Presidency replies former Ministers under GEJ's administration, says anti-corruption fight is non negotiable | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 30 August 2015

Presidency replies former Ministers under GEJ's administration, says anti-corruption fight is non negotiable

The presidency has released a statement replying former Ministers who worked in Jonathan's administration. In a statement released this evening, the former ministers had asked the Buhari led govt to be sincere in its fight against corruption and not use it as a tool for political witch hunting. In a statement signed by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, the presidency said the war against corruption is not a personal one nor a means of political witch hunting and that the fight is not negotiable and does not have friend nor foe.

The statement in part reads
 In this regard that there is no witch hunt or malice against anyone in the pursuit of the county’s stolen assets still stand . This war against corruption knows no friend nor foe. There is no intention to deny anyone of their good name where they are entitled to it and that President Buhari reserves the highest regards for the country’s former leaders including Dr Jonathan Goodluck who he continues to praise to the high heavens for the way and manner in which he accepted defeat in the last election. That singular action remains a feat that has earned the former president and Nigeria as country befitting commendations all over the world, the latest coming from Mr Ban Ki-Moon, the Secretary-General of the United Nations who visited a week ago. For the purpose of emphasis, the issue of fighting corruption by President Buhari is non negotiable. It is sine qua non to the overall reconstruction of the economy and social systems which suffered destruction and severe denigration under the last administration. President Buhari will not be deterred or blackmailed into retreat and surrender. No one in the PDP can accuse President Buhari of undermining the economy when all they handed over to him is at best,was a tottering economy hobbled by corruption and the absence of due process. Things have become worsened by the continuing fall of oil prices, which is expected to fall even further with the imminent full return of Iran to the market. All he has been doing while around is to put things together, organizing to defeat Boko Haram, paying outstanding salaries, cleaning up the mess left behind, improving security and restoring our relationships with neighbors and the world. So what are former ministers afraid of in these things? Have they become a new trade union? Let this collection of ex-VIPs allow the President the peace he needs to handle the reconstruction of the economy and the nation in a manner that most serves Nigeria’s best interests. President Buhari does not need these types of distraction presented by the so-called association of former ministers.”

86 comments:

[WATCH VIDEO] ALLEGED WIZKID SEX TAPE

Oh yes o! Forward ever, backward never. Linda take note!

Non negotiable! Gbam

SWILL MARTIN said...

Ghen ghen!

So quick.

Wait ooo..... I just need to ask Nigerians a
question....
Are we (some) really in their right senses sha?
What kind of "unnecessary uproar" are we
carrying all about concerning the appointments of
Mr President so far.........about dominating the
ministerial list with Northerners

Seriously....... are we really joking or serious here?

What kind of "balanced regionalization" act of
government you wanna be running in my country..
Mr President his appointing his ministers based
on merit..... not on a rubbish "balanced
regionalization".

If he sees that those who are competent,
reliable.....capable personalities are mostly from
the north......no problem......... even sef .....if
they are from his family.....no wahala.
In as much as they will deliver.
In as much as they will serve their father land
efficiently and effectively.
In as much as they will take-up their
responsibilities.
In as much as they will carry out their job
diligently.........So why are now complaining.

Aren't we the one who wants change.. ...
And My President is the right answer to it........
He isn't just about " change" only.......but a
"better change".

Fuck the rule of the law about a balanced-regionalization. The rule you've been following since
yet you have no good things to write
home about your country.
yet you are still wallowing in poverty.
yet you are still being slapped and robbed in the
face by some maggots past government through
embezzlement of your country's riches..(money).

Carry on my Incorruptible, my impartial, and my
Godfearing President.......Muhammad Buhari.

May God's grace and protection be with you
always. Amen.

So quick.

So quick?

There must be something wrong with Buhari or his spokesperson. Did they read the statement at all or they like the sound of their own voices. Start the probe but it must be in line with due process and the law that was the message by the former ministers but the propaganda fried APC brain can't even get that. This is getting very very tragic that is Buhari and his spokespeople.

Here the propaganda machine go again. Who asked you to negotiate the probe? Abi Bihari and his spokespeople are so daft that they don't even read before they reply. I tire for these people.

