What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 September 2015

What inspired I'd Rather Be Self Made...the day I was picked up by Special Fraud Unit...:-)

I'm going to be MIA for a few hours. I'm on my way to the US with my parents. They made them Chief and Lolo in our village and I wanted to take them abroad to spoil them a little...:-) (My dad's first time). Anyway, while I'm flying, I wanted to share a story that I've been meaning to share here for a while now...about why I decided to help some young ladies with start up capital for their small scale businesses. Please continue to read! (It's quite long o, so...-))

Before I became the popular blogger that I am today, I was a struggling entrepreneur. I started my modeling career in 1998 before I turned 18 and started my company Blackdove Communications in 2004 when I was just 23+. Blackdove was a modeling agency/events company and I operated from a 2-room office in Jibowu, Yaba for almost three years.

In 2006, I decided to try something that I'd always wanted to do - become a magazine publisher. My dream growing up was to be a journalist. These days many people argue whether I am a journalist or not. I don't consider myself one. I'm a blogger, though being a journalist was my dream. In fact, I wanted to study Mass Communications in the university but I unfortunately didn't get it. I got English instead. But I've always had a love for writing, putting stuff together, informing people about what's going on etc.

In in 2006, I mustered the courage and saved enough money to publish my own magazine. It was called FM&B (Fashion, Modeling and Beauty) magazine because that was my industry at the time.

For my first edition, I used my photo (duh...lol) left. It took me months to put this together and I used money I made from my business to print the magazine. I did a grand launch and really hoped for the best. After it was released, I didn't recoup the money I'd spent on it but I knew I couldn't become a successful magazine publisher over night. I knew the road was long and hard and I had to keep at it, I knew I had to print more editions before people and sponsors could take me serious.

Anyway, I printed my second edition (right) and didn't recoup either. The vendors will take the magazine and not pay you. Some would claim they didn't sell...some, you would chase for your money for so long you'd get tired of chasing them and then you leave them alone. And it was especially hard to get adverts for a new magazine. I would go to companies and sit in their offices for hours, hoping they would buy advertising space in the magazine, but for where? Lol. I remember I offered a telecoms company my back page and inner pages for N100k but they were not interested ...lol. (now, na them they chase me with adverts...lol).

But I managed to get a few companies to advertise (I talked about it here in 2008 and later in 2009) - it took months of being on the road - going from one company to the other, convincing them to support the effort - still it wasn't enough to print the next edition so I had to once again use my own money to print the magazine. It was tough but I didn't want to give up. I wanted to succeed by all means and I knew consistency was the key. I figured by the time I was on my fifth edition, some companies would take me seriously and start to advertise and by the time I was on my 10th edition, I would be a well known magazine publisher like my mentor back then, Mrs Betty Irabor of Genevieve magazine. So 10 editions of the magazine was my goal - but I didn't go past the 4th edition - though I paid part payment for the 5th edition but it never came out.

Something happened with my 4th and last edition (right) that almost broke me...and that inspired 'I'd Rather Be Selfmade.'

You see, right from when I was young, sleeping with men for money/come up was never an option for me. In fact, I found girls who engaged in such back then, disgusting. Now that I am more mature, I kinda understand it, I don't condone it but I understand it and I am not so quick to judge these girls. That's why I'm trying to help girls with dreams instead of condemning girls who find different ways to survive. It's tough out there, guys!

Anyway, for my 4th edition, I didn't have enough money to print it...and I was so sad about it. The magazine was ready but no money to print. It was going to cost me N500k back in 2008 to print 2,000 copies and all I had with me was N150k. I needed N350k and I was determined to print this magazine. I wanted it to succeed by all means so I decided to do something I'd never done before. I went to the bank to get a loan.

There was a neighbor of mine back then who I found out was the chairman of a community bank on Ogunlana Drive Surulere (all community banks have since shut down). So I approached him for a loan ...N350k, the exact extra amount I needed to print the magazine. I promised that I would pay back once the magazine was published and I was able to get ad money out. This was in 2008. After weeks of going back and forth and the bank staff coming to my office in Surulere then to see where I was operating from, I was given a loan of N350k. They actually made out the cheque to the printing press so the money didn't come directly to me. It was a short loan - just three months - and I was supposed to pay back with interest and I was so sure that I would pay back - I had three months and I was a hard working girl, I believed I could do it. But you see, sometimes, life does what life is supposed to do - it happens! With no questions...life just happens.

For some weird reason, I was only able to pay back N100k after the three months deadline. By now I was owing close to N400k including interest. I asked them for more time, and they gave me time ..and I managed to pay another N150k or so after a few months. After then, I became stuck.

My business wasn't going well...and for months I was struggling. The guys from the bank came to my office and told me I had a month to pay up or they would have to do what they usually do get their debtors to pay, that the reason they hadn't done it up until then was because of my neighbour relationship with their chairman. I promised I was going to pay and a week or so later, I was able to pay another N30k.

And then very early one Monday morning, sometime in 2009, my younger sister, who used to work with me at Blackdove, Sandra, quietly entered my room and told me that some men were looking for me, that they were at the door and that she'd seen them talking with the bank chairman. She said she suspected that they were police men.

