The 41-year-old attended a routine ultrasound appointment with partner Jason Nece on Friday last week when a nurse found the expectant mum was in active labour.
Stephanie had been due to have a caesarean in September because the baby was breech, so medics were forced to act fast.
But the Texas couple told doctors there was one thing they had to do before the baby arrived.
"It was really important to us that we were married when our baby was born," Stephanie told the magazine.
Staff at the Texas Children's Pavillion for Women in Houston sprang into action to make the couple's dream come true.
Dr Karla Wagner told PEOPLE: "All of a sudden, we had a wedding."
The hospital chaplain was drafted in to perform the ceremony while Jason retrieved the marriage licence the couple had obtained a day earlier along with a white maternity sundress.
Stephanie was even provided with a bouquet, 'something borrowed' in the shape of a pearl necklace from a nurse and a ribbon as her 'something blue'.
A nurse played Mendelssohn's Wedding March on her mobile phone before the couple exchanged vows in front of around 25 people.
Newlywed Stephanie was then whisked away in a wheelchair with a 'Just Married' sign on the back to have her baby.
Less than two hours later, baby Sophia was born weighing 6lbs 3oz.
Stephanie told PEOPLE: "I didn't think I'd be married and having a baby at the same time. This was the happiest day of our lives."
67 comments:
Happened to my cousin... Congrats to her
#it WILL only GET better
#IT must END in PRAISE
People do silly thinhs just to trend
People do silly things just to trend
Baby and wedding anniversary on same day... Awesome double blessing!
Mother Bride.
Wow that's amzeing, now that's something that doesn't happen everyday
Lovely!
Good for her.
This is lovely....congrats guys
Wow
it is well
Eyaaa...nice
So beautiful! Double congrats
Different news everyday! God dey!
Oh please!
How is this special when they planned it?
My aunt on the other hand had a baby on her wedding night 20 years ago. Totally unplanned. Wedding Stress made the baby show 6 weeks early.
Double blessing's to them and I wish them all d best. Congrats!
A happiest day indeed
Same thing happened to my cousin years back. She had her engagement on Friday, put to bed midnight and had the church wedding same Saturday.
Aww that's beautiful double blessing.
That girl is a special child!
wow! talk of double portion, congrats to them.
DOUBLE Blessing.
Congratulobia
Awwwww...Happy dey got marrid at least.doubke blessings.welcm little one.
So lovely
speed my marriage Oh Lord
So lovely
So happy for u.May God bless u and d baby
So lovely
Only in Yankee
Aaaawww
congratulations madam
I love their simplicity, Congratulations Dear.
Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.
So lovely
What a heart warming story. It brought tears of joy to my eyes. Congratulations to the new couple. More blessing on the way.xxx
Beautiful congrats
Aww! God is great and congratulation to them, may God continue to bless their home
Awesome! Big congrats to them....
So no baby mama stattus for her...
Congrats!
Hmmmmm good for am oooo congrats
Wow! That's different. HML to them and congrats on new baby! Double celebration... Mo-1
Double congratulations to her
Double congrats to them.
I wish them all d best and God blessing.
Mumu much as I don't condone premarital sex, it says in the story that the baby was 3 weeks early. Simple comprehension skills. Read to understand, okay?
wowwww. congrats to them
DOUBLE ING AND NICE ARRANGEMENT
CONGRATS
Double blessings, congrats to her. Linda take note!
Yes luv,mother bride.Double congrats to her
Good things.
Awwwww......this made me to almost cry. Nice one, glad she had her dream come true.
Nna this is really lovely though no doubt... #NowPlaying>> tem to three: tim lyre...
My mum had my elder brother too on my parents wedding day!
That's good. Congrats
Lesbians pls gere room
Nothing spectacular here, my cousin gave birth on her wedding day after going thru all d wedding process not by sitting on a hospital bed
Congrat×2, God bless dem more
Funny enough Linda I was in d same situation too years back but my mum still went ahead to continue d wedding ceremony from beginning to d end. Trust me I showed up too #HavannahHospital #St Dominic Yaba. #5-3-88
Wow..happy people.
i am just too happy for you.
That was planned. Mine wz heavenly destined.Had my ist baby on my wedding anniversary. Awesome God! Funny though, hubby actually promised a baby for our anniversary long before I took in.favoured one
Double congratulations
She still had pre marital sex. Hypocrites wishing congrats
Double congrats!