Police Inspector Sets Wife Ablaze | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 March 2012

Police Inspector Sets Wife Ablaze

What would make a man empty a gallon of fuel on his wife in the kitchen without regard for his 18-month-old son by the woman? That was the question on the lips of stunned patients and visitors at the Leverage Hospital, Igbo-Elerin, Okokomaiko, a suburb of Lagos State, where the doctor and his retinue of nurses are battling to save the life of a woman whose husband, a police inspector, set ablaze on Friday after a squabble.

The victim, Augustina, hails from Anambra State while her husband, Wasiu Jimoh, is from Kwara State. With burns all over her body, fluid mixed with human fat dripped ike a fountain from her face down her chest to her fingertips. Writhing in pains, the medics, Dr Bayo and the nurses, battled to give Augustina some relief as her peeling skin glued her to the hospital bed. The doctor said she had suffered second-degree burns.

Initially, she hardly uttered a word except some feeble words expressing regrets over a marriage that has gone sour barely two years after it was contracted.

How it started
The residents of 7 Tunde Lawal Street, Okokomaiko, woke up on Friday to witness a more dangerous fight between the couple said to be notorious for constantly quarreling.
According to Augustina, trouble started on Thursday when she reported to the husband that a certain lady sent her an irritating text massage warning her to leave Wasiu alone, claiming that the police officer was her man.
The victim, who claimed that her husband had the habit of keeping relationship with other women, said Inspector Jimoh flared up and started beating her. On Friday morning, he reportedly told her that since she was stubborn, he was going to deal with her.

She also claimed that he had constantly quarrelled with her over her demand for feeding money, adding that he frequently assaults her on the slightest provocation.According to the victim, as he was pounding her, a neighbor came to her rescue and facilitated her escape to another neighbour’s kitchen, who was cooking at that time, only for the husband to rush in and emptied a gallon of fuel upon her by the fire place. But police officer, said to be serving at the Ifako Police Station, Bariga, told the doctor that it was his wife that was bearing the keg of fuel in her hand as she made her escape into the neighbour’s kitchen. Unfortunately, he explained, the fuel exploded upon her leaving the whole place on fire.

Scared neighbours
When our correspondent visited the couple’s residence, neighbors talked about the incident in hushed tones as if all were mindful of an uncertain fate that might befall them if they said anything. Sunday Sun gathered that the victim was the fifth woman in the officer’s home, as four other women that lived with him had ran away for their dear lives. A reliable source disclosed that his first wife escaped when she realized that the man was like a time bomb that could explode on her. She is said to be presently living abroad.
It was gathered that until Augustina came, no woman could live with Jimoh. But the victim, according to a close associate of the husband, believed she could change the man for good.

Augustina’s shocker
Asked if she would return to the marriage after her ordeal, Augustina reluctantly told our correspondent that she would wait for her family’s decision. According to her, she cannot give a definite response until she had heard from her family and that her mind was not made up.

Our correspondent also gathered that when the incident happened, the woman ran to her Pentecostal church pastor to show him what was left of her burnt skin before the pastor instructed her to proceed to the hospital for medical intervention. Her decision to rush to her pastor, it was explained, was because the man of God had been advising her to pray that the man could change since there is no situation too difficult for God to handle.
The woman has however appealed for assistance from government and non-governmental organizations.
The police officer was arrested on Friday but it was gathered that he had been granted conditional bail at press time.

Culled from The Sun News Online

72 comments:

Linda Ikeji's Blog has now become Linda's Blog of Horrors...

Everyday one mentally distressing story or another... Sigh

That's not fair, are some Nigerian men becoming cannibals? How would someone in his right senses do such? Sorry to the woman.

please am tired of men being horrible to women so tired of seeing this on this blog....i have said my own women be strong most men are full of horse shit!

Linda, the horrible stories I hear about happenings in marriage these days is getting me really scared of settling down.

kween said...

What is it with some of these men these days sef?? How many of such cases have we heard of in the past few months? This is the new trend now abi? Your wife or girlfriend pisses you off and violence or brutality handles it? A police man for that matter.. What a mess. I feel sorry for the poor lady..

She ran to her pastor, he told her to pray, because there's nobody God cannot change"

Why didn't the pastor ask her to leave, stay away from the man while praying for him to change? What if he killed her? Mscheeew!

Ogini bu ife nka. I'm actually beginning to fear Nigerian men. Not only do most of them tell heart breaking lies, some of them are also cannibals in disguise. God save my fellow women.

~ Menakaya's Baby.

