What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 September 2015

What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-)

I'm going to be MIA for a few hours. I'm on my way to the US with my parents. They made them Chief and Lolo in our village and I wanted to take them abroad to spoil them a little...:-) (My dad's first time). Anyway, while I'm flying, I wanted to share a story that I've been meaning to share here for a while now...about why I decided to help some young ladies with start up capital for their small scale businesses. Please continue to read! (It's quite long o, so...-))

Before I became the popular blogger that I am today, I was a struggling entrepreneur. I started my modeling career in 1998 before I turned 18 and started my company Blackdove Communications in 2004 when I was just 23+. Blackdove was a modeling agency/events company and I operated from a 2-room office in Jibowu, Yaba for almost three years.

In 2006, I decided to try something that I'd always wanted to do - become a magazine publisher. My dream growing up was to be a journalist. These days many people argue whether I am a journalist or not. I don't consider myself one. I'm a blogger, though being a journalist was my dream. In fact, I wanted to study Mass Communications in the university but I unfortunately didn't get it. I got English instead. But I've always had a love for writing, putting stuff together, informing people about what's going on etc.

In in 2006, I mustered the courage and saved enough money to publish my own magazine. It was called FM&B (Fashion, Modeling and Beauty) magazine because that was my industry at the time.

For my first edition, I used my photo (duh...lol) left. It took me months to put this together and I used money I made from my business to print the magazine. I did a grand launch and really hoped for the best. After it was released, I didn't recoup the money I'd spent on it but I knew I couldn't become a successful magazine publisher over night. I knew the road was long and hard and I had to keep at it, I knew I had to print more editions before people and sponsors could take me serious.

Anyway, I printed my second edition (right) and didn't recoup either. The vendors will take the magazine and not pay you. Some would claim they didn't sell...some, you would chase for your money for so long you'd get tired of chasing them and then you leave them alone. And it was especially hard to get adverts for a new magazine. I would go to companies and sit in their offices for hours, hoping they would buy advertising space in the magazine, but for where? Lol. I remember I offered a telecoms company my back page and inner pages for N100k but they were not interested ...lol. (now, na them they chase me with adverts...lol).

But I managed to get a few companies to advertise (I talked about it here in 2008 and later in 2009) - it took months of being on the road - going from one company to the other, convincing them to support the effort - still it wasn't enough to print the next edition so I had to once again use my own money to print the magazine. It was tough but I didn't want to give up. I wanted to succeed by all means and I knew consistency was the key. I figured by the time I was on my fifth edition, some companies would take me seriously and start to advertise and by the time I was on my 10th edition, I would be a well known magazine publisher like my mentor back then, Mrs Betty Irabor of Genevieve magazine. So 10 editions of the magazine was my goal - but I didn't go past the 4th edition - though I paid part payment for the 5th edition but it never came out.

Something happened with my 4th and last edition (right) that almost broke me...and that inspired 'I'd Rather Be Selfmade.'

You see, right from when I was young, sleeping with men for money/come up was never an option for me. In fact, I found girls who engaged in such back then, disgusting. Now that I am more mature, I kinda understand it, I don't condone it but I understand it and I am not so quick to judge these girls. That's why I'm trying to help girls with dreams instead of condemning girls who find different ways to survive. It's tough out there, guys!

Anyway, for my 4th edition, I didn't have enough money to print it...and I was so sad about it. The magazine was ready but no money to print. It was going to cost me N500k back in 2008 to print 2,000 copies and all I had with me was N150k. I needed N350k and I was determined to print this magazine. I wanted it to succeed by all means so I decided to do something I'd never done before. I went to the bank to get a loan.

There was a neighbor of mine back then who I found out was the chairman of a community bank on Ogunlana Drive Surulere (all community banks have since shut down). So I approached him for a loan ...N350k, the exact extra amount I needed to print the magazine. I promised that I would pay back once the magazine was published and I was able to get ad money out. This was in 2008. After weeks of going back and forth and the bank staff coming to my office in Surulere then to see where I was operating from, I was given a loan of N350k. They actually made out the cheque to the printing press so the money didn't come directly to me. It was a short loan - just three months - and I was supposed to pay back with interest and I was so sure that I would pay back - I had three months and I was a hard working girl, I believed I could do it. But you see, sometimes, life does what life is supposed to do - it happens! With no questions...life just happens.

For some weird reason, I was only able to pay back N100k after the three months deadline. By now I was owing close to N400k including interest. I asked them for more time, and they gave me time ..and I managed to pay another N150k or so after a few months. After then, I became stuck.

My business wasn't going well...and for months I was struggling. The guys from the bank came to my office and told me I had a month to pay up or they would have to do what they usually do get their debtors to pay, that the reason they hadn't done it up until then was because of my neighbour relationship with their chairman. I promised I was going to pay and a week or so later, I was able to pay another N30k.

And then very early one Monday morning, sometime in 2009, my younger sister, who used to work with me at Blackdove, Sandra, quietly entered my room and told me that some men were looking for me, that they were at the door and that she'd seen them talking with the bank chairman. She said she suspected that they were police men.

If I tried to describe to you how I felt at that moment, I wouldn't be able. I stopped breathing for at least 3 seconds. I told her not to let my parents or any other member of our family know the men were outside (Only she knew about the loan and actually went with me to get it). I found something to wear and went to meet the men outside. To be honest, I was hoping they were from the bank and not police men but when they introduced themselves to me (three of them) I froze. They said they were men from the Special Fraud Unit, Ikoyi, and they had been sent to bring me to their office to answer for a loan I took from a community bank and refused to pay back. I was going to ride in their marked anti-fraud unit car - sandwiched between two men.

I didn't want my parents to know what was going on (it would have killed my mum) so I quickly went back in, put on more appropriate clothes, told Sandra to follow their car in my car so she would go with me to their office. I remember sitting in that vehicle as they took me to their office in Ikoyi, and wondering how I got to that point. It was like a nightmare. I couldn't believe it was happening. I got to their office and they made me sit down in front an officer who was handling the case. (Sandra was allowed in but she was sitting in another area.).

