“The ponmo processors use heaps of burning tyres, thereby, emitting thick toxic smoke into the air endangering residents of the adjoining neighbourhood. This bonfire emits a thick toxic smoke which spreads from within the complex to adjoining neighbourhoods, endangering the lives including those of the processors themselves. I wish to make it clear that the use of tyres for cow skin processing was reported to the State government sometime ago and was dealt with. The return to this unhygienic method of processing in the complex leaves much to be desired and this is why the state government has closed the ponmo section of the complex” he said
News, Events, Entertainment, Lifestyle, Fashion, Beauty, Inspiration and yes... Gossip! *Wink*
Monday, 15 August 2016
Lagos state government seals off ‘ponmo’ processing section of Oko-Oba abattoir
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

23 comments:
It's a good thing to do..buh instead of closing down the processing section u could have as well advised them to use firewood
It's that possible, people no gree oo
ok
They are sha playing rough play!! Not that they will now ban kpomo sha, that patience the citizens have will just vanish kpatakpata
PONMO saving Nigerians lives since 1903
GOOD TO SEE
Is there no ther way of roasting kpomor! I mean without tyres
Okk
That's people's business and source of income that they are toyin with..
As if they really care for the citizens around,APC chieftain got lot of properties and live aroun dat area.
okay!
Una don fail oh!!! Kpomo has been saving some people for ages...as a matter of fact i love this delicacy well spiced with pepper and onion,even when i know it has no nutritional value,kikiki #LongThroat
We no go gree oh
That's a good thing to do. Infact the processing with the tires also stand as a longtime threat to the health of the consumers eg cancer.
Sealed off wasn't the right thing to do, instead create enabling processing means for them. for instance, considering the band of importation of rice and how seriously is affecting the citizens, just imagine a bag of rice to be purchase at a cost of N 19, 000.
It's for the better. Linda take note!
Cancer!!! I laugh in chinese...Like ponmo came into existence 10 years ago...since when av pple been eating ponmo...its now they wld now have cancer?..if its washed well,scraping all the black things away from the body...then its fine to eat...
Am telling you..the government just takes decisions since they know there wont be any opposition...looool
Not too good.
All you fucking illiterates on LIB who have access to data plans and no access to your dead brain cells. STOP laughing in Chinese and start crying for yourself in English.
The commenter related cancer to the processing methods ie. Tires and not the ponmo itself.
Dummy.
ponmo no get advert yet is still dey sell pass indomie noodles
Lives matter
dear lagos state government, this not a good enough reason to seal off ponmo processing section, if the usage of tyre is hazardous to health, then the government should enforce another means of burning the skin that is why you are the government, or even subsidise the other means to make it affordable for the masses to consume ponmo. because ponmo is the only meat the poor can afford in nigeria, unlike here in england where ponmo is more expensive than beef or lamb as nigerian style smoked ponmo is banned in the uk as well only sold under the counter, but for a good reason, they reckon the skin harbors disease