'Checkpoints will never return to Nigerian roads' - Acting IG | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 May 2012

'Checkpoints will never return to Nigerian roads' - Acting IG

The Acting Inspector General of Police, Mohammed Abubakar, has said that police checkpoints will never return to Nigerian roads. He said the checkpoints are damaging the reputation of the Nigerian police and will ensure the ban stays in place for as long as he remains the IG of police.

Not only did Mr Abubakar ban checkpoints, he also withdrew police escorts from individuals and companies that use them. It's now illegal to have a police man as your private escort.

Meanwhile, the IG is advocating for N50, 000 as minimum wage for the Nigerian police force. He said he has already made a proposal to the Federal Government but nothing has been concluded yet.

Abeg o, Federal Government should agree to pay N50k so more people can join the police force, by this, they can better protect the lives and properties of Nigerians.

69 comments:

Fatimah said...

The 50grand is the only new directive, every other thing we've heard before. Broken record tinz!

Was it not last month that some police escorts killed people at a club?

Didn't police escorts reportedly follow D'banj and co at Ikechukw's industry nite party. Abegi!

hello Linda, how are you, we the bloggers are still waiting for you to upload the video to the lady thief who stole your bold5. let us help u catch this long throat lady. "abeg" miss Linda

Dr. G said...

The min wage of 50k for police is not much they should'nt even waste time on it if that's gonna make them responsible. Nigeria can afford that.

tatafo said...

This is good and bad news o. Regarding the check points I have witnessed with my own two eyes a man in the then popular benz called "the beast". He was in a flowing agbada and iced out in expensive jewelry. When they opened his trunk, they found 3 FRESH HEADS with blood dripping from it. The reason I even saw what happened was I saw him on his knees and they were hitting his head at a checkpoint. I was so upset and wanted to find out why they would maltreat a decently dressed man only to see the heads. I still have nightmares till this day... The second one I saw was ammunition. I sha saw the guy reluctantly open his trunk and he started running. I didnt wait to find out the end of that check point. But even though these check points are bribey central, they also have prevented some major mishaps. Good job on not providing the police escort to private citizens anymore. I guess it is time I come and open a high porfile security agency in naija

When a new IG comes now he will bring it back. The wage increase (when implemented) is a welcome development.

Ezems said...

I buy your idea, Lyn, and I love this guy's new policy. Sounds good to me.

Thomas Olanipekun said...

God Bless you Sir!

God bless you Sir!

mamaT said...

No more escorts for companies and private citizens???...Ejo o who has Ngo Okafor the model's contact #. I need to find out where that joint is that he taped the street boys in naija that were learning how to box and workout. I have a new business I am going to open in about 1 week. It will be called MamaT body guard rentals. I want able bodied, well buffed men like the ones in that video cos I see some serious money making scheme...no one should copy my idea o. I will be doing drug test and background checks o so no hanky panky. If you are buffed, very fit, work out regularly, non smoker and can chop iron well, contact me

God Bless you Sir!

Linda thats a big lie, i have seen about 5 private individuals today, with private police escorts trailing them, let him define "private individuals" so we understand better.
he was in lagos yesterday, you need to have seen his convoy, he should begin to cut costs before advocating anything

Gbam

Abi ooo. The man dey try sha..

almost famous said...

i support the 50k proposal, the pple that have the duty to protect and save lives should be the highest paid in any country not greedy politicians. i have been saying this, the doctors, soilders and the police should be the highest paid in naija.

take rope tyre coat take goat tyre rope nah de same tin.but there is nothing wrong in giving it a try any way,

I saw a checkpoint today on the island. But i'm guessing they harrassing okada men

Sally said...

So now instead of police armed robbers go dey??? Nah! I'd rada have the police collect 30 naira from me than them armed pple kill me abeg

AbujaKenneth said...

Supported. It is colonial and archaic.

So stupid!

The robbery in Lagos has become worse than it ever was

And if they refuse 50k, these police men will become armed robber

Uche said...

I agree. We need to boost their moral as their work is pretty dangerous

That's nice and i pray federal government approves his request. We need all these idol citizens to get jobs, and also the police to be content with their jobs.....

sakara said...

Good job AIGP, GBU this is good news, Jona pls pay them o and for d escorts that one sweet me pass, was told of one of d madams d other day in Abuja supermarket, had one pushing her trolley wt AK47 o, one carrying her handbag and another 2 outside waiting by d jeep, what a waste of tax payers sweat and to those ones n American Int School Lagos using mopol to escort their 3yr old to school, one police na driver, one police go open door and another one go carry bag follow d scholar to his class....shior police man don suffer for naija i swear

deekay said...

He is trying but where do u want private bodies to get security from? How about someone set up a security company ?(if u guys dont already have one). The check point thing has it's advantages tho...so what's gonna happen to the advantages?? back in the day it helped during some searches to find human heads and all that. Best thing is, good roads, working traffic lights, penalty for poor driving (etc)..CHEII SO HOW MUCH WERE THEY EARNING BEFORE?? NO WONDER THEY FIGHT IN PUBLIC FOR 20# SMH!! Nigeria, pls help ur ppl!!