The officer brought out my case file, and said I was owing the bank N190k for almost a year and I wasn't going to leave their custody until the money was made available. You know, I've had bad days in my life...I mean, who hasn't? But up until that point, I'd never felt worse in my life. Nothing I'd ever experienced up until that day, sitting in front of this man, and beside other offenders/debtors, was anything close to this. Nothing! Even now, I can't even express how I felt that day, what was going through my mind. I felt like a failure. I remember my eyes welled up, because I knew I didn't have N190k and I didn't know anyone who could loan me. I started to explain to the officer, then I began to beg...and I talked and talked and then I began to cry. I couldn't believe the situation I was in. I knew it would break my parents hearts if they found out where I was.

I remember Sandra just sitting there and looking at me...and trying to be strong. She was broken to see me so broken but she kept it together. She started calling people, asking for a loan, I heard her from where I was sitting, calling friends and asking if they could loan her money. No luck. We were there for hours, eventually the officer came to me and said they'd decided to be lenient, that they would give me a month to pay the N190k back to the bank and failure to do so would be automatic arrest and I would not be released until the money was paid. They gave me a form to sign but said I needed a surety and without a surety I would not be released that day. I called a friend who came and signed for me. The officers told him they were releasing me to him and would also pick him up if I failed to pay up. Fortunately he agreed and that was how I was released. I was there from morning till evening and those hours were some of the worst hours of my life. Thankfully, other members of my family didn't immediately know this happened to me. (They found out months later).

But fortunately I recovered quickly. I knew there was no time to mourn. I had just one month to raise N190k or myself and my surety would be picked up and locked up.

Today, I have shoes that cost more than N190k, but back then, that was a lot of money to me...and I didn't have it. So for the next two weeks, I put myself on the road. I started chasing all the agencies owing me money. I ran up, down, to a hole, up a ladder and every where in between and finally raised the money which I paid back to the bank. It was an ordeal but it was finally over!

Months later, I raised some more money to print my 5th edition (above). The content was finished but once again, I didn't have enough money to print it. I had only N200k and I needed N500k. I wasn't ready to give up on this dream. No way! But of course I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol. So instead I turned to the printers. I told them I had only N200k and would pay them the balance of N300k when the magazine was out. One printer agreed, took my money and half way into the job told me he couldn't go further without any more money. He basically held me to ransom. I pleaded and threatened for months and they wouldn't budge, wouldn't print without more money and one day I was like, 'you know what?' I give up! I'm done!' I told them to keep the money and the magazine, that I was done. I was just tired of it all. And that was the end of that dream.

Then I decided to face another business idea. I wanted to start a fashion, modeling and beauty school. This time I went to real banks (not community banks..lol). None, not even one looked at my business proposal. I was hoping to get N1million to start this business, but no bank was even willing to talk to me. After months of chasing this idea, looking for money etc, I also gave up on it and moved to the next thing!

A few months later, I shut down my office (after my landlady increased my rent - I could not afford to pay it). I gave out some of my office equipment, sold some and packed the rest of my things and went home. I was going to continue operating my business from home.

This was in 2010. I turned 30 that year and I remember having the worst day of my life - so far - on my 30th birthday. I'd lost my office, I'd given up on my magazine dream. My other businesses weren't doing well. I'd been hustling since I was 17 and I thought that by now I would have made it, but here I was at 30, losing it all (or so I thought) and starting all over again.

But you see, in all of it, no matter how bad a day I had, no matter how tough it was, no matter the other dreams I gave up on, there was something I never stopped doing, I never stopped blogging. I would cry, wipe my tears, pick up my laptop and blog. If I didn't have internet at home, I would go to a cybercafe, pay for time and blog there. This work/passion ultimately changed my life.

Sometime in 2012, when I'd started making money from blogging, a young lady talked to me about her struggles. She needed just N85k to start a nail and eye lash studio. She had someone who was willing to give her space to operate from, but she needed money for other equipment needed for the business. She told me that N85k would change her life and that of her family. She wasn't even asking me for the money, she was just talking about her struggles and how hard it's been for her to raise capital. She mentioned she'd approached a bank for a loan and no bank was willing to give her. She said she didn't know how else she'd get the money but sugar daddy wasn't an option. I remember smiling and I made the decision right there and then to give her the money for her business.

I remembered my life as a struggling entrepreneur, getting picked up by the Anti-Fraud Unit over N190k. I remembered how much help I needed and how little I got. How nobody could really help because they had their own issues and struggles. I remembered my dark days. I remembered all the people I begged to help me, to believe in me, to believe in my dreams. I remembered all the doors that were shut in my face. All the office receptions I sat in for hours. All the Nos I heard. All those who turned their backs. And how sometimes, I just wanted to give up. And I knew there were plenty girls like me out there, with ambition, with dreams, with fire burning in their soul...but who can't get far because they have no one to help, not just with money but also with words. And I made up my mind that day, that whenever I get to a position where I could help other young ladies with dreams and aspirations, I would help. Because I've been through it myself, I know how difficult it is to start or run a business in this country. That's why I want to focus on young ladies with dreams and good business ideas.

So far, I've touched 15 lives (see here)...I hope in my lifetime, that I am able to touch thousands more. God willing. This is the project I've decided to take up. For as long as I remember my over 8-hour ordeal at the Special Fraud unit in Ikoyi, I will always be here to help a female entrepreneur - if not with money, then with advice and guidance.

