Amid economic challenges, inter-state transporters plan 70% fare hike | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 19 August 2016

Amid economic challenges, inter-state transporters plan 70% fare hike

Weighed down by serious economic challenges and poor infrastructure, private transport companies in the country say they may have no choice but to increase fares by as much as 70% to stay in business.

The transporters stated this at a stakeholders’ meeting in Lagos put together by the Association of Private Transport Companies of Nigeria (APTCON).

They lamented that the high cost of maintaining their fleet and poor state of roads in the country among other challenges have greatly increased their cost of doing business, threatening their ability to stay afloat.

The transporter agreed, that “as a means of survival, to increase transport fares by 70%, beginning end of third quarter 2016, if no immediate help or support comes from government and its agencies”.

Stakeholders at the meeting included the FRSC, LASTMA, NARTO, God Is Good Motors (GIGM), Chisco Transport, Libra Motors, Cross Country, Eagle Transport, GUO Transport, Ekeson, EFEX Executive, First Tarzan Motors and Ecobus.

Others were Jetvan Automobiles, Toyota Nigeria ltd, Goddy Edosa Motors, Fairplus International, Greener Line, Harmony Transport, TRACAS, Okeyson Motors and Ohomba Line, as well as Access and Wema Banks, among others.

A communiqué released at the end of the APTCON stakeholders’ meeting noted the following:

1, That road transportation remains the most visible and effective means of moving people and goods within the Nigerian economy.

2, That the road transport sector has, over the years, suffered severe neglect with poor attention paid by successive governments to development of appropriate infrastructure.

3, That the absence of decent infrastructure has been a major setback for efficient delivery of service and value in the road transport sector.

4, That, being in the throes of economic recession, road transport operators have seen their little margins completely wiped away by inflation, rising cost of funds, double taxation, unstable value of the Naira as well as unnecessary harassments and extortion by security operatives.

5, That the prostrate state of the automotive industry has made importation of passenger buses not only prohibitive but unsustainable.

6, That, in the face of poor Return-on-Investment (ROI), the road transport business is in danger of imminent collapse with attendant job losses and damaging impact on the economy.

The group therefore resolved as follows:

1, To alert government and its agencies on the continued relevance and strategic importance of the road transport sector to the overall well-being of the Nigerian economy.

2, To fully mobilize its members to press for urgent rehabilitation of dilapidated infrastructure hindering efficient delivery of service and value to the Nigerian public

3, To seek Federal Government’s immediate intervention by way of a bailout to cushion the harsh business climate and return the industry to sustainability.

4, To seek import reliefs, where necessary, for its members as a short-term measure for fleet replenishment while the automotive industry receives government attention.

5, As a means of survival, to increase transport fares by 70%, beginning end of third quarter 2016, if no immediate help or support comes from government and its agencies.

6, To set up a committee for the harmonization of membership and to rally all operators for the execution of all defined tasks as may be resolved.

41 comments:

Things will get better in no time.

*www.bonitabislam.com*

Right

Check the best online portal here.....

This is serious,may God see us through this wicked and harsh dispensation...

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

LIKE SERIOUSLY...NIGERIA IS DONE

well expected

Una no kii us for dis country.

Who says i cant trek to my village?
Sir_Balex

Lube-section said...

Nigerian suicide attempts will be on the increase. This year alone...we have recorded 231 suicides.

Change is here!

Enter your comment...Government increase tax, fuel, kerosene, diesel, tax without increasing salary. Now private sector want to increase tfare by a whole 70%., all na for the head of the common man haba. This government una bad oo. Dem say when two elephant dey fight na grass they suffer it. Buhari means turn upside down in Igbo language, I think he needs to change that name ASAP, because I think it is working against him.

Hard times things. Guys, if you want to make extra income, click here http://TheTasksPay.com/?user=36878

Enter your comment... Buhari means turn upside down in Igbo language, and I think that man needs to change that name because it is working against him. His first time in government things were very difficult now it's repeating itself. Meanwhile I just bought two rottweiler dog and I named them Sheriff and Abang

Buhari means turn upside down in Igbo language, and I think that man needs to change that name because it is working against him. His first time in government things were very difficult now it's repeating itself. Meanwhile I just bought two rottweiler dog and I named them Sheriff and Abang

Enter your comment... Buhari means turn upside down in Igbo language, and I think that man needs to change that name because it is working against him. His first time in government things were very difficult now it's repeating itself. Meanwhile I just bought two rottweiler dog and I named them Sheriff and Abang

Enter your comment... I got a new dog today guess what I just named it amaechi

HMMMMMM

Enter your comment... My neighbors dog is called buhari, very stubborn and greedy

This country is finished!

