Lagos State Govt demolish five mosques for fear of boko haram attack | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 26 March 2012

Lagos State Govt demolish five mosques for fear of boko haram attack

The Lagos State Government last week demolished five mosques located within the State secretariat in Alausa, Ikeja, following an order by Governor Fashola, banning all religious activities within the secretariat.

The demolition of the mosques was carried out by the government after getting intelligence reports from SSS that the secretariat was vulnerable to attack by Boko Haram as long as the mosques remain within the secretariat.

57 comments:

Bee said...

hmmmmmmm wahala go dey

OK said...

well....better to demolish one building than to loose hundreds of lives..

korreeeccctttt

Admin said...

Thank GOD, Gov.Fashola (SAN) is a Muslim so tongues wont wag that he's being sentimental...(There was a time 7 Churches were shutdown in Lagos due to Noise Pollution, remember that news?)

Hmmn

Atobatele said...

Finger-cross for now

Shaddy said...

THIS IS NOT TOO GOOD AM A cHRISTIAN BUT DON'T THINK THE GOVERNMENT NEED THIS

Cynthia said...

Good move by Fashola. The fear of boko haram is the begining of wisdom. But i doubt this will stop them from attacking the secretariat if they plan to. Its just that boko haram guys know that the very day they attack Lagos state, all hausa's in lagos will be killed overnight. Trust yoruba boys.

Its a bold step and should be encouraged by all. Intelligent reports from 247ureports.com, had it that weapons were smuggled into mosques in the southern Cities of Lagos, Enugu, Ebonyi and Onitsha via military truck and was escorted by Nigerian soldiers who are sympathetic to the Boko Haram group.

http://paynize.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=133781

this is just wrong, why didnt they demolish churches too, the BH have been bombin churches not mosques. this is gonna bring about religious war if nigeria is not careful, this is insensitive and stupid on fashola and federal government side. mtcheww God help Nigerian Leaders by giving them good God fearing wisdoms.

hmmmmmmm, am struggling with this one o. Can anybody help me make sense of this??? So now the mosques have been demolished there is no possibility of Boko Haram attacks??? not sure our leaders think things through #rolling my eyes#

Amarachukwu said...

Classic case of "Separation of Mosque and State" Way to Go Governor

Why would they do that? It dsn't make sense!

oluwaseunara said...

Like my yoruba people will say: cutting off the head is not the solution to headache. Why not just beef up security around the mosque instead of destroyin it, you have acheived what the boko haram guys want which is destruction, only dat lives were not lost.

the white enchantress said...

atleast the govt had warned some weeks back that no religious activities would be entertained within the environs of the secretariat. good he put his words into action.

Eme Achanga said...

wow very commendable considering Gov Fashola is Muslim..he understands that security of lives and property supercedes that of religion,

but dont you think this would only infuriate these boko haram people and make Lagos a target now?
sometimes,you just have to let sleeping dogs lie

waidat said...

Why would dey do dis kind of thing...SMH

LailaIkeji.com said...

Fear of Boko Haram is the beginning of safety.

laff wan kill me die.

And these muslims are not agitating yet?

www.lailaikeji.com

Ok. What will happen to other mosques at idumota etc.

I think this wil instigate more trouble.

YINOTINTO said...

the fear of boko haram is d beginning of .... Fashola dey fear sha. Nice move

Honestly, Linda I doubt you should post stuff like this that is speculative in Nature. This will just create more tension in the system. How sure are you it was because of fear of Boko Haram the mosque where demolished?

dis is not fair at all, demolishin mosques can neva stop boko haram from attackin dem. Instead of dem to concentrate on ow to improve on security and harm caused by d so called boko haram, dey r there demolishin mosques. May God forgive all of dem

Uche said...

No one can curse Fashola over this, after all he is Muslim!

A bit suprised.Will bringing down mosques stop Bokoharam?

Kashmir said...

In a country with so many religious bigots, gotta say "Thank God Fash is a Muslim" cos most times, we face not issues but sentiments. It may not be easy to verify claims about Boko because we like sensationalism here (as shown by this report which tries to make us think 'religious activities' in the secretariat is equal to mosques and linking Islamic worship to Boko) but recent steps taken by LASG shows they're trying to 'clear' the vicinity of the government house. Moreover the LASG secretariat mosque is at the CBD. So, if you don't have any business around there, please mind your business. Lol!

Kashmir said...

