Lagos Govt shuts down 2 churches & 2 mosques for noise pollution | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 22 May 2012

Lagos Govt shuts down 2 churches & 2 mosques for noise pollution

The Lagos State Environmental Protection Agency (LASEPA) in conjunction with the Lagos State Task force on Environmental and Special Offences (Enforcement) Unit, yesterday Monday May 21, shut down two churches and two mosques in the state for noise pollution after numerous warnings to the religious centres to stop the noise.

The affected churches are: The Christ Chosen Church, Onipanu, and The Evangelical Apostolic Church.
The affected mosques are Darusalam Mosque at Sabo, Yaba, and Ayegbesin Mosque at Mafoluku, Oshodi.

The people who live around the religious centres reported them and got the state government to do something about it. So please feel free to report noisy churches and mosques around your area to LASEPA. They take noise pollution very seriously...:-)

36 comments:

CHINWE said...

This is a welcome development. The pollution is horrible.

the white enchantress said...

its really getting out of hand. you come back from work and have a good sleep and there's all night going on somewhere. a times so noisy.back in the days,churches can be counted.

Good. Very good!

Hmm you Linda, be supporting things to do with shutting down the house of God o. I pity you. Anyways I find it kind of interesting that none of those mega well known churches have ever been shut down. Mostly unknown or up and coming churches. Let us see how those unforgiving muslims react to this

Linda post comments now. haba

LINDA, HOW CAN WE REACH THE AUTHORITIES. THIS PARTICULAR MOSQUE NEAR MY HOUSE WOULD NOT LET ME SLEEP. EVERY MORNING YOU SOMETHING LIKE...Asalatuuuu, all of them na stooory!!!

Good for them

Sometimes the noise could be very annoying. Why disturb d peace of d neigborhood all in d name of worship.

Immediately i saw the heading, i knew the Lord's Chosen will be among them. their branch close to my house deprives us of a peaceful night rest more than three times a week. the funny part is the kind of 'testimonies' you hear from them, and the gossip in form of preaching.

Hmmmmn... Let me run and call them to close the three churches on my street in Surulere abeg. The noise fit make person deaf jare

opsy said...

Am a very religious person but i tink thts a Good move. It shld also be extented to bars too.

Good, please Aunty Lin tell Rivers state Govt to start this, we need such my street has 2 noise polluting churches.

Bishop Xerxer said...

Am happy Lagos state is taking this serious, but hope that the churches & mosques were in residential areas, if not, the decision will be unfair.

Zeme said...

Just dial 767 or 112 to report to the state govt

lol! this is good news cos the noise is deafening! but i just got info that the said church speakers at onipanu is still on full blast right now!

β£Î±É±É±É¨É› Alhaji said...

...and I think the reason why they have PAS (public Address Systems) is to make sure their congregations hear sermons that are preached, not people outside the premises. Whomsoever wants to know what happens in these religious gatherings should "Seek ye...", as the Holy Book (Bible) puts it. I hardly hear sermons from the windows of mine, talk less of from the road or other houses.

Lmaooo. Thank God!

May God bless u Fashola! Abeg help people way dey festac close some! D noise dere na DIE!

Linda how do I report?? I have a mosque wif d loudest speakers and 4 churches side by side as my neigbour!! I have 2 report des silly ppl afterall I got der b4 dem. Waking me up in d middle of d night wen I hav 2 wake at 5.30 aint cutting shit. So plsss how do I report ASAP!! Festac area is a breeding ground 4 all churches and its disgusting!! All roadsides r 100s of churches.
Blasphemers
Billie jean

deekay said...

Mehn, if I was the governor or presido or whatever, I will have to put together criteria/rules and regulations a church must follow in order to be granted a license. These ppl r jst taking the piss. every corner church church and they are not even preaching salvation or love!! churches like fireman's would be closed down by now/ SMH

Janded said...

I do not blame them at all. we do not have to yell and scream to be heard by God.

LOL! Lagos is still a mess but once in a while Fashola orchestrates something that makes me want to stand up and clap slowly. There should actually be laws to regulate where religious institutions can be built. Some are too bloody noisy.

Pls who has their number

Bias. Na church dey wan close just dat dey dnt want to draw critics from public.

This is a very important development how wish they will do thisame in portharcourt & abuja linda abeg upload the video

Pls how can I contact LASEPA, my house is sandwiched between a church and a compound that has been converted into a mini church, they have fellowships and vigils all through the week and its not funny at all, sometimes you wake up thinking its world war 3...helpppp

Muslims dont really make noise,do they?

Aint u just a mumu its pple like u dat promote reiligious violence....don't waste d moni ur parents used 2 send u 2 sch n behave educated! Oponu

So Govt. Can actually do for the public what Govt. Suppose to be doing! Thanks for applying some senses.

please! could someone tell me how i can contact LASEPA, THE ONE BESIDE MY HOUSE IS HORRIBLE!

hmmm, its not true o! this particular church is still functioning... i live in onipanu and this church is in front of my house. infact we av nothing less than 7churches on that street.. come to ABE street if you want to confirm. Its really unfair, i'm a christian too but the noise is terrible..

DEEFLAMEZ said...

Good move, nobody, group of persons or organisation should be disregard the Law. Its high time noise pollution is curbed everywhere including churches, streets, musical appliance vendors etc.

And to the person condemning the action and saying they are fighting against God, am sorry but with AALL DUE RESPECT, you're simply dumb. If i had a child with your kind of reasoning, i'll send him to the war-front to be killed (God forbid).

Ahan!!! Cant you atleast differentiate between NOISE & SOUND? Must we die of headaches because your Pastor is shouting at his DEAF Congregation while bullying the mic?

Abeg take your time oh before God takes away the little 'smartness' left in that stuff you call a head...That's what you get when you choose to be inconsiderate of the convenience and health of those inhabiting your immediate environment, so what-da-hell are you PREACHING???

Signs of end time!!!!! Use earplugs y'all *muhhhhahhhaaaaaaaaa*

BEE said...

I loooove this!! Either these churches and mosques get soundproof windows etal or stop disturbing our PEACE!!! Enough is enough!!

Nollywood Forever said...

I would support shutting down a house of god too if its fugging with my sleep. Better that that you go and shoot up the whole place cos of sleep deprivation. Not so?

Nigerians we are all full of it!!!! Government closed churches and mosques and we are all running around praising them. Are these the most important things for us right now? what of uninterrupted power and water supply? good motorable roads? or is it the Boko Haram and Kidnapping scourge? What of armed robbery and murders?.Our government has better things to do than going around closing churches and mosques.Pls wake up to your responsibilities of protecting the lives and properties of innocent citizens.