Australian Woman Fined After Scamming Nigerian Scammers | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 25 February 2012

Australian Woman Fined After Scamming Nigerian Scammers

A 23 year old Australian woman, Sarah Jane Cochrane-Ramsey, has been fined after stealing more than $30,000 from Nigerian scammers who were running a fraudulent car sales website. In March 2010, Sarah agreed to open an Australian bank account in her name for a group of Nigerians who said they needed the account to transfer money from a phony car sales website. The Nigerians told her that she could keep 8% of the money funneled through the account, but instead Sarah decided to keep all of it.

Scammer scam scammer, gbo gbo eferibody ode...:-). Continue reading...

The real victims, who thought they were buying cars online, reported the scam to the police, who traced the account back to Cochrane-Ramsey.  Cochrane-Ramsey insists that she didn't know that the people who asked her to open up a bank account in her name were scam artists. She thought they were just normal, everyday strangers who approach people to entice them to open bank accounts to hold proceeds from totally legal activities.

She appeared before the Brisbane District Court and  pleaded guilty to the one-count charge of aggravated fraud. For now, the Judge is allowing Cochrane-Ramsey time to come up with the money to pay-off the victims, while she awaits sentencing in March.

21 comments:

That was rather close. . . . What about the Nigerian guys?. . . Y'Law

Tobenna said...

I wonder when wonders will end in this life sha.lmao

the babe didn't take into consideration that the law works well in her country, unlike naija where the money and scammers for disappear or better still, arrange DPO to free them.

Na real scam scammer scammest

too funny 2 laugh...na wa 4 naija n scammers sha..serves dem rite

Otis Redding said...

My naija guys don fuck up big time. Oyibo job omo naija! Dat one na big disgrace.

Hehehe

kcee said...

She was trying to out smart them and ended up being the scape goat.

Really funny story,,,,,,

Nigeria= scam.

Hahahahahaa....lwkmd4h

ballack said...

this girl,continue reading...hehe

Tonto dike weds Mikel Obi said...

Hey i read that in the newspaper. This is hilarious. I wish more people will scam this stupid Nigerian scammers! They are bring our names to the mod!

Unilag admission list said...

Yeah i love that wella. Unilag DLI entrance examination to hold on 13th march- forms still on sale

Jamb 2013 said...

This is a very funny story...

Ceejay said...

Waoh! Waoh! I like that!

That's what fits Ibos. I hope they learn their lesson this time around that no one tolerates them anymore.
--Gbenga

U scam, I scam, We all Scam together!!

teehee said...

gbenga shut the fuck up and go rub some lotion on that ashy black yoruba skin of yours. your comments here on LIB are pointless and i hope you realize that you are reading d blog of an igbo woman...fnkn loser

..Oga gbenga wat has ibo or hausa got to do with dis? Ode... Tete vide

ole gbe; ole gba no shaking hahahha this is tooo funny