon n bk, finn. Sleep on dear.......

Mo'dele said...

Oh! Still can't believe Cory Monteith (Finn Hudson in Glee) is dead?! His romance with Lea Michele (Rachael in Glee) warmed my heart. I was so invested in their characters. The number of times I smiled at my tv watching the romance between goofy Finn and ambitious diva Rachael...Was so happy when life imitated art and they started dating in real life. They always looked so genuinely happy together. I feel so bad for Lea Michele. I mean, how does one deal with this loss? What's going to happen to his character on Glee? Glee will never be the same without you Cory! I can't even watch episodes now, thinking that you are no more... If I am this sad about his death and I've never even met him, I wonder how his family, friends, Glee castmates feel. What a tragedy! If wishes were horses...

Idiot I hope when u die nobody cares if ur mother didn't tell teach u respect I will fool

Cute guys r wasting oo!! RIP sha

Rip....so sad

Too know...u too Sabi...aproko

Teeteelahyo,u ar so on point.true talk dear

Toki Pedro said...

It's such a sad and painful loss..... may his soul rest in peace. will miss u

U're 2 cute 2 b deceased. We wil miss u

RIP Cory why waste your life you had beautiful Lea Michelle a good acting job why waste it to drugs? what a shame.

Kaiii, im toooo shocked. Never judge a book by its cover, by looking at him u'd have never guessed that he was struggling with any form of drug addiction. He looked so young and wholesome. R.I.P. Its alarming the way young men and women are dying these days. May God save His people.

peace said...

so painful.cant believe finn is gone,my hrt goes out to all the gleeks.may God give u d fortitude 2 bear diz loss

a no 4 me!!!......all join, drug things again.

I still cnt believe dis!!!!!!am not sure i can still watch Glee again!!!! R.I.P Cory(FINN)....nawa ooo

Scity said...

Shame. It is very difficult to get over an additction. except with the ultimate grace of God. He's been an addict since teenage years. That is so serious.
Probably moved with the wrong crowd then. Do you guys know that they have legal drug shooting clinics in his homecountry canada. I watched it on CNN. The ministry of health claim that it will help reduce HIV and Hepatitis. Now, thats crazy. they are encouraging Junkies! Cory Monteith was one.

So so sad my dear. Rip.

RIP Cory i'm still in shock......

Aya Doki said...

He and Racheal are my favourite acts on glee. RIP Finn!!

MaYor said...

Nah letter? Abi na essay composition neh? No body even read am finish sef!!!Some people sabi dey write ehh! You wan tell people you too sabi! Abegi Chill jorr!!! Mtchwww

Mayor said...

Na letter? Abi na Essay composition neh? I too sabi!!! Mtchwwwww

Gbagaun!!!... haba

Oh gosh so sad my finn hudson shud leave glee alone so soon......R.I.P buddy

Diamond said...

See fine pikin, we should be carefull in this world in everything we do, to avoide shortining our lives. May God grant him enternal rest.

this is horrible, so horrible. Y wont people learn? I loved dat dude, i love glee. So so sad

Nilla said...

What a waste!
Rest in Peace.

I.L.L.U.M.I.N.A.T.I

Rip my fed.

RIP FINN. I LOVED U TO PIECES. MY HEART GOES OUT TO LEA

HELL FIRE DIRECT