The Northern Christian bodies said recent political happenings and 'corruption' in CAN with particular reference to what they described as the "controvesial" emergence of the new CAN President, Rev. Supo Ayokunle(above), forced them to pull out of the Christian body.
At a joint press conference in Jos in Plateau state, Rev. Luka Shehu of Concerned Christians of Nigeria and Hon. Peter Luka of Northern Nigerian Christians accused the leadership of CAN of acts of corruption as well as neglect of northern Christians especially in the North-East.
"Considering our common shared values and peculiarities as Christians from CAN and after wide consultation among Christian leaders, traditional rulers, youths and women, we under this auspices from the north have unanimously decided to revert to the pre-independence Northern Nigeria Christian Association,".

44 comments:
Nigeria should be broken as well
Their business
What... No division in the body of Christ!
His decision mbok
Northerners will always behave like Northerners.. But there is truly corruption in the CAN
I'm totally in support, Christianity is under siege in the country but CAN heavyweights are flying private jets upandan. What the northern Christians have done is what every Nigerian who find themselves in dire straits should do. Take charge of your own life and work out your salvation, those who live in comfort and safety don't feel the urgency of your situation and won't lend their efforts to your emancipation. This could be the start of good things to come. Too much 'unity' without friction is bad.
Na wa o,politics in the church again? No wonder God said judgement will start from the church
Muslims@work
Imaging ooo is there any thing like northern Christian huh? FREEBORN WEPT.All hausas are Muslims like it or not.
They don give this fool money to break out so that they will be dancing the tune of Muslims and their pedophiles kings.
CHRISTIANS OPEN UNA BLIND EYES OOOOO
SO POLITICS DE FO GOD PLACE???? STUPID CONTRY, TANK GOD SAY GOD GIV ME WIDOM TO GET SENSE N NOT TO GO CHURCH DE PAY MONI
Muslims@work
Imaging ooo is there any thing like northern Christian huh? FREEBORN WEPT.All hausas are Muslims like it or not.
They don give this fool money to break out so that they will be dancing the tune of Muslims and their pedophiles kings.
CHRISTIANS OPEN UNA BLIND EYES OOOOO
Division in the church....kai. Just baffling..
ha jisike
GOD HELP YOUR PEOPLE O
Can a divided house stand? Lord have mercy.
Division started from heaven, so its a new thing
People in Charger of CANt are busy flying the world and enjoying politics money, forgetting the real issues at hand
Hmmmmmmmmm
Hmm
Nigeria needs to revert back to what it was pre-independence. This is a sign from Jehovah
These are politicians not christians.
I doubt it is wisdom from God because you sound so unlearned and razz. Why didnt God give you wisdom to go to school?
Nigeria should divide as well
Observing from afar,no comment we don't dabble on what doesn't concern us.but the reverse is the case if it were to be the other way round,insults,castigation would have been the norm here.
U've said it all
The truth is that the Northerners are never willing to stay under any leadership that's not controlled by them and take it or leave it if they're in the position of the Niger Delta, they would have separated from Nigeria
IF NOT FOR OIL IS SEEN NOW THAT NORTH AS A REGION NEED THEIR OWN NATION MORE THAN D EAST
I can't deal biko. Linda take note!
And divided they will fall... I'd like to ask the Nnca what does Christianity mean to them, Is it to breakaway to form you own group when you have issues? To me what they are doing is not in the interest of Christianity but simply a power tussle..
Chai if I was a northern Muslim I should be panicking. Chukwu Okiki Abiama is At work
Africa will be one , first we must get Biafra
It's well with our Christian brothers in the northern
Pls let us not condemn their actions if we are truly Christians. They had issues with CAN recent election. I remember that the Catholic Church also boycotted same elections due to some irregularities. Additionally, It is very difficult to be a Christian minority in the North amidst the high population of Muslims with policies/culture/tradition that Non-Muslims have to tolerate/endure for sake of peaceful co-existence. How many times do we reach out to them to encourage them? They do suffer a lot of persecution but we have it easy here in the South. The right thing is for CAN to reach out to them and solve this issue... Parable of the lost sheep you may say. We are all one in Christ, however CAN leadership should be above board not to cause any division in the Church. Truly CAN's job is herculean as it is umbrella organization of thousands of denominations in Nigeria. #BringBackOurNorthernChristianBrethrens.
JUST THE WAY GENERAL OVERSEERS ARE USING MONEY CONTRIBUTED FROM ALL OVER THE COUNTRY TO DEVELOP THEIR REGION ONLY. WHY ARE ALL THE UNIVERSITIES BUILD BY PENTECOSTAL CHURCHES IN SOUTH-WEST? YORUBA WILL NEVER LEAVE TRIBALISM.
THAT WAS WHY ONE GHANA PASTOR LEAST WINNERS AFTER THEY DEMANDED 100% OF ALL THE MONEY MADE IN GHANA TO BE SENT TO NIGERIA. TOO BAD.
THE REASON WHY WE ARE WINTESSING PROLIFERATION OF CHURCHES IS BECAUSE OF MONEY. RATHER THAN ALLOW EVERY BRANCH TO KEEP THEIR MONEY (TITHE AND OFFERING) AND PAY TITHE TO THE HEADQUARTERS, THEY ASK FOR 100% TO BE SENT TO HQ. THAT IS WHY THE SAME PEOPLE WHO RAISED THE MONEY THAT IS TAKEN TO HQ WILL BE ASKED TO RAISE MONEY FOR CHURCH BUILDING, TAKE CARE OF THEIR PASTORS ETC. WICKEDNESS IN HIGH PLACES.
l/
Not good at all!
Who dem help
Thank You Ma'am article was very nice and very helpful and easy to understand.
We need to check the Salvation experience of the Northerners that breaks away because DIVISION is not part of the FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT. Division is not the way out. Did God told them to break away
Since Pentecostal churches have taken over churches... They have brought in foolishness
Please the North should also break away from Nigeria totally. We are tired of their mentality
It is in the bible that we should go to church and worship God. That means it is not God that gave you wisdom. Even if there is corruption in church, serve God and go. Leave God to judge the corrupt ones. It is between them and God. It is non of your business.
Northerners are all thesame. Whether muslims or christian, northerners are all thesame. Wicked people
Dont blame them. It is where they find peace that they build universities. Will the north allow them to build a christian University in their land? They are probably scared and do not want suicide bombers to attack the university. If you were in their shoes, will you build a university in North East? With all these boko haram wahala, who would want to invest in the north when you are not sure of security.