If I tried to describe to you how I felt at that moment, I wouldn't be able. I stopped breathing for at least 3 seconds. I told her not to let my parents or any other member of our family know the men were outside (Only she knew about the loan and actually went with me to get it). I found something to wear and went to meet the men outside. To be honest, I was hoping they were from the bank and not police men but when they introduced themselves to me (three of them) I froze. They said they were men from the Special Fraud Unit, Ikoyi, and they had been sent to bring me to their office to answer for a loan I took from a community bank and refused to pay back. I was going to ride in their marked anti-fraud unit car - sandwiched between two men.

I didn't want my parents to know what was going on (it would have killed my mum) so I quickly went back in, put on more appropriate clothes, told Sandra to follow their car in my car so she would go with me to their office. I remember sitting in that vehicle as they took me to their office in Ikoyi, and wondering how I got to that point. It was like a nightmare. I couldn't believe it was happening. I got to their office and they made me sit down in front an officer who was handling the case. (Sandra was allowed in but she was sitting in another area.).

The officer brought out my case file, and said I was owing the bank N190k for almost a year and I wasn't going to leave their custody until the money was made available. You know, I've had bad days in my life...I mean, who hasn't? But up until that point, I'd never felt worse in my life. Nothing I'd ever experienced up until that day, sitting in front of this man, and beside other offenders/debtors, was anything close to this. Nothing! Even now, I can't even express how I felt that day, what was going through my mind. I felt like a failure. I remember my eyes welled up, because I knew I didn't have N190k and I didn't know anyone who could loan me. I started to explain to the officer, then I began to beg...and I talked and talked and then I began to cry. I couldn't believe the situation I was in. I knew it would break my parents hearts if they found out where I was.

I remember Sandra just sitting there and looking at me...and trying to be strong. She was broken to see me so broken but she kept it together. She started calling people, asking for a loan, I heard her from where I was sitting, calling friends and asking if they could loan her money. No luck. We were there for hours, eventually the officer came to me and said they'd decided to be lenient, that they would give me a month to pay the N190k back to the bank and failure to do so would be automatic arrest and I would not be released until the money was paid. They gave me a form to sign but said I needed a surety and without a surety I would not be released that day. I called a friend who came and signed for me. The officers told him they were releasing me to him and would also pick him up if I failed to pay up. Fortunately he agreed and that was how I was released. I was there from morning till evening and those hours were some of the worst hours of my life. Thankfully, other members of my family didn't immediately know this happened to me. (They found out months later).

But fortunately I recovered quickly. I knew there was no time to mourn. I had just one month to raise N190k or myself and my surety would be picked up and locked up.

Today, I have shoes that cost more than N190k, but back then, that was a lot of money to me...and I didn't have it. So for the next two weeks, I put myself on the road. I started chasing all the agencies owing me money. I ran up, down, to a hole, up a ladder and every where in between and finally raised the money which I paid back to the bank. It was an ordeal but it was finally over!

Months later, I raised some more money to print my 5th edition (above). The content was finished but once again, I didn't have enough money to print it. I had only N200k and I needed N500k. I wasn't ready to give up on this dream. No way! But of course I wasn't going to go to a bank again..lesson learned there...lol. So instead I turned to the printers. I told them I had only N200k and would pay them the balance of N300k when the magazine was out. One printer agreed, took my money and half way into the job told me he couldn't go further without any more money. He basically held me to ransom. I pleaded and threatened for months and they wouldn't budge, wouldn't print without more money and one day I was like, 'you know what?' I give up! I'm done!' I told them to keep the money and the magazine, that I was done. I was just tired of it all. And that was the end of that dream.

Then I decided to face another business idea. I wanted to start a fashion, modeling and beauty school. This time I went to real banks (not community banks..lol). None, not even one looked at my business proposal. I was hoping to get N1million to start this business, but no bank was even willing to talk to me. After months of chasing this idea, looking for money etc, I also gave up on it and moved to the next thing!

A few months later, I shut down my office (after my landlady increased my rent - I could not afford to pay it). I gave out some of my office equipment, sold some and packed the rest of my things and went home. I was going to continue operating my business from home.

This was in 2010. I turned 30 that year and I remember having the worst day of my life - so far - on my 30th birthday. I'd lost my office, I'd given up on my magazine dream. My other businesses weren't doing well. I'd been hustling since I was 17 and I thought that by now I would have made it, but here I was at 30, losing it all (or so I thought) and starting all over again.

But you see, in all of it, no matter how bad a day I had, no matter how tough it was, no matter the other dreams I gave up on, there was something I never stopped doing, I never stopped blogging. I would cry, wipe my tears, pick up my laptop and blog. If I didn't have internet at home, I would go to a cybercafe, pay for time and blog there. This work/passion ultimately changed my life.

Sometime in 2012, when I'd started making money from blogging, a young lady talked to me about her struggles. She needed just N85k to start a nail and eye lash studio. She had someone who was willing to give her space to operate from, but she needed money for other equipment needed for the business. She told me that N85k would change her life and that of her family. She wasn't even asking me for the money, she was just talking about her struggles and how hard it's been for her to raise capital. She mentioned she'd approached a bank for a loan and no bank was willing to give her. She said she didn't know how else she'd get the money but sugar daddy wasn't an option. I remember smiling and I made the decision right there and then to give her the money for her business.