I struggled o. I used to do an annual fashion show called Style Night. I did it from 2004 to 2010. (see some pics here, and here here). I also tried to do a reality show called Nigeria's top model search with Linda Ikeji...no sponsor. I give up...lol. Catwalk with Linda TV show..no sponsor, I give up! Lol

In 2010, I wrote an inspirational book titled 'It Takes You' to encourage people not to give up on their dreams. I spent a lot of money to get this published because being an author was one of my dreams and I was determined to realize that dream. I made it come through!...:-)

I was still working on my dreams when companies started asking me for advert rates for my blog. I created my ad rate in early 2011 and my life hasn't been the same since. I left everything else and concentrated on this. Sandra is now the CEO of Blackdove...:-)

Sandra and I pictured above (She worked with me at Blackdove from 2004 when I started until 2011 when she took over the company. She was my rock for years! I doubt I love anyone more. She's older than my other sister you all know, Laura. )

Anyway, I plan to do all I can to help as many young women as I can. I'm using my money for now but I would eventually talk to rich people and corporate bodies to get involved and raise as much as it's possible as start-up capital for young female entrepreneurs. Too many unemployed individuals in this country. Let's start creating jobs instead of always looking for one. Plus I don't want anti-fraud people coming to knock on your door...lol.. or you turning to men. I hope all your dreams come true...and I hope no matter how tough it gets, you never give up.

I will catch you guys later. For now, let me take this new Chief and his Lolo to America to spoil them a little. Lol. Kisses. Catch you soon!

1,959 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   1401 – 1600 of 1959   Newer›   Newest»
yabsy said...

Truly inspiring Linda.I cried when I tried to picture how u were detained over a sum of 190k. I bless God for your determination never to quit. It is my prayer that God blesses you with a good hearted man , one filled with the Holy Spirit that will be ur lover, true friend and forever better half IJN.

You deserve a hood hearted man. Please promise to send me a wedding invite. Also, thank u for reaching out to other young girls and for creating wealth and employment. If only other successful people and firms can take a cue from u.

You are indeed a blessing to this generation. May u live a life time of happiness IJN

southeastransparency.blogspot.com

Linda, this is amazing. I'm glad you have taken time out to share this inspirational story with all. My impression about you has definitely become more positive.

This is simply inspiring. Thank you Linda. Thank you for trying over and over again. Thank you for this. I don't think i have read many inspiring stories like this.

May the strength to keep trying not flee from us all. Amen.

ps: I am surprised that no comments are here. peeps jumped on the next big gist. Sad.

I like this side of you Linda. This is blogging at its best. Abeg leave politics out of your blog. Its causing a lots of division and hatred. Please focus more on blogging inspirational contents. Share lots of uplifting stories and contents. God bless

back then when linda used to reply LIBers and had only 21 comments...God is good....Linda...you are blessed

You have truly come a long Linda and you have become an inspiration to many. God bless you and protect you and may God give you your own Prince charming.

Tanks alot...May God continue to bless n uplift u...amen🙏

What a touching story. Very inspiring

Gozie said...

Honestly this is the best piece I've ever read on your blog. Linda I'm so inspired. Thank you.

Honestly am so proud of u sis...More blessings

Why do people hate you? As if you have not sowed in tears. You definitely must reap in joy.

I'd rather be self made. The world belongs to hustlers. Tell your story, make a confession, go to confessionsnigeria.com

WOW!!! Suddenly scales have fallen and i respect you. This is a real rags to riches story... MY grease to your hustle the sky is your beginning ... your limit endless.

Happy 4 u

This is really touching and so encouraging....more grace to your elbow..God bless u Linda...me I need good client base for my business but am not bothered cos my work will find me more than I bargain for

Una too talk aout ur life.

becca said...

You are AMAZING

Lara said...

Quite touching, but very inspiring too. God will continue to bless your endeavors in Jesus' name.

Linda you are my role model. God bless you real good

Linda this piece has really touched my life.I'm not giving up anytime soon.Thanks

OMA said...

Linda, i believe that God prepares people for blessings and He obviously took His time to prepare you! and your family. I pray that He also blesses me, i tap into your blessings and that of your family.

Titi said...

wow, am inspired. kudos to you Linda. You have come a long way.

Must u tellus price of shoe? Wow. Ur parents must have been mega poor o. They couldnt raise 190k for u. Hmnn. Poverty raised children always differ from the ones that they used money to raise

nikishaya said...

hmmmmm.......i feel alive Linda with Ur story,perseverance & steadfastness is my watchword as i start the nu year today!!!!

FINNY aka SWEET TROUBLE said...

Congrates to d new chief and Lolo.

my lady u are blessed, wish to be like u. love u so much

Tanks dear you,ve jst put life in to me again with ur story, hope to met with you face to face one day. God bless you

Wow! I love you Linda! I've never been so motivated in my life...been on your blog for years but never commented...but this I had to! Your truly made of black!

ojone said...

Awww Linda, u have my respect and admiration.
I pray God will continue to be faithful to u.

Quite an inspiring story. I think the idea is never to give up no matter what. May God continue to bless your hussle and give us great ideas that will enable us make it in life

lol Aunty Linda i enjoyed ever bit of this write up, the part " I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol" and "i dont want Special Fraud unit to come knocking at your door" got me cracking. Nice one, And stay Blessed...your brother charles okorie of www.Nobleupdates.com and www.Kardasiannews.com

chungchow said...

I love this ,it encourages me because I'm going through the same thing now (struggling to make my dream a reality). Never ever give up on your dream. There will always be a light at the end of the tunnel.

Honestly i am touched and inspired by this.its the encouragement i have always needed and it has made me see you in another light. God Bless you Immensely.

Jay gurl said...

This is very touching and inspiring. It has made me to love and respect you more. Keep up the good work and keep doing you. This is my first comment on here. But I love your work and what you do.

Linda, I think I've only ever commented once before on your blog, but this is so heart-warming and encouraging! This vision you have for young women is awesome. It really is true that often, in fact I think always, our struggles become a kind of ministry bestowed on us to bless and benefit others. I really like how though you don't condone girls turning to men for solicited help, you don't judge them but understand and want to provide ways out by giving alternative options. In this our country right now it's tough men, as you say. Your 'ministry' for want of a better word is so needed for ladies already in that situation and equally importantly for ladies getting tempted to begin that lifestyle.
I believe many rich and even not so rich folks will contribute to this your cause. I'm sure you have already but you could consider setting up a dedicated fundraising department (preferably qualified in some way) who have caught your vision and passion, to join you in this admirable and praiseworthy cause.