I read the statement from the ex ministers and there was no mention of the probe being negotiable so where on earth did this 'in fullness of time' hired man get his idea from. Hallucinations of a totally confused presidency.

lol

These APC and their Buhari and spokes people are truly propaganda machines. Who asked you not to probe or who said you should make your probe negotiable? Nigerians are not being fooled any longer by these criminals called APC. APC and Buhari are the president and party of northerners. How did the SouthWest get into this situation?

more film........

Ok nau. :-)

Ok nau. :-)

Oh shut up already. Everyday propaganda party. Start probe. Name the looters. Charge or take them To court. You won't but it is one talk after another everyday. All Propaganda Congress. Idiots.

Can someone tell this spokesperson to just shut up and get Pa Buhari to actually govern. All the appointment of northerners will never stand. Cattle rearers.

With each passing day I regret ever voting for this brainless stupid party and their old president. Change my foot.

There is no going back in this fight against corruption, I voted PMB to recover what the enemies of this country have stolen.

I'd just rather not be driven batsh*t insane by dis particular topic....

Enof of this drama abeg!

Very well said.

I have never come across a bunch of scared old men and women,RELAX!!!

Get the best legal team stolen /borrowed monies can buy and watch them do their magic.Stop hiding under president Jonathans peaceful acceptance of his defeat.The man himself isn't releasing press statement after press statement.He even went in to see PMB.
Speak for yourselves like the man has done(if people know the truth.....!!!!!).Hmmmm.

Everyone should chill.The movie hasn't even started yet.

mmmmmmmm said...

It high time this administration started showing or point to some of its achievement and stop blaming past ones

Uhmmmmmmmmm aunty linda u removed this comment before but by the way let's see how his own administration goes!

Rayleigh said...

What a fantastic reply..... they handed over a wobbled, troubled Nigeria to the present Administration claiming it's "laying foundation" for good 5 years. .. Buhari is clearing mess like Boko haram, security, power, corruption, oil.... and what the idiots could do is to distract him...

Let's watch n see bokahari his agendas

Rayleigh said...

What a fantastic reply..... they handed over a wobbled, troubled Nigeria to the present Administration claiming it's "laying foundation" for good 5 years. .. Buhari is clearing mess like Boko haram, security, power, corruption, oil.... and what the idiots could do is to distract him...

Buhari the Tribalistic Hausa Goat!

Dani said...

Help me tell them if your not corrupt what are you afraid of and when did ex-ministers start having association?

Ikenna Ugwumba said...

Now who are we to believe, the ex ministers with lots of facts and figures as seen in the link below http://lindaikeji.blogspot.com/2015/08/give-jonathan-administration-due-credit.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter&m=1 or the SSA on media to Mr. President? The wise should discern the folly. I rest me case

Buhari the terrorist,did you know what corruption means in the first place?this dictator,animal,blood sucker buhari thinks that every nigeria is blind as yoruba.
Buhari let me wait and see how far and good your tenure we be.

Buhari the terrorist,did you know what corruption means in the first place?this dictator,animal,blood sucker buhari thinks that every nigeria is blind as yoruba.
Buhari let me wait and see how far and good your tenure we be.

Election is over back to business mouth mouth
APC.

Don't mind them.All the ministers under Jonathan are all thief.They must pay for it.Bastard

Gbam! Gbamest! Correct talk carry go Sai Baba! Arrest all the thieves nor mercy for them.

Well said.,

Well said, been very observant on this issue

This statements sound so unintelligent buhari need to work on his media team i swear

Yes o.it is really non-negotiable. I second it.

Garba and Co had better listened to the voice of reason. Execute the anti corruption war without the meaningless drama currently being unleashed on the polity. Acknowledge solid foundations laid by past administration where that exists and move on with your governance strategies. The name calling by all and sundry detracts rather than adding to the fight. A word is enough for the wise. Meanwhile I am wishing the new administration success in improving the lot of nigerians

The ex-ministers are not asking for negotiation on anti-corruption crusade but that Buhari should give some credit to Jonathan's administration! Even Buhari himself is not clean- what about his role in PTF???? Nigerians have short memories.

KC said...

Ok. Let's see is the war against corruption will truly not know friends or foes.

Gbamest!