I remembered my life as a struggling entrepreneur, getting picked up by the Anti-Fraud Unit over N190k. I remembered how much help I needed and how little I got. How nobody could really help because they had their own issues and struggles. I remembered my dark days. I remembered all the people I begged to help me, to believe in me, to believe in my dreams. I remembered all the doors that were shut in my face. All the office receptions I sat in for hours. All the Nos I heard. All those who turned their backs. And how sometimes, I just wanted to give up. And I knew there were plenty girls like me out there, with ambition, with dreams, with fire burning in their soul...but who can't get far because they have no one to help, not just with money but also with words. And I made up my mind that day, that whenever I get to a position where I could help other young ladies with dreams and aspirations, I would help. Because I've been through it myself, I know how difficult it is to start or run a business in this country. That's why I want to focus on young ladies with dreams and good business ideas.

So far, I've touched 15 lives (see here)...I hope in my lifetime, that I am able to touch thousands more. God willing. This is the project I've decided to take up. For as long as I remember my over 8-hour ordeal at the Special Fraud unit in Ikoyi, I will always be here to help a female entrepreneur - if not with money, then with advice and guidance.

I struggled o. I used to do an annual fashion show called Style Night. I did it from 2004 to 2010. (see some pics here, and here here). I also tried to do a reality show called Nigeria's top model search with Linda Ikeji...no sponsor. I give up...lol. Catwalk with Linda TV show..no sponsor, I give up! Lol

In 2010, I wrote an inspirational book titled 'It Takes You' to encourage people not to give up on their dreams. I spent a lot of money to get this published because being an author was one of my dreams and I was determined to realize that dream. I made it come through!...:-)

I was still working on my dreams when companies started asking me for advert rates for my blog. I created my ad rate in early 2011 and my life hasn't been the same since. I left everything else and concentrated on this. Sandra is now the CEO of Blackdove...:-)

Sandra and I pictured above (She worked with me at Blackdove from 2004 when I started until 2011 when she took over the company. She was my rock for years! I doubt I love anyone more. She's older than my other sister you all know, Laura. )

Anyway, I plan to do all I can to help as many young women as I can. I'm using my money for now but I would eventually talk to rich people and corporate bodies to get involved and raise as much as it's possible as start-up capital for young female entrepreneurs. Too many unemployed individuals in this country. Let's start creating jobs instead of always looking for one. Plus I don't want anti-fraud people coming to knock on your door...lol.. or you turning to men. I hope all your dreams come true...and I hope no matter how tough it gets, you never give up.

I will catch you guys later. For now, let me take this new Chief and his Lolo to America to spoil them a little. Lol. Kisses. Catch you soon!

1,959 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   1601 – 1800 of 1959   Newer›   Newest»

Linda ur story came to me at the nick of time. God bless ur kind heart. May God see us all thru our struggles too. Amen!!!

jasmine said...

Well done on this initiative

Congrats to ur parents, they will really be proud of having u as a daughter. May God continue to bless u Linda for ur good work.

omobola cole said...

This post came at the perfect time for me......U really inspire Me,God bless you.

I'D RATHER BE SELF MADE. well done Linda for not giving up on yourself because it really takes you to destroy or make yourself. I was inspired.

Inspiring! God bless ur kind heart

This is inspiring. Reminds me of my own struggles and experiences as a younger girl. Reason why i don't take the God factor for granted. Linda am proud of the woman you have become and this is the least you will ever be. Continue to encourage and help young ladies out there, i hope that some day soonest, i'll also be able to touch lives in any way i can.

Teejay said...

Honestly I so much appreciate this story. I see depth and substance in it and at least i can say i have experienced a bit of it and quite inspired to keep moving and never give up. Thanks for not keeping this insight to yourself Linda and for been sincere about your challenges. Kudos.

tee said...

Linda.i don't think you knw hw much u jst lifted my spirit and made me understand that I can be anything good I want,with hardwork patience and perseverance....

Wow! Thank you Linda, that's all I can say, so inspired! God keep u 4 ur family! And to all those men out there taking advantage of young girls 4 money, God punish u all!

Oma said...

OK linda, I actually sat down and read word for word. Though Police never come my house for bank loan because I am in a covenant that forbids borrowing, yet, I have my own stories. yours inspired a little but one thing I learned again is, never to give up. So, thanks again and see you at the top.

Waow, this mail just blew my mind. I feel more determined more than ever to chase my dreams and never give up. Am into packaging of food items and I love to be a partaker of the Self Made though but Age is not on my side. All the same good job Linda may God continue to bless you.

hmmm interesting

max said...

this is inspiring

I read you blog most times. This that you have written touched me. Just to say you will surely be rewarded. keep doing good.

THIS IS INSPIRING

This brought a tear to my eyes. Hard work does pay off and you have definitely earned your stripes, Linda Ikeji!! I wish you the very best!!! If you will be in he DC/VA/ MD tri- state area on this visit to the states, let your fans know. It would be nice to meet you.

Wow! Just wow!....all I saw in this story was myself...I don hustle oooooo but God dey...have a safe trip dear...God bless you!

lilian said...

that's so sweet. i called 2weeks ago and i heard you havent started the second phase yet.i wish to be one of the beneficiaries. i am also a start up company.