Chidifine said...

Am inspired.....thanks

Wow! lengthy though, but i managed too finish it...what an inspiring write up, you are my role model, linda,,,i used even my last kobo to visit your blog everyday!..My Sister....Linda help me oooo...i wana be like you,,have my own blog please, give me a guidelines plssss..wana be successful like u ooo... wow, your Mum and dad, may u live long Sir n ma!with good health.

Haters will always hate but damn it, linda has drive and courage! Jealous haters go and die! Linda may God continue to expand your coast. May God elevate me as he did you.

You are definitely inspirational. If your US trip brings you to NY then we can do Dinner on me - you and your illustrious parent...... God Bless

Nomso said...

Was touched and inspired to work on myself. Thank you aunt Linda.

FENITYGISTHUB.INFO said...

Linda u inspired me dis morning,sleeping wit men is not an option;dats is d least option in my diary and any day i get to dat point i rather die plus i God wont let it happen.safe journey! So much lov frm cyprus♡♥

Soda Queen said...

Like WOWWWWW!!!!!!! Linda you truly are an inspiration! What an awe-inspiring story! You deserve all you have because you worked for it. No questions asked. More grease to your elbows dear!!!

Inspiring......An accolade is well deserved for this...

kaysville said...

FTC.....Inspiring!!

Hnmmmmmmmm LIFE
THANK GOD YOU MADE IT, WHAT ABOUT THOSE WHO DIED IN THE STRUGGLE?
WE THANK THE LORD!!!!!!!111

kaysville said...

FTC....Really Inspiring!

TC said...

Kudos Linda, long and interesting. I read it all.

beautyvile@gmail.com said...

LINDA YOU ARE MY LADY I LOVE YOU PIECESSLY YOU STORY MADE ME SHED TEARS THO HONESTLY O MUST CONFESS, BUT YOU HAVE JUST SPOKEN TO ME TO STAR SOMETHING ON MY OWN, MORE ESPECIALLY HOW MANY TIMES YOU TRIES WITHOUT GIVING UP IS WHAT ACTUALLY WOW ME THE MORE. I HAVE A BUSINESS IDEA WHICH I HAVE REGISTERED COMPANY ALREADY AND WHAT I WANT TO DO IS SOMETHING I WILL BE ABLE TO PAY BACK WHATEVER AMOUNT I WANT TO BORROW WITHIN TIME, YOU KNOW THIS COUNTRY NAH, WHO DO YOU KNOW ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE A COLLATERAL, BUT I AM INSPIRED.

I PROMISE NOT TO DISAPPOINT YOU AND WHAT I READ AND LEARNT TODAY BY THIS STORY, VERY SOON I PRAY GOD WILL HELP ME YOU TOO WILL HEAR MY STORY AND I BELIEVE WE MAY MEET SOME DAY.

GOD BLESS YOU, YOUR DREAMS, IDEAS NEVER GIVE UP LIFESTYLE AND YOUR COURAGEOUS STUD.

THANK YOU.

NELLY

beautyvile@gmail.com said...

LINDA YOU ARE MY LADY I LOVE YOU PIECESSLY YOU STORY MADE ME SHED TEARS THO HONESTLY O MUST CONFESS, BUT YOU HAVE JUST SPOKEN TO ME TO STAR SOMETHING ON MY OWN, MORE ESPECIALLY HOW MANY TIMES YOU TRIES WITHOUT GIVING UP IS WHAT ACTUALLY WOW ME THE MORE. I HAVE A BUSINESS IDEA WHICH I HAVE REGISTERED COMPANY ALREADY AND WHAT I WANT TO DO IS SOMETHING I WILL BE ABLE TO PAY BACK WHATEVER AMOUNT I WANT TO BORROW WITHIN TIME, YOU KNOW THIS COUNTRY NAH, WHO DO YOU KNOW ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU DON'T HAVE A COLLATERAL, BUT I AM INSPIRED.

I PROMISE NOT TO DISAPPOINT YOU AND WHAT I READ AND LEARNT TODAY BY THIS STORY, VERY SOON I PRAY GOD WILL HELP ME YOU TOO WILL HEAR MY STORY AND I BELIEVE WE MAY MEET SOME DAY.

It Is Well said...

WOW! INSPIRATIONAL. THANKS LINDA......I WOULD RATHER BE SELF MADE

Good Job Linda, we done really well. More blessings.

I am inspired linda, thanks for sharing this story...i read each doted line and teary when need be, you are amazing,,,,HUG!!!

God bless u Linda. Lives will be touched.

Amazing story. I am inspired!!!

Hunnn, long but very motivational. Linda you have really inspired me this afternoon. I found out today that we are age mate but not cash mate yet.
I don huzz too well well but never hammer. Almost giving you but for this write up. God bless you for this motivational speech. We shall meet on that cash ladder cos I am rolling out something soonest. Till then go and spoil igwe and lolo a little, they deserve it.

Wow! So lovely and inspiring..may zgod almighty bless you exceedingly as u have blessed others IN. Amennnnnn..nice 1 linda*Thumbs up*

*cute bree*

Nnemumzzzzzz said...

Linda God bless u..... Still struggling tryin2find out wat I like doing same here I ll neva fall on sugar daddies or such life4assistance, sure life ain't easy4naw buh I sure believe in masef&ma creator.

I'd rather Help than take advantage....

Inspiring!!

linda u have really given me hope to face my problems even now dat my family have seerious one

Fikol said...

Quite inspiring...obviously you have been through a lot. May God continue to bless you as you touch lifes.
Congrats to your parents. May they live long to reap the fruit of their labour.

so inspiring.

arikeade said...

whao! big sis @ Linda, this in inspiring. God bless you for sharing your story to challenge we the aspiring female entrepreneurs that admire the likes of you and other strong female leaders .I have been following your blog for more than a decade but can't comment on your blog. please post my comment . LOVE YOU and wish to meet u too for u to inspire me more.

