Aki gets National Honour. Pawpaw ignored! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 July 2010

Aki gets National Honour. Pawpaw ignored!

The Federal Government recently released the list of recipients for 2009 National Honours Awards. There are twenty two awardees for Members of the Federal Republic (MFR). Among the recipients is Nollywood actor, Chinedu Ikedieze aka Aki, a graduate of Mass Communication from the Institute of Management Technology (IMT),

“I see my name on the list of Nigerian for the award of Member of the Federal Republic of Nigeria [MFR]. It's Gods way of repaying me for all my effort towards and contribution to the growth of Nollywood in the country and the world in general,” Aki Said

What a lot of people in Nollywood don't understand was how Chinedu made the list when several veterans who started the race before him have not even been considered for the honours.

But that is not where I am coming from. It's not how long, but how well, right? My question is; is it fair for Government to have given Chinedu National Honour while ignoring Osita, (Paw Paw)? They started their careers same time, featured in the same movies, won many awards...so why ONLY Aki?

Please share your thoughts.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

20 comments:

Dith said...

yes it should be given to them both!

doll (retired blogger) said...

congrats to him o!

Well as far as i'm concerned, Pawpaw doesn't pass across any message in his acting. He's rass and could do well with some grooming. If i were to make the decision, I'd probably do the same thing.

Kudos to Aki.....He deserves it....

Joohls said...

the award is meaningless so the other guy shouldnt worry. the country is in a shitty state, i wouldnt wear a national medal from it. yea i know i sound depressing. cant be helped. the reason why they can honour only one of them is that the country is crappy! e fit be administrative error sef!

damola said...

me too, i want national honour oh.. am serious oh!

Reptyle said...

The fact is that the so-called national awards have gone to the dogs in recent time and no one should take them seriously anymore. How does someone begin to justify the nomination of this gentleman for an MFR when veterans like Olu Jacobs, Pete Edochie, Justus Esiri, Joke Silva, Bukky Ajayi, Toun Oni (RIP)etc. cannot even boast of an MON? The national awards are a huge joke and should be viewed as such.

linda nawa 4u oh.

Most of the recipients of National Awards are nominated by their governors. Aki and Pawpaw must not be from the same state. Kudos to Aki though!

nooooooooooooooo
Aki started before paw paw oooooooh
And Aki can act better than pawpaw oooh

I think it's because he is a graduate and paw is not (correct me if i am wrong) .. may be the government sees it as "everyone should get a good education without regards to their intended career .. talent helps but education can help go a long way .. education gives u a farther stretch and edge.

Joohls said...

Anonymous 4:18pm. you are not making any sense. university education is not for everybody. if you can't afford it nko? university where sef? all those deadly institutions that are always on strike? graduate ko student ni

Myne said...

What's the criteria for these awards? Congrats to him though.

Alicia says...

Osita is from Imo while Chinedu is from Abia.
the awards is bullshit anyway.... like someone else said Pete Edochie and others.
but i do believe Osita graduated from University as well as Chinedu.

Nonye said...

I dont think Aki is a better actor than pawpaw but when a man's time comes,it simply comes....that they acted alongside doesnt mean they have the same destiny

Nonye said...

....please guys i need your comments on a question i put up on my blog...nonyeanike.blogspot.com

preye said...

i am happy for him. what of ppl who buy their way to an ofr or mfr. pity for osita though but i think his will come soon.

maybe he made his nominator laugh?

Linda ingored? what is ingored? oh girl; do quick change that thing.

AWESOME EMMANUEL said...

congrate! chinedu(Aki)....Osita! Don't worry....your days are number...maybe when next presiden emerg, it will be your turn(Pawpaw)keep doing your good work guyz

Congrats to chinedu (Aki). And as 4 Osita (PawPaw) i just want to let you knw dat God's delay is not God's denial hold strong coz patience is generous!! LUV U BOTH!!!!