Linda please I want to ask. What of girls who don't need your money but they do need you to advertise their business for them, will you charge them? Am in Enugu and am thinking about opening this business but am really scared.. after reading tour life story, I got inspired.. so my question is linda, can you help a new starter advertise her business for free just like want to do for those you are sponsoring??

Very inspirational...I have never commented but I do have too. I have never been touched but now I fink I have to start up my dreams too no holding back. nice write up...and pls spoil people dat broyt u too dis life wella they deserve it.And have fun too dear

I am in dire need of a media job, I used to be a proof reader and reporter for a media company. I left because i was not paid and i could barely feed nor transport from no salary payment. I currently work with a logistics company but still got my heart with journalism... please i will be glad if i am employed to get my hands on writing again. you can reach me via ibukun_osho@yahoo.com or 08093049253.

Aww....... Miz linda really a blessing to this generation not only for Women folks u're so inspiring all we all proud of you not only your parents 're proud u, I hope ladies of nowadays learn from ur story they should change their mindset, not believing dat dey can't survive with getting money from guys. Infact I read ur story like 5times before I send my comment, dis my second time of contributing but silent reader of ur blog sometimes I thought u don jazz me lol bcos I have to check and read from ur blog b4 doing anything in every early morning. Keep it up ma. Cheers

This is such a beautiful read. Hats off to you for your doggedness and resilience. You are an inspiration to many. Keep on keeping on! May the heavens enlarge your coast. Well done on celebrating your parents while they are alive, many wait to celebrate their folks in death and well done for carrying your siblings along and setting them a great example.

Amy N. said...

What a nice article Linda!
May God continue to bless you for your kindness

Amy N. said...

What a nice article Linda!
May God continue to bless you for your kindness

Eh ya,its well.U r finally dere.

I salute your courage Linda

Inspiring. Can't believe I read everything. May all our dreams come true.

God bless u Linda ...

Hard work sure pays .... Nobody really knows the journey that leads to the story of now.

It aint easy sometimes, but selling my body is sooooo out of it ... i still work a 9 - 6 job and looking forward to being selfmade .. Got my dreams in my heart and head and will soon be a reality....

Inezepat@gmail.com said...

No one is born poor, Linda you are a true Nigeria, you make me proud. From now on, you are my Fan. Appreciating God for you, hoping one day my own dream will come to pass and I will also share my testimony just like you aunty Linda.

finemocha said...

Finally, a real article worth reading. Thank you for sharing.

Diamond said...

Aww! I love this... Never giving up on my dreams either, hope to share a powerful story like dis soon

Bwa Bwa bwa bwa......crying a river here

You just won me over with your inspiring story. I have been a fan of your blog for years but never really saw the need to drop a comment until now. You just made me a believer in the Linda Ikeji dream. Thank you for sharing your inspiring story.

Awww, im moved by this. I am also an hustler and i hope i can be part of those who will enjoy this initiative #teami'llratherbeselfmade

Waoo! Big madam you are a genius, determinants, strongest and God fearing person. So, despite all hardships you passed through without help you can gives to others now to stand on their own? I am torched with your struggles then . well its take heart of Gold to help others financially with situations of this country. May God continue Blessed you for ever and ever, Amen . your loveone and reader,KK.

HRH Jefixx�� said...

God bless ur kind heart linda,continue to prosper!

Linda please come back. I have withdrawal symptoms from a lack of new stories on your blog.
I expect to see thousands of comments on this post. Cos everyone has missed you. Even your haters miss you. He he he.
People like Wilheminna will be dying from boredom. She needs her fix of dishing out evil abeg.
Oh well, I wish you a fun filled vacation. God bless you for taking care of your aged parents.

James Olorunosebi said...

This is inspiring Lindie. You have done well for yourself. And I hope the beneficiaries of your kind gesture do not take it for granted with a sense of entitlement. If an advise is anything to go by, focus on those who have experienced despondency, minus zero point levels in life, not the spoilt brats with shallow survival spirits. God bless you real good Linda-san.

LINDA AM IN TEARSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

Kudos to you my sister

wow this is impressive thanks for the courage linda. if you can help promote this blog too www.sportpagereview.com it will be great Thanks for what you are doing of these young ladies but, guy need help too. :)

God Bless you Linda, please I need your help too in anyway you can I will forever be grateful... safe journey God will see you through.

Very Inspiring. Life changing story. There is always light at the end of the tunnel. persistent. Enjoy your vacation with your parents.

Dear Linda,

This story means a lot to me at the moment, because in many ways,its similar to my own journey and am at a point where I don't know what's going to happen to me.

I started my fashion business in 2005, while I was in the university. Making clothes in Aba nd selling them them to people at a profit. That soon changed when more people preferd to buy buy the suits than make them and I for one,wasn't satisfied anymore with the quality jobs I was delivering anymore. So after university, with my passion still strong for fashion, I decided to serve another niche in the fashion industry which is uniforms for schools.

It's been 7yrs now since I started and I still have to outsource my sewing to independent tailors to undertake my jobs,due to lack of funds to put up my own factory. I can easily relate to your waiting in offices, turned down by banks, landlord palaver, near arrest experiences etc, as am at that point in my life right now.
I appreciate the timing of this post,cuz despite all am passing through, am positive that there's is light at the end of the Tunnel and that my break will come,however it tarries.