God bless you Linda! Thats all I can say

very inspiring, I'm going thru the most challenging time of my 28 years on earth. I find your experience very inspiring. Determination and hard work sure pays.I'll work hard and stay focused. Good job with the self made project.

Viky Fontain said...

I'd rather help..Than Take advantage

Inspiring!!

God Bless Your Heart Linda Ikeji!!!!

Wow Linda. All I can say is this: never judge anyone if you don't know their story. I have always admire you cos we have met a couple of times but now even more I thank God for people like you who think of others. May God continue to bless your hustle.

Determination is the key to very thing. I bless God for your life. His grace will lead you more.

royflames007 said...

Linda this is so touchy! I am absolutely moved to tears.....but thank God the story is different now. Firstly, let me tell you why I have tears laid in my eye balls as I type to you, I have tried countless things and I have been so resolute in making money the legal way, but as much ideas as I had, double is the setback that follow, so I would say this is more of an encouragement for me.

I am not sure if u will remember this on your blog, I listed three Nigerian celebrity I would like to meet sometimes ago (Linda, Asa, & Flo) I just knew we had something in common...

Meanwhile, I have a campaign I am currently running and once everything is set for pushing out before October 1, you are my most trusted blogger to get the details first.

Lots of respect babe!

OMA said...

In addition Linda, for those of us who do not qualify for 'I would rather be Self made' but are your fans and would love to meet you one on one, do you think you can create a forum?. Speaking for myself, i feel as if i know you already just by reading your blog and following you on IG, and i would love an opportunity to finally meet you.

Cheers.

Gozzy said...

waaah ooo linda, your story is soul lifting. and I am so encouraged. my determination has been boosted once again. I believe I too can make it in life if I don't quit. pls keep up the good work and may God continue to bless you. pls post my comment. Glory

Wow! Always inspiring. Blessed are thou among women

Jay.

angelmakiz said...

enjoyed your story and i felt like crying.

arikeade said...

whao! big sis @ Linda.This is inspiring cos' your story is touchy and a successful one at that. God bless you sis cos' you are a model and a mother to upcoming female entrepreneurs that admire you and the other powerful women all round.I have been following your blog for more than a decade but I cannot comment .pls sis post my comment .I wish to know you more cos' you are God's sent.

Linda! All I can say is. CONGRATULATIONS! "I have shoes that cost more than 190k" really moved me. God bless your hard work.

Brianna said...

This story is very inspiring to me. What separates you from those who are unsuccessful is that you never gave up on yourself. That takes a lot of confidence. I'm always trying to cut my losses because I don't actually believe in myself. You put it all out there. It's also good to know your revenue from blogging changed your life. That's what I'm trying to do! Stay Blessed

Linda! All I can say is. CONGRATULATIONS! "I have shoes that cost more than 190k" really moved me. God bless your hard work.

I respect you so much Linda

I don't usually have the patience to read long posts but dis was sooo capturing. Linda thanks for sharing this testimony, you've really blessed and encouraged me. God bless you.

Gozzy said...

waaah ooo linda, your story is soul lifting. and I am so encouraged. my determination has been boosted once again. I believe I too can make it in life if I don't quit. pls keep up the good work and may God continue to bless you. pls post my comment. Glory

Wow this is inspirational Linda. You are a true entrepreneur. You knew when to stop something and try something else.

Mammie said...

What an inspiring story. I pray I will be able to touch millions of lives some day too. God help us. Kudos girl!

I had tears in my eyes reading this. i love and admire you alot, am at that stage of wanting to stand on my own to, reading this story has rily encoraged mi. God bless u Linda.

Evang Funmibi A said...

Your story is so touching and encouraging,but it take a good determination to follow your heart desire and a lot of hard work,Note:A GIVER NEVER LACK AND WE ALL STRIVE TO SURVIVED BY ONE WAY OR THE OTHERS....

Linda God bless you for this smile you are putting in people's face

TAM said...

I have never ever commented on any post and trust me, i have read so many in my life time.
Well done Linda. One day, when my success story is halfway there, i will send to you to publish.

awww safe flight darling. how I love ur courage. may God bless Us all Amen

Tears are streaming down my face as I read your story...I have to hold body so our office driver doesn't catch me crying...I am inspired...I hope to God I can live a life of impact...because that's what God has called us to do...God strengthen you...remember this name Oluwafisayomi Adesina...I will indeed lead an impactful life...like Linda Ikeji...We shall rise to influence positively on our sphere of influence...God bless Linda Ikeji, God bless young women aspiring to be just who God has called us to be...

Tri. said...

Good inspiration to get off our asses and fight for the life we want, not just expect it to fall on out laps.

Dobyou mind Nigerian banks. They dont know how to build businesses and industries with people. All they do is give loans to people with govt contract or politicians. Thank God for you life lindaikeji. Truly the stone that was cast has become the corner. It can only get better darling. You are the one who inspired me to get up, learn a skill when no job was forthcoming. Now I am working on putting my business together. I hope you will do free advert for me. Loooool. Enjoy your vacay

Linda....Your story brings tears to my eyes. Am in the office right now, i cant help it am shedding tears.Because i know your story. I remember how i was an usher in my unilag days, I have a boyfriend, but it was based on love not for money.And there were times when i could have slept with a man but i said Nooo. I struggled through school as I am the first child. One day i went for an ushering job,I was 24yrs old then, and then realized i was to be ushering at an 18year old birthday party. I walked out and cried home that night, It was very emotional for me. Today i earn a decent salary a month, less than the amount for your shoe...lol!,Am motivated to be self made. This story has rejuvenated my drive. I will make it like you.

Keep the good work going, God is with you...

Wow... took time to read it. God continue to bless you and congrats to your parents.

Malash said...

i no u way back in surulere is true God changed ur life 4 d better u ave every reason 2 enjoy ur self wish ur family d best go enjoy ur self girl.

Bisoye kasim said...