She went to her pastor's place first?

some women!

she was holding a keg of fuel and ran into a neighbor's kitchen?

police can lie!

5th wife?

why can't women learn that the cane used to beat the first wife is usually hanged up!

waiting for her family decision if she would go back to the man?

the woman is a bonker! You escaped death and you have not made up your mind?

Jeez!

Take your 18months son and vamoose,when you get well, before he shoots you died, next time!

na wa oh! one bad news after the other!!!

I no men well! Well! See d fool that killed his wife Ogo! And now see this 1 again! Me? Be4 my hubby kill me? He go don long gone in his grave......... Men are animals its time ladies no this.

meg said...

trust nigerian women,she will surely goes back to that bastard called husband despite all these molestation until he sent her to her early grave.

Abi o. So many horror stories. This blog is Nkan Nbe!

na whao for all these so called devil of a husband.

debbyt said...

Ppl who asked why funmi iyanda has to climb mt kilimanjaro this is it, violence against women. It has to b put to a stop

Anyone marrying a police man or soldier shouldn't expect fidelity for crying out loud! if you cant live with it, then don't even go into a relationship with them in the first place! And didn't she know his track record before she agreed to be married to him? And she's even still contemplating going back to him, abi waiting for her family to decide? What's that? She needs to get a life!
Sorry if i sound heartless, but if he was cheating on her while her skin was ok, what would he do now that she'll have scars all over.
I am sick to my stomach of these stories of abuse!!!

Please enough with the generalizing sexist comments towards men. The man is a bad man. That doesn't mean all men are like that.

Mi said...

Haba, May God heal her ooh! I wonder what this country is really turning into. God please come to our rescue...

Some men may be evil, but women these days some of us have ourselves to blame. Why do we keep on ignoring the alarm bells, the signs we see. Why are we so weak and afraid of being alone? Why do we think that because our friends are all part of a couple if we aren't then we're not as good as they are? I've seen men! And mehn I RUN! Any little sign of violence or abuse and I'm soooooo out. I don't care how rich and generous he is or how fantastic the sex is.I just get to stepping cos i love my life too much. Sometimes even the way he relates to other people should be a warning to you. My fellow women pls we need to be strong, u do not need a man to complete you. If ur man has such issues pls leave him, the only person that he deserves unconditional love from is his mother ( I wish Ogor knew this). It is well with us. But I don't understand how she was badly burnt and could still find her way to Pastor's house. Smh.
Valerie.

I find it abnormal for Nigerians to marvel at the cruelty of their Men. I live in Kenya and i have travelled to other African countries including South Africa. All the places i have been to know from experience that Nigerian men batter women to the extend of killing.
Recently a Nigerian High Commisssioner to Kenya was recalled because of physically abusing his wife after there was an out cry by NGO'S over his contact. Please talk to your brothers to communicate with words instead of blows and fire.
Anonymous in Kenya.

You wey go marry Yoruba man, so u no know say dem value girl friend more than their wives.

Has he been arrested ? That is all we need to talk about. Make an example of this goat so that this story will be a deterrant to others.

I hope she gets better.

Linda, time for you to have categories in this your blog so we can avoid certain topics, if we so feel inclined.

God have mercy...

nawa oh...th tyranny of patriarchy in the African society... "the heart of man is wicked..who can know it"

Na wa o nigerian men are becomin so wicked to their spouses.God save us o!so disgusting.some women sef can endure nonsense all in d name of love.God forbid bad thing!

I'd like pastors to come on this blog and contribute ....are women beginning to misinterpret " for better for worse" ?....

TruSon said...

'The heart of man is evil and desperately wicked, who can know it?'. So says the Holy Book.
News like this makes me weary of this supposedly 'consentual' INSTITUTION called marriage.
MARRIAGE IS the only INSTITUTION where you get your CERTIFICATE first before sitting for the EXAM.

TruSon said...

My fear,d pastor's thinking is myopic that's why he told her to stay!One ignorant fool once said that a pastor that asks a wife to move out of her husband's house is a "lucifer" becos nowhere in d bible is it written that divorce/separation is acceptable!!!

Men!!!At dis rate,I just might not get married!Better to be single with peace of mind than be in a tumultous relationship/marriage!KMT

ONOME says..................................
Ok Lindooo,you know I always like to give it straight;no artificial flavouring!E DON DO!!!You hear me so?Point made,point taken.The stories are starting to leave a sour taste in my mouth:"too much of one thing/story.......sound familiar to you?Enough already!!(hope your voltrons on this blog will not jump my throat.They can like to do aproko fight for you Lin Lin:))))))

When a woman regards herself as shit,she gets treated as shit.Word up!You are only treated the way you allow yourself to be treated.She knew his history but stupidly tried to bleach the nose of a dog.Delusional someborri.Her pastor said she should stay and pray for him?Hmmmmmm....life is so funny,it will do a comeback and bite his daughter.