I appreciate what you are doing for this girls and have refused to think of you as a feminist. But i'll like you to reconsider your stand, cuz boys and men have it worse when it comes to hardship.

Wooow...I usually don't comment on blogs, but this is really inspiring. I have also been in a close similar situation. Am currently running another business. God bless all our efforts. Amen.

This story inspired me a lot...Linda pls contact me..@ shelterscapenig @gmail.com .I want to contribute to helping entrepreneurs

I am so inspired by ur story, may the good Lord grant you more grace to continue this great work.👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Wow! What an inspiring story. With God all things are possible my sister.

Hey Linda I am inspired. I work in one of the foremost banks in Nigeria and I av been talking to myself about starting my own business. However I av been handcuffed by the fear of the unknown. Thanks for sharing your journey thus far. Now is the time to act

Very inspiring!!!Reading through your struggles and how you are now helping young women. May God continue to bless you abundantly. AMEN.

Whao! Linda i'm touched. May God continue to bless the work of your hands.

Amaracious said...

Waoo so touching.
God bless you much for sharing this.

Awwwwn....never give up..

Very inspiring!!! I read your story and it was very touching and thanks to people like you. May God continue to bless you abundantly. AMEN!!! And please keep up the good work you are doing in Nigeria.

ohwolerbee said...

God will bless and keep u....we will work together soon.....Watch Out!!!

God continue 2 bless ur work n make u go higher in Jesus name Amen. Really inspiring

Stella odoni said...

U r really an inspiration .

so long a letter, so touching, yet inspiring. your story confirms that hard work pays in the long run. only that i am surprised your readers are not commenting as expected. Linda, keep it up.

What an inspirational write-up. Thanks for this. U just inspired me the more. I love u. God bless u.

CHIAMZ said...

lovely story Linda.. u truly inspired me.

Salama Salon said...

Inspired! Well done lady. Often people see where one is at and never acknowledge the journey. Usain Bolt trains daily..

So long a letter, so touching, yet so inspiring. it is true that hard work really pays, those who dont know how you started will not understand. keep it up, the Lord is your strength. but i am surprised that your readers are not posting comments as i expected.

Ogbu said...

wow

Esther Daniels said...

So inspiring. This post was meant for me. Please I will need your advice. How can I inbox you?

Hmmmm....

Godwin Ede said...

u can spoil urself n parents. U worked for it. Pls extend such to the physically challenged n motherless babies home. The children suffering from down symdrom also need support.

delaw4life said...

Wow! I feel so touched and inspired. Keep it going linda

Omowunmi Okunti said...

Wow! Thank God for where you are today. Your story really inspired me and thought me that no matter what one goes through in life, giving up is not an option. Thanks for helping ladies, may the lord continue to bless you, amen. Hard work truly pays

Josh King said...

May God continue to bless your struggle and hustle. I pray my twin sis reads this and get helped too.

Na wao no story today linda?

Nice!

I dont know what to say .am sitting here in my room in pains with so many questions yet no answers I tot to myself let me open lindaikeji to keep myself busy then I saw dis.u dont know what this write has done for me.its not been easy linda. I wont give up never.

Beautiful piece

Very inspiring story....reaally nice...but u just dey help d ladies alone, dat aint fair for we guys, there are really some guys dat would need this much help, stop the gender discrimination.

I am inspired.
hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Wooow...hardwork plus resilience pays!I'm inspired

Someone once told me Sandra Ikeji is one lady you want to met and possible have as a friend. In his words " she's a better person than Linda"...

U are one in a Kind Ma Linda. U inspired me. God bless u for sharing this with us. And God bless u for lending a helping hand to aspiring young entrepreneurs. Congrats to your parents..

You are an inspiration to me and to many other girls out there, God bless u.

Lala said...

Thank God for you.. I love you.

Inspiring!

smh

Hmmmmm.. All I can say is God bless you cause right now am just tired ...thank you so much

You are truly an inspiration. Thanks for this Linda.

it's indeed so inspiring. thank u!

Linda am so touched, for a second i think I saw some tears. There's alot to learn from your life and I got me thinking of what I really want out of life. Living my whole life in abia state aba precisely kinda of blinded me and my life, but I being very ambitious left aba when I graduated last December to lagos, and since I came here I saw things differently and I couldn't get comfortable having only 10k in my account anymore (in aba we eat n leave very comfortably with that) and hearing from you that you don't believe in sleeping with men for money gives me hope cause that's what I hv been battling with since I came here (I never misbehaved back in school and at home) to avoid sex here is almost impossible and being a plus sized lady is just like adding salt to the wound. Am very eager to learn and every little knowledge I acquire I add more to it. I hope to be a part of your program next time. God bless you Linda Ikeji for posting this article today, you don't know how it touched my life. (enough of my blabbing)

Inspired. Giving up isn't an option.
IamAdelarry

Linda, you are a true Inspiration. Well Done!!, ur hustle sha, mehn.... thank God folks like u are still out there. I think this post is the most important read of this year for me personally. may God keep taking you higher. Amen

This is touching and encouraging, I must confess I needed this! Kudos Linda!

