NAFDAC warns against consumption of imported Chicken, Turkey & other Poultry products | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 22 June 2015

NAFDAC warns against consumption of imported Chicken, Turkey & other Poultry products

As shared on the Agency's Facebook wall ...
Although imported chickens and turkeys have become status symbol in Nigeria, the National Agency for Food And Drug Administration And Control (NAFDAC) has come out to strongly warned against the consumption of imported or smuggled frozen poultry frozen meat, even as it has said that imported poultry products, especially chicken and turkey have been discovered to be causative factor in non- communicable diseases (NCDs) and antibiotics resistance.
Although NCDs are non-infectious but they are deadly. Health conditions under NCDs include cancer, kidney disease, and hypertension among others. NAFDAC Director General,Dr Paul Orhii, who gave the warning at media briefing in Lagos, urged Nigerians to avoid imported smuggled chickens and turkeys, because they have been found to contain substances that can predispose one to kidney, liver and lung diseases as well as certain types of cancers and drug resistance- bacterial infections.

At the briefing, a study, titled “Prevalence, Quality and Acceptability of Frozen Poultry Meat in Major Cities in Nigeria” carried out by experts from University of Ibadan titled “, was presented. Although imported foreign chicken, turkey and along with other frozen poultry meat have been banned by the Federal Government, some Nigerians have cultivated the habit of smuggling the banned poultry products into the country to the ‘delight’ of some Nigerians who do not know the health implications of consuming such products.

Orhii said that patronising smuggled poultry foods do not only encourage economic sabotage, but also can damage peoples’ health. Orhii added that the studies have found out that most of the smuggled chicken into Nigeria contains high level of various deadly contaminants. Orhii said: “Our studies have found that most of these smuggled chickens or smuggled poultry products, may be because the way they are transported or because they are not properly packaged, they contain some contaminants. It can be formaldehyde, at times it can be high level of antibiotics residue and other contaminants like heavy metals. “And that is why we are discouraging members of the public from consuming them. We are particularly concerned about the high level of antibiotics residue, because these can cause drug resistance, resistance to antibiotics.” Orhii added that NAFDAC would begin strict enforcement of the ban on imported poultry products.

The study, which Orhii referred to, was carried out Prof. Olumide Tewe (lead researcher) ,Prof.S.S.Abiola (meat technologist), Dr.O.AAbu (nutritional enzymologist), Dr.C.I.Alarima (agriculture extensionist), Dr.O.A.Olabisi (public health specialist), Mr.S, Adelani (chief technologist) and Mr. R. A. Aromoye (administrative assistant). According to Tewe, a nutritional toxicologist, who led the research team that discovered that foreign poultry products contain harmful toxic substance, the sample for the study on “imported (smuggled) frozen poultry carcasses were obtained from wholesalers and retailers in Lagos, Ibadan, Port-Harcourt and Abuja,” and “analysed for heavy metals, microbial status and meat quality parameters.”

The nutritional toxicologist said the analysed smuggled or imported poultry food were found to be unsafe for consumption, adding that the continuous consumption of imported chicken and turkey could damage the human system on the long run, unlike poultry products produce locally, which have been found to be safe for consumption. Tewe said: “Consumers in the study area mostly consume chicken and turkey. Other poultry meats consumed are duck, geese, guinea fowl and quail. Sources of poultry meat sold is imported or smuggled poultry meat. A very small percentage (15.33) of the retailers sold locally produced poultry meat.

“It was discovered that the foreign poultry products contain high levels of formaldehyde, as well as high levels of metals and other substances which are lethal to the human body as against the locally bred poultry products which did not contain such substances. Heavy metals (which have been found to be present in imported or smuggled meat) may cause toxicity-related mutagenesis (mutation), carcinogenesis (cancer) and other severe health hazards. Others (result of heavy metals) are cardiovascular diseases, skin disorders, and neurotoxicity lung and nasal cancer in humans”.

The general public, please take note...

62 comments:

Oh I see..

Hmmm k oo

Noted

@BISHOP DAMMY...

I wish u HBD, and LLNP on ur BIRTHDAY - Monday, 22nd June 2015. God abundantly bless u, and everytin dat concerns u.

I wish u all ur heart desires, joy, good health, and a prosperous life. Enjoy ur day, and stay blessed alwaz!

Thank you For this news linda

I tot some of these frozen food are sold here

Very soon protein will be lacking in this country.Bushmeat No,Kpomo(lol) mba,foreign turkey & chicken babu.Beans will save our lives.

This is a biased research. The name and brand of chicken and Turkey tested should be released. After all these imported foods come from somewhere. Brand name and country of origin should be known so Nafdac can inform these countries.

lgho said...

Hmmmm God help us all..

NOTED

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

Hmmm ok note taken

Noted

I eat from my poultry

How do we differentiate na?

Wow no more eating of frozen chicken again.

For your network free browsing, mobile phone tutorial and gaming visit Www.zpykios.blogspot.com

God will help us in this country oo... am so scared

Then dey should stop its importation & make sure its not smuggled into the country. Linda take note!

Okiie, notice to all LIBERs. Didn't want to do dis before but I gex I just have to do it as a disclaimer. One idiot on dis blog stole my identity, my name & signage. So please any negative comments on dis blog is not coming from me but from the thief cos I would neva say anything bad about someone or wish anyone evil. So I have gone back to using my old pix & my email address is (julie3er@gmail.com). Linda take note!

Nice development but bad market for those smugglers.

@BISHOP DAMMY...

I wish u HBD, and LLNP on ur BIRTHDAY - Monday, 22nd June 2015. God abundantly bless u, and everytin dat concerns u.

