Femi Kuti on Nigerian Idol + Win 10 tickets to Friday's semi-final show | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 March 2012

Femi Kuti on Nigerian Idol + Win 10 tickets to Friday's semi-final show

Femi Kuti was on the Nigerian Idol show last week as a guest judge as contestants performed some songs from the Afro beat legend. Also Nigerian Idol will be holdig its top 2 performance/semi-final show this Friday. And ten LIB readers get a chance to see the grand event live. Continue to see what you need to do to win the tickets...

It was a night of unending excitement and a walk down memory lane as Nigerian Idol’s final 3 performed Nigerian songs including songs from Afrobeat legend, Fela Anikulapo Kuti. As Najite took her final bow on the competition earlier in the week, Mercy, Joe Blue and Stephen were the remaining contenders for the Idol title. Added to the list of the judges for the night was Grammy-nominated artiste, Femi Anikulapo Kuti. Guest performers for the night were Jesse Jags and Black Magic who wowed the audience with individual performances.
“It is true when they say time flies when you are having lots of fun,” Project manager Tiwa Medubi highlighted. “It has been an incredibly hectic few months and suddenly a star will be unveiled, this what we all have been waiting for from the first day. We wish the remaining contestants all the best, they deserve to win,”she added.

For the very first time on the Nigerian Idol stage, the performances were opened by the Top 3 contestants with a group song; “Water” by Fela Anikulapo Kuti. The last girl standing, Mercy started the contest proper with her rendition of Victor Uwaifo’s ‘Joromi’. It was an exotic display of her vocal dexterity. She later rounded up her performance for the night with a superlative version of Fela’s song, ‘Zombie.’ Guest judge, Femi Kuti was so impressed that he rated her performance a triple A plus, mentioning that she reminded him of his grandmother and Fela’s mother, Funmilayo.
 Next was Stephen Onochie, who entertained the audience with an energetic and choreographed performance of Flavour’s ‘Adanma.’ It was very evident that he brought his dancing shoes with him as he dazzled the audience with acrobatic steps in addition to his husky voice. For the second time that night, he performed another of Fela’s classics ‘Gentleman.’ His performance was given a pass by most of the judges.
To wrap up the first round of performances Joe Blue appeared in top form with his now legendary ‘Joe Pose’ as he teased the audience with the classic ‘Adaure.’ His last performance of the night was an elaborately orchestrated version of Fela’s immensely popular, ‘Palava’ bringing down the house  with his very energetic and innovative performance.  
It will be another week of edge-of-the-seat suspense as the Nigerian audience cast their votes for their favourite contestants. The result will be determined on Friday one last person leaves the Nigerian Idol stage forever.
According to www.nigerianidol.com, all episodes of the show can be found on the site as well as insider scoop and behind-the scenes pictures and footage.
The winner of Nigerian Idol will join an exclusive list of global Idol alumni, blazing musical trails in the international scene. Idol alumni around the world include American Idol’s Jordin Sparks, West African Idol’s Timi Dakolo and Nigerian Idol’s Yeka Onka.
Nigerian Idol is proudly brought to you by Etisalat in association with Pepsi and Sony. It is supported by Air Nigeria, Kentucky Fried Chicken and Megalectrics (owners of Beat FM, Classic FM and Naija FM).

Question for ticket give away: Who was the guest judge last week on Nigerian Idol
Duh...lol. First ten to answer correctly wins the tickets

45 comments:

Femi kuti ni ke

Atobatele said...

Femi Kuti

pretty tee said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Femi Kuti

devour said...

femi kuti

Femi Kuti

Femi Kuti

Asanwa said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Femi Kuti. 08072541451

Shandy said...

Femi Kuti

Sharon said...

Femi Kuti

Lynn said...

Femi Kuti

segun said...

Femi kuti

Asanwa said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

spiceangel said...

Kuti Anikulapo Femi

Femi anikulapo kuti.ngo,i still get hope.

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Alicia Says... said...

I think Mercy deserves to win!! She killed that Zombie song by Fela!! Damn. For the past week I've been watching clips of Nigerian Idol on youtube and she is very impressive!! And that guy named Stephen needs to go, he annoys me. And Charly Boy should stop being so gay and flirting with the gay male contestants, which Stephen clearly is. And how he made it that far, idk. The best males in my opinion was the cute guy from Oyo state whose parents were pastors (i think) and the guy from the abuja audition that charly told to comb his hair!! Lol he is gay too but was damn good. But MERCY ALL THE WAY!!

iyke said...

Femi Kuti

Olu-omo of d source said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Femi Kuti

chigo said...

femi kuti

vroomangel said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti my number 08033619344

itz_Julez said...

Femi Kuti...

Femi OOOOOOOOOO!
I have had the track Oyimbo on a one track repeat loop in Itunes for the past one week!

AGNES said...

Femi kuti

AGNES said...

Femi kuti

Femi kuti

I might have missed something here...but all you anonymous fellows that answered first how do you intend to be identified? ANYONE can claim anonymous...#beatsme#

Ofilispeaks.com said...

Linda Ikeji

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Ifeanyi Okagbue

Femi Anikulapo kuti

spicymeedee said...

femi anikulapo kuti

Nnamdi A. said...

Femi Kuti

The Guest Judge was
Femi Anikulapo Kuti

Erm... Funmi Iyanda :0

Admin said...

INTERESTING!!! Joe Blue my main man, I hope he wins Naija Idol

ONOME says....................
femi kuti.lollllllllllllll
Lindooo,let's see how u go give ur anonymous tickets.lolll

ayobami kadri III said...

Linda abeg aw I go take get my ticket, am on d first ten, though I commented anonymously but my number is still there. 08072541451

Femi Kuti......Richard George!!!

Femi Kuti

thisfriday@hotmail.com

joan said...

last week's guest judge is olufemi anikulapo kuti.

joan

Welcome to Kike's Place said...

Femi Anikulapo Kuti

wondergal said...

i wanna win a ticket..................miss linda