Linda you never post my comments. Nevertheless you story has inspired me to try even if I fail to keep trying. Publishing my books is my passion but I had failed twice, reading your story I would keep trying till I achieve my goal of having my stories in 3D maybe then you would post my story. Thank you

Interesting read. Thrilling. Had goose bumps at some stages while reading this. Big ups!

only people who have endured struggles in life know how to teach people to endure till the end. Lind, you have done well. We are proud of you.

Huzayn bolt said...

Nice thoughtful words from model turn philantropist

Wow!!! So Inspiring..So Educative..So Touching..May God continue 2 bless nd enrich u Linda..

ONYI P.K. said...

Linda, This is really encouraging and I salute your strong-will. You are indeed a good example. Your assistance so far to young deserving girls and your intention and promise to continue to assist, calls for this beautiful paraphrased stanza of a hymn: "Yours is an unchanging love; higher than the heights above; deeper than the depths beneath; free and faithful, strong as death.) May God bless you beyond measures. I shall get across to you for a collaboration.

Yes you are blessed, in your very own way...

INSPIRE!!!

Montu said...

So inspiring. Lesson learnt...NEVER GIVE UP COMPLETELY. THERE S ALWAYS A WAY

Nice nd sweet story,kip it up madam linda.

Foodbybee said...

Wow,this is so........touching and inspiring

Hmn! Linda I am really inspired by your story. I pray God bless the work of your hands so you can help more women. If only we could all be self made. You just got yourself a committed fan! Kudos

Me said...

Inspirational

wow linda..really touching story i must say, ive been half a fan of your blog, but this your story has won me full time...God take you higer.

the fist pic of you and the ladies...when i saw it i was searching for the prettiest girl in the group, i noticed the lady in the middle was the most pretty and few seconds later...it hit me that it was you. you look sweet..muah muah mauh loool...God bless and give your golden heart all its desires

ps linda try and get this book to read am sure it will be of tremendous help ''power of the subconscious mind'' by Joseph murphy

Praise said...

Very touching and inspiring story. This story is a motivation for me to hold on strongly to my dreams. Am also a young lady and hope some day, I will smile and write my success story.

One word I like there is "consistency is key"

Thanks Aunty Linda

First time ever commenting on your blog. Nice words.

sylvia said...

God bless you linda...u re such an inspiration to the world as a whole..have fun

Nice words from you.

wow so touching. I pray my hard work nd faith turns up like ur. am hpi for u.

Hadassah said...

oya now aunty Linda where are you?.......

O.K Linda (thank God Linda is now an household name in blogging. Everyone calls "Linda", young, middle-age or old; so why not me). I have a dream too! Let's shoot a movie with this script you have just written. I'd be the director. I bet we would make money from this and no bank or anti-worreffa would ever chase us...lolz
So captivating, motivating and inspirational. Kept me glued to my laptop (not even seat, because I didn't even know if I was sitting while reading). Good for you you endured till the very end. Hope youths like me could learn from this.
I feel like crying...

Wow! What a touching and inspiring piece. I'm speechless....words fail me as my eyes well up with tears. God bless you Linda.

congratulations Ms. Ikeji and may Almighty God answer all our prayers.

May God bless your kind soul. All ye lazy beggars on this blog, be inspired, get lives and try be useful to ur selves and not die on the poor girl's hustle so you can send ur stories too. Linda, call for grass to grace stories like this and leave Kardashian for a while. Jaiye ori e omoolomo.your eyes have see.

This just made me cry Linda I wish I could be like you in this life time but there can only be one Linda Ikeji I've got business Ideas but they are all clashing against each other maybe you can advise me on what to do here's my email joyograh1@gmail.com

So inspiring, I love your courage. Weldone Linda

Officialmrssam said...

Am so touched by diz *Crying
May God continue to bless u Linda.

*Miss official

Chinyere said...

Linda you are a mentor to some of us I really admire your courage and strength . I am working on setting up a beauty and wellness company I hope your would help me promote it. God be your strength.

Bless you Linda. May God continue to lift you up. Amen!

AnonymousK said...

Hmmm Linda, this story long o but it shows that pple shld never give up on their dreams!

Girl, you have such a beautiful soul... shame on Nigerian guys, haven't figured out how to snatch you up and wife you!

MATATA M. said...

Hi Linda, i love your story and it is really inspiring i can called a Rags to Riches story. I always visit your blog and i love the way you are committed and dedicated to blogging, i would love to ask you a question, How do you manage to keep focused and never lose track all these years in blogging. Iam from Uganda and Iam really amazed and surprised by how much you have achieved.
Your since LIB Reader
hallbrain.blogspot.com

Now I am looking at you in another light, you have done well for yourself.

Mmm.. U inspire me

This is such an inspiring story Linda. There is always a story behind every glory and yours is such a touching one. I respect your tenancity and courage. May God grant you grace to sustain and increase on this height of accomplishment you have attained. Your decision to help other girls achieve their dream is wonderful and be assured it will never go unrewarded. Keep the good flag flying.

You inspire me a lot. Love u so much

Sexymillzdiva@gmail.com

Wow... that's soooooo touching.... an encouragement to those of us almost giving up on our dreams... God bless us all and may He give you a very wonderful man to love and care for you and marry you... I love the way you take care of your parents, your children will care for you too

waoooooo......am inspired with this article. sister linda you have passed through hell before God said it is time to reward you. This is the just beginning of your success in life, you buy auro-plane,jet,ship,build $100,000,000 House in jesus name.have gain a lot with this touching story of your life.More blessing in Jesus Name. Long life and good health to eat this good things God has done for u. congrat for made it at last. www.gistmynaija.com

Sylvonce said...

