236 days of rain coming to Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 28 March 2012

236 days of rain coming to Lagos

The Lagos State Commissioner for the Environment, Mr Tunji Bello, said at press conference yesterday that Lagosians should prepare for 236 days of heavy rain in 2012. What he said:  
The natural phenomena that controlled 2011 rainfall are still in force and as such it has been predicted that rainfall will commence from Thursday, March 22, with a margin of error of four days. To a large extent we will agree that this prediction is true as the rains have started in Lagos. It has also been predicted that the end of the season for 2012 is November 12 with a margin of error of two days; with between November 10 and 14 as probable days. The total length of rainy season for the year is approximately put at 236 days with a margin of error of two days. Like last year, Lagos will experience heavy rainfall with serious intensity.
236 days of rain? This won't be nice!!!

42 comments:

Ceejay Charles said...

Lagosians oya start relocating to abuja command lol

Is he a wizard or spirit? how those he know the exact rainy days to expect? pls! Only Jesus knows.

Yetinde said...

Na belle dis 1 go cause o,plenty "belles".

i want to eat egwusi soup mixed with ikokore.

Shaynee said...

yeepa...and i'm getting married in August!

Guess some island people will be frowning and the mainland people smiling

I hate rainy season but trust me, it'll be preferrable to this terrible heat!!!

NKECHI said...

Hmmmm. When it comes to environmental and weather forcast, I don't trust Nigerian scientists. We dey wait. #nsogbu

Admin said...

May God Save Us All! Linda-Linda, may be we should start building/buying canoes, boats, and turn our car parks to Canoe and Boat parks. These pictures reminds me of last year Sunday heavy rain. A Colleague, lost his pregnant sister in the rain. She was about to put to bed and was referred to another hospital in that rain, she died along the way due to complications and flooded roads, making it impossible for the car to move. This was not reported in any of the news

The Rainmaker and Other stories...

Adeyinka said...

ngwa mehn.....i pity those on the island and its environs sha. 236 whooping days of heavy downpour....thats gangster mehn... e go dey alryt. make i quick relocate to libya

Lol. Olodo u should get educated

Modupsy said...

Before u smile, know dat d total number of those dat lost their lives was twice as much on d mainland than d island.

I doubt this forecast, today is 28th of march and Lagos is still as hot as ever.mtscheeew abeegi make deem no dey forecast rubbish jare- Palo

sorry o!!..weren't people complaining it was too hot!!..and the lack of decent Canals..or should i say built up on Canals..and Reclaimed Land..leaves the water no where to go but to flow into the suburbs!!

This would not be funny at all mane..Islanders...Oya start relocating ASAP....TP

I am, the no Sender.

Let it rain all it can, that's nature for you.

But I put out a prayer for all those who may be victims should the magnitude of the July Sunday 3 2011 rain repeat. Abeg, the destruction and gloom that followed that event should not re-visit Lagosians. Oh God please preserve lives and properties that people do not die In Jesus name. Amen

Thats Ridiculous mehn.... See u folks in December if you haven't washed away by then..:)

But on a serious note a lot of property damage will happen, a lot of roads will be washed away, maybe some landslides ... I hope they have an emergency relief fund in place and ready to help after it subsides. (Oh sh&t my bad, Its Las Gidi that I am talk about here..LOL) Every Man for himself o. I have canoes for rent if anyone needs it, just email Linda to get a hold of me..

Jamb results said...

How true is this?

Ceejay said...

Is this a kind of second dead?

Number one jelılı! Lol

Na u be d Olodo jo! Even in developed countries they will never redict 265days of rain. Hw de won no??? They can only no it will rain for days but not that long...... Next pls!!!!

@poshcateyes said...

This is not funny at all..... I would think that the event of last year has thot the state govt a lesson in predicting, forecasting and preparing for the worse case scenario.... I wonder will will happen in other states!!

Was july 10th not 3rd

WELCOME TO DELE ADEYANJU AGBALETU'S BLOG. said...

you are a dumbhead.O mase o.

Judybullet said...

Nkay I'm on ya side ma dear, I will never trust Nija weather focast at all, scientists ko lolzzzz

Judybullet said...

Nkay I'm wif u, I can never trust Nija weather focast at all, which scientists ?

Atobatele said...

What are they doing to prevent the damaged this would caused? What happened to all the abandoned canals in the state? Is dere any attempt to educate the people on emergency and recovery? I expected Lagos state govt to educate us on what to do if we are to discard the prediction of the Meteorological Agency and help move us forward.

236 dayz? Dts horribl...lagosians pls go liv in d sky

BLOGLORD said...

I hope those who live in the island are prepared for this...
that place is a no go area during the rains and people"s houses always turn into swimming pool.
it is well oh!

Tiff said...

fear grips my heart as i read this...i fear for those of us in the agungi +osapa environs...i hope we wont have any deaths this time...God help us all

200+ days to prepare. Oya govt . Start doing what you need to do to save nigerians don't wait until the rain starts. Govt can not say they where not aware of the rain and let people start dying like flies or birds.

moved back from uk to naija,i always hear about the island flooding so i swore not to live there espeically now that am stilling hussle=ing,even my brother told me to get a house in ajah cuz it is cheaper but thank God,i choose opebi in ikEJA,when it rains there is a mini flood in opebi road but you cant compare it with that island sea......

Peeps need to build boats! Once bitten, twice shy!

ATOM said...

Which sin did Lagosians commit now??? The WHOLE WORLD got only 40days of rain in the days of NOAH...Lagos is getting 6times that amount...na wah o...

there are 365 days in a year of which 'bout 85 days are already gone. Now unless my math fails , especially given the date given for the end of the rainy season, we are going to have rain almost every day till november???? puleeeze! give me a break!

Susan Peters said...

Those of you living in Lagos slums need worry about the rainy season.

kcee said...

Thank God am currently not in lagos. I may have to wait till around the november period to visit lagos again. I don't want to be a victim.

ib said...

so 2012 is a leap year and has 366 days in it.todays the 89th day of the year so w r saying that we have 41 more days of serous heat b4 d heavens open abi?bsides the 22nd has past nii so wen exactly shud we b expecting dis unending shower of blessing?pls ive started building my ark oo...vry funi:

Issokay dis won't b nice oooo. Yinka

chuks okonkwo said...

dis wud definitel be a good season for rain makers if tis is true, coz dey wud stp rain during important ocaasions buh come to tink of it, 236 daiz of rain..Mr Tunji has to go back and do sum calculations coz dats a veri wrong saying ; it can never happen.

Prosper G... said...

Pls we need a mediator to mediate on our meteorologists that are surrounded with mediocrities.... Nigerian meteorologists are mediocres.....