Two suicides linked to Ashley Madison leak include Texas police chief | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 25 August 2015

Two suicides linked to Ashley Madison leak include Texas police chief

Two people have taken their own lives after their details were leaked by the Ashley Madison hackers, it was disclosed today.
Captain Michael Gorhum, who served for 25 years with the San Antonio Police Department in Texas, was named as one of the suicide victims.
And at a press conference on Monday, Canadian police confirmed a second suicide of a person also believed to have been using the extramarital affairs website.

Police are investigating if the deaths are as a direct result of the leak of Ashley Madison users. 

The website has now offered a $500,000 bounty to anyone who names the hackers and helps police secure a conviction against them. 
The death of Capt Gorhum in San Antonio, Texas, came just days after his official email address was linked to an Ashley Madison account.

One of his colleagues posted a moving tribute on Facebook, saying: 
Rest in Peace Captain Mike Gorhum. You truly are one of the guys I've most respected in my Law Enforcement Career, no task too big, no goal too loafty. 
'Never met a stranger, never backed down, always had your partner's back or, when you were in charge, your Officer's back. Whatever it was, I wish one of us could have reached you, could have told you, "regardless, it will be OK". 
'Love you Mike. This is a hard day. God bless you, and your Family and the Department.'  

The San Antonio Police Department announced Cpt Gorhum's death on Thursday afternoon, stating that he oversaw the San Antonio Regional Intelligence Center (SARIC) Unit.

His was one of three San Antonio city official email addresses which were leaked as part of the Ashley Madison, San Antonio Express news reports.

Two of the email accounts are reportedly linked to members of the SAPD - the late Capt. Gorhum, and a detective - but Ashley Madison does not verify email addresses, so it is possible to use the site with someone else's email.

San Antonio city officials say that as a result of this, they 'cannot confirm whether these (two) addresses were legitimately used to access the site', adding that Ashley Madison is blocked on City officials' computers.

Hackers released a cache of data about 37million Ashley Madison members, some of whom were using email addresses of U.S. government officials, UK civil servants, and European and North American corporations.

SA Express News

San Antonio Express News

28 comments:

aproko manager said...

E don red

No one needs to kill themselves over Ashley Madison. There must have been other issues

Cowards, suicide is not and never an option.

hrm paul ojeih said...

Adultery no good cheating on spouse e no good d hackers warned dem to shut down their operations yet dey refused so d hackers released their data who is to blame?not d hackers

Joshtech said...

Shit happens got a lot nigeria scammer on that site and they been hacked I guess they won't try to get compensation.

Only cowards take their lives. The said addresses were not yet confirmed yet he was quick to take his life. *sigh*.

Crazy people..!!!

For window blinds, wallpaper and curtains please call 08160856785.

Very good behaviour

Evil is evil instead of humbling our souls to hear and receive God's mercy we still go on sinning with useless excuses...now, just see where the devil dat deceived all these ones is destroying them on their hidden foolishness they call "wisdom"...

Foolish fools....

I just knew things like dis would follow the leak cos oyinbo people no just get mind at all. Mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Optimist said...

Why can't they create a new email specially for this purpose instead of using their official email, Na wah

Sad!
Even if he was guilty of using the website, it doesn't justify him killing himself.
Rip to him.

Eeyah....RIP

Golda Awosika said...

E was quick to do so cus e was cheating simple.

He was already predisposed to have done this. How many others got exposed and are still steppin?

Golda Awosika said...

Al dem cheaters wud be exposed. And because cheaters are loosers, dia wud be so many more suicides cmin.

I sort of expected this to happen after that leak. Whites can hardly take the heat of something they have don when it comes.

Sad. Suicide is never the answer. May their souls rest in peace.

too bad but where can i find the list

even the police who try to stop suicides! its crazy over there, u secretly hurt your spouse, next u hurt yourself and her again!!