I wish u all ur heart desires, joy, good health, and a prosperous life. Enjoy ur day, and stay blessed alwaz!

Oluwa o, thank God 4 dis info o

I see

So how do we identify these imported chicken and turkey. I think they should look for a better way to ensure the contaminated meat doesn't enter the country at all, because it will be hard for consumers to know.

Nothing we wouldn't hear

Thanks so very much Linda, God will bless you beyond you imaginations in Jesus name. The only close meat since I entered lagos is the forbidden meat. Thank God for information.

Kk

datz a gud development by nafdac....kudos.

I thought they banned this under OBJ's administration?! What is wrong with it now?!

Heard NAFDAC,provide substitutes for all the condemned.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

This is serious oo

IJMB REGISTRATION

Roman! said...

Hmmmmm

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Please allow me to pass a message to your readers here. IJMB for the 2015/2016 session is now out. The IJMB online registration is now live

for the interested candidates to register online for theirselves and their wards at IJMB Form is for #8,000. The lectures

will commence will start at our centers by March 15th 2015. Our fees are moderate at #110,000 for the school

fee, hostel fee for #35,000. We are ready to answer your question at IJMBway Alevel Registration But please do visit our site to read Our IJMB FAQ before asking questions, since we

attend to hundreds of interested candidates everyday,. And if you don't know what IJMB is, you can visit our

IJMB Website for all information about IJMB. In summary, IJMB is a 9 month "difficult" program that takes you to 200L without

writing JAMB but with post - UTME in some Nigerian universities. IJMB is being supervised by Ahmadu Bellow

University, Zaria.

HEARD!

May God protect us

Okk.......

BlogProf said...

I consume chicken in quantum. Who has the time to attend to live chicken?
But with this warning,i will desist from frozen foods.

TONIA GREEN said...

Ok. Thank God I don't even like them.

❤❤❤ THE PROPHETESS ❤❤❤

Ladun Liadi said...

Anti-biotics resistance is a big worry to scientists right now.

I've alwz advised people to avoid frozen and synthetic foods as much as possible. You can kill the chicken yourself and freeze it, rather than wasting moneymoney on these contaminated frozen foods. Too many disease conditions everywhere

Very educative but how do we differentiate poultry products that are foreign or locally made. Linda please take note

THE NAIJAGRAPHY BLOG said...

I'm yet to see what will make Nigerians stop consuming these products.

Kindly visit www.naijagraphy.com

For a very long time, i only consume local chicken

So I make I switch to eating fish .

~make I go take one bottle of beer~

How can we then differentiate between smuggled and non smuggled poultry foods.

So where is the public service announcement about this? What if you do not have Facebook how will you know?

hollalaycan said...

God knows i don't really like all theses froze this frozen that. i prefer to go for vegetables and fresh fish instead.
NAFDAC should have long ago sent this signal to all Nigerians, however, the poverty level will not allow many homes afford the cost of fresh fish.

www.hollalaycan.com

Wait let me finish this my rice and ofe-akwu with chicken meal, then I'll read that story. I don't want anything spoiling my appetite.

We don hear

So, how am i suppose to know a chicken/turkey is smuggled.
Do,i ask Iya Risi at Palmgroove market?, Is this chicken smuggled or not?
Are they not suppose to block all the smuggling points or we all can eat good and nonpoisonous turkey?

A word they say is enough for the wise,if frozen chicken we buy in UK shelves is so deadly,I wonder what will happen to the one sold in Nigeria,where the expiry date would have been tampered with,freeze under wrong temperature,kept in dirty environment,re-freezing after it has melt e.t.c,so linda blog is bringing this to the public domain stay away from this foods .They are so dangerous.Thanks linda.

B Ud said...

Stop bringing it in!!!!

udieblessing@yahoo.com

I don't even understand why people would prefer d tasteless frozen chicken to life ones. Life ones r more delicious and healthier.

Human Being said...

" Yes I agree . Fresh chick is safer and healthier to consume. BUT
The challenge we face here which also makes the smuggling business thrive is the cost difference. You can imagine, frozen/imported chicken is cheaper than live/locally chicken. Why is it so? Shouldn't local be cheaper like other local foods?

The reason why locally raised chicken is expensive, is because the cost of production is higher in Nigeria. Apart from other factors such as breed and other technologies, feed is an expensive factor in production. The reason for this is that we (Nigerians) compete with the chicken feed components (maize, fishbone, PKC etc).The Okporko head (fish head) we value so much here is used as feed in abroad. Our food production as a nation is not yet self sufficient. Thus we will keep competing with chicken feed components.

There is Hunger in the Land

We still need to face our Agriculture and give it serious priority.

Human Being No Be God

Babe said...

Wetin man go do nah ,for d past 2 yrs i ve been living in lag been eating frozen every week.i guess na God dey save person

Ada said...

Funny

Mo' J said...

They need an editor for their facebook posts.
www.moniqj.blogspot.com

It is a biased research. How about other imported frozen goods like fish. Is it not the same preservatives that are used? NAFDAC, hope you have not been paid to do this

For NAFDAC to have involved itself i a campaign of Calumny against imported frozen chicken is to say the list regretable.

Has there been any registered death from eating of imported frozen chicken ? NAFDAC

Story! OBJ again ,I can't do witout frozen food and I doubt if I can eat cooked life chicken dis is nonsense

how do we differentiate them

Abeg...this is a lie joor...what about fish? This is only bcos Obasanjo is having mouth again & he has bn d 1 against d importation of this product cos of his farm product.

How can we differentiate them?