Linda your story was so touching and inspiring,you are such a great writer I must commend you 'wow" a journey of a thousands miles they say begins with a step.Am loving u more you are a strong woman and a go getter now you r HERE.Happy for you my love the good lord that brings u this far won't let you down
My Determination am going to be successful in life and am ready to achieve all of it insha Allah.Let me start from her My name is Bisoye kasim I have a baby shop in ikorodu.51 lagos road beside UBA Bank Ikorodu please patronise me o,u call get me on 07087889896 or08072219662 lets all help each other to achieve our dreams.My the good lord help us all.Nice weekend

Linda, you motivate me today.

Thank you.

"I'd rather be self made" thumbs up

Bado744 said...

Nice one Linda...it does really take courage and perseverance to withstand all that you went through. I wish you the best in this your new challenge of helping young ladies with dreams and ambitions out there coz walahi it is not easy. Thank you on behalf of the them

I sit here in London reading this and inspired by your words as a female entrepreneur myself who has won and failed and won. Thank you for empowering other young women to have another choice other than relying on men for their money. I salute you and have a new respect for you many blessings in all you do

adufe okin said...

wowww, am inspired, pls give ur parent the best and am sure their prayer will always gide u thru. weldone my sister

Hi Linda, I m touched by your story here today, like I ve read and heard " the secret of great men/women is in their story" may God give you longlife, strengthen you and give you grace to do more. Congrats to your dad and mum, God bless you.

There is always LIGHT at the end of the tunnel

The good Lord grant.them divine good health and long life to enjoy more

I know say @Laura go mark present Ma, as usual

Wooow, this is really inspiring

Linda you got me crying this morning. You made
me remember my story when I read through your story on my couch, I never knew when I knelt down on my knees and I started thanking God for my life so far. We both had similar stories. From a LASU drop out to a car washer somewhere in surulere. I had a very big dream that I had to build a steam machine personally that can make old car engine looks like brand new, me elder brother who believed in me financed it then. This machine with 2 staffs I employed helped me 4 years to aquire a technical education. I raised money to study architecture In UK through car wash hustle but i was refused visa. It was then I told myself that the white guy will beg me to work for them and come spend some time in there country. I cried more when I remember I achieved that seven years ago. Now I work for one of the top ten companies in Nigeria as an Automation and system control engineer with my degree in physics and electronics. My ordeal got so bad that I was most wanted by a 2 star military officer. Now I look back and I thank God for my passion for engineering and business ideas. The first airplane ever built didn't fly the first day but through passion, dream, consistency, and a never die attitude makes the whole world fly in jet. Linda, I felt what u went through while reading through your story and that got me crying in the first place because I went through same thing. The street ain't made for jokers. Please help create a platform or forum for people to share their success stories like this. It will go a long way to help encourage others.
Thanks
akinmoyeje@yahoo.com

am inspired

so touching a story Linda.
thank God for your life.
in fact u ar gd at blogging, the best ever.
God will bless you more and more for this initiative
and bless you for taking care of ur parents.
keep up the gd work!

linda now

This post actually made me feel like crying...... God bless your spirit /Never Give Up/

That moment when you moved to tears.....Nice story. Motivating for both men and women. One should never give up on their dreams. Greater strides to you Linda and more success. Cheers !

I am really inspired by this article.

What an inspiring story, Linda! I pray my blog grows in leaps and bounds and page views turn into income like they did for you. Thank you for sharing. Enjoy your trip

www.preciouscore.com

Linda I Don't care about your past just like Jesus never care about your past. I want you to know that you INSPIRE people like us every second to be focused, consistent, to accept that failure is success and to not give up. You are a success story and that is our motivation. Ride on girl! You have only just started. Love you girly.

OREO GRANDE

lois sam said...

This is just so inspiring! I almost shed tears at your story.....More power to your elbow Linda ikeja, God bless you.

GGS said...

Love this piece love you linda

Miriam David said...

Inspired! Thank you! Muah

hope said...

Linda I really appreciate this story, it has strengthened my morals, am an up coming video director but presently it seem like the dream will never come true. With the story you just shared with us I know that nothing is impossible I will keep pushing and I know I will surely get to the top.

I'd rather be self made ............... yes yes yes it might take time, trial's and pains. good works and struggles pays

imma said...

linda this is so touching.....bold nd wonderful step u have taken.....pls email me ur contact on pinketh@yahoo.com i really want to discuss a vital issue wit u...nd also congrats to mum nd dad. enjoy

Audrey said...

Linda Thanks for the post. Very inspiring!

This is super story ..... this is super story

God will continue to bless you...@Linda Ikeji

Wow! So inspiring. God bless you.

Wow! fascinating, motivating and inspiring story. more grease to ur elbow. keep up the good work dear. I have more respect for you.

May God's blessings go with you

Waoh...... what a story..... you inspire me

lami said...

Waoh, I am really inspired.

NICE, i am blessed with your story,,one should never give up with dreams,
God bless and protect you all more.
from swiss

Mary Avoswahi Adegbile said...

Great! Am more than encouraged. God help me....

Tunu Peter Blog said...

sister Linda, you are my inspirational. Thanks for sharing this story it has made me start work on my dreams again. Please visit my blog tunupeter.blogspot.com

I am so happy a girl child has made her parents proud. She stood by them when they probably had little and never even uttered a word of complain against them when things were bad. You go girl. God bless your hustle and bless you with your own home, amen. Love you

Linda very inspiring....yea l bought the book from you in 2010 when you visited me in my office with it l was humbled.To God be d glory. To Dad and Mum congrats . Enjoy ur stay THE IKEJIS

Waoh........ what a story, you inspire me, long but worth reading every word of it.... May God bless you

Hello Linda! congrats to your mum and dad. I read your story and I must say you have inspired me. I won't give up on my dreams, thanks for the word of encouragement. see yah at the top:)

I never comment but this got me thinking. I have a feeling when your mum discovered she was about to have a little girl, your dad wasn't so pleased but you seem to have done much more for your parents than a boy may have. Your will power is inspiring. Ride on Linda, ride on.