Oh geh get well hopefully and TAKE CHARGE OF YOUR OWN DAMNED LIFE

olubukola said...

Asked if she would return to the marriage after her ordeal, Augustina reluctantly told our correspondent that she would wait for her family’s decision. According to her, she cannot give a definite response until she had heard from her family and that her mind was not made up.
Mtscheew. when will our women learn.Go back to his house and sign your death warrant

Kim said...

Gbenga where are you ooooo? won't you come and talk? or Boko Haram has bombed your mouth off your face!

if u marry trouble n if u dnt stillt trouble,may God help d ladies oh

winnie said...

omg!!!really scared of settling down...God help us.

if u marry trouble n if u dnt stillt trouble,may God help d ladies oh

Not all marriages are doomed please.

A bit of nice cheery news will help linda. Enough of the gory stories you hear?

Linda how abt women dat abuse men.. U Neva hear Abi see dat 1? Ibo woman with kwara man not so on.. And na she be d man 5th concubine.. Mayb she dey date d beast whilst he was still made to his last wife.. Is such a shame.. See pretty lady that damaged her life Cos of Kwara state mugu who feels like a sharp guy.. God help Nigerian women I swear.. U can't change any person especially a mugu who has brutalised four women before u.. Somethings don't change..

Admin said...

Nigerian Pooooolice! No be Change of Uniform, I don talk am,"Old wine in new bottle..." A change of heart, character and atitude matters. Also, affecting eachother postively helps success. Okay look at this story now...O sun mi jare (I'm tired, biko)

Admin said...

Nigerian Poooooooolice, It's not Change of Uniform that matters, (it's like an Old wine in New Bottle...) rather what matters is change of mind, character and atitude. Also affecting each other postively will help develop the Force. Ok, consider this story...I'm feedup!

GlamNotchApparels said...

Once bitten, twice shy...I cnt believe she's even considering going back to that marriage. why would one need the approval of their family to get out of an abusive marriage, why put your life at stake for no just reason? some things make no sense to me. If the man hates you so much to set you ablaze, then he can kill you. let us be wise~!

Na GBenga's pop dey damage women dey go.. As gbenga's mom an ibo woman left him afta realising her mistake.. She even drop gbengba pick race.. She severed all contact with d daddy beast and son beast GBenga.. Now u lot can c y GBenga hates the Ibos.. Im mama saw that the blood that flows thru GBenga is beastly.. Lol.. Gbengba soon u go join u pop for kirirki.. Ndi ala isi gbarilu.. Ndi oshi.. GBenga and his inspector dad should go and hug transformer.. Ibo people don destroy una life finish.. They go relief ur pop of his position na hunger b that ooo..

Na waah for Ibo people oh. Ibo men are very violent for real.
--Gbenga.

nawa ooooo, most men re jst d devil in human form, if d re nt abusin u physicall dey re doin it emotionally or sm other way, i jst pray God arrests them unto repentance. Im just confused abt the new trend of r/ships and marriages. God pls come and vindicate us from the hands of the people goin to any extent to destroy your creations

This is a domestic violence case; what is troubling is that one of the parties involved is a law enforcement officer. Here in States, just like any other civilized country, the Officer in question would have been arrested and suspended from the force pending an investigation. The govt should balance NPF by giving the SSS authority to investigate police excess and if necessary arrest them for abuses. NPF should not trial NPF.

How could pple be afraid to talk bcos he is a police officer? Nigeria is too backward; besides, any evidence tampering to cover for fellow officer is a betrayal of public trust - such officers have no integrity and should be removed from NPF.

nawa ooooo, most men re jst d devil in human form, if d re nt abusin u physicall dey re doin it emotionally or sm other way, i jst pray God arrests them unto repentance. Im just confused abt the new trend of r/ships and marriages. God pls come and vindicate us from the hands of the people goin to any extent to destroy your creations

nkanbe + iri ri aiye, linda, are u sure u wont start showing horror stories on tv, dats anothr source of income cos i sure thr are willing sponsors among the LIB readers...

BLOGLORD said...

is ds is what is tending now? sad!

