“My son was a character man,” Mr Brown told ABC 7 Chicago at a prayer vigil on Sunday evening in the Humboldt Park neighbourhood where the child was shot. “He was a clown man – just like me.”
A 26-year-old woman that the boy was standing with was also struck in the chest. She was taken to hospital and is in a stable condition.
Mr Brown told the Chicago Tribue that he rushed his son to hospital but that he died on the way.
"He was just down. He wasn't crying, he was speaking 'Daddy, daddy', " said Mr Brown.
"I picked him up and put him in the car. I was in the back seat, I was talking to him the whole time. I was like, 'You cool, I know you cool'."
He said that his son had responded by saying: "Yeah, I'm cool. I'm cool."
Police said there were a total of 33 shooting incidents between Friday and Sunday, with most of the bloodshed occurring in just eight hours over Saturday night.
A 16-year-old boy and a 15-year-old girl were also reported to be among the victims.
Source: ABC 7 Chicago/Independent UK
74 comments:
Poor soul... Rip
awww...sad.....May his soul rest in peace...Amen
Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......
Oooos! Too bad!
FOODS TO HELP QUIT SMOKING
WHAT A WOMAN WANTS IN BED
Chai!!RIP
Ouch!....that's a sad news. RIP boy
So sad Rip poor child
Careless parent,may his soul rest in peace.
Careless parents,may his soul rest in peace poor boy.
SAD
Awwwww...
chai, may his soul rest in peace.
Eyaaaaaa. Such is life. May his soul rest in peace
Oh no RIP Bro.... Sins of your useless father
I pray God grant d family d fortitude to bear their loss. RIP to him.
Nawaa..may his soul rip
Poor boy,may his soul RIP
D Dad CAUSED Hs DEATH, HPE HE LEARN FROM DS..TOMJERRYSWiT
Sins of the father visited on the son!
RIP to the son! ... The son has laid his life for the father! This is a warning for the father to repent and shun gangsterism, otherwise he might be the next victim!!!
Oh my God
God abeg!....
Ehya... what a sacrifice
U just wasted ur son life for no reason...... Rest in peace my Nigga........see his name Antonio...south Americans and crime
He isnt co-operating wit law enforcement cos he's gonna retaliate.. fair nd square!!!!
Let them just eradicated themselves all and let's have peace.
Chai! Dis is sad. May his beautiful soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Oga Oooo. #RIP
Chaiiiii
Nawa ooo
What is happening in dis world biko kwanu?
Human beings hv completely sold dia conscience 2 de devil
God hv mercy on de whole world
#oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#
LINDA WHAT DID THE BOY'S FATHER DO?? IS HE A THIEF? YOUR STORY IS INCOMPLETE.
Eyah poor boy
"Slow and steady wins d race"
What a loss.
Such a bright young lad wasted away because of a notorious and irresponsible father. Its such a sad story. May his innocent soul rest in peace
In peace may their soul rest
Violence everywhere. Rest in peace to the dead.
❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤ ❤ ❤
such a sad news, God rest their souls.
Rest in peace angel
Rip
Rip
What a mistake.rip innocent boy
Linda look alike
Rip
Useless father. 'my son was a clown man just like me'
Rip
Rip
so sad
Heads r definitely going to roll if a high ranking gang member loses his kid and I'm sure dats what will happen. Young boy gone too soon. Dave
So sad
What's with America and violence of recent. It's so unbecoming.
Sad it was d boy,d father deserves d death of d boy,Rip
Hmmm may his soul rest in peace
May his soul rest in peace!
Chai!!! D sins of the father......may his soul rest in peace, sad!
Lol, Linda oo, last year, there were more than 80 shootings over the 4th of July weekend in Chicago , so I think it's a good thing it's been cut by half. I chose not to go to the park on 4th of July weekends!
Imagine this oloshi of a father, just wasted this small boys life. Cuz of his poor judgements and bad decisions, truly not everybody is qualified to be a parent
Hmmmm may his soul rest in peace.
Poor child. What a sad news
Awww...such a sad one
Supposed to be the other way round, you take a bullet for your kid
dear linda, you are using the same pics for different story,. you use this same pic for the NEMA story.
This man is heartless,
Even when his son was killed, he doesn't want to cooperate with investigators.
Poor kid
May her soul rest in peace
So Sad!
Victim of circumstance. May he RIP
Na wa 4 America and crime o...Rip lil man!
And they keep complaining about whites killing blacks. When blacks kill more blacks. "A seven-year-old boy – said to be the child of a gang leader – was among eight people killed and more than 40 injured in a weekend of violence that has left Chicago reeling." Where is Al-Sharpton to lead a march or protest, oh i forgot it's not a white on black crime. So no media campaign or money to be made here. Did i forget to mention this is obama's hometown.
Hmmmmmm....RIp....
aawwwwwww!!!so sad.
atleast now he will stop gang banging..
So sad