That's good Linda. I like your zeal and focus.

SO TOUCHING ND INSPIRITING A'LINDA!GOD BLESS AND ENRICH YOU FOR UR FAMILY MOST ESP UR PARENTS#OYE AMORI O#.....DO U ALSO HELP GIRLS WHOS GOT NO IDEA OF WHAT THEY DEY REALLY WANNA DO BUT MIGHT FUNCTION WELL AFTR BEING EMPOWERED.I.E HELPING DEM FIND WHAT THEY CAN BE GOOD AT EVEN BEFORE MONEY GETS INVOLVED. DO AV A SAFE TRIP ND BRING CHOCOLATE FR UR FANS OOOO. OMO RERE A GBEYIN YIN IJN

God bless you linda,your story will be of great help to young folks out there looking for mentors and soothing words to forge ahead in the survival race.

God bless you Linda! Your story is inspiring and I hope it inspires other young girls to persevere.

Linda, i took my time to read your write up without considering the length of it bcos i needed the encouragement there. It reminds me that to get to the top you have to pass thru a lot of rough edges and distress. Thank you for being honest about your journey from grass to grace. May Jehovah God bless you for all your generosity and Kindness towards all.

Hi Linda, I always read your blog and i have never made a comment but i must say this is an inspirational piece (i hope folks read it). You have done well for yourself. Well done and may God continue to bless your hustle.

klincity said...

All the challenges you went through was a divine arrangement to position were you are today. (God is never late)

SO TOUCHING ND INSPIRITING A'LINDA!GOD BLESS AND ENRICH YOU FOR UR FAMILY MOST ESP UR PARENTS#OYE AMORI O#.....DO U ALSO HELP GIRLS WHOS GOT NO IDEA OF WHAT THEY DEY REALLY WANNA DO BUT MIGHT FUNCTION WELL AFTR BEING EMPOWERED.I.E HELPING DEM FIND WHAT THEY CAN BE GOOD AT EVEN BEFORE MONEY GETS INVOLVED. DO AV A SAFE TRIP ND BRING CHOCOLATE FR UR FANS OOOO. OMO RERE A GBEYIN YIN IJN
KINDLY PUBLISH THE WINNERS OF THE MONDAY GIVEAWAY.

well done Linda...determination and focus#.thank God for you...may that bright light also shine at the end my tunnel too.Amen.

Okedu said...

May God bless you! Well done.

Koko^^Effi^^ said...

My God!!!! This got me teary. .......this lady got a story, but actually now, we know your story. Thumps up Linda, much love.

thank you Linda,you are such an Inspiration,this is my word for today

May God continue to guide, protect n lead u, n his blessings in ur life n family never ends. Congratulations to ur parents.

Nice piece.

Uju said...

Wow linda,dis is so inspiring... I read everything from start to finish. God bless your efforts in ur job and trying to help other young female entrepreneurs.... am actually a struggling enterpreneur in Fashion designing industry... Just dis week I tot of giving up cz menh it hasn't been easy but reading ur exprenice now has made to to pick up my sef,go back to dat rugged sewing machine of mine nd keep pushing nd never give up. God bless u real good Linda dear!

Oladele said...

More blessings ur way Linda IJN ..... keep on the good work ...... not everybody remembers those dark days ....

Hmmmm, so inspiring

Mummy and daddy must be really proud of you. I picked out three things from ur story, resilience, persistence and determination. Above all is the God factor, the ultimate. I rejoice with u

gozibe said...

What an inspiring story, God bless u more Linda. I hope I get to meet u one day for advice on what is best to do, I really need that talk in my life for guidance in making a good decision on which business to venture in. Safe trip!

Omolara said...

Am inspired n speechless n feel like crying.....cos I have struggled n still struggling...but I know God will remember me just as He did for u...but Anyways, am proud of you and from now on You Are My Role Model

bunmialhade said...

Linda, I can relate to what you passed through to be who you are today.....though i didn't get locked up,....lol. Anyway, being a self made woman myself, i now how hurtful and stressful it is for others not to see, believe and EVEN invest in your dream. Along with some friends i also had set up a NGO for those from less privileged background and young entrepreneurs.
So you go girl...keep up the good works. Congrats to ur folks also, hope you guys have fun.
P.s ...you are my link to happenings in the Nigerian scene so thanks for following through.
Much luv

Didi said...

God bless you Linda for this special taught

Olusweets said...

Wow. ..what a lovely experience because even though it was all rough and not all that rosy, today you can look back and say thank God.
Continue to do what you know how to do best and never continue to believe and love God because in all He did this for you, without Him who knows what other ambition you will have just let go.

God bless your parents, your sisters esp. Sandra, there are blood siblings and there are blood siblings, thank God you have those you will choose all over again, God will continue to keep the bond tight.
To you my lady, once again don't forget God all the rest if the days of your lives, God will prosper all that concerns you.

Safe journey and enjoy your vacation with mom and dad.

Wow! Linda i have never been so touched by any story this way.but your 'story' from grass to grace has really touched me..i am inspired and impressed.i am not a blogger and i rarely open your site to look at anything except if my colleagues say there's an interesting story making the rounds there and i will get more details if i go there to see it.Also, i didn't have much respect or admiration for you till this minute that i read your story on how you persevered to get to where you have gotten to today( reason is i used to see you and your blog as mere gossip and invasion of people's private lives) all that has changed now. i have respect and true admiration for you now.indeed that phrase or believe that says 'never judge a person 'cos you don't know their story or where they are coming' from is true.you have just touche my life and inspired me to keep on..i am a young male entepreneur too just like you. i have started hustling since i was 12.i have tried almost everything from stocks trading to forex,to portfolio management, rebranding, I.T,Ticketing, raffle draws,multi- level marketing,sales etc...and many times i have given up over and over again.just last year i took several loans from different sources to fund a 2million naira project of building a software that would pull depositors from all over the world to funding ideas of young entepreneurs..it worked half way and my partner and i had gotten deposits to the tune of $5000 and growing when suddenly our creditors began to call for their monies back.this crippled the business and so we lost out and lost all. i almost ran mad. i cried for days and weeks but still had to move on with life.that was my biggest move in so many years of trying out business ideas to change my life.i was quietly coming to the conclusion that maybe a regular paid job is what i need when i came across this piece you have written here on how you went through worse to make it BIG in life today..thanks for inspiring me this way to give it one more shot.....i wont mind talkin with you privately to learn a few more things on the side.....thanks again.