For clarification, If you don't have any business at or around the secretariat, mind your business seems to be what LASG is doing. Proactive I must say

Thats a good move... Honestly I hate the sight of a mosque.... Talkless of wicked Muslims who claim to be praying to their wicked god.. Hope we can do this throughout Nigeria... Then peace will reign

Oluwaseunara said...

Who are u sef? i have been seeing you on nairaland a lot these past few days, are you related to linda?

Good move..way too close to Govt house b4 u know it you would see the place infiltrated by fanatics and a base for brainwashing and recruiting future suicide bombers

Ur english and ur logic are d same... Useless

anonymous March 26, 2012 6:46 PM, is very mean. If he has access to the weapons boko haram / Militant has he will definitely be very ruthless. Hatred has overwhelmed his thots. But pls remember if u want your prayers to be answered ur heart needs to be free of hatred. Two wrongs dont make a right.

Man, I love Fashola. May God continue to keep you and your family. You will live long to be the president of Nigerian one day.

Vickky said...

This is the one that tires me in this country...Boko Haram and their fianciers are not muslims they are not muslims...what has the Muslim leadership done to assure nigerians otherwise????Why is it only churches that have been destroyed?This is not a matter of senitments or anything.Those who say this will only instigate a war,wake up darlings,the war is here already.Only it hasn't gotten to your door posts.

Typically,because BRF is a muslim,there may be some ramblings..but for the most part,i expect them to hold dia peace.If it was a christian governor now,before we wake up tmorrow,they would have razed down every building with as much as a sticker on it.And no one can cuss me out on this one.If ur honest with yourself,you know the truth.

We have become enslaved by our fear for our Muslim brothers.That's not fair at all.

So...in essence...until it can be proven that the occupants of the mosque aren't responsible for the bloodbaths in Nigeria,let fashola do what he needs to do.

Smh! Instead of protecting the mosques, they are domolishing it. Classic case of doing the work of Boko Haram....next the govt. will be demolishing churches and telling you what God to serve.
If the northern Govs. carry out a similar action, and force everyone to obey Sharia law, you guys will be outraged!!!!

BLOGLORD said...

Good strategy but i just hope this wouldnt draw their attention to lagos and i also hope this doesnt cause some form of religious conflict in lagos.
EMEH ACHANGA, i support ur statement

austin said...

Proactivity...Good. at least within d secteriat

Gud move,infact,.........

U must be a fool for saying u hate the sight of a mosque,u are as guity as the boko haram member for even saying that.IDIOT

ALL MOSQUES SHLD B UPROOTD FRM D FOUNDATN N SENT TO OBLIVON SINCE D ONLY PURPOSE IS HABOURING ARMONITNS,BOKO MEMBERS,TEACHN N TRAING PPLE TO BCOM SUCIDAL N PROMISN EM VIRGINS IN RETURN,COMON ON,ITS HIGH TYM U GUYS STOP HITTN UR HEADS ON D GROUND COS ITS REALY AFFECTN UR BRAINS

A commendable act. Religion has no biz with the state. Good move. As for them pple way think say fash de madt, una no well. As for the mumu way talk say make linda no de put this kind thing u b double mumu. If she no put life news wetin she go put

mama t said...

@anonymous 10:46am,watch wat u write nd wat u say!thou shal nt judge so u will nt b judge says d lord.And,who tell u dat destroyin all d mosques in nig will bring peace?may God 4give u.

4 dos who say fashola is a muslim,point of correction muslim by name nt practice..no practising one wuld do dat...God 4give im

Where is the wisdom in all these? There is more to it. The same way bombing of churches and temples is a demonstration of failure before God Almighty so also is the demolishion of Mosques for fear of Boko Haram. Many people are muslims but there is nothing in them, just like Boko Haram who claimed to be muslims. If being an adherent of a religion is beyond mere proclamation I would say the order for demolishion isnt Islamic & therefore satanic. A muslim under whatever condition that is even worse than Boko Haram would not order demolishion of a mosque. Fear not Boko Haram but the Lord, the Creator. Quran says: "whoever fears Allah He will provide him way out". It has also been said "fear of GOD is the begining of wisdom" Where lies the wisdom in the demolishion, none but hate. The man behind he demolishion is a Satanic agent.

Courage said...