Enter your comment...Jesus is coming back soon. Give your life to Christ

You be presido no be for mouth ooh, Apc and buhari do something! People are dying in hardship in this country, everybody is being affected! What kind of wicked administration is this? They don't even hear our cries nor feel our pain... They keep recovering billions and trillions from the pdp but nothing to show for it, life just keeps getting harder!

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

THEM WAN KILL D MASSES NAWA O.

Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin said...

THEM WAN KILL D MASSES NAWA O.

Nsogbu dikwa! Linda take note!

**** EWOOOOOOO..... BUHARI E'BUHARIALA ANYI OH! NA DIE WE DEY!!

VALENTINO NERO said...

It's time to start experiencing d real change Bokohari promised us. I said it bofore d election n after d election that thing will get worst under Bokohari. Sai Buhari una never see anything valentino_nero@yahoo.com

Why didnt i see ABC and the young there cos they are my best. Back to d topic, Abia state govt really need to do something about their road. Its becoming an embarrasment really. What do u all do in dat govt houz that ur roads are now a dead trap for travellers. Emeka Ihedioha, u call urself a governorship aspirant byt d road to ur dear village is like otammiri and u are not ashamed to comtest. Lemme not even mention Rochas name self cos that one is an excuse of a governor. Very shamelss set of politicians that calls themeslves leaders. Well, i will keep praying for u people cos God has commanded us to pray for our leaders

$ = 365.$ = 365.$ = 365.$ = 365.$ = 365.UNA DEY DEY SPEAK QUEENS ENGLISH.
NO GO TAKE DESTINY TO UR HANDS.KEEP WAITING FOR THE WORST GOVT IN NIG HISTORY.KEEP WAITING.

Hrm paul said...

Na wa o we thank Buhari oo this na the change way him promise us ooo. From here to Onitsha would be 10k flat we thank buhari o

Hard times are here. God na. Ur hand we dey oh, linda BIKO...

Chinedu said...

And allowances and salaries of the ordinary masses will not increase...

2019 pls do n come

I don't like to place a course to people can you just shot up and allow the govt to talk pls don't be stupid

God that will punish Tinubu that because of his selfish interests put us in this mess since all my life i never hear of any union like this, God please deliver us from the hand of this devourers

It's definitely a sin to be a Nigerian, one.mumu man is now pushing for user to start paying 9% tax on sms data and voice calls, instead of making the country better they'll chasing after the wind...make 2019 come biko!

APTCON is in a position to address the speed limiter policy recently made by the FRSC with implementation date commencing from 1st of October, 2016. Wonderful idea though looking obsolete as there are devices that can sent alert to notify owners of vehicles whenever the driver exceed set limit. The driver is sanctioned on getting back to base. And a lot of other speed calming solutions used in advance clans. The FRSC can be included on such platform to receive alerts that will give time, location and date such bridge was committed. Such driver can be fined thereafter. Am aware that some transport companies has adopted the use of speed limiter in their fleet for over 10 years now. My main point is how can FRSC suggest a price for the device and had gone ahead to select 16 companies to run the package for them as if we are not operating an open market economy. I have been reliably informed that a company is willing to offer to Nigerian vehicle owners a more advanced speed limiter that will not deep a hole in their pocket with one year free maintenance and 3 years replacement warranty ( factory defect only). The price they are willing to offer is N22,500 inclusive of installation. How do you match this with N36,000 and in some cases N45,000 with current exchange rate. Nigerian should shine there eyes.

Next pls

We should reflect on APTCON has stated here, and would contribute thus:
Government to intervene, by working on the roads for truly our roads have collapsed, and road transportation, is part of the economy.
APTCON, do not strike as you have raised your hand. Remember, that the incident of your intended act is going to be on the poor masses. Consider on how to do your business to benefit the poor masses, and God will bless more.