Wow!!!! Am amazed. I read all word by word. Your struggles really paid off and ours definitely will. No one should give up. It only takes the time and grace of God, wht wil b wil b

This was a very nice article to read. Really changes how i saw you. Keep up the good work

Linda you just touched my heart! You are an inspiration, an encouragement. May God continue to bless the works of your hands!

The truth is, everyone will always have a story to tell. I thank God for your life.

wow! This is inspiring....

nawahoooo enjoymenr

Hmmmmmn this life is not funny

Didnt know when i dropped a tear... Nice!

Nice to know that you have helped touch a lot of women's lives.... I sure hope you continue the good work. Congrats to your parents on their chieftain title...

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Great woman!!!!

That's what you are linda!

Keep representing!!!!!

I love you....

kehindeoladimeji said...

awwwwww.....so touching.

Your story is like mind but mine really is so so worst ,on it betrayal from Family and Friends,fraudster bankers. With hidden charges ,fraud debit from my accounts ,Panti police station 4 time over 18months with Detention in between.Complex ,the good part I'm still standing and their light at the end of tunnel of life - Q

kehindeoladimeji said...

Awwwww.......so touching.

kehindeoladimeji said...

Awwwww.....so touching.

Rubylicious said...

Your story is truly inspiring, many young ladies can relate with it. It is very frustrating having to go to school and graduate only to roam the streets looking for a job. Even to start a business these days, one needs a certain amount of money which most times can be gotten through loans which these banks aren't willing to give for fear of not being able to pay back coupled with previous experiences. Nigeria of today is really frustrating, most girls have to resort to sleeping with those acclaimed wealthy men to make ends meet. I know how many people claimed to be in a position to offer a job immediately I graduate from the University. Now I've graduated, they are singing a different song. Wanting to get in between my legs before a job is offered or the ones that ask for ridiculous amounts of money. Where they expect a young graduate to get that amount from, only God knows. As long as there is life, there is definitely hope. I refuse to give up.

God bless u hun

Charles White said...

#inspirationallinda

Hello Linda, I actually don't like your blog. I think it is too trashy but so is every media outlet today (CNN included). So nothing against you. If this story is true, I am very impressed and wish and pray you achieve God's plan for you.

honeysprings said...

This is the most inspiring story have ever read. Was almost crying. Grateful to God for your life. Am sharing my own soon. More grease dear!

Mike Ebuka said...

Nkem4ever said...

Linda you are not just a strong woman you are truly an inspiration. I can't imagine how you felt at SFIU. I work with a bank and understand the frustration we feel at debtors but after reading your write up I ashamed. I am ashamed because banks treat their big debtors like kings but use a sledgehammer on the small ones like you were back then. Today I make a fresh vow to myself to succeed. One day like you I will write my story maybe not as dramatic as yours mine all the same. And thumbs up on uplifting Chief and Lolo. I have never underestimated the power of a parents prayer and you obviously don't too. They will live to celebrate you as long as God is God.

Wow really touching.

John said...

Quite an inspiring story. There is no success that is coincidence. Some may seem so to many, but when the real story is told you will realize that it takes dreams, revelations, determination, courage, persistence, ideas, passion, focus, and God's favor.

The ancient book says: "God will bless the works of your hands". So I encourage everyone not to give up, keep your hands working, you will never know at what point the blessing of God will show up. That point is what people may call luck!!! But its about time and chance.

Be patient enough to experience the blessing of God on what your hands are working at. Be fulfilled and enjoy your life. Don't forget try and get a SANDRA in your life !!!!!!!

Inspiring... Thanks for taking time to put this into writing; sometimes all we need are those inspiring words to always push forward and stay strong with hopes of a better tomorrow. If you could make it then I can too. Keep reaching out Linda!

John said...

Quite an inspiring story. There is no success that is coincidence. Some may seem so to many, but when the real story is told you will realize that it takes dreams, revelations, determination, courage, persistence, ideas, passion, focus, and God's favor.

The ancient book says: "God will bless the works of your hands". So I encourage everyone not to give up, keep your hands working, you will never know at what point the blessing of God will show up. That point is what people may call luck!!! But its about time and chance.

Be patient enough to experience the blessing of God on what your hands are working at. Be fulfilled and enjoy your life. Don't forget try and get a SANDRA in your life !!!!!!!

Be patient enough to experience the blessing of God on what your hands are working at. Be fulfilled and enjoy your life. But try and look for a Sandra in your life !!!!!!!

Seriously I don't know where to start. While I was reading this, couldn't help it but to #cry LINDAIKEJI indeed Uar a #SourceOfInspiration to I and a lot of us out there. Never felt the way I feel now. Your words are really encouraging. My working but for 3months now, they haven't paid us so the whole back and forth got me thinking and with this your article am more #determined as I want to go into #makeup and #fashion which they have always been my dream to own one some day. But no matter how it is out there, I will never give up. When the going gets tough, the tough ones persist.