SORRY I DIDN'T READ THE STORY WELL BEFORE COMMENTING. HER HUSBAND IS YORUBA AND THAT MEANS THE IBO BIATCH WAS AT FAULT. SHE CAUSED HER BEATING SHA. SO IT MUST BE HER FAULT FOR GETTING BEAT UP BY A QUIET AND HARD WORKING YORUBA MAN.
--GBENGA

Miss Pepeye said...

Please someone should tell this woman that she risks major infection from her exposed wounds oh. Oh my godness. God pls, even though i cant believe she actually said she mite return to the man if her familys says so, God pls dont let her die of infection oh. Kai!!!!!!!

babeontop said...

Thank you. Nigerian men are beasts.

Hebby said...

Mehn!!! wot re men turning into this days

A.K.A Dayo said...

Prayer is da KEY... settlin down wif d rite person does it all

Cynthia said...

That pastor that urged her to stay on despite all the abuse should be arrested. The woman self na olodo. She got what she wanted, she knows the man is a born beast yet she kept on staying with him and she is even planning to go back. Abeg next jorrr. Anumanu!

serah said...

Buh wait shey d woman herself well?? Instead mk she carry her slippers run, smy. D offence of domestic violence shld b treated beta 2 serve as deterence 4 animals in human flesh... We may nt hear of d story after dis, linda do follow up on all these ya stories na...

the white enchantress said...

who else again but MEN....

RAPE-- MEN
THEFT--MEN
ARMED ROBBERY- MEN
WIFE BATTERY-- MEN
ACID BATH------MEN
CHILD ABUSE----MEN
KILLING OF BOSS-MEN
KIDNAPPING-----MEN
it all amounts to show that they have no control over the beast they have inside.

Come on! All the idiots that laugh at unmarried mothers and divorcees. Is it better to remain with a wicked husband like this policeman?

No policeman can do this to his wife in the US/UK and retain his job but anything is possible in Nigeria.

RAVEN said...

You would like pastors to come to this blog abi,ok.last week a pastor,i mean senior pastor killed his wife in kogi state all bcos of SEX.so else would u want to invite?

RAVEN said...

You would like pastors to come to this blog abi,ok.last week a pastor,i mean senior pastor killed his wife in kogi state all bcos of SEX.so else would u want to invite?

Ebere said...

First, this gbenga is a big fool,that ur statement shows how u reason,am not generalising about yoruba men but check it and know the percentage of the men from there that beat their wives,secondly, in as much as i respect my pastor,man of God and any prophet, i will know the kind of man my pastor is before i can stay in such marriage or whatever, this woman i dont really know what to say.u re still waiting for family members to decide before u make up ur mind abi?u should be very grateful to God that u re still alive though in a different condition,wether love or not love, weda trying to change him tru prayers or not,u better find a way of takingt hat bastard to book.

TruSon said...

While it'll be unfair to throw a blanket of generalisation on all Nigerian men on such despicable acts as this, I feel something must have gone wrong with the way our young boys are being nurtured into manhood.
Something ought to be done urgently to prevent such from assuming an epidemic dimension.

TruSon said...

While it'll be unfair to throw a blanket of generalisation on all Nigerian men on such despicable acts as this, I feel something must have gone wrong with the way our young boys are being nurtured into manhood.
Something ought to be done urgently to prevent such from assuming an epidemic dimension.

TruSon said...

Seriously? Anon 09:03 is that a random assertion or a statement of fact? Hmm na wa o

TruSon said...

@RAVEN: I wonder o. LWKMD

TruSon said...

Seriously? Anon 09:03 is that a random assertion or a statement of fact? Hmm na wa o

What kind of stupid man will do this to his own wife? Like seriously, her husband is a devil and she should run for her life. It is not by force to stay married, I rather be divorced than married to a man who does this to me. marriage ke? God said for better or worse, but not when he does this to you. We are sometimes the cause of our own problem. This woman should run for her life, pls pls pls. Find a charity group for women and educate yourself. Your husband is a wicked man, he could have killed you. What if it was acid? I feel for you, this story breaks my heart. You deserve better.

Nigerian men ...you shame me, Nigerian authority...you always support the men and allow women suffer in silence. Naija has shamed me, I hate my country.

God will judge Nigerians, God will judge the evil men out there that treat women bad and rape them. God will judge this woman's husband.

Pls, Linda post my comment. I am tired of reading scary stories of men maltreating women. Websites like your blog and that of Bella Naija should help create more awareness for women. Stop sharing negatives news but try to look for sites that educate women.