Linda, its very obvious that you have choisen a side in support of PDP. Good for you. One thing you Igbo people lack is loyalty to others. The only thibg an igbo is loyal to us themslves and money. Otherwise, a reasonable person will folliw the paper trail to whoever or wherever the investigation lead. Just because jonathan pretends to be calm and quiet does not mean he cant be a deadly abd deceutful person. If the investigation is leading to the office of the former president, should they stop investigating because he's quiet? Shouldnt they continue in the interest of justice and truth? In developed countries, it doesnt matter who you are, as long as the trail leads to you, you must be investigated until you are cleared. If you care, google 'canadian prime ministers office hearing'. They are currently going to court over mismanagement of public funds. The RCMP didnt stop investigating because the prime ministers office was tied to it. Grow up!

Association of thieves they are, I don't understand why every probe is seen as witch-hunt, sadly even by same Nigerians that voted for the Change that lovers of Nigeria worldwide have so wished for!
As for the ministers, pay time has come for the thieves that were among you. You forgot the slogan that 'if you can't do the time, don't do the crime'.

If they say they have no friend nor foe,can they tell Amaechi to go face his tribunal case in Rivers. Did PMB not hear that Amaechi is refusing to appear at the commission's hearing? Did PMB not hear that fashola spent 78m on websit? If he is sincere on fighting corruption,he should go after members of his own party too. Most of them were in PDP before they switched party.Rochas of IMO state was in debt of 15 billion before he became a governor,now he has paid of all the 15 billion debt,where did he get the money if not from IMO state treasury to pay off his debt.

If we continue to push things under carpet, Nigerians pls tell me who will then start this war against corruption. If we criticise every body in support of PMB fighting for this course, when do you think Nigeria will start fighting it? Ask yourselves that sincere question. Shame on GEJ for not probing OBJ's administration. Perhaps he had his own agenda. No wonder he bribed yoruba all tru the election to come back to power so as to cover his dirty tracks. Hero my foot! They are angry cos they are the scape-goats. Sorry ministers but head will roll. So if you know what's good, remain in naija for probe cos flying out will be worse. Don't forget Ibori your brother.

Mr West Germany stop blabbing....we know all ur evil plans and ur pretence of fighting corruption... Hmmmm God will expose u one day..

Amy said...

This administration should start working whole probing by the side. What is this sef. Fix federal roads, airports, refineries. Do something. We are almost 100 days here still probing and no headway.

I am an APC supporter but getting very concerned about the presidents tendency for jungle justice which is what making baseless accusations lead to. If you have evidence, charge the former ministers to court. Else quit tarnishing their reputations with sensational accusations.

I am also not happy with the incoherent press releases from Mr Presidents media team. What the hell is the above disjointed release about???? This was also how Garba Shehu's article read.

It seems it is the Lagos APC folks who know their onions where media is concerned.

Linda when u finish reading,tell me.brb

mummyisgood said...

Abeg oga PMB don't even bother to honour all these detractors' comments wit a reply, just continue d good work we are routing for u afterall 'We who are wit u are Much more than those against YOU'

The president and his northern Islamic "personal staff" should make less noise and more action. Their whole process of fighting corruption is actually becoming a witch hunt. Narrowing all Nigeria's problem to corruption of the last administration only is very uncharitable, false and smacks of real witch hinting. There is no denying the fact that the last administration was corrupt and all stolen money should be returned, all previous govt including Buhari'military regime were very corrupt and should be probed as well. Let's not forget IBB, Abacha, Abdulsalami and Obasanjo. What I expect the president to do is to say that every evidence of stolen money would be investigated and prosecuted. All past governors including his benefactor Thiefnubu should also be investigated for every allegations of corruption. That is the way to fight corruption in a multi ethnic and religious society. The president's decision to appoint "personal staff" from his northern region and Islamic religion has further cemented the perception of him as running a northern agenda if his fight against corruption is not extended as I had enumerated. According to the now justified but previously vilified Kukah, Buhari can only be president if there is a country. This is the wisdom he should learn to imbibe in his actions. No one is saying don't fight corruption but we are saying fight corruption totally and not selectively. He should make his assets declaration public to reinforce the fact that he too has not stolen money. Let's not forget he worked under legally corrupt Abacha as PTF chairman and once declared him not corrupt even in the face of glaring evidences. These perception of Buhari are real and his actions so far are reinforcing it. My advice to him is to retrace his steps, create a national govt and not northern govt, declare him assets publicly and fight corruption holistically, step public policies and start governing to rebuild the economy. He won election by a slim margin and he is already losing a lot of his supporters in less than 100 days in office!!! Mr President retrace your steps.

