He accepted the prestigious award but not without a 13minute acceptance speech that blew any previous Kanye moments way out of the water.
West
Prior to Yeezy taking the stage, Taylor Swift talked about the infamous 2009 VMAs Best Female Video debacle that pinned the two hit makers against each other for years to follow.
Taylor said any feud between the two was laid to rest long ago, admitting that Kanye's 2004 College Dropout was the first album she bought on iTunes.
"I'm really happy for you and Imma let you finish but Kanye has had one of the greatest careers of all time," Swift playfully joked as the honoree prepared to deliver his speech.
As the crowd chanted his name, West looked visibly overwhelmed before recanting his numerous regrets surrounding the career-polarizing move.
"If I had to do it all over again, what would I have done? Would I have worn a leather shirt? Would I have drank half a bottle of Hennessy and gave the rest of it to the audience...? If I had a daughter at that time would I have gone on stage and grabbed the mic from someone else's?" he asked.West also acknowledged the backlash he has felt throughout his outspoken career: "The contradiction is, I do fight for artists, but in that fight I somehow was disrespectful to artists. I didn't know how to say the right thing, the perfect thing," adding, "Sometimes I feel like I died for the artists' opinion, for the artist to be able to have an opinion after they were successful."
And to top it all off, looks like the US might be looking "West" for the 2020 presidential election. Yes, that's right. Kanye announced he's running for president.
Kanye West announced he was running for president in 2020 during the MTV VMAs on Sunday.
100 comments:
Now this is what grown-ups do. israelolu@gmail.com
Kanye 2020 lol israelolu@gmail.com
Good vibes Kenye. ... bt presidency. .... whatever though. ...
That is the best thing dude...good decision ......(Naija si ma dun says alexshoppee)
Black are of a surety now mouthed #Kanye2020 we shd trend ds on Twitter israelolu@gmail.com
PARENTAL ADVISORY
Kanye is one smart ass, love d fact his out spoken...am still a great fan, as for his Presidential aspirations...
I'll comment on DAT 2moro
Presidency?! Wat??!!
* * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *
Owk...
Dats quite mature
hehehehehe
running for presidency ke? Nobody will hear for Kardashians again.......that's if he mistakenly wins.....
wish him luck but he's got to learn how to smile abeg
#iT wiLL only GeT bEttER
#it MusT eNd iN pRaIse
Tarloy have accepted apology my man,as for presidency you are going there dude,i can't wait to see you there.
Goodluck to you my man and your wife kim,you guys are sweet.gosh!!!
Okay naa, we wish him well.
Order for your beautiful bedspreads @ 5671CDBE. Delivery available nationwide.
Tarloy have accepted apology my man,as for presidency you are going there dude,i can't wait to see you there.
Goodluck to you my man and your wife kim,you guys are sweet.gosh!!!
hehehehehe
running for presidency ke? Nobody will hear for Kardashians again.......that's if he mistakenly wins.....
wish him luck but he's got to learn how to smile abeg
#iT wiLL only GeT bEttER
#it MusT eNd iN pRaIse
Lol! Nice
LINDA, PLS PUBLISH MY COMMENTS OOO AND I MUST DAT UR PRICE TODAY! #GBAM!
Indeed...
O ga o
gud for him
Uhmmmmmmmmm for presidency kwa, haha then kim as wife naaaaaah It won't happen!
Auntie linda shay?
Okay nau, lol
it is well
Presidency? I'm solidly behind you kanye. You stand up for people that i kùnow.
Presidency? I'm solidly behind you kanye. You stand up for people that i know.
Na now I don confirm say this guy get mental problem and he is retarded
One sentence: him go old
Never knew his now a politician.
Ok ooo Noted Gud For Him
Keep on dreaming bro...
He's a good thinker and dreamer, he mite fit in
Buhahahahah.....Kanye West for president?? It doesn't even sound right
Beautiful Kim kanye are u sure u were on ur meds wen u made dt statement cos hmmmmm who will vote for u.
That's what I call being a real man... No ego, no pride... You say just like u mean it... Way to go yezzy...
No be only president.
He will fail woefully, instagram.
Wow. Exactly word for word from eonline..I love your blog but erm.. Try not to be so obvious in your plagiarism.xx
Lmao! Only in America..
I don't know what kind of water runs thru those kardashian taps that clearly makes the men go crazy but believe me something isn't right in that family. Kanye... Pls sit down. American will have to move to Africa before they choose Kim Kardashain as first lady. Ure jst a mess and a big fat joke!
President ko local government chairman ni ewu
Kanye! Kanye!! Kanye!!! How many times i call you? Except if u no dey with Kartrashians na hin e go happen cos by that time u go don be junkie, heamophrodite and everything confusing under the sun. IF WISHES WERE HORSES
Uncle kanye
Lol. Kim will be the first lady.
