Buhari, Osinbajo disclose assets | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 September 2015

Buhari, Osinbajo disclose assets

The assets of President Buhari and Vice President Yemi Osinbajo have finally been disclosed. Below is a press statement from the presidency.

“Documents submitted by President Muhammadu Buhari to the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), show that the retired General has indeed been living an austere and Spartan lifestyle, contrary to what many might expect of a former Head of State of Nigeria and one who has held a number of top government positions, such as governor, Minister of petroleum and the head of the Petroleum Development Trust Fund (PTDF).
“The documents submitted to the CCB, which officials say are still being vetted and will soon be made public, show that prior to being sworn in on May 29, President Buhari had less than N30 million to his name. He also had only one bank account, with the Union Bank. President Buhari had no foreign account, no factory and no enterprises. He also had no registered company and no oil wells.
“The Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo (SAN) who had been a successful lawyer before his foray into politics declared a bank balance of about N94 million and 900,000 United States Dollars in his bank accounts.
“President Buhari declared however that he had shares in Berger Paints, Union Bank and Skye Bank.
“This is entirely unlike what one might expect from a former head of state of a country like Nigeria.
“The documents also revealed that President Buhari had a total of five homes, and two mud houses in Daura. He had two homes in Kaduna, one each in Kano, Daura and in Abuja. One of the mud houses in Daura was inherited from his late older sister, another from his late father. He borrowed money from the old Barclays Bank to build two of his homes.
“President Buhari also has two undeveloped plots of land, one in Kano and the other in Port Harcourt. He is still trying to trace the location of the Port Harcourt land.
“In addition to the homes in Daura, he has farms, an orchard and a ranch. The total number of his holdings in the farm include 270 heads of cattle, 25 sheep, five horses, a variety of birds and a number of economic trees.
“The documents also showed that the retired General uses a number of cars, two of which he bought from his savings and the others supplied to him by the federal government in his capacity as former Head of State. The rest were donated to him by well-wishers after his jeep was damaged in a Boko Haram bomb attack on his convoy in July 2014.
“As revealed by the same forms, highlights of the Vice-President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo’s asset declaration include his 4-bedroom residence at Victoria Garden City, Lagos and a 3-bedroom flat at 2 Mosley Road, Ikoyi. The Vice President also has a 2-bedroom flat at the popular Redemption Camp along Lagos-Ibadan Expressway and a 2-bedroom mortgaged property in Bedford, England. Aside from these, the Vice President has no other landed properties on the form.
“Apart from his law firm, known as SimmonsCooper, the Vice-President also declared shareholding in six private companies based in Lagos, including Octogenerium Ltd., Windsor Grant Ltd., Tarapolsa, Vistorion Ltd., Aviva Ltd. and MTN Nigeria.
“According to details shown on the form, the Vice-President has about ninety four million naira, nine hundred thousand US dollars and nineteen thousand pounds in Nigerian Banks with the foreign currencies kept in local domiciliary accounts. His personal vehicles are one Infinity 4-Wheel Drive SUV, one Mercedes Benz and a Prado Jeep.
“As soon as the CCB is through with the process, the documents will be released to the Nigerian public and people can see for themselves.”
Signed :
Garba Shehu
Senior Special Assistant to the President (Media and Publicity)

274 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 274 of 274
stanlo boranti said...

Were d haters at. Seen... Dem nor gt billons like una corrupt village brodas una dey fight for

Vice president with the only the ones we heard you are a wealthy being jour

Which process again.

i love these two leaders... they live exemplary lives so much humility...

Only 30 million Naira!!!!....who ever will believe such lie is seriously Naive

Good1!

Muna Canice said...

rozermila said...

dats nice, hope our governors will follow suit no be just dey claim leadership. han

This is a good start for our country...God have mercy on us!

No Comment

Thec said...

una don tell us wetin we wan hear nah, we don hear..hw are we so sure

mikkyjanec said...

Please all this people should stop lying to us. Osibanjo is honesty with his asset but Buhari's is a lie.

this is day light robbery even my family that is not well to do does not have a mud house not to talk of a former head of state is this great country like ours to have two mud houses like i said this is day light robbery his children school abroad and he is telling us trash let him tell that to his brothers and not well learned Nigerians like us

Hahahaha!! Linda.... why no comments!!!??? Chai Chai.. der is God o!!!!

yimu
dey don hide all d money joor

Okay that's good to know. Hope when they are leaving we won't hear 10Hotels,50houses in Abuja,30billion dollars in a foreign account..#okbye

Ehn so with this they're saint???

Abeq pass jor

Aunty linda biko

G. Babes said...

Really? So our VP is richer than our Presido.

Ajay Printing Services said...

Hey dey have kill us o I thought Buhari said he had less than 1 million in his account n he had to borrow money 4 election n he had a small farm house where he kept his cows cos he can't do without cars hey n d shares he has in companies n wat case did osinbanjo judge dat gave him a whole nine hundred thousand dollars and over 50 millions naira o chizox n d shares o

lobatan.. so an pple shut up and and allow dem work .

