Mixed reactions trail planned strike action by NLC over increased pump price | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 15 May 2016

Mixed reactions trail planned strike action by NLC over increased pump price

Mixed reactions have trailed the planned strike action by the Nigeria Labor Congress NLC over the increase in the pump price of petrol from N86.50 to N145 per liter. From the reactions on twitter, it appears many Nigerians have lost faith in NLC as most of them are saying they will not be participating in the proposed strike scheduled to take place on Wednesday May 18th if the Federal government doesn't revert to the old pump price of N86.50. See more of their tweets after the cut.

56 comments:

Make strike start make man pikin rest biko

i'm still in the middle in this issue...

What do you expect before?
Terrorist buhari and his apc has bribe people that will stand against NLC plan shame.
Hitler buhari has already included zahra and yusuf school fee,flexing money and aisha up keep in petrol money so if una want go to strike for 4 years he no send.

Laff wan finish me ooooooo nlc ko nuc ni dey r jux borderline high jawe dey shud go n sit

@J Mac, said wht was on my mind...

I don't really get dis increase in fuel price bcos it am in btw bcos am supporting dis cause bcos of removal of fuel subsidy but...

If it turn out otherwise am not in support at all bcos dis one d VP is saying dis while d state petroleum minister is saying dat has got alot of us in BTW.

So which way Nigerians and pls anyone in d houz wit better clarification on f main reason for dis increase can help us out.

Long live LIB!

The only apology Nigerians owe GEJ is for the NLC not to go on strike. This action will then be a proof that GEJ saw the inevitable - GBAM!
GEJ, I hope wherever you are righy now you are really smiling at the current situation of the economy.
You were insulted, castigated, mocked, terrorized, hated..You went through pains and agony during your regime just because you were different from the rest of them.
Wherever you are right now, GOD WILL NEVER STOP BLESSING YOU. YOU SHALL SOAR HIGHER AND NEVER STOP.

Say no to 145naira per liter

hmmmm.... *grabsPopcorn*

SCARFACE

Truth sha

Hmmmmm

Adaobi said...

They have to prove a point on Wednesday if not FG will laugh at them

Hana said...

Pls pls all these hullabaloo isnt for Hana's ears
All Hana is interested in is the Great Day those Militants would bomb the oil well of those selfish blood sucking almajiris.....yes suffer the heat with us...can they do that already?

Miss Freeborn!!
Freeborn Zina remains LIB best commenter

So linda u sample 40 people and then based on the meagre number u conclude for at least 70 million adults,i think u r trying to swing opinion in favour of ur interested party,

U sample size is too small to draw ur analysis on,u r tilting the direction,i c y u r powerful and dangerious, d highest bidder?????

Olaide Davies. said...

Honestly speaking NLC has no power over this issue they just want to cause more hardship. With the strike now things will become more expensive cos people will start hoarding goods.

No be only strike. Dey are only fighting for their pocket. Linda take note!

Pls let's d strick Begin.

Hmmm..,confused fellas.

Olaide Davies. said...

I'm v sure they'll suspend it before Wednesday.

cutestlove said...

Am in support of this strike..waiting

June said...

Gone r those days wen labour was taken so seriously, wen u dare nor move wen they've declared their strike,or risk losing ur life n property in d process. Can't really say much abt dis shaa

I tire oh. Government did not subsidise the cost of ur car but you want her to subsidise fuel for u.

No future for nigerian workers with d current NLC leadership

There must be something fishy in all this

Rubbish... dee

I haven't lost faith in them even though I wish Adams Oshiomole is still NLC president . I believe they'll do something.

O ga ooooo

Don't waste ur time

Very intelligent. Linda na like runs geh. Highest bidder things

empress ojukwu said...

That's the only Adams oshimole re interested in...

How many refineries did he build? How many marginal fields did they give out under him? He and Diezanu were content with giving away Shell soil blocks to themselves. They denied NNPC and Niger Delta indigenes of access to the divestments. They assisted Shell and Total real windfalls after damaging the ecosystem. What did GEJ do for the Niger Delta? Absolutely nothing. He only empowered his Ijaw Militants. The attacks are sponsored to shield the criminals headed by Alison Madueke. Shell and UK are shielding her in London.

Psalmuelle aka Samstone. said...

Some tweets here are so true. NLC hasn't been consistent.

lami said...

What a laugh, where was nlc and where are they now when am still being owed 5months salary.yeye!

the NCL are just making noise about the whole issue they are calling for attention so that ghana must go (G.N.G) will exchange hands. abeg make we live those hungry union leader wey no get focus

Olabisi said...

Pls I need d strike. More time to read for exams biko

Eby said...

PHCH charge huge bills without giving any light and we pay it yet you didn't protest. Pls forget your protest we are not interested OK. Fake NLC

GBAM!!!

Didn't you see where she wrote "from the reactions on twitter"?? Abi she should individually interview all nigerians? Abeg go and rest. Mstchew..confused fellow.

Hmmmmmmmm it is well

Go and meet him where he is and stop ranting like a mad dog on this blog..... anuofia

Amen+1

Hahahahahaha, super change

Yetty k said...

Yeah it s d truth.dey r fightin 4 demselves.wen senators spend large on deir cars en all dey dnt fyt

STERN my man I say Amen to that prayer 🙏 👍

Nigerians are now wiser. Thank God for technology and social media. NLC will mobilise poor Nigerians to go on protest with them. They will enter the sun and trek for nothing. Some may even die in the process but the federal government will call them and bribe them and they will immediately call off the strike after enriching only their pockets. Nigerians cannot continue being fools. They should look for cows, goats and chicken to protest on the streets with them. As for me, i will sit in my house. Sense pass sense. Rubbish!

I am not ready to die for anybody. NLC should go to the street and protest alone and kill themselves if they like.

Na who NLC help?

combo said...

NLC strike is a waste of time because at the end of it nothing positive will happen, rather the Union will enrich their pocket after receiving bribe to stop the strike. Remember the occupynigeria under GEJ regime, we were all made to look like fools after NLC stopped the strike without getting the result of the action. Wise up Nigerians and let's fight for ourselves if at all and not wait for NLC.

You need to go to school, because of that we won't "strike"

Can we be reasonable for once? For the past 5months there has been fuel scarcity and we have bought the fuel for over 200naira and presently we can have it for 145naira without stress. In the 5months many became billionaires, enriched their pockets with our hard earned money. NLC keeps ranting about strike where as they have nothing to offer us and at the end they will tell us to endure but enrich their pockets after the noise. Enough is Enough. Nigerians be wise

what is NLC's stand? dat govt shldnt remove subsidy? and allow d so called "calbal" to continue exploiting us?

Think twice

Where is even the money to stock our homes with the needful?

Those that protested during GEJ administration, should start warming up for another protest, count me out.

And Amen.

FourthOfApril said...

NLC never again will you use the masses as pawns to negotiate settlement for yourselves, this austere government will not even fall for your cheap trick. The last time we had a labour union was during the days of Comrade Hassan Sunmonu, after him from Bafyau to Oshiomhole, to the present characters, all na wash! TUC and NLC account for the billions of naira you rake in every month from Union dues !!!