...Mama J...
America! Brace yourself for your "first" Black rag-wearing, married to a whore President! Yayyy! Oro ode! He-diot!!
I doubt if this couple will ever think of divorce..
President of US not even association of musicians. The weed he's smoking is of the highest grade. What an insult? Try ruling your family and home first before thinking of ruling a country that is 'World power'. All these funny people with change in their pockets are definitely high on something. Little brat throwing tantrums, oponu ayeraye
Congrats to him for d award...buh running for presidency? Odiegwu
Running for presidency?
Signs of the anti-christ
Loool Kanye ooh president kee.
Like seriously? Ok, America is gonna av a first lady who goes nude on a daily basis.
Owk e still far dat is if jesus doesn't come b4 den
His wife history will stop him frm becoming president no doubt....
Kanye, wanna run for presidency?
Hmmmm X20
💕KanYe!💕
Kim's boobs are on a whole other level!
Kim not fit for a first lady biko
Hmmmmm ok na
Awwww...am so proud of u Kanye n I wish u d Besta luck! kim must b really proud!
Lols... dis people get plan pass every body.. Mr west for president. what a joke
I like this guy makachi
Who dashed this monkey banana?. Well, anyone can aspire to greatness, so good luck baba Kanye, but I seriously doubt u will get one vote, and to think that that bitch will become d U.S first lady is outrageous, u don't have my blessing
Good luck Mr West
After the long speech what's came to my thought was will Kim be the First Lady. Lol that's got me cracked up
Kanye For president???Lol>,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,how on earth is that possible???
Keep dreaming you hear? U can't even be elected a a common LGA chairman here in naija talk more of being a USA president. GerroutofhEre. #YGNL signing out
I Love Kanye!.... Family has really changed him.
Good. Congrats to him & Kim.
Oh how the great United States of America has become a thing of ridicule. I'm sure Miley Cyrus would soon come out to say shes going to run for presidency in 2025. What a shame...
say whaaaaat!
so d apology is to pave way
President?!... You've got to be kidding me Kanye...
nice.................
N Kimberly West is d first lady of USA...bhuhahahaha. God dey so deserve it.shebi gay can marry, una never c anytin😆😆😆😆
Hehehehe! Kanye no go kill me. Anyways, all the best to him. Linda take note!
KANYE couldn't even win PTA president at his daughters elementary school FOH
Taylor is so tall,love me so KIMYE,haters keep hating,they keep winning..congrts to u KIMYE
Congrat to him but running for presidency? Nahhhhhhhhh
Mr west president of the world and Kim 1st lady- can u beat that; smh
M laughing in spanish..I see a white house full on nude girls..
For real?even if the people of the USA wanted to vote for him,they will cancel it bcos of his ever naked wife.sorry pls.
Drama king! I love
Good for him it seems fatherhood have realky changed him!!am also liking the new kanye west and goodluck to him come 2020.
Lolz..like Swerious... Kai. I love kanye
And you people still don't think this woman has made him a better person?Can you see how positively changed he is?Please lets give credit where its due.Kim and kanyes love for her has done kanye a world of good.And he speaks the truth.Kanye has said loudly what other black artists have murmured behind closed doors.Everyone shouts queen bey but no one had the guts to stand up for her.He did and he got the heat while your queen bey sat pretty as if she wasn't pleased.we all know how vain bey is.she feuded with Jenifer Hudson forever and Rihanna till date.I would vote kanye because he won't be bullied into doing what the elite black and white politicians want.
Lets attempt to reason from our brains and not our assholes.No matter how long or how short their marriage lasts,I still think they are a great couple.we have seen that the couples we assume are perfect eg Ben and Jen have issues a boulevard long.I like a man who loves his woman irrespective of the bs people like Linda write about her.considering none of us even know them,our criticisms are pathetic.I wonder how many of us our husbands will defend us so much.
Dramer king I wonder who will vote for him
Presidency??Kanye is a big joker.
He must be a joker and a dreamer.
Apologized to Taylor again? She should thank Kanye every day for that moment because it made her career. Everybody came out swinging feeling sorry for her and the rest is history.
I believe in you kanye.... I just have my fear for Kim's porn video
Moves!!!
GOD FORBID.
Kanye just cos Donald Trump the presidency. Cos now the powers that be know that if Trump wins, Kanye stands a chance so that has to be stopped.lok
Hahahahahahahaha Kanye the hobo looking man. Degenerate keep dreaming, u married a whore so ur disqualified for life if not ur oponents will use market d porn video
Kanye the degenerate, sorry ur disqualified for life tanks to ur wife's sex tape
I love Kanye's dream and I believe he can do it.
Hehehe, if wishes were horses, beggars sef go ride o, Kanye for president, baby kojo
he did not apologise per say... he rambled on!!