Bishop Oyedepo set to launch airline company? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 25 March 2012

Bishop Oyedepo set to launch airline company?

Bishop Oyedepo flanked by aides
Let's talk about this. I haven't personally confirmed but there are reports flying around the internet that Bishop Oyedepo, the founder of Living Faith Church Worldwide, also known as Winners Chapel is about to launch an airline company - Dominion Airine.
Here's how  Africareview.com is reporting it:
Nigeria’s richest pastor and self-styled bishop, David Oyedepo, has made a glistening addition to his business empire by floating an airline called Dominion Air. Oyedepo, who a few years ago ignited debate on flamboyant Christianity by acquiring his fourth private jet, is the owner of Dominion Publishing House, Covenant University and an elite secondary school called Faith Academy.
Sources within the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), the agency charged with business registration in Nigeria, confirmed the registration of Dominion Air with David Oyedepo as its chairman. Another source within a Lagos-based insurance firm known to handle most of Oyedepo’s businesses said the airline project had been in the works for six years and was only made a reality this year. The broker who balked at putting figures to the number of aircrafts so far purchased authoritatively said none of them is on lease.
What's your thoughts on this?

220 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220

i think what is confusing is not the fact that the so called MOG is owning an airline, the issue is how does he serve his flock. we see some people here saying that some of his believers can not afford paying school fees, etc! so how comes?? i think he should invest and make sure whatever resources he HAS benefit his followers as well. it is unfair to his followers to say the least cause looks like he is using them to create his own materialistic EMPIRE, that is where he goes wrong. let us use THE WEALTH we have been blessed with to make this place the better world..if we cant, then we are not serving the GOD WE PREACH TO BE SERVING...SHALOM!!!!!

and that is the preaching that the bible asked him to do abi okay oh!!!

Femi said...

u can express ur thot without cursing plz mind ur words leave God to be the Judge of all men,

Hmm, sighing while passing by.

I understand everyone's view but i will like to share mine from both sides.
I want to believe Pastor Oyedepo is a man of God and I also believe for his businesses he will have investors, it can't just be his money or tithes from church he is using to open these businesses( I hope so). Even his own salary will be paid as a pastor and an employee/employer of these businesses, so he should be personally rich as well.I also believe the era were pastors are poor are long gone, even the bible says "a laborer deserves his wages". Even priests from orthodox churches are well paid too now( I am an Anglican so I know).More so, most of us don't live on our salaries because if we do we for all don dey malnourished-I for now.There are times people just bless u both financially and materially u can now imagine if u are a Pastor like Oyedepo many will want to bless you. Even the bible says he will supply our ALL our needs in Christ Jesus
I also think being a pastor doesnt stop you from acquiring or investing in other skills or businesses as far as is the Lord leading you and is work is not suffering for it.
Martin Luther King was a pastor in a baptist church and an activist and he did well in both. Abraham Lincoln was a sound christian as well, most of the people who made American great were and are still great christians/pastors that is why you wonder with all their atrocities they still have in their National motto or pledge "IN GOD WE TRUST" Amercian foundation was built on CHRIST.
So whatever profession a christian wants to go into because before u become a pastor u must first be a christian your RELATIONSHIP with GOD must not suffer cos at the end of the day God will still ask you " DO YOU KNOW ME?".
Remember Abraham was the greatest and richest man in his own time and God still called him MY FRIEND and same with David he was both a warrior, a king, a leader and a Pastor in Music/worship and God still called him a man after my own heart. Same with Solomon the richest man of all time and he was the one who built a temple for God. So as christians we can be rich but it must have a relationship with our heavenly father our wealth must not take HIS place in our lives.
However, i also feel that from all these businesses he is into, his church members should have discount bonuses and the prices should be reasonable for the low class in the society. They should have 100% CSR programmes for the under privilege in the society and mostly if power is changing hands of wealth from the world to the church then everyone in the church must have a touch of that power.He should create more empowerment programmes both for Christians and non-Christians. He should use his businesses and God's grace to speak for the masses and mostly important help save NIgeria. *And if he is already doing all these in secret God bless hin and his church but if not he should start, because Jesus came not for the healthy but for the sick, many nigerians are finacially & materially sick myself inclusive nad we need the rod of moses to deliver* I hope he can be our Moses in Nigeria.
Thank you Linda you are doing a great work and for giving us the avenue to air our feelings.
Even with all the insults, attacks on personalities on this blog i still appreciate everyone because I always leave this page laughing even when I come downcast.
God bless you all and God bless Nigeria!!!