I end this with this your word #let's creat businesses and Empires instead of looking for one.. I don't know if I've ever meant it when I say I like but today, from the inner most , deep down my heart , I will say I don't just like I #love U. Linda.. thank U thank U thank U. May God almighty grant U all your heart desires as you in

You just inspired me. Deep very deep. Thanks for sharing.

wow...Linda this is inspiring... God will enrich you...thanks for being a solution provider

You truly inspired me with this,as if you were talking to me.. Thanks and more grace to continue!

kai Linda! This is the most inspirational book you just gave out here for free? pls I will read it a million times. my husband is a publisher(BusinessIQ) and I understand all that you ve written here better than anyone else( especially the magazine vendor part lol). congrats God sees our struggles.

So painful,cant jes cry

Rosie Said.......Like Ndigbo will say "Nwanyi bu ife".People will be crying,i don't have boys, i have only girls.Look at Linda hustling more than most guys.......Who run the World?...Girls!!!!! God bless your hustle.

NJ said...

Awwww.. What a touching, and, inspiring story. We thank God for your life Linda. We thank Him also for people like you, who believe in women empowerment. May God continue to shower you with His Blessings, Love, and, Grace.

NJ said...

Awwww.. What a touching, and, inspiring story. We thank God for your life Linda. We thank Him also for people like you, who believe in women empowerment. May God continue to shower you with His Blessings, Love, and, Grace.

Delisma said...

Linda you are so strong and courageous, i wish i can be like you. Our society iş not helping us.

Linda you have really paid your dues in life....enjoy dear you deserve it!!!

Linda, thank you for your story. 41yrs plus and having to start all over again. You have raised my confidence. I thought you were just a spoilt 'runs girl', am sorry for ever thinking so. Been reading your blog since 2012. God bless you Linda. Soon I will tell you my story of success!

Linka thanks for this inspired stories. God bless you real good. I am moved and i have determined too to be an entrepreneur. The path you have decided to toe will only lead you to more opportunities and achievements. I never knew you are this good. God bless you and keep it up.

WD said...

wao, you have really come a long way. And look at you now, a dream come true. Wish u d best in your future dealings and I also wish myself same as i have been encouraged by your story never to give up. See u at the top.

My first comment ever, Thanks for sharing Linda

WD said...

oh sorry, one more thing, my regards to the new chief and chief Mrs in town. Enjoy ur holiday and have a safe trip.

it's a long piece i must say but it sank deep within me and i am willing to do whatever it takes to be successful(minus prostitution). this is my first comment on your blog and any other blogs, i'd appreciate if you can bring me in and help me. God bless you Linda> kisses

you are a sky full of stars
I love you linda.. may God grant you all your heart desires

Wooow...long interesting post...also visit galaxygist.com

Dauda said...

This is real success not the rubbish stella dimoko is doing.giveaway my foot.

phartimah said...

Oh dear! This should be a book and titled "How It All Started With Linda Ikeji" - New York Best Selling!
God bless you linda, this country is full of shitty people but i'm happy before now, i already built my mind to stop complaining about the country but to think of what i can do to my situation. Love you linda for this piece!!!

Linda u jst made me cry nd take a second look at my life and how i am leaving , some times I wish i could get d kind of strenght u hv as a woman...anyway I hv always being a strong girl nd I will continue to be so one day I will tell my story like dis.

Xlim said...

I am touched. May God bless you even more abundantly.

Love you Linda. Love your vision. Love you for treating your parents. I wish you long life and prosperity.

Thanks linda for dis write up..u have given me courage. .God bless u..I usually don't comment but today I had to..God bless u again

Wow im inspired, its a hard life out there, im 26yrz old without a job, a husband or a child, somtyms I feel like the walls are caving in on me. I wish I have passion to do all these, no time is too late, I want to move into clotting line, I pray I succeed. I see myself as a failure most tyms.

Wow this is cool linda please also remember the guy. I also have an idea i will love to share ..ottajames@gmail.com. Bless!!

Aww , Linda.. You'll definitely inspire lots of young ladies out there. You were really determined and knew what you wanted And stood by your principles. God will sure grant you other heart desires that you've got..

Eiya how touching and inspiring. May God continue to enlarge your coast Linda

Dabo Owen Etela said...

Linda you have been a source if inspiration to many including myself. Through you, others will have better opportunities and access to funds without anti-fraud unit calling. God bless!

Linda, u have truly done well for yourself and I salute your tenacity.
God has really blessed you and no man (not even the haters) can undo his work in your life.

I suggest that you appreciate (dedicate one of your giveaway Mondays) those who started commenting on your blog at inception (they helped advertised your blog).

This story is inspirational. Pls keep it up.

And now the story has changed......sometimes I just ask myself must som1 struggle before making it in life. All d same it is well. I hope i get there someday as well. Big ups Linda

STELLA DIMOKO IS A FOOL said...

More grease.
Haters are gonna hate.

Angel said...

God bless you Linda, you really are an inspiration.

Gbogbo Bigz girlz (GBG) said...

Awww. This makes me teary eyed.
Infact, you just have me a renewed hope.
Almost giving up.
Thank you for this inspirational story.

Boomsha said...

Awwwwww.. This is so inspiring! God bless you Linda.

«Oldest ‹Older   1601 – 1800 of 1959   Newer› Newest»