Gbamest!

See how APC fine tune the thing.. smh, are u telling us if someone is rich before serving the public it's wrong?? Stop giving us zobo abegi..

Rest. In peace to this lie

May Allah bless him. Please make us proud

good one,other public officers should follow suit.

They have transfered all their wealth to their relatives, story. I though they said buhari has no home of his own. How can osibajo has close to 1m dollars from which business?

With all these records, i expect good and transparent governance for them

The Change is here.
Since the president has decided to declare his assets to the general public for consumption, then I see no reason why other past and present political leaders and politicians shouldn't declare theirs. Our country Nigeria needs honest and transparent leaders if we want to move forward, that is what PMB is trying to do.
For us as the masses we need to support this country with serious Prayers, for its only through God's intervention we can fight this corruption.
The change has to start from you and I, lets obey laid down rules and regulations, lets live a Godly life, helping one another and we shall succeed.
Thanks

Integrity and transparency

KHEMMY said...

GOOD, I love u both, Thank God for their lives, God will continue to help them

Our VP is a rich dude

seen

http://charlonicben.blogspot.com/ said...

Now we are in truly in business. Footsteps and trends for others to follow.

And who asked them again? APC always seeking unecessary attention. Mmmmtteeeww!!!

BRock said...

Now this is transparency! Thank u PMB and keep doing what u can so to help us retrieve the years that the locusts have swallowed

Nawa o Linda!!! Why una no post comment now!!??? CHAI CHAI!! Der is God o!! hahahahahahahahaha

Egobliss said...

So the expect Nigerian to believe this,no p! We mumushiy accept it.

Let's hear where the attack will come from next

This is Nigeria, sooner or later, what's left untold will surface

Does dr he constitution demands to know what the house is made of?is sarcastic to tell us it's a mud house.

Very humble of them

How come d president is so poor and he can afford to send his children abroad?
With did amount osibanjo has there is no need for salary for him o ,even with half salary he can still leave as a king.

Transparency

Flutter said...

Omo this VP get money oooooooo... I am surprised

zinga said...

Pure liers...will never believe this..

Omo see Assets Chain!!! Well I Go whort pass Them. #BeatingChest #Lobatan

Oma said...

Story for the gods. Buhari had less than 30 million before being sworn in yet he claimed he couldn't buy Presidential form. lies, lies, lies.
Mr. VP, I salute you jare for being a successful man. If you were my Dad I would have been so proud of you, I guess your kids are. Keep succeeding.

Wow
What a honest life. God bless this guys

nice nt bad at all.

Hmmmm! Am so humbled.

Add Jules on 2BFAD98B for Organic beauty products

Hmmmm! Am so humbled.

Add Jules on 2BFAD98B for Organic beauty products

Check felixosiadi.blogspot.com for impartation on Gods word and Gospel of Grace

He had 30mil in his acct but couldnt buy his presidential form for 1m, i thot his bank acct was empty.

You mean he has almost a billion naira in cash, apart from assets & investments. Do u know how much $900,000 alone is? The vp should even have more. He has a law firm & him & his wife are not flamboyant/wasteful - if not theyll have more houses. Hes probably paying his childrens school fees.

Buhari has a lot of money though if u value his assets, pple are just looking at his cash at bank. Apart from his houses, he has liquid assets worth MUCH MORE dn a 100million.

Just 3 months silly cow. Disgraceful set of pple.

Hes not igbo.

Sai baba for d next 8 yrs. Trust linda, she wont post how GEJ THE CROOK and gusau rented fictitious houseboats for d navy for 12 billion naira, overriding nkojo iweala (who told them there was no money) & then forcing diezani to cough it up from nnpc account directly to d navy account just b4 elections. CROOK!!!!!!

He NEVER said that. You igbos create ur own lies & spread them till they become truths in ur head. Some of us still live in reality. Bunch of liars.

- Bisola

Nice one royal

Rosie Said.......Why are they describing these folkes as living "Austere" lives???? What is austere about N30 million and N96 million,with all the foreign currency and all the properties in the mix........Austere my foot!!!!!

A response to the criticism. They never planned to declare but they're facing headwinds and this was the easiest thing. Now where are forensic accountants to see if this is true

Na so Bisola...sombody talk smtg without abusive words and u reply with how many bile...if Zina lie u for just lay d truth u're fighting for b4 all...chikena!

Ahaha badmouth

JESUS IS A CHRISTIAN!

Oh he didnt have money before election, all of a sudden he has 30 million within Months.I see how fast he is in embezzling

Hw come Buhari has up to 30mil in his acct, i thought he was so poor thay he couldnt pay for his Presidential form, these ar all deceits

Fool.theres sumfin called scholarship u knw.besides his wife's business was doing really well b4 he became d presido.

U rilly d one wit low iQ.fake ass bitch wit ur fake ass dp.Y not put ur real pic.

Good example, good leadership

Such a rude and backward comment. Behave pls

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 274 of 274   Newer› Newest»