Afta all d rubbish comments, buy ur tickets n fly dominion airlines, we promise u pple world class treatment. Yes WE! I tap into d annointing for greatness. The angry pple here shud vex n open church lets see if d congregation go reach 10. How old was papa when he started ministry? Most of u wud stil go n drop cv o or ask ur children to send cv to d man of God.

hi peeps,

I must admire and big up Pastor Oyedepo for making his 6 yrs Pipe dream become reality. He will surely benefit financially from this and so will some ordinary Nigerians. As an economist myself, what i will like him to do for his tithe paying congregation is to teach them how to fish and not hand out fish( this i believe will minimise or eradicate the dependency of people goin to his church for financial increase.

so what is my proposal?

he should build a church for each n every member of his congregation. that way, Nigerians will truly believe he's in there with them for the fight against poverty which we all can see he has worn via his Establishment. #WINNERSCHAPEL

FINALLY,
Most christians in Nigeria have lost the plot behind christianity. which is the Struggle to live a life on earth that guarantees eternity in heaven thereafter. To sum it up, Christianity which was brought in by white folks to Nigeria is now seen as Tool for Financial prosperity.

Thanking u for reading!!
Giles

Afta all d rubbish comments, buy ur tickets n fly dominion airlines, we promise u pple world class treatment. Yes WE! I tap into d annointing for greatness. The angry pple here shud vex n open church lets see if d congregation go reach 10. How old was papa when he started ministry? Most of u wud stil go n drop cv o or ask ur children to send cv to d man of God.

Astute businessman your right. Business men get loans from banks not churches. And if you decide to do business with money from your congregation then you can also record the donations and pay them dividend. Just do it in a way that it affects and enriches your people. Thats what I believe you intend to do by Church of prosperity.

As for those you feel so scared to to say someone is wrong, you need to wake up. And please try and figure out the difference btwn judging and declaring some1/something is wrong. After all, when your child misbehaves you point it out, does that mean you are judging? Ndi aguuu

Naijababe...don't say such things. Investing in which right places? Whose money is he using to invest? The school he built, can u afford it? How has that school affected Nigeria's ranking among fellow universities in the world? No Nigerian school is among the 1st 100 in the world. Pls call a spade a spade.

@anonymous 10:17pm, try not to confuse people.I thought it was right for a pastor to multitask, i thought a pastor was not to depend on church money, why do you now see this as a problem?

You his follower...what do u have? Do u have a private jet? Do u have a school your members can't afford? Do u have a printing press, do u have an airline? Do you pay tithes of up to 10million naira yet? So...are u saying God isn't blessing you too? Are u saying you are not flourishing? I wish you can open your Bible and see prosperity the way God sees it not the way a fellow man like you has defined it for you. You have the Holy Spirit to teach you God's word...not a fellow man. Let's call a spade a spade.

Oyedepo does not know you. So please speak for yourself. Stop saying WE are big. Does he share his profits with you? You are so jobless that you are comparing yourself with another man's success and you are saying welcome to OUR world.
Young man or whoever you are, in this world, everyone answers his father's name. Answer yours and let Oyedepo answer his.
Stop running another man's vision. Don't live your life only to find out that at the end you spent your life pursuing another man's dream and you killed your dream.

You have been tapping into that anointing for over 5-10 years...what have you got to show for it? Where is your private jet? You can't afford to send 4 of your children to your papa's school. Now you are tapping into dominion airline anointing.
If you have been following the sermon your papa has preached all these years, you would have come across this. Run your vision. Do you have any vision for your life? You are busy helping another man achieve greatness...what about you? Where is your vision? If you have run your vision pls and stop following another man blindly.

People give money to the Jewish synagogue, the same for catholics, from there, they invest in business with the money. How do you think Jewish and catholics make their money.

Bishop Oyedepo, keep investing in the community and country.

mind your business.

ole na MOG

Maya said...

Femillionaire March 26, 2012 8:06 AM, your comment sums up my thoughts exactly. It is a sensitive issue but the fact remains that thorough analysis was not done before the decision was made. Jesus came into the temple and scattered the tables of those doing business and trading there. You cannot serve two masters, unfortunately. Business cannot be mixed with the work of the Lord because it should be too time consuming and every other thing should be centered around that. The airline is unnecessary, people are hungry!

From Man of God to Man of many businesses. May God forgive him. I just pity his followers..they are so brain washed

@Maya..I support you! the Bible said you cannot slave for God and for Riches..that is exactly what this so-called man of God is exhibiting..why an airline if its not to expand his wealth and source of income? his school Covenant..are students enrolled for free or for an affordable amount..and you talk of investing and enriching people

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 220 of 220   Newer› Newest»