If all Nigeria leaders will be like U̶̲̥̅̊,not JU̶̲̥̅̊S̶̲̥̅† saying it but acting on their word, I believe this country will be a better place for us all. More grace sir

Janded said...

Amen!

No check point = more of reckless high way robberies, not dat they hv done much to curb it. Wish us Nigerians well.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

Yes o!!..please pay them 50k..not only would people join..all the side criminal activities might cease..

YES OOOO

Tim Taimi Nwosu said...

i second d motion.

See wathing dem dey demand 4 50k that is not bad to show that we Nigerians are not gredy but the Government is. I dont live they but am a Proud Nigeria living in Germany Germangovernment want Pay me that little Money in A Month,when I was a single Mother I receive times two of that Money and my rent Montly is also payed times two of that Amount and my Daughter receive times 1 and 1/2 of that. The Germans dont have Oil they care for their Citizens and does living in the Country ,the rate of Crim here is very very lessss,we are Blessed in that Country but our so call Government, Politicians,Pastors,Imahm,etc are wicked 50k for a Family Man ,Children Schoolfess,feeding,Hearthcare,normal living etc are their, they did nor ask for too much.I surport them gbam.

ihuoma said...

Bia linda, ke ihe ne me gi? Post gist na. I have check an tire. Since morning norrin norrin? Ques que ce? I read this blog every minute and I'm getting angrier by the second. I'm just a few thoughts away from trackn u down and telln u my mind. So before I chk ths blog again MAKE SURE u put at least 2 new gist. Secondly, biko na aha chukwu, upload tht video of the gel dat tiffed ya phone. If u don't expose a tiff, u do them no good whatsoever. I have said my piece. Kam yali chekwa gi!

Hephzibah said...

Wonderful! These moves are really commendable. Especially the 50k take-home and ban of police escort. Next is to ensure that only graduates are given key promotions, that way they are better equipped to handle issues eg non-violent protest, little squabbles, etc

NO MORE POLICE CHECK POINTS!So those who want to transport illegal arms, guns IED'S etc have free access. I congratulate them. To the Boko Haram, you can now freely move your weapons of destructions around. Armrobbers can now have free access to do their evils. While kidnappers can reinforce their strategies. I hope the Acting IG, considered the disadvantages before making that statement. Anyway, we shall see...

Unfortunately, Nigeria is that country where every good meaning decision mostly results in a negative counter-action. Thieves might end up plaguing our roads again (not like the policemen are any better though). God help us!

Yes soooo!dey shld beta act fast.cherryberry

This IGI is my man. I love you sir, keep it up. Gej if you just waist time i will go on strike for the police

jennietobbie said...

wow.. I love this man already

Miss Yoyin said...

*yimu* Some policemen at Costain still stop vehicles to ask for "particulars"! Except if that's not defined as a checkpoint. Nice try though

Igbo Made T-Shirts said...

This sounds like a good idea.. 50k is even to small compared to other countries. I wonder how long this will hold. There's an opportunity for private security companies to grow now. Wish Naija the best of luck and hope for more positive changes. Especially does damned checkpoints every 10 meters.. end it NOW!!!

igbo made t-shirts said...

Police checkpoints: it would really better Naija if these mobile road banks would dissapear.
Especially during Christmas period..

Police escorts for individuals: Another good idea. Let them hire bodyguards from private security companies..

N50, 000 as minimum wage: allow them biko... 50k is even a small amount compared to other countries...

leono said...

scrapping all checkpoints doesnt make sense to me, so how do you ensure the safety of the road users.because there is corruption in the police task force, doesnt mean we shud suffer for it. their job is to protect, how do they want to do that from their stations, this country tire me,with the increasing crime rate, u dey remove police for rod again. smh!!!!!

I pray and hope so ooo cos on saturday evening b4 d football match a policeman was short dead cos they blocked d road and were extorting money from pple b4 armed robbers came and killed him
.... So i do hope they listen

leono said...

scrapping all checkpoints doesnt make sense to me, so how do you ensure the safety of the road users.because there is corruption in the police task force, doesnt mean we shud suffer for it. their job is to protect, how do they want to do that from their stations, this country tire me,with the increasing crime rate, u dey remove police for rod again. smh!!!!!

NYC-1 says: I am sick and tired of this slogan every time Niaja gets a new IG. What one is interested in, is for him to elaborate how he would go about enforcing the new order. He knows that his men are law onto themselves, so how is he going to effect the directive? I hope he realizes that his order is not limited to Abuja and Lagos alone. How is he going to make sure that his men at Awka Junction, or Sango Ifo are adhering by the order? And if he sends undercover agents to effect the order, how long can he sustain that type of activity?

Fifty thousans naira is too small as salary for these guys. No one in his right sense of mind will give a second-thought not to increase their salary.

