Patience Jonathan donates bags of rice to the less privileged... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 30 September 2010

Patience Jonathan donates bags of rice to the less privileged...

An exhausted woman on the floor
Our president's wife donated bags of rice to the less privileged at the International Conference Centre in Abuja. The struggle for the rice nearly kill people sef...:-)

More pics when you continue...

policemen battering the scrambling Nigerians

A Federal Road Safety Corps Marshall takes his own share...

Police people sef carry..:-)

Pics thanks to - Femi Ipaye

10 comments:

lmao!

Why are the policemen helping themselves with the bag of rice are they not supposed to be maintaining law and order.

LWKMD

VOTE GEJ AND GET YOUR FREE RICE.

LNGKMFH!

nella said...

lmao!

Why are the policemen helping themselves with the bag of rice are they not supposed to be maintaining law and order.

LWKMD

VOTE GEJ AND GET YOUR FREE RICE.

LNGKMFH!

Joohls said...

niggggggggggeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrriiiiiiaaaaaaaooooooooooooooooooooooo! and we want to celebrate independence with billions of naira. government without priorities

Chic Therapy said...

eyah...its not funny o.is it not povert that will make people hustle for rice

Prism of an Immigrant said...

Sad picture, but it's Nigeria's reality. It is in this same city that the "leaders" are helping themselves to a billion dollar party. Nonesense!!!!

http://lookingglassofanimmigrant.blogspot.com/

JUST BEING ME said...

HA!.....am so embarrassed.....this is a show of shame!...what happened to the collapsed woman?....i weep for my people....feed the hungry so as to buy votes for her hubby abi?.....this is all political agenda & not out of kindness jor!

ChiChiLuv said...

Thank you JBM! Why is it that when it is election time then people remember the less privileged? Every president's wife in the US has a platform that is hers to carry out, currently Ms. Obama's platform is fight childhood Obesity like Nancy Regan's was fight drugs with the slogan Just Say No. I CANNOT for the life of me remember the platform of ANY Nigerian president's wife, however I remember that when it's re-election time, they start coming around with their bags of rice, free umbrella with the president's face emblazon on it. They think Nigerians are stupid, blind, deaf etc. This is the equivalent of France's Marie Antionette's "let them eat cake" and guess what the French did to her...of course, that wouldn't happen in Nigeria, we will each the rice and be grateful for the crumps.

We don't ask much from our politicians therefore we don't get much in return. We accept a bag of rice INSTEAD of asking pertinent questions from candidates about their agenda, their plans for the country, CONCRETE plans not just the same old generic "I will stop corruption" yeah, HOW? What will you put in motion to stop bribery and corruption?

IF somebody asks that woman what her husband is about as a leader, she can't articulate it! She probably wasn't even there with the truck sef to hand out the rice, probably sent a couple of peons to do it.

I want to celebrate Nigeria's 50th year but I can't! We dey blow money on parties, what are we celebrating? Our great progress since the British gave us the reins of power? The great progress made in establishing law and order? great infrastures? get social programs for the poor, the old?

make i go jare!

ChiChiLuv said...

I don't know if this went through before but it bares repeating:

Thank you JBM! Why is it that when it is election time then people remember the less privileged? Every president's wife in the US has a platform that is hers to carry out, currently Ms. Obama's platform is fight childhood Obesity like Nancy Regan's was fight drugs with the slogan Just Say No. I CANNOT for the life of me remember the platform of ANY Nigerian president's wife, however I remember that when it's re-election time, they start coming around with their bags of rice, free umbrella with the president's face emblazon on it. They think Nigerians are stupid, blind, deaf etc. This is the equivalent of France's Marie Antionette's "let them eat cake" and guess what the French did to her...of course, that wouldn't happen in Nigeria, we will each the rice and be grateful for the crumps.

We don't ask much from our politicians therefore we don't get much in return. We accept a bag of rice INSTEAD of asking pertinent questions from candidates about their agenda, their plans for the country, CONCRETE plans not just the same old generic "I will stop corruption" yeah, HOW? What will you put in motion to stop bribery and corruption?

IF somebody asks that woman what her husband is about as a leader, she can't articulate it! She probably wasn't even there with the truck sef to hand out the rice, probably sent a couple of peons to do it. This is her very SAD version of campaigning for her husband, I guess.

I want to celebrate Nigeria's 50th year but I can't! We dey blow money on parties, what are we celebrating? Our great progress since the British gave us the reins of power? The great progress made in establishing law and order? great infrastures? get social programs for the poor, the old? excellent hire education? the building of great hospitals? Na wetin we dey celebrate?

Did I not just hear that a bomb went off in Abuja?

Shadenonconform said...

This literally brought tears to my eyes. So Nigerians have become cows or animals? And people are scrambling for a bag of rice? Wow Nigeria, wow! This is just too sad. Poverty is a major biatch!!

May God save us and may we all go out and vote in a leader/leaders that will steer our country in the right direction.

I don't mind to belittle the reality of hunger and poverty in nigeria truth is, not all those fighting to collect that free bag of rice are actually hungry- some of them will take the bag and sell it off. Remember that scheme obasanjo launched early in his presidency to give every poor person 9000 naira? In the end, the scheme was hijacked by people who did not deserve the money-I remember trying to persuade my cousin not to go and collect the money as she was already working and her persence would prevent the really deserving from collecting the money- did she listen? NO! Just look at the policeman who anonymous@10.05 spotted collecting his share of free bag of rice