10 day old baby dies after being eaten by rats in an Indian hospital | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 27 August 2015

10 day old baby dies after being eaten by rats in an Indian hospital

A 10-day-old baby boy died after being eaten by rats in an Indian hospital’s neo-natal intensive care unit. Parents of the deceased child said the rats chewed their sick child’s left eye, face, chest and hands after climbing into his incubator.

The distraught mother Chavali Lakshmi (pictured above), accused doctors of ignoring her pleas to keep rats out of the ward and failing to treat her child when he was found covered in blood. She said that days earlier, her son’s toes were bitten by the rats but medics did nothing to stop it happening again.

The mum said: “My son was not killed by the rats. He was killed by the doctors and staff at the government general hospital.”

The child's father said: “We suspected the danger a week ago and requested the staff to save our son. They were not bothered as they did not take our word seriously.”

He alleged that the doctors told them not to worry too much about his death as they have another son aged two. The case has caused outrage in India with protests at the clinic in the city of Guntur.

Meanwhile India's Health minister has ordered an urgent probe and three hospital staff have been suspended.

52 comments:

Black Belle said...

India shaaa! What a country!

Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is sad. May his soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

DADDYSWIFE said...

Nawaoo which kin story b dis.i knw her gentle soul is already restin in thy Lord in Jesus name amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

Hian! Rats ke? What kinda dirty hospital is that? No kain story pesin no go hear. RIP oh

Eaten by rats? Wat a story. wetin we no go hear

I'm out ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Hian! Rats ke? What kinda dirty hospital is that? No kain story pesin no go hear. RIP oh

Rat? Damn!

No! this is unacceptable, this is negligence on another level.
the hospital authority should be held responsible and made to face the consequence of their carelessness.

Good, wicked Doctor nd workers.

Nawa ooo,carelessnes of d highest order dey shld sue d hospital joor

...Am gettin dere...

Nna and here we are complaining we are medically dead when this once dey battle their own anyhw..... Sue every body in that hospital though... What rubbish abeg.

switch Express said...

For all u idiots who watch Zee world and r fooled by all that glamor and glitz u see, THIS, is the real India... hissss. crappy world we live in init!

INK_HER said...

Na wa o..

She shld sue them wicked doctors

Rat ke! Nawa o! The baby small like fish?

My goodness.. Incredible things that happens only in india. Smh

Some things are unspeakable, what is all this? God have mercy.

Imagine!
That they have another son.
Those doctors are heartless.

That rat is a human witch in form of rat, and maybe one of the nurses. That clinic should be closed, bunkom. RIP smal boy

Cn u imagine?.. Govt hospital 4 dat matter..

The same India Nigerians are running off enmasse to do surgeries in. Hospital with a rat infestation, in all my years.

Apple Berry said...

Are you kidding me? Those hospital staff need serious flogging to bring them back to reality!
That hospital should be shut down for deep negligence and disregard for human life!

Ladun Liadi said...

All dis kyn news from India sef

Wetin person self no go hear these days...... rat oh sorry Na witch rat**

Strange!

Sad!!May his soul rest in peace, Amen

HRH Prince Serve said...

If people did family planning. Sure they will b able to afford better health care. Y blame drs when that's d best she could afford. Anyways the stories gangster. Born into sin and left this wicked world in pieces

ANONN said...

You will just think you've heard it all in this world, then this type of news hits you. Nawa o

ogeee said...

Na waooo! Short of words

Wow. The health news coming out from India is becoming a cause for concern o. First a baby was ripped out from the womb with the head left inside the mother and now this. They really need to do something urgently abeg

Osalobuo

Jus as u were born into sin..

And you had to call them idiots? Son of a whore!

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

All this one is English ya speaking

vivian rubbie said...

Na wa ooo nothing person no go hear for this world... God have mercy on them

That is total negligence! May his little soul rest in peace

valushi said...

I am short of words, I blamed the parents as well for negligence, after all, the poor baby had been bitten before, they should have kept a better watch.

Now how terrible can dis get?

Depression killed her
..sleep on little one

Go to Luth Idi Araba..big rats run all over the patients's ward . I witnessed it when my in-law was there for an operation.

I think so too. No be India? Spiritual rats.

Iyawo baba! Didn't u read? It was a baby boy!!

Ismaila A. Nassim said...

You and this 'Linda take note!' B.S. What is she taking note of...my dear send ur comment in for screening and allow people do their jobs Biko. Take note take note

This is really strange! Nkan nbe....

Na wa o. What sorta Chewy vampire rats is that? That hospital should be closed down and license of the Doctors there withdrawn.

India worst pass Nigeria, yet our people dey troop enter am like say na Promised land!! SMH

U re a big fool to call people u don't know idiot. Mind ur language fool

Mummy Prince said...

Maybe those medics are the ones turning into rats. If not why should they allow rats to be running around freely in the hospital. Moreso, when the woman complained that the rats had bitten her child who is in an incubator on the leg, still the doctors did not take any action. I strongly suspect that spiritually, those medics turn themselves into rats, chikinaa.

My dear nassim, thanks a million for saying this. I wonder what why she does it to everyone. It's annoying and stupid.
@juliet: Plsss stop, biko stop. It's annoying

They should burn down the clinic