ANYA IKENGA said...

U are paying Salaries owed mainly by APC state governors who financed APC election.

Witch- hunt or whatsoever u call it. Just get prepared and answer questions nothing can stop baba and nothing anyone of you can do about it. Nothing.

objective said...

I just wonder how the statement of the ministers is a distraction on the president, when the apc crisis in the house of assembly was not a distraction or the northern appointments and it's resultant apc meetings and resolve to be a part of his subsequent appointments is not a distraction. Mr senior special assistant no one expects you or your government to see reasons with anything anyone says,your response is typical of your government.i rest my case

This corrupt president shuld just shut up. Ur appointments says it all. Childish mallam

I wonder if whoever read this statement knows how to read,its like they had this statement prepared waiting for someone from Jonathan's cabinet to talk then it will be released.
I was talking to my dad recently about the way Buhari has been condemning GEJ's tenure and not giving him credit for his accomplishment while in power.
Let's be honest whatever Buhari thinks he has accomplished in 100days is as a result of GEJ's foundation. How can power be improved cause of your body language?
Ogbeni receive brain in Jesus name,cause I for see your supporters coming for your head soon.Learn from Fashola and Tinubu or even GEJ and OBJ. It doesn't last forever.

its obvious you didnt read his speech garba. He never said you shouldn't probe, he only said you should do it in accordance to rule of law. You call yourself president spokeman and still can read and digest before replying. Gosh

No comments yet from apc rats! Funny. The should start this fight against corruption from fashola, tinubu n amaechi, let's know hw serious @Mbuhari is. We all support this fight.

then tell Amaechi to go and face the panel u old man

Shame on buhari if 1 dollar is not equal to 1 naira...
Shame on buhari if the 7 million jobs you blab about doesn’t come to pass...
Shame on buhari if he can't fight corruption....
Shame on buhari if all our roads are not worked on....etc...
Shame on buhari cos school children are still waiting for their lunch
Shame on buhari if he can't pay jobless graduate their 5k monthly
Shame on you buhari if you did not bring back our girls that is if there are any missing...
Shame on you buhari cos boko haram is still killing and maiming people everyday since you assumed office
Na sit down dey look I dey and I wish you what you wished GEJ in his regime....
If all these did not come to pass... God will make this country ungovernable for you

shame on you for not using your common sense.

Considering your anger and use of expletives, you pertook in the running down of this country. Probity is the foundation of good governance. What are you afraid of my friend? It's no longer business as usual and all looters would be tried and sentenced accordingly...

U make sense

Do u have a father????

Wa gbayi...action film toh ma longggh

U sound like a pained runs girl

Omo ale

Totally support his fight against corruption.

Dumb guy....'will be' not 'we be'

Shame on you buhari if you did not bring back our girls that is if there are any missing...
Shame on you buhari cos boko haram is still killing and maiming people everyday since you assumed office
If all these did not come to pass... God will make this country ungovernable for you

God bless you jarey

Yetunde...how I would have love to take you out on a date simply because of this write-up. You are so enlightened. God bless you

God bless you! I wish I knew you personally. You're one of the few Nigerians that have unbiased clear thoughts

Exactly! but yet they won't see this as corruption, see people supporting these APC politicians are becoming worse than pdp supporters

So why is your PMB not probing fashola and Amaechi? Since you're obviously very wise

Most Nigerians have no knowledge of politics, I studied political science and when I ask people about buhari and ptf they have no idea he was the chairman, millions of naira unaccounted for yet he's claiming he's not corrupt

Please you're so wise so share with me what good works you're referring to? Refierneries that were fixed by the past administration? one treasury account that was approved by the past administration? Demonopolisation of fertilizers for farm products? That also was thanks to the past administration. It's obvious you're one of the many Nigerians being deceived

Can I just say thanks for this short and precise write up