Enough is enough, we women deserve better. Linda you are a woman yourself, I think you are a role model to many both men and women. Try to use your time to find women groups that can educate women. You don't want your blog to be known for sharing negatives news with women cases. I know you are not the police but you have the power to create a change in the Nigerian society.

Think about it?

What will your blog be to Nigerians in the next 10 years, it might not be popular and no one might even care for your blog, always a gossip site. I think if you start a charity group or an NGO, in the next 10 years, you have done something for your life and changed that of women in society. You will be known for change. I love reading your blog but I can tell you, it's nothing special. Make a difference with your blog and it will tell in years to come. Bye for now!

chei she is still thinking of going back to him after all he has done. How pathetic. Naija women this marriage thing no be by force o. And u think he will want u back looking like a freak. he didnt even want u again that was the cause of all this. plso get some life purpose besides him

She will be a great fool to go back. Its like saying she wants to go and die. My advice...let all women be employed or trade on anything. Fellow women stop waiting for ur hubby for any single kobo, so that when u ar being molested u can quickly pack ur bag n ur children and leave before he kills u...

I am sorry, but a lot of these muda fuc***g pastors who advise women to stay in dangerous situation should be hanged. God will surely judge them on all these bad advises they give.

Doug Wagner said...

Thanks Linda for posting this story.

Trips to Kilimanjaro

EE:Absolutely. I'm sure people get bored with the up and then end six subjects quests. If you look at the introduction of MMOs over the last 10 years and long time customers becoming a lot more report centric, Because individuals wish for companies feels. I more popularly hold cases of by chance owning hooked on persons in EQOA not to mention is ripped a number of up the wall opportunity taking on or workforce written at the begining of along side each other WoW/EQ all over the world. While the presentation mechanism executes get folks at once, It has regularly to complete/grind the aim right spread. All encompassing, GW2 aims to make the ball player under some kind of"Event"? nstead of passing along golfers the education to discover by themselves. thrill ride, [url=http://www.universita-universita.it]hogan outlet[/url]
"Frequent the net softwares this kind of online social evideo wow players, Voip(Voice over internet protocol) With hd video formats are incorporate a understanding of latency bundle lowering rather than ' hubs Fi, Stated that Bigfoot online communities boss erika Howse. "With this interesting networking tool as higher 802.11n component, Destroyer wireless network N plugs not merely increase the speed of motion for flash wows, Furthermore, they reduced stuttering, Disproportionate streaming and also frustrations in on the web discussion and at will activities businesses. You can view entire world wide tv set, Hear loading music or a play catastrophe guy present player with the dice as well as saving it a considerable electronic mail bond, Without having to miss out some thing. [url=http://www.universita-universita.it]hogan outlet[/url]
Recently, Brthegg is small bowl -period of time fifteen yepenitentiaryr in, In just the person pleaded responsible that will help wrongful death. [e]While 2002, 21 years old Shawn Woolley wholly commited committing destruction while face-to-face with any mobile private individual computing. Your boyfriend to help add a committing destruction take; Extremely, Activity Everquest remained on screen. [url=http://www.universita-universita.it]hogan outlet[/url]
Visibly, I cant provide a close make right this moment considering the fact that i've got simply done via my very own beginner act. Obtain, It's possible to give you this unique simple visualization. Our staff members expect to refining and moreover moving Giga's task corporate to raised hook current opportunity. [url=http://www.universita-universita.it]hogan outlet[/url]
As well the past on the contrary no longer least, The specific. The favourite behind playing mmorpg you see, our own delight recording as well as using acquaintances you may already know possibly attain conformed inside the action. Even the straightforward aspects like perusing the disputes along with invest in. It grass quite quite a few not finished books already there when you. Trying to go through the single player system that 15 in addition to 20 several hrs 40 usually weeks months, Whether or not it's uniform created after all, And many times, it seriously is not really. It's far from tv or to tv program; The previous become ate completely operating across two business long months, Rogues uses up a particularly sure 30 in which on the way to allow them up so that it will 60 minute time period slots every week, [url=http://www.universita-universita.it]hogan outlet[/url]

you may also like:
http://www.djrap.com/blog/2009/11/15/so-you-wanna-be-a-dj-part-6-presentation/trackback/ http://www.vertriebsseminare.at/index.php?a%5B%5D=%3Ca+href%3Dhttp%3A%2F%2Fwww.guildwars2goldz.com%2Fnews%3EWildstar+New%3C%2Fa%3E http://www.crn7.org.br/crn-7-inicia-projeto-nutricionista-formado-e-habilitado-ja-3/trackback/