"Pulling Out" Rivals Condoms, Study Says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 October 2010

"Pulling Out" Rivals Condoms, Study Says

Ask most sexually active people today about the pullout method as an effective form of contraception and you're likely to induce eye-rolling and snickers.

But withdrawal before ejaculation during intercourse is more than just "better than nothing," a new study claims, noting that it is nearly as effective at preventing pregnancy as condoms.

The study, titled "Better than nothing or savvy risk reduction practice? The importance of withdrawal," appears in the latest edition of the journal Contraception.

The authors find:

"If the male partner withdraws before ejaculation every time a couple has vaginal intercourse, about 4% of couples will become pregnant over the course of a year. However, more realistic estimates of typical use indicate that about 18% of couples will become pregnant in a year using withdrawal. These rates are only slightly less effective than male condoms, which have perfect- and typical-use failure rates of 2% and 17%, respectively."

Read more

6 comments:

African Weight Loss Diva said...

As a doctor, and as a female, i agree that while pulling out does work, its not adviseable. most times, it fails. Most men are not able to pull-out on time. in my opinion, if you are going to do something, do it well abeg. whats the point of getting all excited and pulling out at the peak? lol

Date Nigerian Girls said...

My advice is kinda funny, but i think it will help .

Why not combine condoms with withdrawal?

Or how un na see am ?

please please please, do not try the withdrawal method- it is not a reliable method of protective sex no matter what the researchers tell you. And remember, stick to one sexual partner.

::::::S::::::D:::::: said...

Hell no. Withdrawal method sounds primitive. Even with sticking with one sexual partner, how about the high risk of STD, especially HIV? Super strength condoms, always. I take risks, but, not this type of risk. What if I was married? We’d use artificial insemination to make babies, then at any other times – raincoat shall be used. “It kills romance / relationship” So let it be. I’d rather kill relationship / romance / love than indirectly sign my own death warrant by getting carried away and not using super strength triple padded condoms :)

For me, I used the withdrawal method in my first year of marriage becos we didn't want a baby yet... and condoms are just boring! I didn't use the pill cos I didn't want to get fat.

Abstinence is the best outside marriage..no risks attached! 100% guaranteed!

johnreis said...

Mennn Skin to Skin is tha best to me oo... Sex is not meant for small pikin, i believe as a matured man when having sweet sex you have to soji your self, so as not to throway your mighty spamatozoa inside the woamans imuquantus. Condom na Bullshit... anything worth doing is worth doing well... if i am having sex, i have to enjoy am to the fullest. And what i enjoy most about skin to skin is when i feel the wetness of my Ochuzor pussy juice on my hard cock... and the muscle of her cunt ring holding my cock firm.... my God skin to skin sex is good... Bone pregnancy....Oyinbo to se pencil lo se erazer... God wey do pregnancy na him still give Doctors idea to invent abortions pills and procedures.... Abi ki lo ni mo wi?

If you have any objection to my opinion, please never hesitate to drop it in my suggestion box here; betalyfe2xl@yahoo.com