Hadzialic revealed that she had been stopped by police in the southern city of Malmo and tests showed she had an alcohol level of 0.2 grams per liter of blood, just the level considered an offense in Sweden.
She made the announcement at a press conference at government headquarters in Stockholm saying:
"That was the biggest mistake of my life... I will take responsibility. I announce my intention to resign from my ministerial post". "I understand that a lot of people are disappointed in me. And I am angry with myself, and certainly I deeply regret it," said the young politician seen as the future of the Social Democrat party.Hadzialic was born in Bosnia and immigrated to Sweden at the age of five, in 1992, with her parents fleeing the war in the Balkans.
She became involved in the Social Democrats youth movement in high school and went on to be elected a municipal councillor at age 23.
She became the youngest government minister in Sweden's history at the age of 29 in 2014.
Source: The Times of Isreal/AP
34 comments:
NORMAL PEOPLE LIVING NORMAL WAYS OF LIFE...IF NA MY COUNTRY NOW NA ANOTHER STORY ENTIRELY.
Eyaaa.
Vad tråkigt
Oh well...
SHAME
Hian! Down here they drive under the influence, cause accidents, fly abroad for treatment, then come back and continue from where they stopped.
I am a lawyer and drinking and driving is not a crime! #runsaway
In Nigeria even with all the evidence mounted against them, they would superglue themselves to that leadership position.
No shame in them
In Nigeria, the reverse is the case. Nigerian leader will never resign even they have blood on their hands. They don't have shame at all.
thats so cool.
nigeria .
paddling with the budget still saying is not a crime.
false declaration of asset trial still on
just tied of this country.this is a fuckdemocracy
Compare that to a situation where all the heads of the law-making bodies in a country are facing one charge or the other, yet they continue to parade themselves from court to the house, presiding over sittings!
She has contributed her quota. Linda take note!
True example of good leadership...pls the Swedish government should forgive and reinstate her.If na naija now those old and extremely greedy politicians go wan die put.never head of politicians resign their positions in this country.shame!!!
Dogara nd co una dey hear am.y is everything abt this country different.die hard politicians.ordinary beer
That's a sane society. In this country, even if a minister is caught with liquor 100% as blood and a trailer of alcohol, he'd still keep his seat
www.bonitabislam.com
This one for Nigerian politicians is an impossible act people who even in the face of being caught red-handed as criminals will still have the boldness to tell everyone listening that no body can remove them
Not shame but honorable for owning up to her offense and resigning unlike our armed robbers politicians
Quite sad!
Ohhh
Aida is BAE.
Like serzly, just that? Na wao, not in naija anywayz
I must say I admire her in doing the right thing in tendering her resignation but, being that her alcohol level was just at the boundary of what is considered a crime is in Sweden, if I were the prime minister and if she was good at her job, I won't accept her resignation I'd rather place her suspension as punishment, after all they are politicians who have done worse and there's nothing anyone could do about it
GOOD TO SEE
Too bad...I'm disappointed in u too
And our (dis)honourable Reps, senators, ministers or whatever they call their self will not resign over misuse or embezzlement of public fund not over budget padden
See people with integrity! For Naija, even if she steal CBN carry go her village... she go dey brag seff! The rot & decay in this part of the world is really a sad story!
U cannot even stop the driver of a minister to test for Alcohol not to talk of a minister in Nigeria. We have a long way to go here.
Integrity, principled,honesty and responsible! Dogara, Leo Ogah and other thieves in govt , do you all have that? No! Sweden govt should withhold that loot from Abacha, pls! Don't pay this corrupt govt in Nigeria! They have already padded the budget!
chai
U de mad,tell that to ur stupid politicians
I hope our politicians would learn from this young lady because I know that if it was a Nigerian politician that was caught driving under the influence of alcohol, he would claim it was not him, but someone that looks like him or the twin. Example is the case of the House of Representatives members that were reportedly caught soliciting for sex in America, but still claim they were not the one. Only God know where we got the crop of politicians we have in Nigeria from....
It is rare for a naija politician to admit let alone resign...#onMYway...
Obvious she is well groomed by her parents.My baby girl there are better opportunities ahead.You left when the ovation is loud...muaah I salute your courage and d real woman inyou.