Save Nigeria Group may form political party - Pastor Tunde Bakare | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 13 January 2011

Save Nigeria Group may form political party - Pastor Tunde Bakare

The convener of Save Nigeria Group (SNG), and GO of Latter Rain Assembly, Pastor Tunde Bakare, yesterday, said the group might form its own political party to create an avenue for all the progressives to come together and take over governance in the country.
Speaking at a discussion organised to mark the first year anniversary of SNG , Pastor Bakare noted that there was no difference among the existing political parties, adding that if it required him forming a political party to rescue the nation, he would do that. - Tribune

Religion and politics...

9 comments:

I think he should stick to the pulpit!

Kay said...

Let us face facts, people are tired of watching the present generation of politicians running this country aground daily! Nigerians are the curse of Nigeria! The politicians in power do not mind recycling themselves in power perpetually, and handing over power to their children, as if power is their father's property.

From what I have read about Pastor Bakare, he is so passionate about seeing a prosperous, well-governed, developed Nigeria in his time, and I really love that about him. I am based in the U.K., and each time I read the continuous flow of negative news from Nigeria's political arena, I feel like crying because I have no other country to call my own. I am so scared of the fact that the country I call my own, where I have spent over 25 years of my life cannot develop the way Singapore stepped up to its First World position years ago. The worst part of the story of my country is that politicians and ordinary citizens alike don't care. Each person is now individualising his own progress (As long as I don make am, Naija don better), and we want to make millions anyhow, because that is the accepted definition of success nationwide. Corruption has become an institution in Nigeria. This makes me sad at times.

I don't blame Pastor Tunde Bakare if Save Nigeria Group wants to form a political party. After all, Edmund Burke once said and I quote
"All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing"

Dear reader, please listen to the song on this link to gain understanding of what I am saying
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBxUJd_cI40

I love my country, Nigeria, always.
I was born here, and I don't regret it.
But Nigeria must change.

eeeehn..eehnnn//na there e don dey start from.they re just bringing the bird out of d pocket.who doesnt want to be a president in nigeria..to get a cut out of the national cake righ?hypocrites

Truth Hurts said...

Frankly, this generation currently in power has failed us tremendously. And the more the whole lot of us (religious leaders, young Nigerians, the professional class etc)sit on the fence, criticize and do nothing, the more intractable the rot becomes. I support wholeheartedly what the Save Nigeria Group is doing. They are definitely not perfect but it's the next step since 12 years of democracy with the current political landscape has yielded us nothing.

I say God bless him abundantly for trying and just like God appointed Obama for USA, so HE shall appoint someone for naija! I totally agree with Kay and it's sad that corruption has become the norm for success in naija. Even though I feel hopeless about the situation most times, I gain a little hope knowing that God is still on the throne and one day, the very people that destroy nigeria which are mostly nigerians will be tired of living like the way they do and make amends. I just hope that it happens in my lifetime and I can take my kids home safely without trying to hide from kidnappers n d sorts.

Kay said...

@Truth Hurts.
@Anonymous 4:55p.m.

Thank you very much for your wise, intelligent and patriotic contribution. You are fellow patriots of a Nigeria that can possibly rise from the doldrums.
I appreciate it.

I love my fatherland.
I pray that positive change comes soon.
GOD deliver my beloved country. Amen.

mola said...

Linda, there is nothing wrong with this man trying to fix the current state of Nigeria. If the church and other religious groups stand up and rally for a president and leaders (senate, house of rep etc) that will change state of Nigeria. As long as the intentions are honest and he remains a servant of God then he has the right just like any other Nigerian to fight for the sake of Nigeria. I pray the next president makes sense and is instrumental is bringing uninterrupted electricity to Nigeria. Just that one accomplishment can do wonders for the efficiency of Nigeria.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

must everything become a political party. this man should stick with the church and the group putting his concentration on the enlightenment of the youths on the way forward of the society and urging them to to that which is right so that when they get there they would not be like the rest.

Hmmmm....i respect this M.O.G very much...i would advice him not to taint his name with anything that has to do with politics..though he is fighting a good cause, he should rather do it ON HIS KNEES. When the 'evil forces' that is tormenting this country had been conquered 'spiritually', then the good things we desire for this country would begin to manifest physically.