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Nigerian police officers earning only 50K a month is a serious National Security Issue! That is just too small o!

Kudos to him, he's really changing the face of the police force. Very disciplined Officer. God's grace be with him.

Funmi said...

Words...I hope these words are actually upheld by the government.Its actually an interesting and good proposition, one that we have been waiting to happen for a long time..Thumbs Up I.G...

NYC-1 says: Is shocking to learn that new police officers in Nigeria don't make up to 50,000 naira per month in salary. How can they make a decent living and how can they send their children to college (University)? If this is the situation, then this is where the animosity to the public stems from.

Some may argue that they don't pay transport fare. If you are one of those, ask yourself, how many places do you think they travel to per day. Please Show these guys RESPECT by giving them living wages.

Onyero said...

Lip sevice! Complete lip service! Today, Isaac John street in Ikeja GRA was cordoned off to motorists because 'IG de around'. Cars were not allowed into Isaac John for ever 4hrs. Only in Nigeria can this happen!! And then he talks abt banning checkpoints(which we all know is hogglewash) and no private escorts! Classic example of charity starting at home!i

Hmmm. I like dis chap. So far. But his boys are still mounting checkpoints at night on the Shagamu Ore expressway. Iyamlaffing.

Talk is cheap, Mr IG, we will believe u when we see it, or don't see it..lol

omoirefo.blogspot.com.au

Thank u sir for the changes u hv made so far!

i like this guy, it shows that tribe and religion has nothing to do with good leadership,its about having integrity.

all you peopl talking,do you know how much doctors and teachers make a year, if some are lucky they make 80k naira a year, so its up to the government to raise salary for its employees.After all they have the money, its just our leaders rather steal it than equally disbursing the funds.

A move in the right direction.This is good news.He is trying to give the Police force a positive image and I really like that, if the people of the law are more trustworthy then Nigeria is not far from battling the evils of corruption.

Guess what! Lagos to Asaba, a 255 miles and a 9yrs average of 37 UNIFORMED BEGGERS POINT was actually driven in 4hrs&17mins with a ZERO UBP in March! Thanks for the fix!

DEEFLAMEZ said...

Well, that's cool. Inasmuch as crime rate has sky-rocketed since the ban of road-blocks (not check-points) we should be glad that such steps are being boldly taken.

Nigerians have cried and wailed for the removal of these *extortion/harassment-spots* all in the name of check-points, many which have been major contributors to fatal road accidents and heavy traffic.

Let another means be deviced to curb crime on the highways and neighborhoods without re-introducing the traditional-shameful-extortion-scenes.

Mind you, this same Police take to their heels when they hear fireworks, let alone real gunshots. Please let's be innovative and not go back to our vomit all in the name of *curbing crime*

@willadebo

the white enchantress said...

hmmmmming.....so we were told about about toll gates.....well,its some good news. govt should pls do something to their salaries,they have responsibilities and even the 50k isn't enuf but its better than the 35 i heard de are being paid.

i am feeling tatafo on this.it is not just enough to ban check points,what alternatives are being implemented? As bad as check points were, they caught and stopped a few thieves.

Please i live in lagos and i still see a few checkpoints on the road. They have hassled me quite a number of times for my documents. And i can not refuse to show them my papers because of the directive given by the Acting IG of Police because the Police Force still reserve the right to stop and check a car on suspicion of theft. So are these Officers who have stopped me a number of times not going contrary to the directive given by their Boss? If there is a way to call the attention of the IG to this incident, it would be appreciated because they are becoming a real menace.

Frankly i feel a SOLID welfare package shud be inclusive!!! Low cost housing, allowances, etcetera. And they shud please FOLLOW THROUGH!!!!!!!! Faith witout WORKS is DEAD.

Mayocis said...

What he is trying to tell us indirectly is that nobody shud travel by road anymore because travelling by road isn't safe. Since his promotion to AIG, I have been suspecting that he's a member of the boko haram sect else why would a right thinking IG withdraw policemen from check points instead of making them do their work and sensitizing Nigerians that bribing a police officer is a crime against the law and punishable by a number of years in jail. He has only succeeded in opening up the road for criminal activities to take place...those who r praising his actions, e go soon shock una like horror movie. What a dumb AIG.

They should increase pay to 250amonth with free housing and paid transport to work and back

Mr IG pls go to mile 2 before u talk. Mscheeeew

P-MONEY said...

reputation? 9ja police ve no gud reputation b4, so, y he is worry himself? they re corporate thieves - organize robbering

sarafina said...

Emmm...Anoni...because someone is not adhering to instructions does not make the info a lie u hear? Thiiiiink

This is all talk. All we want to know is how many muders,kidnapping and armed robbires have your men solved?.Have you been able to bring Boko Haram bombers to justice? If your men are living up to their responsibilites of protecting our lives and properties,solving crimes,We the people will rise up and ask that their salaries raised.Do your job first,Period.