Nigerian Biophysicist wins $500, 000 Science Prize | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 2 October 2010

Nigerian Biophysicist wins $500, 000 Science Prize

Dabiri
30year old biophysicist Genius, Nigerian Dr. John O. Dabiri is among the 23 winners selected across the globe in this years MacArthur Genius Awards, a fellows Program that awards “Genius” grants to exceptional inventors,  innovators and other creative types.

The MacArthur Foundation was quoted as saying that Dabiri is “investigating the  hydrodynamics of jellyfish propulsion, which has profound implications for our  understanding of evolutionary adaptation and such related issues in fluid dynamics as  blood flow in the human heart.”

This year’s honorees were contacted by The John D. and Catherine T.  MacArthur Foundation and offered $500,000 each with no strings attached over the next  five years to pursue work in their field of interest.

Biography
John Dabiri is an Assistant Professor in the Graduate Aeronautical Laboratories and the Option of Bioengineering at Caltech.  He graduated from Princeton University with a B.S.E. degree summa cumlaude in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering in June 2001.  In September 2001, he came to Caltech as a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellow, Betty and Gordon Moore Fellow, and Y.C. Fung Fellow in Bioengineering. Under the supervision of Professor Morteza Gharib, he earned an M.S. degree in Aeronautics in June 2003, followed by a Ph.D. in Bioengineering with a minor in Aeronautics in April 2005. He joined the Caltech faculty in May 2005. In 2008, he was selected as an Office of Naval Research Young Investigator for research in bio-inspired propulsion, and Popular Science magazine named him one of its "Brilliant 10" scientists.

7 comments:

NINA said...

hey this is the work of God!!!...some nija children are just so brilliant..i almost want to cry...and he looks so young!!! oh God please let my son be as smart or even smarter that him in Jesus name..i use him as a point of contact...AMEN

Spesh said...

This are the kind of stories that make us proud to be Nigerians,regardless of all the chaos...
Congrats to him!

Theresa said...

People like Dabiri give our country hope in the face of hopelessness and helplessness. May he continue to make the nation proud, and may all Nigerians wherever we may be, aspire to be the best we can be, always.

Nigerians have a lot of negative vibe about them especially among some Americans bcos many of them just seem angry(i guess they got scammed by nigerians).

But what thing I know for sure, Nigerians are some of the smartest, hardworking, happy people I know. I am very proud to be a Nigerian.

NO OFFENCE BUT @ EVERYBODY THAT WANTS THEIR SON/DAUGHTERS TO BE LIKE THIS OR BETTER, DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR BY TRAINING YOUR CHILDREN AND LETTING THEM KNOW THAT WHATEVER BACKGROUND THEY COME FROM EDUCATION AND KNOWLEDGE IS IMPORTANT, DONT SIT THERE AND SAY YOU USE SOMEONE AS A POINT OF CONTACT, ABEG WATCH AND PRAY NOT JUST PRAY ALONE. MOST PARENTS LAY DOWN THE WRONG FOUNDATION FOR THEIR KIDS AND YET THEY EXPECT THEM TO TURN INTO BILL GATE OVERNIGHT....... DO THE WORK AND THEN GOD SHALL BLESS YOUR EFFORTS

skankmypeaceofmind said...

this is what is worth celebrating and not some limp ass country.

Goodness hes HOT! I am a sucker for smart guys.