Wow! this is totally inspiring and beautiful, more power to your elbow...i wish the same for me too, may God also make me a force to reckon with.

thank you so much for your inspiring story. now i know God makes us go through somethings just for other's benefit. thank God u u wer strong till d end....thats d testimony #rolemodel

cherry said...

Nice one....very inspiring. But linda u for post comments b4 leaving na......wish u guys safe flight all d way.

Dr. T said...

Linda,

Your story touched my soul profoundly. I too, am driven to help others especially women and children. I feel like this is part of the reason we are here. When you have the opportunity to extend a helping hand to someone who would benefit, then ABSOLUTELY do it, even if it is only a cup of garri or a shoulder to cry on. The joy I get from knowing my actions have positively influenced someone's life is so much more rewarding than any check I've ever received.

Bless you for being an inspiration. You have a wonderful heart.

Linda u r a wonderful person, this ur story suppose to be a small book that will also inspire ladies, keep working hard, u r my role model any day, any time

Your story once again gives truth to the saying that fortune favours the brave (with the grace of God, of course). It's unbelievable the kind of things/businesses that you had worked on even at a very young age. I know someone who always says that luck is the intersection between opportunity and preparedness. You really have prepared. God bless you.

it can only get beta.... so inspired wit ur story. team #selfmade

You can imagine determination...And there I was very close to your village with a lot of money then looking for where to invest...#hardworkpays

Linda God bless u,u have a good heart that was y God lifted u like this, he made sure u went through the rough times so u can understand what an average girl goes through to help them, u know the struggle becose u have walked d same path.Linda God bless u for taking care of ur parents, I'm happy dey,are alive to see u succeed. U have inspired me and given me hope again.have an exciting trip.

Waoh! Am impressed.

Mrs Aduku said...

I love the write up, just what I need now in my life and business thanks LINDA God bless you

Building up a brand, takes a lot. Success story is interesting to read but hard to practice. Enjoy life to the fullest.

Wow i am inspired. Reading this alone is an investment in my life. I will never give up

kreestee said...

I'm so inspired

Linda that was a beautiful write up, I gained so much from reading it. Many tnks. Please how can I be part of it. You know.....#NothankyouI'dRatherBeSelfMade.

unique Lady said...

Nice one Linda nwa Ikeji. God bless u today, God bless u tomorrow, God bless u forever. U ar an inspiration to many exp me.safe trip n ma greetings to ur parents

NAIJA REBRANDER said...

I'm really inspired by your testimonies...more grease to your elbow

www.naijarebrander.blogspot.com

Wow this is so inspiring Linda
I salute your courage, God bless you more as you blesso thers.

Thanks for letting us in on YOU.. You are Godmade, and this is just the beginning. God bless you darl.

Hmmmmm
Dats a great story Linda
Am inspired
Thank you so much
Nd God bless u still
Amen

NICE.THANK GOD FOR PROSPERITY

BABARINDE oluwamitomisin said...

Wow Linda.....i was stuck reading through this. No pain, no gain!!!

Everything in life is all about determination and persistence. Life is not easy especially for young girls like us without anybody to financially support us.
Linda your indeed a blessing to many lives. May God continue to bless you, strengthen you, prosper you and grant all your heart desires in Jesus Name Amen.

Enjoy your trip dear and I wish your parent long life and good health to enjoy many more trips in Jesus name Amen. I also pray to be among the chosen ones in the nest "I'd Rather Be Self Made". Remain bless

It is indeed a long piece(lol) but thank you for sharing your experience. I am inspired. I am proud of you, Linda.

Aipu Jennifer Adoba said...

DEEPLY TOUCHED! THANKS FOR YOUR STORY

Wow I Swallowed the Whole Story. Well am Self Making myself too i know God will Bless. But Miss Ikeji theris Ojoro in this Are we Guys not in need of Capital too to start something. Like I Have 2 Solid stuffs I need Capital for And you just pack us (Guys) for one side. We go protest!!! Lol. All is well. #Lobatan

Blessing said...

So Inspiring!

Linda I must commend you, sincerely this is quite inspirational and I intend to share this piece with my growing up daughter. If more girls/ladies/women can imbibe this culture, Nigeria will be a much more better Nation. I pray the good Lord will continue to bless and sustain the works of your hands in Jesus name amen. Keep the flag flying very high my dear sister.

You are an angel Linda. Your struggles were genuine and heartfelt thats why you have been succeeding. Am happy for you. We all prepare for the worst but pray for the best. I wish someday I could struggle and help others as much as I can.

How inspiring Aunty Linda.. may God bless you more as you bless others..

Blessing said...

so Inspiring

Nesa Press said...

Lovely inspiring piece...keep it up girl.

Wow...what an inspiring story. May God keep blessing you as you do this.

Wao,this is so inspiring...God bless you aunty linda..you are really a blessing to this generation,i wish to meet you one day

Very touching! *teary eyes * I tap ur inspiration & blessing. Amen.

Nice 1. God bless u

I have followed you since 2008 and i know your story and have 3 editions of your magazine. you are real and represent what i would call the NIGERIAN DREAM. thanks for looking for your young sisters out there in a dog eat dog environment called nigeria. doff my hat. Most inspiring.
most of your readers wont even read your piece because its not their culture read.

tobi said...

Hi linda, touching story.. I hope I gt dere soon..

«Oldest ‹Older   1401 – 1600 of 1959   Newer› Newest»