Did sm1 say this is gonna bring abt religious war?He demolished an empty building for Christ's sake!So boko haram cn bomb churches wit xtians inside and Fashola cannot demolish sm structures to avoid more deaths?They shld be grateful the buildin was jus demolished and not completely burnt down wen they were inside...Demolishing 5 mosques can cause a religious war and the gruesome murder of innocent xtians is not enuf to start a religious war abi? Mtcheeeew

K'kay said...

I am a Christian,but I don't support this....it doesn't make any sense....since I have known BH to attack,A mosque has never been their target but Churches,christians....So this idea of destroyin mosques is only fermenting trouble...
They should have beefed up security if they suspected anything..
So if tomorw they hear BH is targetin 3rd mainland bridge they will help destroy the bridge for BH even b4 they come???#IRONY.
So how many more properties will be destroyd in the fear of BH?
This gist is not clicking at all....
U destroy a mosque(that will even infultrate BH)to prevent them from attacking?
Better destroy the govt house now cos that will be their target if at all they get into Lag.
Govr,U fall my hand for this one.

@Anonymous 6.46pm, people like you are the real bokoharam. Face your religion and stop hating other religions or "wicked gods" as you put it- if you are truly different from bokoharam.But because you are not different from them, thats why you have so much hatred in you.Any religious bigot is a boko haram in another form if you dont know.

U r a mumu, whr were u wen 7churches wer demolished!

Na so. No be the same cowardly yoruba boys allow them scatter that area for lag d other day ?

Yebosoko Shehu said...

From today on anybody that is involved in the demolition of those MOSQUES will never find happiness again. I think fashola see himself being a muslim as a mistake of birth.

WHAT ABOUT THE CHURCHES.....CHURCHES ARE BEING ATTACKED TOOOO....I HOPE HE IS GOING TO DO THAT SOON....

moris said...

wahalla, when cat sleep rat go bit em tail waitin edey fineee? Wahalla edey fine.

Dele I don't think this is about religion! Its just cos they don't want any meetings in any mouques by d boko arams, and yes we remember d news!!!!!! And it was really Noisessssssssssss

'vonne said...

Come on! A raid/surveillance/lockdown would have been better. Why demolish peoples place of worship??? I wouldn't appreciate it being done to my church!
...like seriously, what's the freagn point??

For long.. When I see d gatherings of muslims, d first thing that comes to my mind is terrorism, but I met a friend Aisha, she changed my tots, but with recent developments, I've hated d very air dis ppl brth. One can't rul out the fact that most of them are incnt, but u can't blame d chrstns for hatn d muslims, it could be d other way round, I just pray d govmnt puts a stop to 'dis' b4 dey finish us. Currently I'm in Kaduna for my nysc, I lev here in fear, cnt even go to church, and yet we are one 'Nigeria' maybe its high time we seperate. I still pray for a Biafran country.

NOTE!!! To all LIB‘ ff & readers,

As we all know that religion is a way of life and everyone has a right to live & live peacefully, so if you kill in the name of religion is it worth to be condoled??? So if gov fashola is takin this step ITS TO ENSURE SAFETY FOR ALL!
Do we need to fold our hands like mr presido did?

For the governor to act in such manner definately he has received info of some mishaps going on in those territory...What we all have to do is support our governor with prayers cuz wat he just did is in the best interest of all....

You and i shuld be vigilant to note and report any suspicious move by any persons or bodies to relevant authorities or send alert to media house/ post on facebook with pix...

Since the emergence of boko haram a lot of our muslim brothers have lend their voice to condemn such act but none has actually COME OUT to help fight this menace to a HALT!!!

IF and only IF! mr president had ACTED long before now this boko boiz wunt have become nigeria‘s international notorious celebrity....

Am not a muslim but i believe Islam is a peaceful religion and anyone who makes it look otherwise shuld be revealed!!!....This boko haram boys are not only a threat to xtians but also to muslims too and in general a great threat to existense....

Enough of being sentimental on issues let us all Be wise....alofenna

YEBOSOKO SHEHU said...

TO ALL CHRISTIANS HERE, BOKO HARAM BEHAVIOR ISN'T AN EXCUSE TO BE INCONSIDERATE, & VOICING YOUR NEGATIVE OPINIONS CARELESSLY, OR BEING BLUNTLY RUDE TO MUSLIMS.... BE POLITE. BECAUSE ANYWHERE THIS KIND OF THING HAPPEN THEY WITNESS NATURAL DISASTER. BE CAREFUL ALLAH LAGOSIANS.